DETAILED ACTION
This Final Office Action is responsive to Applicants amendment filed on 7 July 2026. Applicants amendment on 7 July 2026 amended Claims 1-6, 9, 11-14, 19, and 20. Currently Claims 1-6, 9, 11-14, and 16-20 are pending and have been examined. Claims 7, 8, 10, 15, and 21-27 have been canceled. The Examiner notes that the 101 is rejected.
Response to Arguments
Applicants arguments filed 7 July 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The Applicant argues on pages 7-9 that "The pending claims are not directed to an abstract idea because the recited limitations including establishing a secure communication channel, providing role-based access controls, authenticating users via VPN, managing data through cloud infrastructure with S3 buckets and SQS queues, and providing utility software for NDE analysis are computer-specific requirements that cannot be performed as mental activities, and therefore the claims do not constitute a mental process under Step 2A Prong One of the 2019 Revised Guidance."
The Examiner respectfully disagrees.
With respect to the argument, the Examiner notes that the Applicants characterization of the claim limitations as inherently computer-specific and incapable of mental performance does not overcome the rejection as applied. The Examiners position under Step 2A Prong One is not that every individual recited element is capable of being performed in the human mind in isolation, but rather that the core substance of the claimed method receiving project information from a project owner, selecting experts from a database, making project data available to an expert, and facilitating exchange of evaluation results constitutes a mental process that can practically be performed by a human, but for the nominal recitation of generic computer components such as a server or cloud infrastructure. As established in the 2019 Revised Patent Eligibility Guidance and affirmed in the 2024 AI-SME Update, a claim recites a mental process when it contains limitations that can practically be performed in the human mind, including observations, evaluations, judgments, and opinions, even when those limitations are nominally assigned to a computer. The claimed steps of receiving project data, selecting experts based on qualifications, indicating availability, providing data to an expert, and transmitting results are, at their core, tasks a human coordinator could perform manually. The recitation of authentication workflows, VPN authorization, S3 buckets, and SQS queues is offered by Applicant in the specification and arguments but is not meaningfully and specifically claimed in independent claim 1 in a manner that would take the core limitations outside the mental process grouping. The claims as drafted recite these elements at a high level of generality stating, for example, that "a secure communication" is "established" and "each project has its own access controls" without reciting the specific technical implementation details that would demonstrate the claim limitations cannot practically be performed in the human mind. In contrast to claim limitations that courts and the USPTO have recognized as incapable of mental performance such as network packet monitoring, real-time data encryption, or rendering images the claim limitations here amount to organizing and routing information between parties, which is precisely the type of coordination and judgment that constitutes a mental process. The Examiner further notes that the mental process grouping is not unlimited, as acknowledged in the August 2025 Memorandum on Alice and the 2024 AI-SME Update, and the Examiner has not improperly expanded it: the recited steps fall squarely within mental process activity as they cover the fundamental business coordination of connecting a project owner with an expert and exchanging evaluation data. Accordingly, the argument that the claims cannot be performed as mental activities because they are "computer-related technologies" is not persuasive, as the mere labeling of a process as computer-related does not remove it from the mental process grouping when the underlying substance remains a task capable of human performance. The rejection is therefore maintained.
The Applicant argues on pages 9-10 that "Even if the claims recite a judicial exception, the claims as a whole integrate the judicial exception into a practical application because the claimed platform is not a generic computer but rather a specialized, industry-specific system that connects remotely located project owners with NDE experts through role-based access controls, project-specific communication channels, a dashboard-based user interface, and specialized utility software, thereby providing a particular improvement in the field of remote NDE collaboration that goes beyond merely applying an abstract idea on a generic computer."
The Examiner respectfully disagrees.
With respect to the argument, the Examiner notes that the Applicants contention that the claims integrate the judicial exception into a practical application by virtue of the platforms alleged specialization and industry-specific nature is not persuasive. Under Step 2A Prong Two, a claim integrates a judicial exception into a practical application only when the additional elements individually and in combination impose a meaningful limit on the judicial exception such that the claim is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception. Merely asserting that a system is specialized or that it serves a particular industry does not, without more, establish integration into a practical application. To demonstrate such integration through the improvements consideration, the specification must provide sufficient technical detail such that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the claimed invention as providing an improvement to the functioning of a computer or to another technology or technical field, and the claim itself must reflect that disclosed improvement. Here, while the specification references cloud infrastructure, authentication systems, S3 buckets, SQS queues, and role-based access controls, independent claim 1 recites these concepts only at a high level of generality stating broadly that "a secure communication" is "established" and that "each project has its own access controls" without claiming the specific technical mechanisms that would demonstrate an improvement to computer functionality or network technology beyond the abstract idea itself. The improvements described in the arguments and specification are characterized in a largely conclusory manner with respect to what the claims actually recite, and the claims do not include the specific technical components or steps that would reflect a concrete improvement apparent to one of ordinary skill in the art. Furthermore, the Applicants argument that the platform "does not just use a single blanket connection for all users" and instead creates unique access controls per project is a functional characterization of a business practice isolating individual projects that does not, when recited at the claims level of generality, constitute a technological improvement to computer functioning. This is analogous to situations where courts have found that applying an existing process in a particular organizational context or claiming an outcome without reciting the technical details of how it is achieved, does not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application. See, e.g., Electric Power Group, LLC v. Alstom S.A. The Examiner additionally notes that the Applicants argument regarding claim 11 and claim 14 does not provide claim-specific analysis distinguishing those claims from the abstract idea, and the general arguments regarding the platforms specialization apply equally and insufficiently to all independent claims. The additional elements recited in the independent claims including the use of a server, cloud-based communication, and data transmittal steps amount to mere instructions to apply the abstract idea using generic computer components and insignificant extra-solution activity, neither of which integrates a judicial exception into a practical application under Step 2A Prong Two or provides significantly more under Step 2B. The rejection is therefore maintained.
Applicants arguments filed 7 July 2026 have been fully considered but they are moot in view of new grounds of rejection as necessitated by amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. When considering claims 1-20 as a whole and all claim elements both individually and in combination, these claim(s) 1-20 are directed to the abstract idea of performing non-destructive evaluation without significantly more than the judicial exception itself.
