DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 17 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection. Claim 17 was amended to additionally recite “a plurality of second optical communication components that are each positioned adjacent to a respective optical communication component of the plurality of optical components, each second optical communication component optically coupled with the respective lens of the plurality of lenses and positioned on the respective curved focal plan associated with the respective lens”. The newly amended limitation is address by the inclusion of a new reference of Tzuang that in combination with other prior art references, such that an new grounds of rejection is made to address the amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Byers US PG PUB 2015/0156568, Cornelissen et al (herein Cornelissen) US PG PUB 2024/0137120, and Tzuang et al (herein Tzuang) US PG PUB 2018/0159244.
Re claim 17, Byers discloses an apparatus for optical wireless communication at a user equipment (UE), comprising: an optical communication system comprising:
one or more memories storing processor-executable code (method 700 includes receiving a data packet addressed to one of a plurality of devices. For example, with reference to Fig. 4, data point interface 440 receives the data packet, wherein the system use control processor 438 identifies the particular beam data channel by retrieving and/or accessing a look up table (including client device and channel assignments) stored in at least one of the flash memory and the RAM ¶ [0047], such that the method is on the memory through code); and
one or more processors coupled with the one or more memories and individually or collectively configured to, when executing the code (the system includes a system control processor 438 is coupled with a flash memory module 434 and RAM memory module 436 ¶ [0036]), cause the apparatus to:
establish an optical wireless communication link with a network entity (as represented by block 7-5, the method 700 includes establishing and/or negotiating free space optical channel access for data transfer between the addressed client device and the multi-beam FSO apparatus on the identified optical beam channel); and
communicate, with the network entity via the optical wireless communication link, an optical wireless signal using the optical communication system (as represented by block 7-6, the method includes transmitted the addressed data packet to the addressed client device on the identified optical beam data channel ¶ [0047], such that the system is transmit, and wherein the system is implemented through multi-beam PFS apparatus ¶ [0046], such that it uses the transmitters and the receivers).
Byers, while it discloses the use of a lens assembly to be used alongside a number of plurality of transmitter and receivers. Byers does not explicitly disclose the use of multiple lenses. However, Cornelissen discloses:
a plurality of lenses (Fig. 5 is a connection scheme with a photodetector segments 102 for determining output is shown that is to be used with the ball lens 101 array ¶ [0073], such that there are a plurality of ball lenses) ; and
a plurality of optical communication components that are each optically coupled with a respective lens of the plurality of lenses (each lens element 101, Lei (i.e. each small ball lens in the lens array) of an array of M lens elements is associated with an array of N photodetector 102 segments ¶ [0073]) and positioned on a respective curved focal plane associated with the respective lens (Fig. 6 show a cross sectional view of an optical detector 100 comprises a ball lens 101 as well as a photodetector 120 having a plurality of photodetector segments 102 in an array that are arranged on a photodetector plane 002. Additionally, incoming light beams originating with various angles of incidence will be focused by the ball lens 101 on a focal plane 004 that has a spherical shape as shown in Fig. 6 and there are a plurality of lightguide 103 in an array and the individual lightguides 103 is in optical connection with an individual photodetector segment 102 ¶ [0074], such that the optical elements of the receiver are on a respective curved focal plane through the lightguides associated with the photodetectors).
Byers and Cornelissen are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor, optical communication set ups. At the time filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Byers and Cornelissen before him or her, to modify the lens alongside of the receivers of Byers to include the plurality of lenses as well as photodetectors associated with those lasers of Cornelissen because it combines prior art elements, according to known methods, to yield predictable results, in this case, enabling the receiver that is better at receiving optical signal originating from wide angle views ¶ [0001], increasing the area from which to receive signals.
Byers does not explicitly disclose a plurality of second optical communication components that are each positioned adjacent to the respective optical communication components, each second optical communication component optically coupled with the respective lens of the plurality of lenses. However, Tzuang discloses FIG. 2A is a schematic showing the working mechanism of the proposed retro-directive quasi-optical system. To simplify drawing, only a one-dimensional linear pixel array is shown. For each pixel of the pixel array 200, the EM waves emitted by its transmitter antenna 202 propagate along some wave paths expressed as the solid lines and arrive at the object 210, and the EM waves back-scattered or reflected from the object 210 propagate along other paths expressed as the dotted lines and arrive at the receiver antenna 203. That is to say, the pixel sends the EM waves to the object 210 through a lens-defined space channel, and then the same pixel receives the back-scattered or reflected EM waves through the same space channel. All the different wave propagation paths will converge into two conjugate positions at the opposite ends of the lens set 220: the object 210 and the pixel transmitting/receiving the EM waves. ¶ [0017]
Cornelissen and Tzuang are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor, optical communication systems. At the time filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Cornelissen and Tzuang before him or her, to modify the photodetector elements of Byers to be associated with a transmitter adjacent to it and to interact with the same lens of Tzuang because because it combines prior art elements, according to known methods, to yield predictable results, in this case, enabling the transmission and reception of signals over free space.
