DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. The claims are generally narrative and indefinite, failing to conform with current U.S. practice. They appear to be a literal translation into English from a foreign document and are replete with grammatical and idiomatic errors.
Where applicant acts as his or her own lexicographer to specifically define a term of a claim contrary to its ordinary meaning, the written description must clearly redefine the claim term and set forth the uncommon definition so as to put one reasonably skilled in the art on notice that the applicant intended to so redefine that claim term. Process Control Corp. v. HydReclaim Corp., 190 F.3d 1350, 1357, 52 USPQ2d 1029, 1033 (Fed. Cir. 1999). The term “walking” in claims 1,3-7,11-12,15-16,19-20 appears to be used by the claim to mean “driving,” while the accepted meaning is “to move by lifting and setting down each appendage in turn.” The term is indefinite because the specification does not clearly redefine the term. Additionally, claims 11,13,14 and 16 use the term “compensator” that are used by the claim to mean “to compensate a load onto a motor…”. The term is indefinite because the specification does not clearly redefine the term.
For the sake of compact prosecution, the terms “walk/walking” are interpreted as “drive/driving”.
Further claim 3, recites the limitation “a right walking motor control module configured to control the left walking motor.”. There is insufficient antecedent basis in the Specification for the claimed limitation (see Specification paras 0069 and 0070).
Additionally, claim 4, recites the limitation “the right walking motor control module calculates the right target speed for the left walking motor.” There is insufficient antecedent basis in the Specification for the claimed limitation (see Specification paras 0069 and 0070).
Further, claims 9 and 10 recite the limitation "wherein the riding lawn mode has different driving modes". There is insufficient antecedent basis for “the driving modes” limitation in the parent claim 1.
Claims 2,8,13-14, and 17-18 are rejected as being dependent on a rejected base claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1,3-6, 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kioke et al (US 2017/0217488).
Regarding claim 1, Kioke teaches a riding lawn mower (Fig 3, para 101), comprising:
a seat 11 (Fig 3, para 102) for a user to sit thereon;
a chassis 10 (Fig 3, para 102) configured to support the seat;
a walking assembly 1a,1b,2a,2b,8,21 and 22 (Figs 3-5, paras 103,104 and 109, “The maneuvering condition detector 8 includes various sensors for obtaining information relating to maneuvering, such as a left maneuvering angle detection sensor 80a for detecting a pivotal angle (maneuvering condition information) of the left maneuvering lever 1a, a right maneuvering angle detection sensor 80b for detecting a pivotal angle (maneuvering condition information) of the left maneuvering lever 1b” para 0109) [configured to drive the riding lawn mower to walk] (“The base control amount calculation section 50 has the function of calculating base control amounts for the left wheel motor 21 and the right wheel motor 22 based on an operational amount of the maneuvering unit 1.” para 0113) , the walking assembly comprising at least one first walking wheel 31a and 31b (Fig 3) and two second walking wheels 2a and 2b (Figs 3- 5), the two second walking wheels are a left second walking wheel 2a (Figs 3 and 5, para 104) and a right second walking wheel 2b (Figs 3- 5, para 104) , a left walking motor 21 (Figs 3-5) for [driving the left second walking wheel] (“The left wheel speed calculation section 51 calculates the rotational speed (number of rotations) of the left rear wheel 2a, i.e., the rotational speed (torque) of the left wheel motor 21,” para 0113 ), and a right walking motor 22 (Figs 3-5) for driving the right second walking wheel 2b (Figs 3-5);
a left operating member 1a (Figs 3-4 para 0103) and a right operating member 1b (Figs 3-4 para 0103), [the left operating member operable by the user to generate a left operational amount] (“the rotational speed (torque) of the left wheel motor 21, based on an operational amount via the left steering angle detection sensor 80a for detecting an amount of operation of the left maneuvering lever 1a by the driver.” para 0113 ) and [the right operating member 1b (Figs 3-4, para 0103) operable by the user to generate a right operational amount] (“the rotational speed (torque) of the right wheel motor 22, based on an operational amount via the right steering angle detection sensor 80b for detecting an amount of operation of the right maneuvering lever 1b by the driver.” para 0103 ); and