Step 1
Regarding Step 1 of the Subject Matter Eligibility Test for Products and Processes (from the MPEP 2106.05(a)), claim(s) (1-10 and 11-13) is/are directed to a method, claim(s) (14-20) is/ are directed to a system and therefore the claims are viewed as falling in statutory categories.
Step 2A Prong 1
The claimed invention recites a judicial exception, specifically an abstract idea. The claim(s) recite(s) mental process. Specifically, the independent claims 1-20 recite a mental process: as drafted, the claim recites the limitation of performing non-destructive evaluation which is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components. That is, other than reciting a processor server nothing in the claim precludes the determining step from practically being performed in the human mind. For example, but for the a processor language, the claim encompasses the user manually:
receiving request for a project requiring NDE of an object, a project and a project data from a project owner,
the project description comprises material type…
… the project data comprising images of the object for non-destructive evaluation (NDE) acquired by non-destructive means.
providing to the project owner a selection of expert personnel from a database of experts.
indicating availability of the NDE of the object to an expert from the selection of experts…
…at least on expert personnel is selected…
providing the project description and project data to the at least one expert personnel.
establishing a secure communication between the at least one expert personnel and the project owner for exchange of information.
providing utility software for viewing and analysis of defects to the at least one expert personnel.
… the NDE results comprise anyone of inspection method, flaows, location and size of flaws, acceptable threshold, thresholds exceeded and annotated image.
transmitting the NDE results to the project owner via the secure communication channel.
The mere nominal recitation of a generic server does not take the claim limitation out of the mental processes grouping. It has been established by ongoing guidance that claims that contain a generic processor are still viewed as mental process when they contain limitations that can practically be performed in the human mind, however this is different for instance when the human mind is not equipped to perform the claim limitations (network monitoring, data encryption for communication, and rendering images). Therefore, these limitations are viewed a mental process.
The performing non-destructive evaluation would clearly be to a mental activity that a company would go through in order to decide how to perform non-destructive evaluation. The specification makes it clear that the claimed invention is directed to the mental activity data gathering and data analysis to determine how to perform non-destructive evaluations:
Step 2A Prong 2
Specifically the determined judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the generically recited computer elements do not add a meaningful limitation to the abstract idea because they amount to simply implementing the abstract idea on a server and additionally the data receiving, providing, indicating, providing, establishing, and transmitting steps required to use the correlation do not add a meaningful limitation to the method as they are insignificant extra-solution activity (including post solution activity).
The claim recites the additional element(s): that a server is used to perform the non-destructive evaluation; The server in the steps is recited at a high level of generality, i.e., as a generic server performing a generic server function of processing data (generating workflows). This generic server limitation is no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic server component. Accordingly, this additional element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claim is directed to the abstract idea.
The claim recites the additional element(s): receiving project data, providing a selection of experts, indicating availability, providing project data, establishing a secure communication, providing utility software, receiving form the expert, and transmitting non-destructive evaluation results performs the performing step. The receiving, providing, indicating providing, establishing, providing, receiving, and transmitting steps are recited at a high level of generality (i.e., as a general means of gathering managing data for use in the performing step), and amounts to mere data management, which is a form of insignificant extra-solution activity. The server that performs the performing step is also recited at a high level of generality, and merely automates the performing step. Each of the additional limitations is no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component (the server).
The Examiner has further determined that the claims as a whole does not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application in order to provide an improvement in the functioning of a computer or an improvement to other technology or technical field. It has been determined that based on the disclosure does not provide sufficient details such that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the claimed invention as providing an improvement. It has not been provided clearly in the disclosure that the alleged improvement would be apparent to one of ordinary skill in the art, but is instead in a conclusory manner (i.e., a bare assertion of an improvement without the detail necessary to be apparent to a person of ordinary skill in the art, and therefore does not improve the technology. Second, in the instance, where it is not clear that the specification sets forth an improvement in technology, the claim must reflect the disclosed improvement (the claims must include components or steps of the invention that provide the improvement described in the specification).
For further clarification the Examiner points out that the claim(s) 1-20 recite(s) receiving project data, providing a selection of experts, indicating availability, providing project data, establishing a secure communication, providing utility software, receiving form the expert, transmitting non-destructive evaluation and performing the non-destructive evaluation results performs which are viewed as an abstract idea in the form of a mental process. This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the use of a computer for receiving, providing, indicating, providing, establishing, and transmitting which is the abstract idea steps of valuing an idea (performing non-destructive evaluation) in the manner of “apply it”.
Thus, the claim recites an abstract idea directed to a mental process (i.e. to tracking and status analysis of electronic devices). Using a computer to receiving, providing, indicating, providing, establishing, and transmitting the data resulting from this kind of mental process merely implements the abstract idea in the manner of “apply it”.
The dependent claims recite elements that narrow the metes and bounds of the abstract idea but do not provide something more.
The dependent claims do not remedy these deficiencies.
Claims 4, 6, and 12 recite limitations which further limit the claimed analysis of data.
Claims 3, 13, 17, 19, and 20 recites limitations directed to claim language viewed insignificantly extra solution activity.
Using a computer to perform the data processing as claimed is merely implementing the abstract idea in the manner of “apply it” and does not provide significantly more. Additionally with respect to the Berkheimer the Examiner points out that the steps of the claim are viewed to be to nothing more than spell out what it means to apply it on a computer and cannot confer patent-eligibility as there are no additional limitations beyond applying an abstract idea, restricted to a computer. As the claims are merely implementing the abstract idea in the manner of “Apply It” the need for a Berkheimer analysis does not apply and is not required. With respect to the currently filed claims the implementing steps can be found in Cella which discloses how the claims alone and in combination are viewed to be well understood, routine and conventional based on point 3 of the Berkheimer memo and subsequent evidence, complying with and providing evidence.
Claims 2, 5, 7-10, and 15-17 recites limitations directed to claim language viewed non-functional data labels.
Thus, the problem the claimed invention is directed to answering the question based on gathered and analyzed information about the non-destructive evaluation. This is not a technical or technological problem but is rather in the realm of machine testing and therefore an abstract idea.
Step 2B
The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because as discussed with respect to Step 2A Prong Two, the additional element in the claim amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component.
