Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-15, 17-20 and 22-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tanielian et al., US PGPUB 20190033262 hereinafter referenced as Tanielian in view of Lumsden et al., US PGPUB 20190077559 hereinafter referenced as Lumsden.
As to claim 1, Tanielian discloses a container (system 100, fig. 1) comprising: a housing defining an internal compartment for storing one or more items (e.g., compartment 102, fig. 1);
a door moveably coupled to the housing, wherein the door is moveable between a closed position in which the internal compartment is closed, and an open position in which the internal compartment is accessible (e.g., lid 104, fig. 1); and
a system for indicating tampering, the system comprising a tamper indicator coupled to one or both of the housing or the door (e.g., member 108, fig. 1; wherein ember 108 is attached to lid 104 and positioned in such a way that it momentarily interfaces with the resonator of bracket 106 when lid 104 is opened),
wherein a main body of the tamper indicator in the stowed position is disposed in a plane that is parallel with a lower surface of a top wall of the housing, and wherein the tamper indicator in the tamper-indicating position is biased against an interior surface of the door ([0031] The opening of lid 104 causes member 108 to perturb resonator 216 at block 504, causing it to vibrate at its resonant frequency at block 506).
Tanielian does not specifically disclose the tamper indicator is spring-biased and moveable between a stowed position and a tamper-indicating position.
However, in the same endeavor, Lumsden discloses the tamper indicator is spring-biased and moveable between a stowed position and a tamper-indicating position ([0031] the barrier 206 can be releasably held in the closed position using one or more known techniques, such as one or more springs, pins, internal or external latches, etc.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the disclosure of Tanielian to further include Lumsden’s spring mechanism, in order to improve the safety feature of the container.
As to claim 14, Tanielian discloses an aircraft comprising: an internal cabin; a seat with the internal cabin (system 100, fig. 1); and
a life vest box mounted to the seat, the life vest box comprising: a housing defining an internal compartment for storing a life vest, wherein the housing comprises a protuberance extending from one or more interior surfaces ([0002] For example, some commercial aircraft have compartments for life vests that are accessible from inside the aircraft);
a door moveably coupled to the housing, wherein the door is moveable between a closed position in which the internal compartment is closed, and an open position in which the internal compartment is accessible (e.g., lid 104, fig. 1); and
a system for indicating tampering, the system comprising a tamper indicator coupled to one or both of the housing or the door, wherein the protuberance holds the tamper indicator in place when the door is in the closed position and the tamper indicator is in the stowed position (e.g., member 108, fig. 1; wherein ember 108 is attached to lid 104 and positioned in such a way that it momentarily interfaces with the resonator of bracket 106 when lid 104 is opened),
wherein the tamper indicator in the tamper-indicating position is biased against an interior surface of the door, wherein a main body of the tamper indicator in the stowed position is disposed in a plane that is parallel with a lower surface of a top wall of the housing, and wherein the tamper indicator in the tamper-indicating position is biased against an interior surface of the door ([0031] The opening of lid 104 causes member 108 to perturb resonator 216 at block 504, causing it to vibrate at its resonant frequency at block 506).
Tanielian does not specifically disclose the tamper indicator is spring- biased and moveable between a stowed position and a tamper-indicating position.
However, in the same endeavor, Lumsden discloses the tamper indicator is spring- biased and moveable between a stowed position and a tamper-indicating position ([0031] the barrier 206 can be releasably held in the closed position using one or more known techniques, such as one or more springs, pins, internal or external latches, etc.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the disclosure of Tanielian to further include Lumsden’s spring mechanism, in order to improve the safety feature of the container.
As to claim 20, Tanielian discloses a method for indicating tampering, the method comprising: moveably coupling a door to a housing defining an internal compartment for storing one or more items (system 100, fig. 1),
wherein the door is moveable between a closed position in which the internal compartment is closed, and an open position in which the internal compartment is accessible (e.g., lid 104 is attached to compartment 102 or not); and
coupling a tamper indicator to one or both of the housing or the door, (e.g., member 108, fig. 1; wherein ember 108 is attached to lid 104 and positioned in such a way that it momentarily interfaces with the resonator of bracket 106 when lid 104 is opened),
wherein a main body of the tamper indicator in the stowed position is disposed in a plane that is parallel with a lower surface of a top wall of the housing, and wherein the tamper indicator in the tamper-indicating position is biased against an interior surface of the door ([0031] The opening of lid 104 causes member 108 to perturb resonator 216 at block 504, causing it to vibrate at its resonant frequency at block 506).