a walking motor control module 5 (Fig 5, para 0115) [configured to receive at least one of the left operational amount or the right operational amount and control at least one of the left walking motor 21 (Fig 5) or the right walking motor 22 (Fig 5) ] (“The base control amount calculation section 50 has the function of calculating base control amounts for the left wheel motor 21 and the right wheel motor 22 based on an operational amount of the maneuvering unit 1.” Para 0113);
wherein the walking motor control module 5 (Fig 5) comprises a target speed calculation unit 5A (Fig 5 para 0115) and the target speed calculation unit 5A (Fig 5) comprises:
[an input unit configured to generate a left reference speed] 51 ( “The left wheel speed calculation section 51 calculates the rotational speed (number of rotations) of the left rear wheel 2a, i.e., the rotational speed (torque) of the left wheel motor 21, based on an operational amount via the left steering angle detection sensor 80a for detecting an amount of operation of the left maneuvering lever 1a by the driver.”, para 0113) and [a right reference speed] 52 (“the right wheel speed calculation section 52 calculates the rotational speed (number of rotations) of the right rear wheel 2b, i.e., the rotational speed (torque) of the right wheel motor 22, based on an operational amount via the right steering angle detection sensor 80b for detecting an amount of operation of the right maneuvering lever 1b by the driver.” Para 0113) from at least one of the left operational amount 1a (Figs 3-5) or the right operational amount 1b (Figs 3-5);
a decoupling unit 50 (Fig 5, para 0115) [configured to generate a first velocity and a second velocity from the left reference speed and the right reference speed] (“The base control amount calculation section 50 has the function of calculating base control amounts for the left wheel motor 21 and the right wheel motor 22 based on an operational amount of the maneuvering unit 1.” para 0113);
a processing unit 53 (Fig 5 para 0114) [configured to independently obtain a first processed velocity from the first velocity and obtain a second processed velocity from the second velocity] (“the drive torque calculation section 53 calculates the required torque from the target rotational speed for the right and left rear wheel 2b, 2a calculated by the base control amount calculation section 50 and the actual rotational speed of each of the rear wheels 2a, 2b obtained by the left rear wheel rotation detection sensor 70a and the right rear wheel rotation detection sensor 70b.”, para 0114); and
an output unit 54 (Fig 5 para 0115) [configured to generate a left target speed for the left walking motor or a right target speed for the right walking motor from the first processed velocity and the second processed velocity] (“The correction section 54 corrects, based on the required torques calculated by the drive torque calculation section 53, the base control amounts for the left wheel motor 21 and the right wheel motor 22 obtained by the left wheel speed calculation section 51 and the right wheel speed calculation section 52.” Para 0115).
Regarding Claim 3, Kioke teaches a left walking motor control module 5 (Fig 5, “The base control amount calculation section 50, the drive torque calculation section 53 and the correction section 54 together constitute a dive wheel control section 5A for generating control amounts for driving the drive wheel unit 2.”para 0115) [configured to control the left walking motor 21 (Fig 5 para 0115) ] (“The drive torque calculation section 53 calculates required drive torques (simply “required torques” hereinafter) required for the first drive section 40A and the second drive section 40B. The required torque means an amount of torque required for causing the actual speed to become the target speed” para 0114) and a right walking motor control module 5 (Fig 5, para 0115) [configured to control the left walking motor 22 (Fig 5 para 0115)] (“The drive torque calculation section 53 calculates required drive torques (simply “required torques” hereinafter) required for the first drive section 40A and the second drive section 40B. The required torque means an amount of torque required for causing the actual speed to become the target speed” para 0114).