The same analysis applies here in 2B, i.e., mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot integrate a judicial exception into a practical application at Step 2A or provide an inventive concept in Step 2B. This is the case because in order for the claims to be viewed as significantly more the claims must incorporate the integral use of a machine to achieve performance of a method, in contrast to where the machine is merely an object on which the method operates, which does not provide significantly more in order for a machine to add significantly more, it must play a significant part in permitting the claimed method to be performed, rather than function solely as an obvious mechanism for permitting a solution to be achieved more quickly. Whether its involvement is extra-solution activity or a field-of-use, i.e., the extent to which (or how) the machine or apparatus imposes meaningful e limits on the claim. Use of a machine that contributes only nominally or insignificantly to the execution of the claimed method (e.g., in a data gathering step or in a field-of-use limitation) would not provide significantly more. Additionally, another consideration when determining whether a claim recites significantly more is whether the claim effects a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing. "[T]ransformation and reduction of an article to a different state or thing is the clue to patentability of a process claim that does not include particular machines. All together the above analysis shows there is not improvement in computer functionality, or improvement to any other technology or technical field. The claim is ineligible.
Additionally, with respect to the Berkheimer as noted above the same analysis applies to the 2B where the claims are viewed as applying it and as such no further analysis is required. However, with respect to the current claims receiving, providing, indicating, establishing, and transmitting that are viewed as extra solution or post solution activity the Examiner notes that the claims are viewed as well-understood, routine, and conventional because a citation to a publication that demonstrates the well-understood, routine, conventional nature of the additional element(s). An appropriate publication such as the currently cited prior art “Cella et al. (U.S. Patent Publication 2019/0339687 A1)”. provides those extra solution activities and is viewed as a form of publication which also includes a book, manual, review article, or other source that describes the state of the art and discusses what is well-known and in common use in the relevant industry. The claim is ineligible.
The dependent claims recite elements that narrow the metes and bounds of the abstract idea but do not provide something more. Specifically, the dependent claims do not remedy these deficiencies of the independent claims.
With respect to the legal concept of prima facie case being a procedural tool of patent examination, which allocates the burdens going forward between the examiner and the applicant. MPEP § 2106.07 discusses the requirements of a prima facie case of ineligibility. In particular, the initial burden was on the Examiner and believed to be properly provided as to explain why the claim(s) are ineligible for patenting because of the above provided rejection which clearly and specifically points out in accordance with properly providing the requirement satisfying the initial burden of proof based on the Guidance from the United States Patent and Trademark Office and the burden now shifts to the applicant.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Georgeson et al. (U.S. Patent Publication 2016/0370798 A1) (hereafter Georgeson) in view of Cella et al. (U.S. Patent Publication 2019/0339687 A1) (hereafter Cella).
Referring to Claim 1, Cella teaches a method for enabling remotely located expert to perform non-destructive evaluation (NDE) comprising:
receiving request for a project requiring NDE of an object, a project description and a project data from a project owner (see; Fig. 9 of Georgeson teaches NDI device 210 produces inspection data, such as images or other forms of data regarding surface and subsurface features of composite structure 205 project data comprising images acquired by non-destructive means. FIG. 5 and description of remote administration system 16 discloses digital representations 56 of procedures, remote tools, and reference standards and digital representations 58 of specifications and standards (material type, test type, object description). FIG. 14 and description of data sources 310 teaches maintenance data 328 comprising discrepancy reports and equipment identification. FIG. 2 description of remote communications hub teaches receipt of images 24, text 28, and records 30. The aircraft maintenance personnel initiating the inspection is the project owner).
providing to the project owner a selection of expert personnel from a database of experts, wherein the selection is based on industry and qualification (see; fig. 6 and Abstract of Georgeson teaches a remote data analytics system 18: performance ratings software module 68 is data mining software for assessing and rating individuals and companies that do inspections or other maintenance activities establishing a database of expert performance from which selections based on qualification and industry are made (i.e. database of experts) and fig. 7 provides a description of remote NDT commercial operations center 20, commercial applications system 80 discloses a network of computers processing data relating to selling/leasing remote NDT services through which qualified experts are provided to customers).
indicating availability of the NDE of the object to at least one expert personnel from the selection of expert personnel, wherein the at least one expert personnel is selected by the project owner (see; fig. 7 of and Abstract of Georgeson of remote tracking system 78: A remote tracking system 78 provides GPS-enabled locating of an expert who can be called and tied in (i.e., connected to a communications channel) to equipment at an inspection or repair site. Being called and tied in inherently involves notifying the expert of an available inspection project. The customer/project owner initiating the connection and selecting which expert to engage is inherent in the commercial service model).
providing the project description and the project data to the at least one expert personnel (see; Abstract and Fig. 10 of Georgeson teaches 2-D NDI scan data is acquired and sent from the NDI controller 522 to the remote workstation 530 for display as a scan image on the master display 540 project data (images) provided to the expert. Fig. 5 and par. [0038] and description of remote administration system 16 teaches providing digital representations 56 of procedures, remote tools, and reference standards and digital representations 58 of specifications and standards to the expert project description including material type, test type, and object description).
establishing a secure communication between the at least one expert personnel and the project owner for exchange of information, wherein each project has its own access controls (see; fig. 2 and par. [0033] of Georgeson teaches a system security 38: the remote communications hub 10 comprises a security system configured to limit access to the system including receiving identification data from potential system users and verifying that the potential system users are authorized users. fig. 11 and description of system 100 teaches user device 120 (project owner) and server device 170 communicating via network 150, with user identifier 130 comprising security information (e.g., user name, password, photograph image, biometric id...) passed with each service request. The server uses the user identifier to control each users access to specific service data teaching per-project access controls, as each users identifier is linked to the specific project data they are authorized to access).
providing utility software for viewing and analysis of defects to the at least one expert personnel (see; see; fig. 10 and par. [0056] of Georgeson teaches the expert at remote workstation 530 uses Scan Integration Application (SIA) software module 534, LPS GUI 532, NDI remote desktop display application 538, and 3-D CAD model visualization application (IVT 536) collectively constituting utility software for viewing inspection images and analyzing defects. fig. 4 and par. [0037] description of advanced remote NDT 14 including automated and assisted defect recognition 52 (comprising computer-executable instructions for processing inspection data to detect and identify defects) directly teaches utility software for defect analysis.
receiving from the at least one expert personnel, NDE results of the object, wherein the NDE results comprise anyone of inspection method, flaws, location and size of flaws, acceptable thresholds, thresholds exceeded and annotated image (see; fig. 4 and par. [0037] of Georgeson teaches description of modeling 54: A model of a detected flaw can be virtually embedded in a model of the structure... the simulated response is then compared to a threshold below which the simulated response is acceptable and above which it is unacceptable NDE results comprising flaw location/size and threshold determination. See aircraft-on-ground inspection scenario: the expert may evaluate the inspection data and imagery and prepare a damage report containing flaw findings and disposition (threshold exceeded / acceptable). fig. 6 and par. [0039] the remote data analytics system 18 constructs a report indicating whether a test article should be taken out of service for repair threshold exceeded or not acceptable. Expert annotation of inspection images is inherent in the experts interactive use of IVT 536 and SIA 534).