Tanielian does not specifically disclose the tamper indicator is spring- biased and moveable between a stowed position and a tamper-indicating position.
However, in the same endeavor, Lumsden discloses the tamper indicator is spring- biased and moveable between a stowed position and a tamper-indicating position ([0031] the barrier 206 can be releasably held in the closed position using one or more known techniques, such as one or more springs, pins, internal or external latches, etc.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the disclosure of Tanielian to further include Lumsden’s spring mechanism, in order to improve the safety feature of the container.
As to claim 2, the combination of Tanielian and Lumsden discloses the container of claim 1. The combination further discloses the tamper indicator is moved from the stowed position to the tamper-indicating position as the door is moved from the closed position toward the open position (Lumsden, e.g., open position of fig. 4).
3. (Canceled)
As to claim 4, the combination of Tanielian and Lumsden discloses the container of claim 1. The combination further discloses the door is transparent, and wherein the tamper indicator in the tamper-indicating position is visible through the door (Lumsden, [0025] When the stowage container is positioned, for example, under a passenger seat, a breached or unbreeched state of the stowage container can be detected visually across a relatively wide field of view and from a predetermined eyepoint by a standing adult, for example from an aisle or within a row of an aircraft, without requiring an inspector to unduly bend, stoop, use a viewing aid such as a flashlight or a mirror, and without requiring an inspector to reposition other seat system structures such as an armrest, a seat cushion, a furniture panel, a dress or other cover, a strap, and a door).
As to claim 5, the combination of Tanielian and Lumsden discloses the container of claim 1. The combination further discloses the container is a life vest box configured to be secured to a seat within an internal cabin of a vehicle (Lumsden, [0026] where the stowage container is secured by a barrier such as a door. In one implementation, the stowage container is a life vest stowage container for an aircraft and the item is a life vest).
As to claim 6, the combination of Tanielian and Lumsden discloses the container of claim 1. The combination further discloses the tamper indicator comprises: a proximal end moveably secured to a bracket, wherein the bracket is secured to an interior surface of the door; a distal end; and a main body extending between the proximal end and the distal end (Tanielian, e.g., the arrangement of bracket 106, fig. 1).
As to claim 7, the combination of Tanielian and Lumsden discloses the container of claim 6. The combination further discloses a torsion spring couples the proximal end to the bracket ([0031] the barrier 206 can be releasably held in the closed position using one or more known techniques, such as one or more springs, pins, internal or external latches, etc.)
As to claim 8, the combination of Tanielian and Lumsden discloses the container of claim 1. The combination further discloses the tamper indicator in the tamper- indicating position is biased against an interior surface of the door (Tanielian, e.g., the arrangement of member 108, fig. 1).
As to claim 9, the combination of Tanielian and Lumsden discloses the container of claim 1. The combination further discloses the housing comprises a protuberance extending from one or more interior surfaces, wherein the protuberance holds the tamper indicator in place when the door is in the closed position and the tamper indicator is in the stowed position (Tanielinan, e.g., member 108, fig. 1; wherein ember 108 is attached to lid 104 and positioned in such a way that it momentarily interfaces with the resonator of bracket 106 when lid 104 is opened).
As to claim 10, the combination of Tanielian and Lumsden discloses the container of claim 9. The combination further discloses the protuberance comprises a ledge extending from a lateral wall of the housing (Tanielinan, e.g., bracket 106, fig. 1).
As to claim 11, the combination of Tanielian and Lumsden discloses the container of claim 1. The combination further discloses the system further comprises an adhesive layer configured to securely fasten the tamper indicator to the door in the tamper-indicating position (Tanielinan, [0024] Bracket 106 may further, or alternately, have a surface amenable to attachment to compartment 102 using adhesive, e.g., epoxy resin).
