Acknowledged Receipt
This office action is responsive to Amendment filed on 20 January 2026.
Response to Arguments
The Non-Final Rejection for Claims 1-5, 8, 10-14, 17 and 19-20 of the last Office Action (mailed on 06 November 2025) is withdrawn based on Amendment filed on 20 January 2026 (see pages 9-10 in “REMARKS” section). A Non-Final Rejection is being re-issued in this office action, note the same reference (Aruga US 11124278 B2) is listed, however the annotated Fig. 7 (specifically, the location of the “base”) has been revised.
Status
In the amendment filed 20 January 2026, independent Claim(s) 1, 10 and 19 has/have been amended. Claim(s) 2 and 11 is/are canceled. Claim(s) 21-22 is/are newly added. A Non-Final Rejection is being re-issued in this paper.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: Reference to a Claim in the Specification is considered improper, since the statement might be inconsistent with the Claim in the event that Claims are renumbered or amended. Hence, examiner suggests to replace statements in the Specification, found in ¶ [0060] – [0079], such as "Clause 1.” (¶ [0060]), with a description of the features or particular limitations of the claimed apparatus which applicant intends to point out, where appropriate. The examiner maintains that “Clause 1.” through “Clause 20.” (¶ [0060] – [0079]) found in the Specification appear to be in reference to Claims considering they have the same language as found in the originally filed Claims.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-5, 8, 10, 12-14, 17 and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Aruga (US 11124278 B2, see reference in its entirety).
With respect to independent Claim 1, Aruga disclose(s): A system (col. 11, lines 49-51) for indicating tampering of a container (Fig. 8A: 41) , the system comprising:
a base (see annotated Fig. 7 below) configured to be secured to a front face of a door of the container (Fig. 8A: 51);
a retainer (Fig. 8A: 55) configured to be secured to a portion of a housing of the container (Fig. 8A: 50); and
a tamper indicator (Fig. 8A: 30) comprising:
a flag coupled to the base (see annotated Fig. 8A below) and
a tether extending from the flag (see annotated Fig. 8A below) , wherein the tether is coupled to the retainer (Fig. 8A), wherein the tether includes a weakened area (see annotated Fig. 8A below) that is configured to break to separate the flag from the base in response to the door of the container being opened (col. 11, lines 49-51: 41).
Regarding Claim 3, Aruga disclose(s) the system of Claim 1.
Aruga further disclose(s): wherein the portion of the housing of the container is an outer surface of a top wall of the housing (Fig. 8A).
Regarding Claim 4, Aruga disclose(s) the system of Claim 1.
Aruga further disclose(s): wherein the flag coupled to the base provides an undisturbed indication (Fig. 8A), and wherein the base without the flag provides a tampered indication (col. 11, lines 49-51).
Regarding Claim 5, Aruga disclose(s) the system of Claim 1.
Aruga further disclose(s): wherein the container is a life vest box (Fig. 7: 40) for an internal cabin of a vehicle (col. 1, lines 6-7) , and wherein the life vest box is secured to a seat within the internal cabin (Fig. 1: 9).
Regarding Claim 8, Aruga disclose(s) the system of Claim 1.
Aruga further disclose(s): wherein the retainer comprises a tether housing (Fig. 7: 552) having an inlet channel and an outlet channel opposite from the inlet channel (see annotated Fig. 7 below) , and wherein a portion of the tether is secured within the tether housing (Fig. 8A).
With respect to independent Claim 10, Aruga disclose(s): A container (Fig. 8A: 41) comprising:
a housing (Fig. 8A: 50) defining an internal compartment for storing one or more items (see annotated Fig. 7 below);
a door (Fig. 7: 51) moveably coupled to the container (Fig. 7), wherein the door is configured to be moved from a closed position (Fig. 8A), in which the internal compartment is closed (Fig. 8A), and an open position (Fig. 7), in which the internal compartment is accessible (Fig. 7) ; and
a system for indicating tampering of the container (col. 11, lines 49-51), the system comprising:
a base (see annotated Fig. 7 below) secured to a front face of the door of the container (Fig. 8A) ;
a retainer (Fig. 8A: 55) configured secured to a portion of the housing of the container (Fig. 8A); and
a tamper indicator (Fig. 8A: 30) comprising:
a flag coupled to the base (see annotated Fig. 8A below); and
a tether extending from the flag (see annotated Fig. 8A below), wherein the tether is coupled to the retainer (Fig. 8A), wherein the tether includes a weakened area (see annotated Fig. 8A below) that is configured to break to separate the flag from the base in response to the door of the container being opened (col. 11, lines 49-51: 41).
Regarding Claim 11, Aruga disclose(s) the system of Claim 10.
Aruga further disclose(s): wherein the base is secured to a front face of the door of the container (Fig. 8B).
Regarding Claim 12, Aruga disclose(s) the system of Claim 10.
Aruga further disclose(s): wherein the portion of the housing of the container is an outer surface of a top wall of the housing (Fig. 8A).
Regarding Claim 13, Aruga disclose(s) the system of Claim 10.
Aruga further disclose(s): wherein the flag coupled to the base provides an undisturbed indication (Fig. 8A), and wherein the base without the flag provides a tampered indication (Fig. 8B and col. 11, lines 49-51).
Regarding Claim 14, Aruga disclose(s) the system of Claim 10.
Aruga further disclose(s): wherein the container is a life vest box (Fig. 7: 40) for an internal cabin of a vehicle (col. 1, lines 6-7) , and wherein the life vest box is secured to a seat within the internal cabin (Fig. 1: 9).
Regarding Claim 17, Aruga disclose(s) the system of Claim 10.