Georgeson does not explicitly disclose the following limitations, however,
Cella teaches wherein the project description comprises material type, thresholds for flaw, acceptable thresholds, test type, and description of the object, wherein the project data comprising images of the object for NDE acquired by non-destructive mean (see par. [0723]-[0724] of Cella teaches NDE data including material type, thresholds for flaw, and determination of whether measurements exceed expected threshold values (acceptable/unacceptable thresholds).
The Examiner notes that Georgeson teaches similar to the instant application teaches systems and methods for non-destructive testing involving remotely located experts. Specifically, Georgeson discloses the remote communication that provides non-destructive testing to a variety of manufacturing and in-service processes it is therefore viewed as analogous art in the same field of endeavor. Additionally, Cella teaches data collection, learning and streaming of machine signals for analytics and maintenance signals and as it is comparable in certain respects to Georgeson which systems and methods for non-destructive testing involving remotely located experts as well as the instant application it is viewed as analogous art and is viewed as reasonably pertinent to the problem faced by the inventor. This provides support that it would be obvious to combine the references to provide an obviousness rejection.
Georgeson discloses the data collection, learning and streaming of machine signals for analytics and maintenance signals. However, Georgeson fails to disclose the project description comprises material type, thresholds for flaw, acceptable thresholds, test type, and description of the object, wherein the project data comprising images of the object for NDE acquired by non-destructive mean.
Cella discloses the project description comprises material type, thresholds for flaw, acceptable thresholds, test type, and description of the object, wherein the project data comprising images of the object for NDE acquired by non-destructive mean.
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include in the task management
(system/method/apparatus) of Georgeson the project description comprises material type, thresholds for flaw, acceptable thresholds, test type, and description of the object, wherein the project data comprising images of the object for NDE acquired by non-destructive mean as taught by Cella since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable. Additionally, Georgeson, and Cella teach the collecting and analysis of data which was gathered remotely from manufacturing activities and they do not contradict or diminish the other alone or when combined.
Referring to Claim 2, see discussion of claim 1 above, while Georgeson in view of Cella teaches the method above, Georgeson does not explicitly disclose a method having the limitations of, however,
Cella teaches the expert personnel are selected by artificial intelligence techniques based on any of qualification, experience, availability, and recommendations (see; par. [4225] of Cella teaches qualification, referrals (i.e. recommendations), work status (i.e. availability), [4222] experience, par. [4277] where AI-based processing of worker selection. Together these teach AI selection of expert personnel from a database based on qualification, experience, availability, and recommendations).
The Examiner notes that Georgeson teaches similar to the instant application teaches systems and methods for non-destructive testing involving remotely located experts. Specifically, Georgeson discloses the remote communication that provides non-destructive testing to a variety of manufacturing and in-service processes it is therefore viewed as analogous art in the same field of endeavor. Additionally, Cella teaches data collection, learning and streaming of machine signals for analytics and maintenance signals and as it is comparable in certain respects to Georgeson which systems and methods for non-destructive testing involving remotely located experts as well as the instant application it is viewed as analogous art and is viewed as reasonably pertinent to the problem faced by the inventor. This provides support that it would be obvious to combine the references to provide an obviousness rejection.
Georgeson discloses the data collection, learning and streaming of machine signals for analytics and maintenance signals. However, Georgeson fails to disclose the expert personnel are selected by artificial intelligence techniques based on any of qualification, experience, availability, and recommendations.
Cella discloses the expert personnel are selected by artificial intelligence techniques based on any of qualification, experience, availability, and recommendations.
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include in the task management
(system/method/apparatus) of Georgeson the expert personnel are selected by artificial intelligence techniques based on any of qualification, experience, availability, and recommendations as taught by Cella since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable. Additionally, Georgeson, and Cella teach the collecting and analysis of data which was gathered remotely from manufacturing activities and they do not contradict or diminish the other alone or when combined.
Referring to Claim 3, see discussion of claim 1 above, while Georgeson in view of Cella teaches the method above, Georgeson does not explicitly disclose a method having the limitations of, however,
Cella teaches the experts from the database of experts submit bids for the non-destructive evaluation of the project (see; par. [4216] of Cella teaches soliciting bids to provide service actions, par. [4289] a list of qualified workers in a database available to perform such service actions., performed by par. [4221], [4221], and [4289] a list of workers with correct experiences (i.e. experts in a database) to perform tasks (i.e. available) expert personnel in a database submitting bids for NDE service projects).
The Examiner notes that Georgeson teaches similar to the instant application teaches systems and methods for non-destructive testing involving remotely located experts. Specifically, Georgeson discloses the remote communication that provides non-destructive testing to a variety of manufacturing and in-service processes it is therefore viewed as analogous art in the same field of endeavor. Additionally, Cella teaches data collection, learning and streaming of machine signals for analytics and maintenance signals and as it is comparable in certain respects to Georgeson which systems and methods for non-destructive testing involving remotely located experts as well as the instant application it is viewed as analogous art and is viewed as reasonably pertinent to the problem faced by the inventor. This provides support that it would be obvious to combine the references to provide an obviousness rejection.
Georgeson discloses the data collection, learning and streaming of machine signals for analytics and maintenance signals. However, Georgeson fails to disclose the experts from the database of experts submit bids for the non-destructive evaluation of the project.
Cella discloses the experts from the database of experts submit bids for the non-destructive evaluation of the project.
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include in the task management
(system/method/apparatus) of Georgeson the experts from the database of experts submit bids for the non-destructive evaluation of the project as taught by Cella since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable. Additionally, Georgeson, and Cella teach the collecting and analysis of data which was gathered remotely from manufacturing activities and they do not contradict or diminish the other alone or when combined.
