CTFR 18/327,836 CTFR 83207 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Remarks The present Office Action is based upon the Applicant’s amendment filed on 05/07/2026. Claims 1-9, 17-25, and 31-42 are now pending in the present application. This action is made FINAL . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-23-aia AIA The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. 07-20-02-aia AIA This application currently names joint inventors. In considering patentability of the claims the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art against the later invention. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 1-5, 7-9, 17-21, 23-25, 31-35, and 37-42 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Raghavan et al. -US 20200244338 A1- (hereinafter Raghavan338 ) in view of Raghavan et al. -US 20220294502 A1- (hereinafter Raghavan502 ) . Regarding claim 1 , Raghavan338 discloses an apparatus for wireless communications at a user equipment (UE), comprising: at least one processor; at least one memory coupled with the at least one processor; and instructions stored in the at least one memory and executable by the at least one processor to cause the apparatus to (FIG. 9, par. 0188-0189, for memory 930 and processor 940) : obtain a plurality of reference signal measurements corresponding to a plurality of transmission reception points (TRPs), the plurality of reference signal measurements associated with adaptive beam weight generation (FIG. 3 and/or FIG. 4, par. 0137 for the TRxPs 105-e and 105-f may perform the coordinated beam training over consecutive time and frequency resources (e.g., channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) resources) of the channels H1 and H2; And par. 0006 for each of the TRxPs may then process the co-phasing factor feedback and determine a beam weight generation at each antenna panel to support co-phasing multiple clusters in a channel) ; select, in accordance with the plurality of reference signal measurements, one or more first beam weights associated with a first link between one or more antenna panels at the UE and a first TRP of the plurality of TRPs and one or more second beam weights associated with a second link between the one or more antenna panels at the UE and a second TRP of the plurality of TRPs (FIG. 3 and/or FIG. 4, par. 0100-0101, 0131-0132 for selecting the best beam pairs) ; and communicate, via the one or more antenna panels of the UE, with the first TRP using the one or more first beam weights and with the second TRP using the one or more second beam weights (FIG. 3 and FIG. 4, par. 0134) . However, Raghavan338 fails to explicitly disclose wherein the one or more first beam weights and the one or more second beam weights are different from a set of static beam weights of a beam weight codebook. In the same field of endeavor, Raghavan502 discloses wherein the one or more first beam weights and the one or more second beam weights are different from a set of static beam weights of a beam weight codebook (FIG. 2, par. 0063 and 0074 “mitigation of a blockage may be performed by the UE 115-a in a dynamic manner, such that static codebook weightings of a codebook (e.g., generated from a beam training procedure) may be updated with dynamic weightings that help mitigate the blockage.”) . Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate applying adaptive or dynamic beam weights for a set of codebook beam weights as taught by Raghavan502 to the finite-precision codebook as disclosed by Raghavan338 for purpose of applying adaptive or dynamic beam weights beyond a set of codebook beam weights in order to mitigate a blockage condition. Regarding claim 2 , as applied to claim 1 above, Raghavan338 discloses wherein the instructions are further executable by the at least one processor to cause the apparatus to: receive, from the first TRP of the plurality of TRPs, signaling indicating coordination information associated with aligning one or more time-frequency resources for the communicating (par. 0111 for time and frequency resources associated with the communication links) . Regarding claim 3 , as applied to claim 2 above, Raghavan338 discloses wherein the coordination information comprises one or more timing alignment errors (TAEs) associated with the first TRP and the second TRP, one or more carrier frequency offsets (CFOs) associated with the first TRP and the second TRP, or any combination thereof (par. 0118 for carrier frequency offset (CFO)) . Regarding claim 4 , as applied to claim 1 above, Raghavan338 discloses wherein the instructions to obtain the plurality of reference signal measurements are executable by the at least one processor to cause the apparatus to: receive one or more first reference signals from the first TRP; and receive one or more second reference signals from the second TRP (par. 0131 and 0137) . Regarding claim 5 , as applied to claim 4 above, Raghavan338 discloses wherein: the one or more first reference signals correspond to a first set of time-frequency resources; and the one or more second reference signals correspond to a second set of time- frequency resources (par. 0137) . Regarding claim 7 , as applied to claim 1 above, Raghavan338 discloses wherein a numerical quantity of a plurality of reference signals corresponding to the plurality of reference signal measurements is based at least in part on a numerical quantity of antenna element arrays of the UE (par. 0056 and par. 0099) . Regarding claim 8 , as applied to claim 1 above, Raghavan338 discloses wherein the instructions to select the one or more first beam weights associated with the first link between the one or more antenna panels at the UE and the first TRP and the one or more second beam weights associated with the second link