As to claim 12, the combination of Tanielian and Lumsden discloses the container of claim 1. The combination further discloses the door comprises an opening, and wherein the tamper indicator includes a protuberance that extends into the opening when the tamper indicator is in the tamper-indicating position (Tanielinan, e.g., member 108, fig. 1; wherein ember 108 is attached to lid 104 and positioned in such a way that it momentarily interfaces with the resonator of bracket 106 when lid 104 is opened).
As to claim 13, the combination of Tanielian and Lumsden discloses the container of claim 12. The combination further discloses the protuberance comprises a latching surface that is configured to latch onto an outer surface of the door when the tamper indicator is in the tamper-indicating position (Lumsden, [0031] the barrier 206 can be releasably held in the closed position using one or more known techniques, such as one or more springs, pins, internal or external latches, etc.).
As to claim 15, the combination of Tanielian and Lumsden discloses the aircraft of claim 14. The combination further discloses the tamper indicator is moved from the stowed position to the tamper-indicating position as the door is moved from the closed position toward the open position (Lumsden, e.g., open position of fig. 4).
16. (Canceled)
As to claim 17, the combination of Tanielian and Lumsden discloses the aircraft of claim 14. The combination further discloses the door is transparent, and wherein the tamper indicator in the tamper-indicating position is visible through the door (Lumsden, [0025] When the stowage container is positioned, for example, under a passenger seat, a breached or unbreeched state of the stowage container can be detected visually across a relatively wide field of view and from a predetermined eyepoint by a standing adult, for example from an aisle or within a row of an aircraft, without requiring an inspector to unduly bend, stoop, use a viewing aid such as a flashlight or a mirror, and without requiring an inspector to reposition other seat system structures such as an armrest, a seat cushion, a furniture panel, a dress or other cover, a strap, and a door).
As to claim 18, the combination of Tanielian and Lumsden discloses the aircraft of claim 14. The combination further discloses the tamper indicator comprises: a proximal end moveably secured to a bracket, wherein the bracket is secured to an interior surface of the door, and wherein a torsion spring couples the proximal end to the bracket; a distal end; a main body extending between the proximal end and the distal end ([0031] the barrier 206 can be releasably held in the closed position using one or more known techniques, such as one or more springs, pins, internal or external latches, etc.)
As to claim 19, the combination of Tanielian and Lumsden discloses the aircraft of claim 14. The combination further discloses the protuberance comprises a ledge extending from a lateral wall of the housing (Tanielian, e.g., the arrangement of bracket 106, fig. 1).
21. (Canceled)
As to claim 22, the combination of Tanielian and Lumsden discloses the container of claim 7. The combination further discloses the torsion spring is retained by the bracket, and wherein the torsion spring exerts a spring force into the tamper indicator to rotate the tamper indicator about a rotation axis toward the interior surface of the door (Tanielinan, e.g., member 108, fig. 1; wherein ember 108 is attached to lid 104 and positioned in such a way that it momentarily interfaces with the resonator of bracket 106 when lid 104 is opened).
As to claim 23, the combination of Tanielian and Lumsden discloses the method of claim 20. The combination further discloses the tamper indicator comprises: a proximal end moveably secured to a bracket, wherein the bracket is secured to an interior surface of the door, and wherein a torsion spring couples the proximal end to the bracket; a distal end; a main body extending between the proximal end and the distal end ([0031] the barrier 206 can be releasably held in the closed position using one or more known techniques, such as one or more springs, pins, internal or external latches, etc.).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kirsh, US PGPUB 20160001930 in one embodiment discloses, there is provided a sealable or resealable container comprising a container as described herein and any sealable/resealable system as disclosed herein. The sealable or resealable container may comprise one or more sealable or resealable openings, and one or more compartments. The sealable or resealable container may by child-resistant and/or may comprise a tamper-indicating feature on at least one compartment. The sealable/resealable containers provided herein may be used for holding, storing, containing, or transporting one or more items, materials, or substances. In one embodiment, the items, materials, or substances may not suitable for handling or consumption by a child. Examples of container contents may include medication, household cleaners, money, or any other contents as needed.
/SAHLU OKEBATO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2625 5/13/2026