Referring to Claim 4, see discussion of claim 1 above, while Georgeson in view of Cella teaches the method above, Georgeson does not explicitly disclose a method having the limitations of, however,
Cella teaches qualifying the expert personnel, wherein the expert personnel from the database of experts is evaluated before enrolling in the database (see; par. [4221] of Cella teaches that qualified workers are identified and verified prior to being listed as available for specific activities teaching evaluation of expert personnel before enrollment in the active worker database).
The Examiner notes that Georgeson teaches similar to the instant application teaches systems and methods for non-destructive testing involving remotely located experts. Specifically, Georgeson discloses the remote communication that provides non-destructive testing to a variety of manufacturing and in-service processes it is therefore viewed as analogous art in the same field of endeavor. Additionally, Cella teaches data collection, learning and streaming of machine signals for analytics and maintenance signals and as it is comparable in certain respects to Georgeson which systems and methods for non-destructive testing involving remotely located experts as well as the instant application it is viewed as analogous art and is viewed as reasonably pertinent to the problem faced by the inventor. This provides support that it would be obvious to combine the references to provide an obviousness rejection.
Georgeson discloses the data collection, learning and streaming of machine signals for analytics and maintenance signals. However, Georgeson fails to disclose qualifying the expert personnel, wherein the expert personnel from the database of experts is evaluated before enrolling in the database.
Cella discloses qualifying the expert personnel, wherein the expert personnel from the database of experts is evaluated before enrolling in the database.
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include in the task management
(system/method/apparatus) of Georgeson qualifying the expert personnel, wherein the expert personnel from the database of experts is evaluated before enrolling in the database as taught by Cella since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable. Additionally, Georgeson, and Cella teach the collecting and analysis of data which was gathered remotely from manufacturing activities and they do not contradict or diminish the other alone or when combined.
Referring to Claim 5, see discussion of claim 1 above, while Georgeson in view of Cella teaches the method above, Georgeson does not explicitly disclose a method having the limitations of, however,
Cella teaches the expert personnel from the database of experts is trained on anyone of simulator or remote means (see; par. [0016] and par. [0430] of Cella teaches a simulation training using AR/VR teaching simulator-based training of NDE personnel).
The Examiner notes that Georgeson teaches similar to the instant application teaches systems and methods for non-destructive testing involving remotely located experts. Specifically, Georgeson discloses the remote communication that provides non-destructive testing to a variety of manufacturing and in-service processes it is therefore viewed as analogous art in the same field of endeavor. Additionally, Cella teaches data collection, learning and streaming of machine signals for analytics and maintenance signals and as it is comparable in certain respects to Georgeson which systems and methods for non-destructive testing involving remotely located experts as well as the instant application it is viewed as analogous art and is viewed as reasonably pertinent to the problem faced by the inventor. This provides support that it would be obvious to combine the references to provide an obviousness rejection.
Georgeson discloses the data collection, learning and streaming of machine signals for analytics and maintenance signals. However, Georgeson fails to disclose the expert personnel from the database of experts is trained on anyone of simulator or remote means.
Cella discloses the expert personnel from the database of experts is trained on anyone of simulator or remote means.
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include in the task management
(system/method/apparatus) of Georgeson the expert personnel from the database of experts is trained on anyone of simulator or remote means as taught by Cella since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable. Additionally, Georgeson, and Cella teach the collecting and analysis of data which was gathered remotely from manufacturing activities and they do not contradict or diminish the other alone or when combined.
Referring to Claim 6, see discussion of claim 1 above, while Georgeson in view of Cella teaches the method above, Georgeson further discloses a method having the limitations of,
a performance of the expert personnel is compared against a database of performance of other experts (see; fig. 6 and par. [0039] of Georgeson teaches a description of remote data analytics system 18: performance ratings software module 68 is data mining software for assessing and rating individuals and companies that do inspections or other maintenance activities. This teaches: (1) collecting expert performance data from many inspections into a central database; (2) using data mining to assess and rate individual inspectors constituting comparison of each experts performance against the database of other experts performance).
Referring to Claim 9, see discussion of claim 1 above, while Georgeson in view of Cella teaches the method above, Georgeson further discloses a method having the limitations of,
Cella teaches the utility software developed through machine learning techniques provide assistance to the expert (see; par. [0289] of Cella teaches software developed from machine learning to provide assistance to workers (experts). See also Georgeson Detailed Description, fig. 4 and description of automated and assisted defect recognition 52 as part of advanced remote NDT ML-developed software assisting the expert in defect detection).
The Examiner notes that Georgeson teaches similar to the instant application teaches systems and methods for non-destructive testing involving remotely located experts. Specifically, Georgeson discloses the remote communication that provides non-destructive testing to a variety of manufacturing and in-service processes it is therefore viewed as analogous art in the same field of endeavor. Additionally, Cella teaches data collection, learning and streaming of machine signals for analytics and maintenance signals and as it is comparable in certain respects to Georgeson which systems and methods for non-destructive testing involving remotely located experts as well as the instant application it is viewed as analogous art and is viewed as reasonably pertinent to the problem faced by the inventor. This provides support that it would be obvious to combine the references to provide an obviousness rejection.
Georgeson discloses the data collection, learning and streaming of machine signals for analytics and maintenance signals. However, Georgeson fails to disclose the utility software developed through machine learning techniques provide assistance to the expert.
Cella discloses the utility software developed through machine learning techniques provide assistance to the expert.
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include in the task management
(system/method/apparatus) of Georgeson the utility software developed through machine learning techniques provide assistance to the expert as taught by Cella since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable. Additionally, Georgeson, and Cella teach the collecting and analysis of data which was gathered remotely from manufacturing activities and they do not contradict or diminish the other alone or when combined.