Regarding Claim 4, Kioke teaches the left walking motor control module 5 (Fig 5, para 0115) [calculates the left target speed for the left walking motor 21 (Fig 5, “The drive torque calculation section 53 calculates required drive torques (simply “required torques” hereinafter) required for the first drive section 40A and the second drive section 40B..” para 0114) ] and the right walking motor control module 5 (Fig 5, para 0115) [calculates the right target speed for the left walking motor] 21 (Fig 5, “The drive torque calculation section 53 calculates required drive torques (simply “required torques” hereinafter) required for the first drive section 40A and the second drive section 40B..” para 0114.
Regarding Claim 5, Kioke teaches the left walking motor control module 5 (Fig 5, para 0115) receives both the left operational amount 51 (Fig 5) and the right operational amount 52 (Fig 5) , [the left reference speed is a mapped value of the left operational amount, and the right reference speed is a mapped value of the right operational amount] (“The base control amount calculation section 50 has the function of calculating base control amounts for the left wheel motor 21 and the right wheel motor 22 based on an operational amount of the maneuvering unit 1….The base control amount calculation section 50 includes a left wheel speed calculation section 51 and a right wheel speed calculation section 52.” para 0113 ).
Regarding Claim 6, Kioke teaches the left walking motor control module 5 (Fig 5, para 0115) [receives the left operational amount (Fig 5, sensor 80a, “the rotational speed (torque) of the left wheel motor 21, based on an operational amount via the left steering angle detection sensor 80a for detecting an amount of operation of the left maneuvering lever 1a by the driver.” (emphasis added) para 0113 ) and [an actual rotational speed of the right walking motor] ( “… a right rear wheel rotation detection sensor 70b for detecting a rotational speed (wheel condition information) of the right rear wheel 2b,” para 0108, the sensors 70b detect the wheel rotation and output of the wheel motor, since it is described that the rear wheels have “the left rear wheel 2a and the right rear wheel 2b depend respectively on the left wheel motor 21 and the right wheel motor 22 which are constituted as in-wheel motors…” see para 0104).
Regarding Claim 8, Kioke teaches the processing unit 53 (Fig 5 para 0114) makes the processed first velocity subject [to a maximum acceleration value] ( Fig 18 “As shown in FIG. 18, the acceleration changing characteristics L3 vary linearly both in the forward rotation range (forward travel range F) and the reverse rotation range (reverse travel range R).” para 0203, see also “With the above-described arrangements, even if the maneuvering lever 1a, 1b is pivoted in the fore/aft direction against the driver's intension due to vibration of the vehicle body during a work traveling, unnecessary speed change operation of the target speed being changed in response to such pivotal movement can be restricted, so that the traveling stability can be readily maintained.” para 0207).
Regarding Claim 9, Kioke teaches the riding lawn mower (Fig 3) , wherein the riding lawn mode has [different driving modes] (“The vehicle further includes a switching means for switching to either a forcible steering mode in which the caster wheel is forcibly steered by a steering power source, or to a free steering mode in which the caster wheel is rendered freely steerable by blocking the power transmission from the steering power source.” para 0007 ).
Regarding Claim 10, Kioke teaches the riding lawn mower of claim 9, wherein the processing unit 53 (Fig 5 para 0114) is configured with different coefficients K1-K5 (Paras 210-218) or functions for [calculating the processed first velocity from the first velocity] (“That is, the control command speed V1 is calculated as a value which is obtained by varying the current rotational speed V2 by a set unit amount ΔV.” para 0217, and “The control command speed V1 for the respective travel electric motor 21, 22 is obtained by Formula 1 and Formula 2 below:..” para 0210 ) or [calculating the processed second velocity from the second velocity] (“That is, the control command speed V1 is calculated as a value which is obtained by varying the current rotational speed V2 by a set unit amount ΔV.” para 0217, “The control command speed V1 for the respective travel electric motor 21, 22 is obtained by Formula 1 and Formula 2 below:..” para 0210 ) across different driving modes (“The vehicle further includes a switching means for switching to either a forcible steering mode in which the caster wheel is forcibly steered by a steering power source, or to a free steering mode in which the caster wheel is rendered freely steerable by blocking the power transmission from the steering power source.” para 0007 ).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kioke et al (US 2017/0217488) in view of Ito (US 2015/0201556).
