under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
DETAILED ACTION
This Office action is in response to the application filed on June 2, 2023.
Foreign Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C.
119 (a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Specification
The specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the
presence of all possible minor errors. The applicant's cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which the applicant may become aware in the specification.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because it exceeds the word limit.
Correction is required.
See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-9 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1
Lines 17 & 21, “pressedepressed” should be --pressed--
Claims 1-9
Line 1, “postbucklingaccording” should be --postbuckling according--
Claims 1 & 5
Lines 17 & 21, and line 3, “depressed” should be --pressed--
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 5-9 are rejected under AIA 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being
anticipated by Clingman et al. (U.S. Publication No. 20080100180; hereinafter “Clingman”).
Regarding claim 1, Clingman discloses a self-powered pressure sensor (Fig. 1, 10; [Abstract]) based on postbuckling (Fig. 1; [Abstract]), comprising: an electrical energy storage module (Fig. 1, element for storing the electrical signals generated by 10; [Abstract]) configured to store (Fig. 1) electrical energy (Fig. 1, element for storing the electrical signals generated by 10; [Abstract]), a carrier module (Fig. 1, structure for carrying multiples of 10; [0041]), a sensing information control module (Fig. 1, element for analyzing and processing electrical signals generated by 10; [Abstract]) configured to (Fig. 1) analyze and process electrical signals (Fig. 1, element in 10 for analyzing and processing electrical signals; [Abstract]), and a pressure sensing module (Fig. 1, element for sensing pressure on 10; [Abstract]) provided at (Fig. 1) the carrier module (Fig. 1, structure for carrying multiples of 10; [0041]); wherein the pressure sensing module (Fig. 1, element for sensing pressure on 10; [Abstract]) comprises: a base (Fig. 1, 18; [0028]), a cover plate (Fig. 1, 16; [0028]) inserted in (Fig. 1) the base (Fig. 1, 18; [0028]), and a flexible piezoelectric sheet (Fig. 1, 28; [0035]); wherein a first elastic element (Fig. 1, 26; [0030]) is provided between (Fig. 1) the cover plate (Fig. 1, 16; [0028]) and the base (Fig. 1, 18; [0028]), an installation cavity (Fig. 1, cavity between 16 and 18) is defined between (Fig. 1) the cover plate (Fig. 1, 16; [0028]) and the base (Fig. 1, 18; [0028]), the flexible piezoelectric sheet (Fig. 1, 28; [0035]) is provided in (Fig. 1) the installation cavity (Fig. 1, cavity between 16 and 18), and is fitted along (Fig. 1) its periphery (Fig. 1, periphery of cavity between 16 and 18) with the installation cavity (Fig. 1, cavity between 16 and 18) in a limiting manner (Fig. 1), and a second elastic element (Fig. 1, 30; [0035]) is provided between (Fig. 1) the flexible piezoelectric sheet (Fig. 1, 28; [0035]) and the cover plate (Fig. 1, 16; [0028]), wherein when the cover plate (Fig. 1, 16; [0028]) is pressed downward (Fig. 1), the flexible piezoelectric sheet (Fig. 1, 28; [0035]) is pressedpressed by the cover plate (Fig. 1, 16; [0028]), deformed (Fig. 1), and depressed downward (Fig. 1) under a postbuckling (Fig. 1; [Abstract]); when the flexible piezoelectric sheet (Fig. 1, 28; [0035]) is in a normal state (Fig. 1; [Abstract]), a middle part (Fig. 1, middle part of 28; [0035]) of the flexible piezoelectric sheet (Fig. 1, 28; [0035]) is raised upward (Fig. 1; [0037]); when the flexible piezoelectric sheet (Fig. 1, 28; [0035]) is under the postbuckling (Fig. 1; [Abstract]), the middle part (Fig. 1, middle part of 28; [0035]) of the flexible piezoelectric sheet (Fig. 1, 28; [0035]) is depressed downward (Fig. 1; [0037]); when the flexible piezoelectric sheet (Fig. 1, 28; [0035]) is pressedpressed, electrical energy (Fig. 1; [Abstract]) is generated (Fig. 1; [Abstract]) and transmitted (Fig. 1; [Abstract]) to the electrical energy storage module (Fig. 1, element for storing the electrical signals generated by 10; [Abstract]) and the sensing information control module (Fig. 1, element for analyzing and processing electrical signals generated by 10; [Abstract]).
Regarding claim 2, Clingman discloses the self-powered pressure sensor based on postbucklingaccording to claim 1, wherein the base (Fig. 1, 18; [0028]) comprises (Fig. 1) a lower part base (Fig. 1, lower 32) and an upper part base (Fig. 1, upper 32) screwed (Fig. 1; [0031]) and fixed (Fig. 1; [0031]) with the lower part base (Fig. 1, lower 32); a peripheral edge (Fig. 1, peripheral edge of 28; [0035]) of the flexible piezoelectric sheet (Fig. 1, 28; [0035]) is clamped between (Fig. 1) the lower part base (Fig. 1, lower 32) and the upper part base (Fig. 1, upper 32).