Referring to Claim 11, Georgeson in view of Cella teaches a method of expert evaluation workflow. Claim 11 recites the same or similar limitations as those addressed above in claim 1, Claim 11 is therefore rejected for the same reasons as set forth above in claim 1, except for the following noted exception.
receiving by an expert personnel, an alert about availability of a project for NDE from a NDE platform (see; fig. 7 and par. [0040] of Georgeson teaches a description of remote tracking system 78: A remote tracking system 78 provides GPS-enabled locating of an expert who can be called and tied in (i.e., connected to a communications channel) to equipment at an inspection or repair site. The expert being called and tied in to a specific inspection project inherently involves the expert receiving an alert/notification of the availability of an NDE project from the NDE platform).
receiving by the expert personnel, project description and project data, wherein the project description comprises material type, thresholds for flaw, acceptable thresholds, test type, and description of the object, wherein the project data comprises images of the object acquired by non-destructive means (see; fig. 10 and par. [0056]-[0057] of Georgeson teaches the remote expert receives NDI scan data (images) from the inspection site at remote workstation 530. fig. 5 and par. [0038] and description of remote administration system 16 teaches the expert receives digital representations 56 of procedures, remote tools, and reference standards and digital representations 58 of specifications and standards project description including material type, test type, and object description).
providing by the NDE platform, utility software for viewing and analysis of defects to the expert personnel for non-destructive evaluation of the project (see; fig. 10 and par. [0056]-[0057] of Georgeson teaches the remote workstation 530 provides SIA software module 534, LPS GUI 532, NDI remote desktop display application 538, and IVT 536 (3-D visualization) to the expert utility software for viewing and analysis of defects provided by the NDT platform. FIG. 4 and par. [0037] description of automated and assisted defect recognition 52 further teaches defect analysis software).
Georgeson does not explicitly disclose the following limitation, however,
Cella teaches sending by the expert personnel, to the NDE platform accepting the project (see; par. [1809] of Cella teaches accepting a request to provide a new communication connection, par. [4289] for non-destructive testing, the expert accepts and performs non-destructive testing in response to a project request).
The Examiner notes that Georgeson teaches similar to the instant application teaches systems and methods for non-destructive testing involving remotely located experts. Specifically, Georgeson discloses the remote communication that provides non-destructive testing to a variety of manufacturing and in-service processes it is therefore viewed as analogous art in the same field of endeavor. Additionally, Cella teaches data collection, learning and streaming of machine signals for analytics and maintenance signals and as it is comparable in certain respects to Georgeson which systems and methods for non-destructive testing involving remotely located experts as well as the instant application it is viewed as analogous art and is viewed as reasonably pertinent to the problem faced by the inventor. This provides support that it would be obvious to combine the references to provide an obviousness rejection.
Georgeson discloses the data collection, learning and streaming of machine signals for analytics and maintenance signals. However, Georgeson fails to disclose sending by the expert personnel, to the NDE platform accepting the project.
Cella discloses sending by the expert personnel, to the NDE platform accepting the project.
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include in the task management
(system/method/apparatus) of Georgeson sending by the expert personnel, to the NDE platform accepting the project as taught by Cella since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable. Additionally, Georgeson, and Cella teach the collecting and analysis of data which was gathered remotely from manufacturing activities and they do not contradict or diminish the other alone or when combined.
Referring to Claim 12, see discussion of claim 11 above, while Georgeson in view of Cella teaches the method above, Georgeson does not explicitly disclose a method having the limitations of, however,
Cella teaches evaluating the expert before adding to a database in the NDE platform (see; par. [4216] of Cella teaches asking for bids to provide service actions including, par. [4289] for non-destructive testing, performed by [4221] a list of workers with correct experiences (i.e. qualified) experts in a database) to perform tasks (i.e. available), that qualified workers are identified and verified prior to being listed for task assignment evaluation of expert personnel before adding to the active database).
The Examiner notes that Georgeson teaches similar to the instant application teaches systems and methods for non-destructive testing involving remotely located experts. Specifically, Georgeson discloses the remote communication that provides non-destructive testing to a variety of manufacturing and in-service processes it is therefore viewed as analogous art in the same field of endeavor. Additionally, Cella teaches data collection, learning and streaming of machine signals for analytics and maintenance signals and as it is comparable in certain respects to Georgeson which systems and methods for non-destructive testing involving remotely located experts as well as the instant application it is viewed as analogous art and is viewed as reasonably pertinent to the problem faced by the inventor. This provides support that it would be obvious to combine the references to provide an obviousness rejection.
Georgeson discloses the data collection, learning and streaming of machine signals for analytics and maintenance signals. However, Georgeson fails to disclose evaluating the expert before adding to a database in the NDE platform.
Cella discloses evaluating the expert before adding to a database in the NDE platform.
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include in the task management
(system/method/apparatus) of Georgeson evaluating the expert before adding to a database in the NDE platform as taught by Cella since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable. Additionally, Georgeson, and Cella teach the collecting and analysis of data which was gathered remotely from manufacturing activities and they do not contradict or diminish the other alone or when combined.
Referring to Claim 13, see discussion of claim 11 above, while Georgeson in view of Cella teaches the method above, Cella further disclose a method having the limitations of:
Cella teaches the expert is trained on any one of a simulator or remote means (see; par. [0016] and par. [0430] of Cella teaches simulation training using AR/VR, training of NDE personnel).
The Examiner notes that Georgeson teaches similar to the instant application teaches systems and methods for non-destructive testing involving remotely located experts. Specifically, Georgeson discloses the remote communication that provides non-destructive testing to a variety of manufacturing and in-service processes it is therefore viewed as analogous art in the same field of endeavor. Additionally, Cella teaches data collection, learning and streaming of machine signals for analytics and maintenance signals and as it is comparable in certain respects to Georgeson which systems and methods for non-destructive testing involving remotely located experts as well as the instant application it is viewed as analogous art and is viewed as reasonably pertinent to the problem faced by the inventor. This provides support that it would be obvious to combine the references to provide an obviousness rejection.
Georgeson discloses the data collection, learning and streaming of machine signals for analytics and maintenance signals. However, Georgeson fails to disclose the expert is trained on any one of a simulator or remote means.
Cella discloses the expert is trained on any one of a simulator or remote means.
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include in the task management
(system/method/apparatus) of Georgeson the expert is trained on any one of a simulator or remote means as taught by Cella since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable. Additionally, Georgeson, and Cella teach the collecting and analysis of data which was gathered remotely from manufacturing activities and they do not contradict or diminish the other alone or when combined.