Furthermore, the combination of Tzuang and Cornelissen would disclose that the plurality of second optical components are position on the respective curved focal plane associated with the respective lens and the locations of the photodetectors of Cornelissen are on the curved focal plane ¶ [0074] and that Tzuang disclose the transmitter and receiver be placed adjacent to each other, Fig. 2a, such that the combination would have the receiver, which is the second optical component to also be on the curved focal plane.
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Byers, Cornelissen, and Tzuang as applied to claim 17 above, and further in view of Brinkley et al (herein Brinkley) US PG PUB 2022/0107473.
Re claim 18, Byers, Cornelissen, and Tzuang disclose all the elements of claim 17, which claim 18 is dependent. Furthermore, while Byers discloses use of optical components to be lined up, Cornelissen discloses a receiver using multiple photodetectors. However, Byers and Cornelissen do not explicitly disclose wherein, to communicate the optical wireless signal, the one or more processors are individually or collectively configured to, when executing the code, cause the apparatus to receive the optical wireless signal via the plurality of optical communication components, the plurality of optical communication components comprising a plurality of photodetectors and perform an equal gain combination operation on a plurality of signals output by the plurality of photodetectors in accordance with the reception of the optical wireless signal.
However, Brinkley discloses at block 414, the one or more processors 124 of the second communication device 122 may extract the data from the received beam. For example, the electrical signals generated at the output of the photodetectors may be used to calculate the angle information needed for the tracking system, while they are simultaneously combined into one signal for extracting the data bits. The electrical signals may be combined in a number of different ways. For example, they may be directly summed (known as “equal-gain combining”), or they may each be weighted and filtered prior to summation (in order to suppress the signals that have lower signal-to-noise ratio), or they may be digitized and processed in a nonlinear manner for optimal combining (e.g., maximum-likelihood combining). The one or more processors 124 may receive the combined signal from the plurality of photodetectors 139, detect a modulation of the combined signal (such as voltage or current) corresponding with the data, and extract the data. The extracted data may include routing instructions, which the one or more processors 124 may then execute. ¶ [0051].
Byers, Cornelissen, Tzuang and Brinkley are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor, free space optical communication. At the time filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Byers, Cornelissen, and Brinkley before him or her, to modify the receiver of Byers and Cornelissen to include the processor and a plurality of detectors of Brinkley because it combines prior art elements, according to known methods, to yield predictable results, in this case, enables the system to achieve better performance through the lifetime of the system and may be simplified, cheaper, and smaller in size ¶ [0053].
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Byers, Cornelissen, and Tzuang as applied to claim 17 above, and further in view of Renshaw et al (herein Renshaw) US PG PUB 2019/0353868.
Re claim 20, Byers, Cornelissen, and Tzuang discloses all the elements of claim 17, which claim 20 is dependent. Furthermore, Byers does disclose the use photodetectors and light sources to be used within the same lens. Hence, Byers wherein the plurality of optical communication components comprises a plurality of photodetectors, the apparatus further comprising:
a second optical communication system comprising:
a plurality of second lenses; and
a plurality of light sources that are each optically coupled with a respective second lens of the plurality of second lenses and positioned on a respective curved focal plane associated with the respective second lens, wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further configured to, when executing the code, cause the apparatus to:
transmit, to the network entity via the optical wireless communication link, a second optical wireless signal using the second optical communication system.
However, Renshaw discloses the Rx and Tx comprise pixelated photodetector and emitter arrays, respectively, each positioned at or near the focal surface of a wide field-of-view (FOV) lens assembly which is schematically illustrated in FIG. 3A shown with a pixel controller 320 that includes driving electronics coupled to the emitter array 130 of the imaging Tx 310 and the photodetector array 325 of the imaging Rx 340. The imaging Tx 310 includes emitter array 130 and an imaging lens assembly 160. The Rx 340 includes an imaging lens assembly 160 and a photodetector array 325. ¶ [0036], such that the system discloses the separation of the transmitter and receiver elements into an emitter array and a detector array within separation components working alongside each other wherein it is an array such that there are a plurality of photodetectors and light sources. Furthermore, there are transmission imaging optics and receiving imaging optics within the transmitter and the receiver, Fig. 3a, such that there could be a plurality of lenses within the operation of each component. Furthermore, as one component is transmitter and the other is a receiver, the wireless signals between the first and second components are different.
Byers, Cornelissen, and Renshaw are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor, free space optical communication system. At the time filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Byers, Cornelissen, and Renshaw before him or her, to modify the communication system of Byers and Cornelissen to include the separation of the transmitters and receivers of Renshaw because it combine prior art elements, according to known methods, to yield predictable results, in this case, enabling the system to reduce interference between the operation of the transmitter and the receivers.
Furthermore, Renshaw and Cornelissen used together would teach the processing of the signals would include the curved focal plane along the transmission path as both the transmitter and receivers have optical elements, such as lenses, which could also be applied from the system of Cornelissen to Renshaw.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-16 and 26-30 allowed.
Claim 19, 21-25 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
TANYA MOTSINGER
Examiner
Art Unit 2637
/TANYA T MOTSINGER/ Examiner, Art Unit 2635