Regarding claim 3, Clingman discloses the self-powered pressure sensor (Fig. 1, 10; [Abstract]) based on postbuckling (Fig. 1; [Abstract]) according to claim 2, wherein a plurality of chutes (Fig. 4, 42) are circularly (Figs. 2/4) provided (Figs. 2/4) at an inner wall (Fig. 1, inner wall of upper 32) of one (Fig. 1, upper 32) of the upper part base (Fig. 1, upper 32) and the cover plate (Fig. 1, 16; [0028]), and a slider (Fig. 2, 38) matched (Figs. 2/4) with the chutes (Fig. 4, 42) in a slide way (Figs. 2/4) is circularly (Figs. 2/4) provided (Figs. 2/4) at an inner wall (Fig. 1, inner wall of 16) of the other one (Fig. 1, 16; [0028]) of the upper part base (Fig. 1, upper 32) and the cover plate (Fig. 1, 16; [0028]).
Regarding claim 5, Clingman discloses the self-powered pressure sensor (Fig. 1, 10; [Abstract]) based on postbuckling (Fig. 1; [Abstract]) according to claim 2, wherein a boss (Fig. 1, 40) is provided at (Fig. 1) the lower part base (Fig. 1, lower 32); when the flexible piezoelectric sheet (Fig. 1, 28; [0035]) is depressed downward (Fig. 1), the boss (Fig. 1, 40) is capable (Fig. 1) of constraining (Fig. 1) the depression extent (Fig. 1, depression extent of 28; [0035])of the piezoelectric flexible sheet (Fig. 1, 28; [0035]).
Regarding claim 6, Clingman discloses the self-powered pressure sensor (Fig. 1, 10; [Abstract]) based on postbuckling (Fig. 1; [Abstract]) according to claim 1, wherein both (Fig. 1) of the base (Fig. 1, 18; [0028]) and the cover plate (Fig. 1, 16; [0028]) are connected to (Fig. 1; [Abstract]) the electrical energy storage module (Fig. 1, element for storing the electrical signals generated by 10; [Abstract]) and the sensing information control module (Fig. 1, element for analyzing and processing electrical signals generated by 10; [Abstract]) through a wire (Fig. 1, 20).
Regarding claim 7, Clingman discloses the self-powered pressure sensor (Fig. 1, 10; [Abstract]) based on postbuckling (Fig. 1; [Abstract]) according to claim 1, wherein the carrier module (Fig. 1, structure for carrying multiples of 10; [0041]) is densely covered (Fig. 1) with pressure sensing modules (Fig. 1, elements for sensing pressure on 10; [Abstract]).
Regarding claim 8, Clingman discloses the self-powered pressure sensor (Fig. 1, 10; [Abstract]) based on postbuckling (Fig. 1; [Abstract]) according to claim 1, wherein a groove (Fig. 1, groove in structure for carrying multiples of 10; [0041]) for installing (Fig. 1; [0041]) the pressure sensing module (Fig. 1, element for sensing pressure on 10; [Abstract]) is provided at (Fig. 1) the carrier module (Fig. 1, structure for carrying multiples of 10; [0041]).
Regarding claim 9, Clingman discloses the self-powered pressure sensor (Fig. 1, 10; [Abstract]) based on postbuckling (Fig. 1; [Abstract]) according to claim 1, wherein the electrical energy storage module (Fig. 1, element for storing the electrical signals generated by 10; [Abstract]) and the sensing information control module (Fig. 1, element for analyzing and processing electrical signals generated by 10; [Abstract]) are provided (Fig. 1) at two sides (Fig. 1, two sides of structure for carrying multiples of 10; [0041]) of the carrier module (Fig. 1, structure for carrying multiples of 10; [0041]), respectively (Fig. 1; [0041]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Clingman in view of Rastegar et al. (U.S. Publication No. 20130049538; hereinafter “Rastegar”).
Regarding claim 4, Clingman discloses the self-powered pressure sensor (Fig. 1, 10; [Abstract]) based on postbuckling (Fig. 1; [Abstract]) according to claim 2, wherein the first elastic element (Fig. 1, 26; [0030]) and the second elastic element (Fig. 1, 30; [0030]), the first elastic element (Fig. 1, 26; [0030]) is connected between (Fig. 1) the slider (Fig. 2, 38) and the chutes (Fig. 2, 42), and the second elastic element (Fig. 1, 30; [0030]) is connected between (Fig. 1) the middle part (Fig. 1, middle part of 28; [0035]) of the flexible piezoelectric sheet (Fig. 1, 28; [0035]) and the cover plate (Fig. 1, 16; [0028]). Clingman does not teach two elastic elements made of springs.
Rastegar, however, does teach two elastic elements made of springs (Fig. 4, 304/402; [0033]).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Clingman to include the springs of Rastegar because it would limit the magnitude of the force acting on the piezoelectric thereby protecting the piezoelectric from damage and improving durability (Rastegar [0033]).
Conclusion
whose telephone number is (571) 272-8782. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday thru Friday from 7:30 AM to 5:00 PM.
supervisor, Dedei Hammond, can be reached on (571) 270-7938. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is (571) 273-8300.
/MONICA MATA/
Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2837
30 May 2026
/EMILY P PHAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837