Referring to Claim 14, Georgeson in view of Cella teaches a system for enabling remotely located expert to perform non-destructive evaluation (NDE) comprising:
a first user device and a second user device configured to communicate with a cloud-based server via a user interface (see; fig. 9 and par. [0049]-[0050] of Georgeson teaches local computer 220 (first user device, project-owner/inspection site) and remote workstation 530 (second user device, expert location) communicate via Internet 250 (cloud-based server network) through network server 82 and LAN 90. fig. 11 and par. [0068] further teaches user device 120 and server device 170 communicating via network 150).
the first user device is configured to acquire project description and project data of digital information associated with an object for NDE; wherein a user of a first user device is a project owner; wherein the project description comprises material type, thresholds for flaw, acceptable thresholds, test type, and description of the object; wherein the project data comprises images of the object acquired by non-destructive means (see; fig. 9 and par. [0049]-[0050] of Georgeson teaches NDI device 210 and local computer 220 at the inspection site acquire inspection data (images, scan data) from the structure under test. Aircraft maintenance personnel / ramp supervisor (project owner) initiates and oversees data acquisition. fig. 5 and par. [0038] and remote administration system 16 teaches specifications, standards, and procedures representing the project description (material, test type, object description).
the second user device is configured to receive project description and project data; wherein a user of a second user device is a qualified NDE expert (see; fig. 9 and par. [0049]-[0050] of Georgeson and fig. 10 and par. [0056]-[0058] remote workstation 530 (second user device) receives NDI scan data. Detailed Description expressly states An NDT expert may perform detailed inspection and evaluation at such a remote workstation 260. The NDT expert is a certified/qualified specialist in NDE as described throughout).
wherein an inspection module provides software for viewing and analysis of defects to the second user device (see; fig. 10 and par. [0056]-[0058] of Georgeson teaches SIA software module 534, IVT 536, and LPS GUI 532 together constitute an inspection module providing the expert with software for viewing inspection images (displayed on master display 540) and analyzing defects. FIG. 4 and description of automated and assisted defect recognition 52 further teaches software for defect analysis.
wherein the user interface connects the inspection module, first user device and second user device (see; fig. 1 and par. [0032]-[0036] of Georgeson teaches the remote communications hub 10 connects via LAN/WAN/Internet all system elements including the remote NDT applications 12 (first user device / project owner side), the remote workstations (second user device / expert side), and all software modules the unified user interface connecting all system components).
wherein an authentication module establishes secure communication between the first user device and second user device and controls access to the software for viewing and analysis of defects (see; fig. 2 and par. [0033]-[0034] of Georgeson teaches a description of system security 38: a security system configured to limit access to the system comprising receiving identification data from potential system users and verifying that the potential system users are authorized users. fig. 11 and par. [0068] user identifier 130 (security information including username, password, biometric id) controls user access to service data and inspection software teaching an authentication module establishing secure communication and controlling access to the defect-viewing/analysis software.
Referring to Claim 16, see discussion of claim 14 above, while Georgeson in view of Cella teaches the system above, Georgeson in view of Cella disclose a system having the limitations of:
Cella teaches the inspection module further comprises software developed through machine learning techniques (see; par. [0289] of Cella teaches an example of the development of software that is developed from machine learning software develop to provide assistance to workers. fig. 4 and par. [0037] provides a description of automated and assisted defect recognition 52 ML-developed software for defect identification).
The Examiner notes that Georgeson teaches similar to the instant application teaches systems and methods for non-destructive testing involving remotely located experts. Specifically, Georgeson discloses the remote communication that provides non-destructive testing to a variety of manufacturing and in-service processes it is therefore viewed as analogous art in the same field of endeavor. Additionally, Cella teaches data collection, learning and streaming of machine signals for analytics and maintenance signals and as it is comparable in certain respects to Georgeson which systems and methods for non-destructive testing involving remotely located experts as well as the instant application it is viewed as analogous art and is viewed as reasonably pertinent to the problem faced by the inventor. This provides support that it would be obvious to combine the references to provide an obviousness rejection.
Georgeson discloses the data collection, learning and streaming of machine signals for analytics and maintenance signals. However, Georgeson fails to disclose the inspection module further comprises software developed through machine learning techniques.
Cella discloses the inspection module further comprises software developed through machine learning techniques.
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include in the task management
(system/method/apparatus) of Georgeson the inspection module further comprises software developed through machine learning techniques as taught by Cella since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable. Additionally, Georgeson, and Cella teach the collecting and analysis of data which was gathered remotely from manufacturing activities and they do not contradict or diminish the other alone or when combined.
Referring to Claim 17, see discussion of claim 14 above, while Georgeson in view of Cella teaches the system above, Georgeson further discloses a system having the limitations of.
a training module, wherein the training module runs on the cloud-based server, configured to provide training for the non-destructive inspection (see; fig. 12 and par. [0079] – par. [0081] of Georgeson taches a server process method 400 (steps 402-418): the server device (part of the remote communications hub / cloud infrastructure) receives training instruction requests from user devices (step 402-404), retrieves task instructions from a database (steps 410-414), and transmits training instructions to user devices over the network (step 416). This is explicitly a server-based training module for NDT personnel. The Detailed Description accompanying fig. 12, and par. [0079] – par. [0081] states: 'in many situations... it may not be possible to summon individuals with the needed training to the scene. In such situations, it is desirable that a mechanic be able to quickly access guidance and/or instructions that describe how to properly perform a maintenance or repair operation.').
Referring to Claim 18, see discussion of claim 17 above, while Georgeson in view of Cella teaches the system above, Georgeson further discloses a system having the limitations of.
Cella teaches the training module further comprises a simulator configured to provide hands-on training for the non-destructive inspection (see; par. [0016] and par. [0430] of Cella teaches simulation training using AR/VR. Under BRI, 'hands-on training' does not require physical contact with an actual test article; it encompasses interactive, experiential simulation environments and par. [0430] explicitly teaches simulation using AR/VR a simulator providing interactive, experiential (i.e., hands-on) training for non-destructive inspection).
The Examiner notes that Georgeson teaches similar to the instant application teaches systems and methods for non-destructive testing involving remotely located experts. Specifically, Georgeson discloses the remote communication that provides non-destructive testing to a variety of manufacturing and in-service processes it is therefore viewed as analogous art in the same field of endeavor. Additionally, Cella teaches data collection, learning and streaming of machine signals for analytics and maintenance signals and as it is comparable in certain respects to Georgeson which systems and methods for non-destructive testing involving remotely located experts as well as the instant application it is viewed as analogous art and is viewed as reasonably pertinent to the problem faced by the inventor. This provides support that it would be obvious to combine the references to provide an obviousness rejection.