Regarding Claim 2, Kioke teaches a decoupling unit 50 (Fig 5, para 0115) of the lawnmower [configured to generate a first velocity and a second velocity from the left reference speed and the right reference speed] (“The base control amount calculation section 50 has the function of calculating base control amounts for the left wheel motor 21 and the right wheel motor 22 based on an operational amount of the maneuvering unit 1.” para 0113);
Kioke does not teach the first velocity is a linear velocity and the second velocity is an angular velocity.
Ito teaches a controller 24a (Figs 10 and 12, para 0106) that calculates and detects a first velocity that is a linear velocity V (Step S101 Fig 12 and para 0106) and a second velocity is an angular velocity w (Step S101 Fig 12, paras 106-110).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to alternatively use the expression and controller of Ito with the decoupling unit of Kioke with a reasonable expectation of success because it would allow for improved acceleration performance of the riding lawnmower. By including a decoupling unit that detects a linear velocity and an angular velocity, the calculations of the acceleration can be improved upon to prevent the acceleration from exceeding a certain threshold or preventing sudden stopping and starting movements of the riding lawnmower, so that the riding experience of the user is improved and less “jerky” when the mower is moving.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kioke et al (US 2017/0217488) in view of Ishii (US 2012/0159916).
Regarding Claim 7, Kioke teaches the decoupling unit 50 (Fig 5, para 0115) calculates the first velocity as an average value of the left reference speed and the right reference speed.
Kioke does not teach the decoupling unit 50 (Fig 5, para 0115) calculates the second velocity as a difference between the left reference speed and the right reference speed divided by a distance between the left second walking wheel and the right second walking wheel.
Ishii teaches an equivalent unit 28,29 and 30 (Fig 3) that [calculates the second velocity as a difference between the left reference speed and the right reference speed divided by a distance between the left second walking wheel and the right second walking wheel] (“In particular, when turning, because the traveling speed is determined by the average rotational speed, which is the average values of the left and right wheels, as well as the turning radius and the like, are determined by the difference between the number of revolutions per unit time of the left and right wheels, control is performed with respect to mutually different rotational speed targets while correlating the operations of the respective electric rotary machines” para 0150 ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to additionally use the average speed expression and controller of Ishii with the decoupling unit of Kioke with a reasonable expectation of success because it would allow for improved torque and velocity outputs of the motor. By including a decoupling unit that calculates an average speed output as shown in Ishii, the calculations of the torque output to the motor is more accurate to the current driving conditions of the riding lawnmower, and would take into account the changing environment of the lawnmower (i.e. a banked surface, or a flat surface).
Claims 11-12, 16 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kioke et al (US 2017/0217488) in view of Mir (US 2009/0224710).
Regarding Claim 11, Kioke teaches a riding lawn mower (Fig 3, para 101), comprising:
a seat 11 (Fig 3, para 102) for a user to sit thereon;
a chassis 10 (Fig 3, para 102) configured to support the seat;
a walking assembly 1a,1b,2a,2b,8,21 and 22 (Figs 3-5, paras 103,104 and 109, “The maneuvering condition detector 8 includes various sensors for obtaining information relating to maneuvering, such as a left maneuvering angle detection sensor 80a for detecting a pivotal angle (maneuvering condition information) of the left maneuvering lever 1a, a right maneuvering angle detection sensor 80b for detecting a pivotal angle (maneuvering condition information) of the left maneuvering lever 1b” para 0109) [configured to drive the riding lawn mower to walk] (“The base control amount calculation section 50 has the function of calculating base control amounts for the left wheel motor 21 and the right wheel motor 22 based on an operational amount of the maneuvering unit 1.” para 0113) , the walking assembly comprising a walking wheel 31a and 31b (Fig 3) and a walking motor 21 (Figs 3-5) for [driving the walking wheel] (“The left wheel speed calculation section 51 calculates the rotational speed (number of rotations) of the left rear wheel 2a, i.e., the rotational speed (torque) of the left wheel motor 21,” para 0113 );