Aruga further disclose(s): wherein the retainer comprises a tether housing (Fig. 7: 552) having an inlet channel and an outlet channel opposite from the inlet channel (see annotated Fig. 7 below) , and wherein a portion of the tether is secured within the tether housing (Fig. 8A).
With respect to independent Claim 19, Aruga disclose(s): A vehicle (col. 1, lines 6-7) comprising:
an internal cabin (col. 1, lines 6-7);
a seat within the internal cabin (Fig. 1: 9) ; and
a life vest box (Fig. 7: 40) secured to the seat (col. 1, lines 8-10), wherein the life vest box comprises:
a housing (Fig. 8A: 50) defining an internal compartment (see annotated Fig. 7 below);
for storing a life vest (Fig. 2B: 8)
a door (Fig. 7: 51) moveably coupled to the life vest box (Fig. 7), wherein the door is configured to be moved from a closed position (Fig. 8A), in which the internal compartment is closed (Fig. 8A), and an open position (Fig. 7), in which the internal compartment is accessible (Fig. 7); and
a system for indicating tampering of the life vest box (col. 11, lines 49-51), the system comprising:
a base (see annotated Fig. 7 below) secured to a front face of the door of the life vest box (Fig. 8A); a retainer (Fig. 8A: 55) configured secured to a portion of the housing of the life vest box(Fig. 8A); and
a tamper indicator (Fig. 8A: 30) comprising:
a flag coupled to the base (see annotated Fig. 8A below); and
a tether extending from the flag (see annotated Fig. 8A below), wherein the tether is coupled to the retainer (Fig. 8A), wherein the tether includes a weakened area (see annotated Fig. 8A below) that is configured to break to separate the flag from the base in response to the door of the life vest box being opened (col. 11, lines 49-51: 41).
Regarding Claim 20, Aruga disclose(s) the system of Claim 19.
Aruga further disclose(s): wherein the portion of the housing of the life vest box is an outer surface of a top wall of the housing (Fig. 8A), wherein the flag coupled to the base provides an undisturbed indication (Fig. 8A), and wherein the base without the flag provides a tampered indication (col. 11, lines 49-51).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-7, 9, 15-16, 18 and 21-22 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Reasons for Allowance
The following is an examiner's statement of reasons for allowance for Claim(s) 6-7: the prior art does not disclose or suggest with regards to dependent Claim(s) 6: A system for indicating tampering of a container , the system comprising: wherein the base comprises: a panel; and retaining cuffs outwardly extending from the panel, specifically wherein each of the retaining cuffs includes an extension beam outwardly extending from the panel, and a retainer beam downwardly extending from the extension beam, wherein a slot is defined between the panel, the extension beam, and the retainer beam, wherein a passage separates the retaining cuffs, wherein the flag is secured by the panel and the retaining cuffs, and wherein a portion of the tether extends upwardly through the passage in combination with the remaining limitations of the claims.
The following is an examiner's statement of reasons for allowance for Claim(s) 9: the prior art does not disclose or suggest with regards to dependent Claim(s) 9: A system for indicating tampering of a container, the system comprising: wherein the tether comprises a ratchet segment specifically wherein the ratchet segment is configured to be moveably secured to the retainer, wherein the ratchet segment comprises teeth that cooperate with reciprocal teeth of the retainer in combination with the remaining limitations of the claims.
The following is an examiner's statement of reasons for allowance for Claim(s) 15-16: the prior art does not disclose or suggest with regards to dependent Claim(s) 15: A container comprising:
wherein the base comprises: a panel; and retaining cuffs outwardly extending from the panel, specifically wherein each of the retaining cuffs includes an extension beam outwardly extending from the panel, and a retainer beam downwardly extending from the extension beam, wherein a slot is defined between the panel, the extension beam, and the retainer beam, wherein a passage separates the retaining cuffs, wherein the flag is secured by the panel and the retaining cuffs, and wherein a portion of the tether extends upwardly through the passage in combination with the remaining limitations of the claims.
The following is an examiner's statement of reasons for allowance for Claim(s) 18: the prior art does not disclose or suggest with regards to dependent Claim(s) 18: A container comprising:
wherein the tether comprises a ratchet segment specifically wherein the ratchet segment is configured to be moveably secured to the retainer, wherein the ratchet segment comprises teeth that cooperate with reciprocal teeth of the retainer in combination with the remaining limitations of the claims.
The following is an examiner's statement of reasons for allowance for Claim(s) 21: the prior art does not disclose or suggest with regards to dependent Claim(s) 21: A vehicle, the vehicle comprising: wherein the base comprises: a panel; and retaining cuffs outwardly extending from the panel, specifically wherein each of the retaining cuffs includes an extension beam outwardly extending from the panel, and a retainer beam downwardly extending from the extension beam, wherein a slot is defined between the panel, the extension beam, and the retainer beam, wherein a passage separates the retaining cuffs, wherein the flag is secured by the panel and the retaining cuffs, and wherein a portion of the tether extends upwardly through the passage in combination with the remaining limitations of the claims.
The following is an examiner's statement of reasons for allowance for Claim(s) 22: the prior art does not disclose or suggest with regards to dependent Claim(s) 22: A vehicle, the vehicle comprising: wherein the tether comprises a ratchet segment specifically wherein the ratchet segment is configured to be moveably secured to the retainer, wherein the ratchet segment comprises teeth that cooperate with reciprocal teeth of the retainer in combination with the remaining limitations of the claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
The following reference(s) relate to tamperproof devices: Cotte (US 12136010 B2); Bryant (US 2020/0372318 A1); Brackmann et al. (US 2010/0265068 A1); Korn et al. (US 6888241 B1).
The following reference(s) relate to aircraft tamperproof devices: Wunderlich et al. (US 2019/0233121 A1).
/TC/
18 March 2026
/KRISTINA M DEHERRERA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2855