Georgeson discloses the data collection, learning and streaming of machine signals for analytics and maintenance signals. However, Georgeson fails to disclose the training module further comprises a simulator configured to provide hands-on training for the non-destructive inspection.
Cella discloses the training module further comprises a simulator configured to provide hands-on training for the non-destructive inspection.
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include in the task management
(system/method/apparatus) of Georgeson the training module further comprises a simulator configured to provide hands-on training for the non-destructive inspection as taught by Cella since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable. Additionally, Georgeson, and Cella teach the collecting and analysis of data which was gathered remotely from manufacturing activities and they do not contradict or diminish the other alone or when combined.
Claim(s) 19 and 20 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Georgeson et al. (U.S. Patent Publication 2016/0370798 A1) (hereafter Georgeson) in view of Cella et al. (U.S. Patent Publication 2019/0339687 A1) (hereafter Cella) in further view of Ferdous et al. (U.S. Patent Publication 2019/0317048 A1) (hereafter Ferdous).
Referring to Claim 19, see discussion of claim 14 above, while Georgeson in view of Cella teaches the system above, Georgeson in view of Cella does not explicitly disclose a system having the limitations of, however,
Ferdous teaches an audit module configured to facilitate monitoring of the non-destructive inspection (see; par. [0050]-[0051] of Ferdous teaches the test process manager 126 receives definitions of quality verification procedures; transmits those procedures to NDT controller 118; the controller implements the quality verification procedure (monitoring compliance). The Detailed Description explicitly states: 'the controller 118 may enable or disable operation of one or more components of the magnetic particle inspection device or the penetrant testing device in response to a result of the quality verification procedure' (enforcement of quality/compliance). Further: 'the controller 118 may store a result of the quality verification procedure in association with a result of the testing process' (audit-level record-keeping). The test process manager 126, database 128, and controller 118 together constitute an audit module configured to facilitate monitoring compliance and quality of NDE.).
The Examiner notes that Georgeson teaches similar to the instant application teaches systems and methods for non-destructive testing involving remotely located experts. Specifically, Georgeson discloses the remote communication that provides non-destructive testing to a variety of manufacturing and in-service processes it is therefore viewed as analogous art in the same field of endeavor. Additionally, Cella teaches data collection, learning and streaming of machine signals for analytics and maintenance signals and as it is comparable in certain respects to Georgeson which systems and methods for non-destructive testing involving remotely located experts as well as the instant application it is viewed as analogous art and is viewed as reasonably pertinent to the problem faced by the inventor. Additionally, Ferdous teaches systems and methods to remotely manage non-destructive testing systems and as it is comparable in certain respects to Georgeson and Cella which systems and methods for non-destructive testing involving remotely located experts as well as the instant application it is viewed as analogous art and is viewed as reasonably pertinent to the problem faced by the inventor. This provides support that it would be obvious to combine the references to provide an obviousness rejection.
Georgeson and Cella teaches discloses the data collection, learning and streaming of machine signals for analytics and maintenance signals. However, Georgeson and Cella fails to disclose an audit module configured to facilitate monitoring of the non-destructive inspection.
Ferdous discloses an audit module configured to facilitate monitoring of the non-destructive inspection.
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include in the task management
(system/method/apparatus) of Georgeson and Cella an audit module configured to facilitate monitoring of the non-destructive inspection as taught by Ferdous since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable. Additionally, Georgeson, Cella, and Ferdous teach the collecting and analysis of data which was gathered remotely from manufacturing activities and they do not contradict or diminish the other alone or when combined.
Referring to Claim 20, see discussion of claim 14 above, while Georgeson in view of Cella teaches the system above, Georgeson in view of Cella does not explicitly disclose a system having the limitations of, however,
Ferdous teaches an audit module configured to facilitate audit of the project description and the project data (see; fig. 5, of Ferdous teaches blocks 514-516 and accompanying text: the remote management system 122 provides a database interface to authorized administrators enabling query and retrieval of stored test data including: identifier of the part under test and its type (project description / part type), the test procedure configuration (project data / inspection parameters), identifier of an owner of the part under test (project owner), a test customer identifier, operator identifier, system identifier, and quality check results. Administrators use this database interface to perform data analyses on the stored test data constituting an audit module enabling authorized parties to audit both the project description and the project data).
The Examiner notes that Georgeson teaches similar to the instant application teaches systems and methods for non-destructive testing involving remotely located experts. Specifically, Georgeson discloses the remote communication that provides non-destructive testing to a variety of manufacturing and in-service processes it is therefore viewed as analogous art in the same field of endeavor. Additionally, Cella teaches data collection, learning and streaming of machine signals for analytics and maintenance signals and as it is comparable in certain respects to Georgeson which systems and methods for non-destructive testing involving remotely located experts as well as the instant application it is viewed as analogous art and is viewed as reasonably pertinent to the problem faced by the inventor. Additionally, Ferdous teaches systems and methods to remotely manage non-destructive testing systems and as it is comparable in certain respects to Georgeson and Cella which systems and methods for non-destructive testing involving remotely located experts as well as the instant application it is viewed as analogous art and is viewed as reasonably pertinent to the problem faced by the inventor. This provides support that it would be obvious to combine the references to provide an obviousness rejection.
Georgeson and Cella teaches discloses the data collection, learning and streaming of machine signals for analytics and maintenance signals. However, Georgeson and Cella fails to disclose an audit module configured to facilitate audit of the project description and the project data.
Ferdous discloses an audit module configured to facilitate audit of the project description and the project data.
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include in the task management
(system/method/apparatus) of Georgeson and Cella an audit module configured to facilitate audit of the project description and the project data as taught by Ferdous since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable. Additionally, Georgeson, Cella, and Ferdous teach the collecting and analysis of data which was gathered remotely from manufacturing activities and they do not contradict or diminish the other alone or when combined.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon considered pertinent to Applicants disclosure.
Jana et al. (U.S. Patent Publication 2020/0279366 A1) discloses systems and methods for menu directed inspection.
Tapia et al. (U.S. Patent Publication 2015/0215584 A1) discloses a non-destructive evaluation of structures using motion magnification technology.
Applicants amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/S.S.S/Examiner, Art Unit 3625
/BETH V BOSWELL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3625