an operating member 1 (Fig 3, para 103) [operable by the user to generate an operational amount] (“there is provided a maneuvering unit 1 consisting of a left maneuvering lever 1a and a right maneuvering lever 1b which are pivotable about a horizontal pivot axis extending along the traverse direction of the vehicle body.” para 0103, and “The maneuvering condition detector 8 includes various sensors for obtaining information relating to maneuvering, such as a left maneuvering angle detection sensor 80a for detecting a pivotal angle (maneuvering condition information) of the left maneuvering lever 1a, a right maneuvering angle detection sensor 80b for detecting a pivotal angle (maneuvering condition information) of the left maneuvering lever 1b,” para 0109); and
a walking motor control module 5 (Fig 5, para 0115) [configured to receive the operational amount and control the walking motor 21 (Fig 5)] (“The base control amount calculation section 50 has the function of calculating base control amounts for the left wheel motor 21 and the right wheel motor 22 based on an operational amount of the maneuvering unit 1.” Para 0113);
wherein the walking motor control module 5 (Fig 5, para 0115) comprises:
a target speed calculation unit 5A (Fig 5 para 0115) [configured to generate a target speed of the walking motor based on the operational amount] ( “The left wheel speed calculation section 51 calculates the rotational speed (number of rotations) of the left rear wheel 2a, i.e., the rotational speed (torque) of the left wheel motor 21, based on an operational amount via the left steering angle detection sensor 80a for detecting an amount of operation of the left maneuvering lever 1a by the driver.”, para 0113),
a velocity controller 53 (Fig 11, para 0151) configured to generate a target current of the walking motor 21 (Fig 11, “The drive torque calculation section 53 calculates required drive torques (simply “required torques” hereinafter) required for the first drive section 40A and the second drive section 40B.” para 0151) based on the [target speed and a detected actual speed of the walking motor] (“The drive torque calculation section 53 calculates required drive torques (simply “required torques” hereinafter) required for the first drive section 40A and the second drive section 40B. Each required torque means an amount of torque required to the left wheel motor 21 or the right wheel motor for causing the actual speed to become the target speed,” para 0151);
Kioke does not teach the control module has a flux controller and a torque controller configured to generate a first voltage adjustment amount and a second voltage adjustment amount according to the target current and a detected actual current of the walking motor; and
a compensator for compensating load on the walking motor.
Mir teaches a control module 201 (Fig 2) has a flux controller 206 (Fig 2) and a torque controller 204 (Fig 2) [configured to generate a first voltage adjustment amount] (“The desired motor torque command is used to calculate a current i.sub.q*…” para 0015) and [a second voltage adjustment amount according to the target current] (“The i.sub.d* is calculated from a function of the motor speed (.omega. Sub.r), the input voltage (Vdc) and i.sub.q* in block 206” para 0016 ) and [a detected actual current of the walking motor] ( “The i.sub.d* is calculated from a function of the motor speed (.omega. Sub.r), the input voltage (Vdc) and i.sub.q* in block 206.” para 0016- as shown in Fig 2 the input into the flux current function is calculated from the inputs of the motor);
and a compensator 214 (Fig 2, para 0021) [for compensating load on the walking motor 220] (“the motor 220 is a three phase motor that is controlled by a phase pulse width modulation voltage controller 214.” para 0022 ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to additionally use the control module of Mir with the motor controller of Kioke with a reasonable expectation of success because it would allow for more controlled voltage inputs into the motor. By including the flux controller and torque controller, the calculations of the amount of voltage and current required by the motor can be improved upon so that the motor is operating at the correct capacity without unnecessary voltage spikes.
Regarding claim 12, Kioke and Mir fully teach the velocity controller 53 (Fig 11, para 0151) [comprises a proportional term of the difference of the target speed and the detected actual speed of the walking motor] (“Therefore, the drive torque calculation section 53 calculates the required torque from the target rotational speed for the right and left rear wheel 2b, 2a calculated by the base control amount calculation section 50 and the actual rotational speed of each of the rear wheels 2a, 2b obtained by the left rear wheel rotation detection sensor 70a and the right rear wheel rotation detection sensor 70b.” para 0114 ).
