DETAILED ACTION
This communication is in response to the Remarks and Amendments filed on 30 December, 2025.
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claims 1, 3-4, 6, 8, 10-11, 13, 15, 17-18, and 20 are amended.
Response to Arguments
35 USC § 102
Applicant argues that the cited prior art of record (NPL), does not teach the amended claim limitations. Examiner finds the argument persuasive and a new ground of rejection is presented herewith.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1, 8 and 15 recited the limitation “…establish an offloading path between the intermediate user plane function and an edge anchor user plane function for offloading service flows corresponding to the offloading edge application server address”. For purposes of further examination, anything following “for” in the limitation is interpreted as intended use and therefore, not being given patentable weight.
Respective dependent claims do not cure the deficiency of the parent claim(s) and therefore, inherit the rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over “3rd Generation Partnership Project: Technical Specification Group Services and System Aspects: 5G System Enhancements for Edge Computing, Stage 2-Release 17” dated June 2021, hereinafter NPL, in view of Zhu (WO 2017/147815).
Regarding claim 1, NPL teaches a method for managing edge application server addresses, the method being executed by at least one processor of a session management function, the method comprising:
receiving a domain name system message report transmitted by an edge application server discovery function, the domain name system message report comprising at least two edge application server addresses (NPL p. 17, paragraph before NOTE 6. The EASDF sends the DNS response message to the SMF. p. 19, Figure 6.2.3.2.2-1 Step. 14. The DNS message reporting includes multiple EAS IP addresses);
selecting a target data network access identifier (NPL p. 19-20 Figure 6.2.3.2.2-1 Step 16. the SMF determines the DNAI associated with the EAS IDs, the new UPF and the associated traffic rules based on UPF selection criteria, and performance analytics);
selecting a first edge application server address among the at least two edge application server addresses as an offloading edge application server address, the first edge application server address having a relationship with the target data network access identifier (NPL p. 19-20, Figure 6.2.3.2.2-1 Step 16. the SMF determines the DNAI associated with the EAS IDs, the new UPF and the associated traffic rules based on UPF selection criteria, and performance analytics).
NPL teaches the above but NPL does not explicitly teach generating an offloading rule for an intermediate user plane function based on the offloading edge application server address, the offloading rule being used to establish an offloading path between the intermediate user plane function and an edge anchor user plane function. However, in a similar field of endeavor, Zhu teaches generating an offloading rule for an intermediate user plane function based on the offloading edge application server address, the offloading rule being used to establish an offloading path between the intermediate user plane function and an edge anchor user plane function (Zhu Abstract provides “Embodiments of the present application provide a data offloading method, a mobile edge platform and a core network device, so that data sent by a UE can be directly sent to a local network through a deployed mobile edge server and by means of a data offloading rule, and the data does not need to be forwarded through a core network, thereby providing service experience of rapid access, a high-bandwidth and low time delay to the UE….the mobile edge platform generates a data offloading rule according to the context information; and the mobile edge platform sends the data offloading rule to a data plane, so that the data plane performs a data offloading operation according to the data offloading rule”; Zhu under “Summary of Invention” provides “The mobile edge platform receives the IP address of the UE that the PGW feeds back according to the ID and generates a data offload rule according to the IP address”; Zhu under “Summary of Invention” further provides “The flow rule sends the data offloading rule to the data plane, so that the data plane can classify and send the data sent by the UE by using the data offloading rule, that is, some data can be directly sent to the local network without being forwarded through the core network. Therefore, the UE is provided with a fast access, high bandwidth, and low latency service experience”).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized the ability to utilize the teachings of Zhu for generating an offloading rule. The teachings of Zhu, when implemented in the NPL system, will allow one of ordinary skill in the art to a mobile edge platform and a core network device, so that data sent by a UE can be directly sent to a local network through a deployed mobile edge server and by means of a data offloading rule, and the data does not need to be forwarded through a core network, thereby providing service experience of rapid access, a high-bandwidth and low time delay to the UE (Zhu Abstract). Therefore, the examiner concludes it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s invention to arrive at the above-claimed invention.
Regarding claim 2, the method according to claim 1, wherein the selecting the target data network access identifier comprises: acquiring a target edge application server address from among the at least two edge application server addresses (NPL p.19-20, Figure 6.2.3.2.2-1 Steps 14, 16 discloses the SMF obtaining information on EAS IDs and mapping the NDAI to the received EAS IDs); and selecting a data network access identifier having a relationship with the target edge application server address as the target data network access identifier (NPL p.19-20, Figure 6.2.3.2.2-1 Steps 14, 16 discloses the SMF obtaining information on EAS IDs and mapping the NDAI to the received EAS IDs).