between the one or more antenna panels at the UE and the second TRP are executable by the at least one processor to cause the apparatus to: calculate a plurality of beam weights based at least in part on co-phasing first energy associated with at least one first reference signal measurement corresponding to the first TRP with second energy associated with at least one second reference signal measurement corresponding to the second TRP, the plurality of reference signal measurements comprising the at least one first reference signal measurement and the at least one second reference signal measurement (par. 0118) ; quantize the plurality of calculated beam weights based at least in part on a beam weight codebook (par. 0118) ; and project the plurality of quantized beam weights onto the beam weight codebook, wherein the plurality of quantized beam weights comprises the one or more first beam weights and the one or more second beam weights (par. 0113, 0130) . Regarding claim 9 , as applied to claim 1 above, Raghavan338 discloses wherein the plurality of reference signal measurements comprise channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) measurements, synchronization signal block (SSB) reference signal measurements, or both (par. 0080, 0121 and 0137) . Regarding claim 17 , Raghavan338 discloses a method for wireless communications at a user equipment (UE), comprising: obtaining a plurality of reference signal measurements corresponding to a plurality of transmission reception points (TRPs), the plurality of reference signal measurements associated with adaptive beam weight generation (FIG. 3 and/or FIG. 4, par. 0137 for the TRxPs 105-e and 105-f may perform the coordinated beam training over consecutive time and frequency resources (e.g., channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) resources) of the channels H1 and H2; And par. 0006 for each of the TRxPs may then process the co-phasing factor feedback and determine a beam weight generation at each antenna panel to support co-phasing multiple clusters in a channel) ; selecting, in accordance with the plurality of reference signal measurements, one or more first beam weights associated with a first link between one or more antenna panels at the UE and a first TRP of the plurality of TRPs and one or more second beam weights associated with a second link between the one or more antenna panels at the UE and a second TRP of the plurality of TRPs (FIG. 3 and/or FIG. 4, par. 0100-0101, 0131-0132 for selecting the best beam pairs) ; and communicating, via the one or more antenna panels of the UE, with the first TRP using the one or more first beam weights and with the second TRP using the one or more second beam weights (FIG. 3 and FIG. 4, par. 0134) . However, Raghavan338 fails to explicitly disclose wherein the one or more first beam weights and the one or more second beam weights are different from a set of static beam weights of a beam weight codebook. In the same field of endeavor, Raghavan502 discloses wherein the one or more first beam weights and the one or more second beam weights are different from a set of static beam weights of a beam weight codebook (FIG. 2, par. 0063 and 0074 “mitigation of a blockage may be performed by the UE 115-a in a dynamic manner, such that static codebook weightings of a codebook (e.g., generated from a beam training procedure) may be updated with dynamic weightings that help mitigate the blockage.”) . Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate applying adaptive or dynamic beam weights for a set of codebook beam weights as taught by Raghavan502 to the finite-precision codebook as disclosed by Raghavan338 for purpose of applying adaptive or dynamic beam weights beyond a set of codebook beam weights in order to mitigate a blockage condition. Regarding claim 31 , Raghavan338 discloses a non-transitory computer-readable medium (par. 0282) storing code, the code comprising instructions executable by at least one processor to: obtain, by a user equipment (UE), a plurality of reference signal measurements corresponding to a plurality of transmission reception points (TRPs), the plurality of reference signal measurements associated with adaptive beam weight generation (FIG. 3 and/or FIG. 4, par. 0137 for the TRxPs 105-e and 105-f may perform the coordinated beam training over consecutive time and frequency resources (e.g., channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) resources) of the channels H1 and H2; And par. 0006 for each of the TRxPs may then process the co-phasing factor feedback and determine a beam weight generation at each antenna panel to support co-phasing multiple clusters in a channel) ; select, in accordance with the plurality of reference signal measurements, one or more first beam weights associated with a first link between one or more antenna panels at the UE and a first TRP of the plurality of TRPs and one or more second beam weights associated with a second link between the one or more antenna panels at the UE and a second TRP of the plurality of TRPs (FIG. 3 and/or FIG. 4, par. 0100-0101, 0131-0132 for selecting the best beam pairs) ; and communicate, via the one or more antenna panels of the UE, with the first TRP using the one or more first beam weights and with the second TRP using the one or more second beam weights (FIG. 3 and FIG. 4, par. 0134) . However, Raghavan338 fails to explicitly disclose wherein the one or more first beam weights and the one or more second beam weights are different from a set of static beam weights of a beam weight codebook. In the same field of endeavor, Raghavan502 discloses wherein the one or more first beam weights and the one or more second beam weights are different from a set of static beam weights of a beam weight codebook (FIG. 2, par. 0063 and 0074 “mitigation of a blockage may be performed by the UE 115-a in a dynamic manner, such that static codebook weightings of a codebook (e.g., generated from a beam training procedure) may be updated with dynamic weightings that help mitigate the blockage.”) . Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate applying adaptive or dynamic beam weights for a set of codebook beam weights as taught by Raghavan502 to the finite-precision codebook as disclosed by Raghavan338 for purpose of applying adaptive or dynamic beam weights beyond a set of codebook beam weights in order to mitigate a blockage condition. Regarding claim 40 , Raghavan338 discloses an apparatus for wireless communications at a user equipment (UE), comprising (FIG. 6) : means for obtaining (FIG. 6 for a receiver 610 and/or communications manager 615) , by a user equipment (UE), a plurality of reference signal measurements corresponding to a plurality of transmission reception points (TRPs), the plurality of reference signal measurements associated with adaptive beam weight generation (FIG. 3 and/or FIG. 4, par. 0137 for the TRxPs 105-e and 105-f may perform the coordinated beam training over consecutive time and frequency resources (e.g., channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) resources) of the channels H1 and H2; And par. 0006 for each of the TRxPs may then process the co-phasing factor feedback and determine a beam weight generation at each antenna panel to support co-phasing multiple clusters in a channel) ; means for selecting (FIG. 6 communications manager 615) , in accordance with the plurality of reference signal measurements, one or more first beam weights associated with a first link between one or more antenna panels at the ULE and a first TRP of the plurality of TRPs and one or more second beam weights associated with a second link between the one or more antenna panels at the UE and a second TRP of the plurality of TRPs (FIG. 3 and/or FIG. 4, par. 0100-0101, 0131-0132 for selecting the best beam pairs) ; and means for communicating (FIG. 6 for a receiver 610, communications manager 615, and/or a transmitter 620) , via the one or more antenna panels of the UE, with the first TRP using the one or more first beam weights and with the second TRP using the one or more second beam weights (FIG. 3 and FIG. 4, par. 0134) . However, Raghavan338 fails to explicitly disclose wherein the one or more first beam weights and the one or more second beam weights are different from a set of static beam weights of a beam weight codebook. In the same field of endeavor, Raghavan502 discloses wherein the one or more first beam weights and the one or more second beam weights are different from a set of static beam weights of a beam weight codebook (FIG. 2, par. 0063 and 0074 “mitigation of a blockage may be performed by the UE 115-a in a dynamic manner, such that static codebook weightings of a codebook (e.g., generated from a beam training procedure) may be updated with dynamic weightings that help mitigate the blockage.”) . Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate applying adaptive or dynamic beam weights for a set of codebook beam weights as taught by Raghavan502 to the finite-precision codebook as disclosed by Raghavan338 for purpose of applying adaptive or dynamic beam weights beyond a set of codebook beam weights in order to mitigate a blockage condition. Regarding claims 18-21 and 23-25 , as applied to claim 17 above, the claim is rejected for the same reason(s) as set forth claim 1-5 and 6-9 above respectively. Regarding claims 32-35 and 37-39 , as applied to claim 31 above, the claim is rejected for the same reason(s) as set forth claim 1-5 and 6-9 above respectively. Regarding claims 41 and 42 , as applied to claim 40 above, the claim is rejected for the same reason(s) as set forth claim 2 and 3 above respectively . Allowable Subject Matter 12-151-08 AIA 07-43 12-51-08 Claim (s) 6, 22 and 36 is/are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Response to Arguments Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 7, 31 and 40 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Conclusion 07-40 AIA Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL . See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a). A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any nonprovisional extension fee (37 CFR 1.17(a)) pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the mailing date of this final action. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to ALLAHYAR KASRAIAN whose telephone number is (571)270-1772. The examiner can normally be reached Monday - Friday, 8:00 am - 5: 00 pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, RAFAEL PEREZ-GUTIERREZ can be reached at (571)272-7915. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /ALLAHYAR KASRAIAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2642 Application/Control Number: 18/327,836 Page 2 Art Unit: 2642 Application/Control Number: 18/327,836 Page 3 Art Unit: 2642 Application/Control Number: 18/327,836 Page 4 Art Unit: 2642 Application/Control Number: 18/327,836 Page 5 Art Unit: 2642 Application/Control Number: 18/327,836 Page 6 Art Unit: 2642 Application/Control Number: 18/327,836 Page 7 Art Unit: 2642 Application/Control Number: 18/327,836 Page 8 Art Unit: 2642 Application/Control Number: 18/327,836 Page 9 Art Unit: 2642 Application/Control Number: 18/327,836 Page 10 Art Unit: 2642 Application/Control Number: 18/327,836 Page 11 Art Unit: 2642 Application/Control Number: 18/327,836 Page 12 Art Unit: 2642 Application/Control Number: 18/327,836 Page 13 Art Unit: 2642 Application/Control Number: 18/327,836 Page 14 Art Unit: 2642 Application/Control Number: 18/327,836 Page 15 Art Unit: 2642