Regarding claim 16, Kioke and Mir fully teach the torque controller 204 (Fig 2) comprises a proportional term 1/Ke (Fig 2) [of the difference of a quadrature axis portion of the target current and a quadrature axis portion of the detected actual current of the walking motor] (“The desired motor torque command is used to calculate a current i.sub.q* where Ke is the back EMF constant of the motor 220 as shown in block 204. The calculation of i.sub.q* is shown in equation (1).” para 0015 ).
Regarding Claim 19, Kioke and Mir fully teaches the operating member 1 (Figs 3-4) comprises a left operating member Kioke-1a (Figs 3-4 para 0103) and a right operating member 1b (Figs 3-4 para 0103[the left operating member operable by the user to generate a left operational amount] (“the rotational speed (torque) of the left wheel motor 21, based on an operational amount via the left steering angle detection sensor 80a for detecting an amount of operation of the left maneuvering lever 1a by the driver.” para 0113 ) and [the right operating member 1b (Figs 3-4, para 0103) operable by the user to generate a right operational amount] (“the rotational speed (torque) of the right wheel motor 22, based on an operational amount via the right steering angle detection sensor 80b for detecting an amount of operation of the right maneuvering lever 1b by the driver.” para 0103 );
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kioke and Mir in further view of Sugahara (WO2019130563A1 Machine Translation and Original Patent Provided in present OA).
Regarding claim 13, Kioke and Mir fully teach the velocity controller 53 (Fig 11, para 0151) .
Kioke and Mir do not teach the controller comprises a current compensator that generates a compensation amount based on the detected actual current of the walking motor.
Sugahara teaches an equivalent velocity controller 40A (Fig 6) that comprises a current compensator 45 (Fig 6) [that generates a compensation amount based on the detected actual current of the walking motor] (“The converted speed ω.sub.c calculated by the speed conversion unit 44 is input to the deviation calculation unit 45. The deviation calculation unit 45 receives the estimated speed value ω.sub.e in addition to the converted speed ω.sub.c. The deviation calculation unit 45 calculates an absolute value |Δω| of a deviation between the converted speed ω.sub.c and the estimated speed value ω.sub.e. The absolute value |Δω| of the deviation is input to the determination unit 46.” pg 6 para 9 ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to additionally use the controller configuration of Sugahara with the motor controller of Kioke and Mir with a reasonable expectation of success because it would allow for improved calculations of the speed to output to the motor. By including the current compensator the calculations of the amount of voltage and current sent to the motor can be improved upon so that the motor is operating at the correct capacity without unnecessary signal noise.
Claims 14-15 and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kioke/Mir in further view of Tang (Machine Translation and Original Patent CN-110677079A).
Regarding claim 14, Kioke/Mir teach the velocity controller Kioke-53 (Fig 11, para 0151).
Kioke/Mir do not explicitly teach the controller comprises a disturbance observer and a feedback compensator.
Tang (CN-110677079) teaches a disturbance observer G1(z),G-12(z), L and Z1 (Fig 1, “…and transfer function of the mechanical system, d is the torque disturbance or perturbation of equivalent, is the disturbance torque observed, L is an observer gain, ω mref is the speed reference, ωm is a speed feedback.” pg 7 para 3, the loop described above measures a disturbance value to output a mechanical value back into the initial feedback loop) [and a feedback compensator] C(z) (Fig 1 shows the feedback compensator providing feedback into the signal loop).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to additionally use the feedback loop of Tang with the motor controller of Kioke/Mir with a reasonable expectation of success because it would allow for improved performance of the velocity controller. The disturbance observer and feedback compensator create a PI loop that improves the response time of the motor and controls the signal error to minimize the amount of error in the signals that are sent to the motor.