Regarding claim 3, the method according to claim 1, wherein the selecting the target data network access identifier comprises: acquiring one or more data network access identifiers respectively having a relationship with the at least two edge application server addresses (NPL p.19-20, Figure 6.2.3.2.2-1 Steps 14, 16 discloses the SMF obtaining information on EAS IDs and mapping the NDAI to the received EAS IDs); querying a payload condition of the edge anchor user plane function respectively corresponding to the one or more data network access identifiers (NPL Section 6.2.3.3 discloses reselecting an EAS due to UE mobility and local breakout or load considerations); and determining the target data network access identifier from the one or more data network access identifiers according to the payload condition (NPL Section 6.2.3.3 discloses reselecting an EAS due to UE mobility and local breakout or load considerations).
Regarding claim 4, the method according to claim 1, wherein the selecting the target data network access identifier comprises: acquiring one or more data network access identifiers respectively having a relationship with the at least two edge application server addresses (NPL p.19-20, Figure 6.2.3.2.2-1 Steps 14, 16 discloses the SMF obtaining information on EAS IDs and mapping the NDAI to the received EAS IDs); acquiring a predicted average payload condition of the edge anchor user plane function respectively corresponding to the one or more data network access identifiers within a target time period (NPL Section 6.2.3.3 discloses reselecting an EAS due to UE mobility and local breakout or load considerations); and determining the target data network access identifier from the one or more data network access identifiers based on the predicted average payload condition (NPL Section 6.2.3.3 discloses reselecting an EAS due to UE mobility and local breakout or load considerations).
Regarding claim 5, the method according to claim 1, wherein the selecting the target data network access identifier comprises: acquiring one or more data network access identifiers respectively having a relationship with the at least two edge application server addresses (NPL p.19-20, Figure 6.2.3.2.2-1 Steps 14, 16 discloses the SMF obtaining information on EAS IDs and mapping the NDAI to the received EAS IDs); and determining the target data network access identifier from the one or more data network access identifiers based on a polling mechanism (NPL p.19-20 discloses the SMF obtaining information on EAS IDs and mapping the NDAI to the received EAS IDs).
Regarding claim 6, the method according to claim 1, further comprising: establishing the offloading path between the intermediate user plane function and an edge anchor user plane function corresponding to the target data network access identifier (NPL p.19-20, Figure 6.2.3.2.2-1 Steps 14, 16 discloses the SMF obtaining information on EAS IDs and mapping the NDAI to the received EAS IDs); and delivering the offloading rule to the intermediate user plane function, the intermediate user plane function configured to forward a service access request from user equipment for accessing the offloading edge application server address to the edge anchor user plane function based on the offloading rule and the offloading path, the edge anchor user plane function being configured to forward the service access request to an edge application server corresponding to the offloading edge application server address (NPL p.19-20, Figure 6.2.3.2.2-1 Steps 17-19 discloses the SMF informing the selection decisions and traffic rules for implementation to the EASDF and UE).
Regarding claim 7, the method according to claim 1, further comprising: transmitting the offloading edge application server address to the edge application server discovery function, the edge application server discovery function configured to transmit the offloading edge application server address to user equipment (NPL p.19-20, Figure 6.2.3.2.2-1 Steps 17-19 discloses the SMF informing the selection decisions and traffic rules for implementation to the EASDF and UE).
Regarding claim 8, this claim contains limitations found within those of claim 1, and the same rationale of rejection applies, where applicable.
Regarding claim 9, this claim contains limitations found within those of claim 2, and the same rationale of rejection applies, where applicable.
Regarding claim 10, this claim contains limitations found within those of claim 3, and the same rationale of rejection applies, where applicable.
Regarding claim 11, this claim contains limitations found within those of claim 4, and the same rationale of rejection applies, where applicable.
Regarding claim 12, this claim contains limitations found within those of claim 5, and the same rationale of rejection applies, where applicable.
Regarding claim 13, this claim contains limitations found within those of claim 6, and the same rationale of rejection applies, where applicable.
Regarding claim 14, this claim contains limitations found within those of claim 7, and the same rationale of rejection applies, where applicable.
Regarding claim 15, this claim contains limitations found within those of claim 1, and the same rationale of rejection applies, where applicable.
Regarding claim 16, this claim contains limitations found within those of claim 2, and the same rationale of rejection applies, where applicable.
Regarding claim 17, this claim contains limitations found within those of claim 3, and the same rationale of rejection applies, where applicable.
Regarding claim 18, this claim contains limitations found within those of claim 4, and the same rationale of rejection applies, where applicable.
Regarding claim 19, this claim contains limitations found within those of claim 5, and the same rationale of rejection applies, where applicable.
Regarding claim 20, this claim contains limitations found within those of claim 1, and the same rationale of rejection applies, where applicable.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Zhu WO 2019/137125A1.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/I.R/Examiner, Art Unit 2459 /TONIA L DOLLINGER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2459