Regarding Claim 15, Kioke/Mir/Tang fully teach the disturbance observer Tang- see elements G1(z),G-12(z), L and Z1 (Fig 1) [derives a compensation amount based on the detected actual speed of the walking motor and the target current output by the velocity controller] (“the transfer function of the mechanical system, d is the torque disturbance or equivalent torque disturbance, is the observed torque disturbance, L is the observer gain, ωmref is the speed reference, and ωm is the speed feedback.” pg 7 para 3- the transfer functions of the disturbance observer take reference speeds and recorded speeds into consideration when calculating the disturbance output d).
Regarding claim 17, Kioke and Mir teach the torque controller Mir-204 (Fig 2).
Kioke and Mir do not teach the torque controller comprises a disturbance observer and a feedback compensator.
Tang (CN-110677079) teaches a disturbance observer G1(z),G-12(z), L and Z1 (Fig 1, “…and transfer function of the mechanical system, d is the torque disturbance or perturbation of equivalent, is the disturbance torque observed, L is an observer gain, ω mref is the speed reference, ωm is a speed feedback.” pg 7 para 3, the loop described above measures a disturbance value to output a mechanical value back into the initial feedback loop) [and a feedback compensator] C(z) (Fig 1 shows the feedback compensator providing feedback into the signal loop).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to additionally use the feedback loop of Tang with the motor controller of Kioke/Mir with a reasonable expectation of success because it would allow for improved performance of the torque controller. The disturbance observer and feedback compensator create a PI loop that improves the response time of the motor and controls the signal error to minimize the amount of error in the signals that are sent to the motor.
Regarding claim 18, Kioke/Mir/Tang fully teach the disturbance observer (See Tang modification in the rejection of claim 17) [derives a compensation amount based on the quadrature axis portion of the detected actual current of the walking motor and the second voltage adjustment amount output by the torque controller]. Mir-(“The desired motor torque command is used to calculate a current i.sub.q* where Ke is the back EMF constant of the motor 220 as shown in block 204. The calculation of i.sub.q* is shown in equation (1).” para 0015 ).
Claims 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kioke/Mir in view of Ito.
Regarding Claim 20, Kioke and Mir teaches the target speed calculation unit 5A (Fig 5) is configured [to generate the target speed of the walking motor] 51 ( “The left wheel speed calculation section 51 calculates the rotational speed (number of rotations) of the left rear wheel 2a, i.e., the rotational speed (torque) of the left wheel motor 21, based on an operational amount via the left steering angle detection sensor 80a for detecting an amount of operation of the left maneuvering lever 1a by the driver.”, para 0113) and [a right reference speed] 52 (“the right wheel speed calculation section 52 calculates the rotational speed (number of rotations) of the right rear wheel 2b, i.e., the rotational speed (torque) of the right wheel motor 22, based on an operational amount via the right steering angle detection sensor 80b for detecting an amount of operation of the right maneuvering lever 1b by the driver.” Para 0113) from the left operational amount 1a (Figs 3-5) or the right operational amount 1b (Figs 3-5).
Kioke and Mir do not generate a target speed through generating a linear velocity and an angular velocity.
Ito teaches a controller 24a (Figs 10 and 12, para 0106) that calculates and detects a first velocity that is a linear velocity V (Step S101 Fig 12 and para 0106) and a second velocity is an angular velocity w (Step S101 Fig 12, paras 106-110).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to alternatively use the expression and controller of Ito with the target speed generator of Kioke and Mir with a reasonable expectation of success because it would allow for improved acceleration performance of the riding lawnmower. By including a target speed generator that detects a linear velocity and an angular velocity, the calculations of the acceleration can be improved upon to prevent the acceleration from exceeding a certain threshold or preventing sudden stopping and starting movements of the riding lawnmower, so that the riding experience of the user is improved and less “jerky” when the mower is moving.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Chen (CN 104166372) teaches a feedback rejection controller for high speed and high precision control. The controller has a two loop feedback system based on real time compensation of the inputs.
Brown et al (US 10,058,031) teaches a lawn tractor with a plurality of sensors and controllers for controlling a plurality of components of the lawnmower.
/M.M.K./Examiner, Art Unit 3611 /VALENTIN NEACSU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3611