DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Application
Claims 24-43 are pending and under current examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 25, 26, 29, 31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b), as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claims 25, 26, 29, 31 are indefinite because:
claim 25 recites “molecular weight ----30 to about 60kDa, optionally about 35 to about 60kDa, optionally---45 to about 55kDa”, which reflects use of broad and narrow limitation of molecular weight within the same claim. Thus, making scope of claim unclear. For compact prosecution, molecular weight in the claim has been interpreted as about 30 to about 60kDa.
claim 26 recites “one or more hydrophilic vitamin comprises vitamin C---B, or a combination of two or more thereof”. This is because it is unclear if the composition comprises all three of the recited vitamins (because of the word comprises), or it is an open ended improper Markush group and composition may have any one of the vitamins or a combination thereof. Thus, scope of the claim is unclear. For compact prosecution, the claim has been interpreted as composition may have any one of the vitamins from the group of alternatives or a combination thereof. To overcome this rejection applicant is suggested to amend the claim, such as “one or more hydrophilic vitamin selected from a group consisting of vitamin C---B, or a combination thereof”. Please see MPEP 2173.05(h)
claim 29 recites “vitamin C comprises ascorbyl glucoside,--- or a combination of two or more thereof”. This is because it is unclear if the composition comprises all two recited vitamin C (because of the word comprises), or it is an open ended improper Markush group and composition may have any one of the vitamin C derivative or a combination. Thus, scope of the claim unclear.
Further, the claim is unclear as the claim recites two derivatives of vitamin C and recites combination of two or more thereof. It is unclear what other vitamin C derivative(s) is/are included in the claim. Thus, scope of the claim is unclear. For compact prosecution, the claim has been interpreted as composition may have any one of the vitamin C from the group of alternatives or a combination thereof.
claim 31 recites “histidine (e.g., a thiourea derivative---, such as ergothioneine)”, which reflects use of broad and narrow limitation within the same claim. Thus, making scope of claim unclear. For compact prosecution, the claim has been interpreted Markush group having any histidine.
Appropriate correction required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 24-29, 35-41 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102 (a)(2) as being anticipated by Somerville (US 8980228 B2).
Somerville disclose a skin care composition comprising HA or its sodium salt sodium hyaluronate of molecular weight of about 50kDa in an amount of 0.5%, 1%, 3%, or 5% by weight based on total weight of the composition, vitamin C or derivatives thereof including ascorbyl palmitate, ascorbyl glucoside etc. in an amount of 0.005-5% by weight based on total weight of the composition with example of 0.1% by weight
, niacin (vitamin B) and other vitamins (reads on HA, sodium salt of HA, molecular weight of HA, amount of HA, ascorbic acid, ascorbyl glucoside of the instant claims 24-29, 35-41) (entire patent, especially abstract, col 2, 4-8, Table 1 and Table 3 and claims).
With regard to limitations of the claims 37-40 “hydrophilic vitamin ---wettability ---<90; amount of the HA---effective to increase---permeation of the hydrophilic vitamins in the skin; hydrophilic vitamin has a LogP of less than 0”- Since the cited prior art teaches same composition with same ingredients including hydrophilic vitamins and in same amounts as in the instant claims, the composition, the hydrophilic vitamins and their amounts of the cited prior art are also expected to be capable of same “hydrophilic vitamin ---wettability ---<90; amount of the HA---effective to increase---permeation of the hydrophilic vitamins in the skin; hydrophilic vitamin has a LogP of less than 0”. Further, a composition and/or a compound (such as hydrophilic vitamin) are inseparable from their intrinsic properties, such as wettability and LogP values.
Since the cited prior art reads on all the limitations of the instant claims 24-29 and 35-41, these claims are anticipated.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 24-30 and 35-43 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Somerville (US 8980228 B2).
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art
Somerville disclose a skin care composition comprising HA or its sodium salt sodium hyaluronate of molecular weight of about 50kDa in an amount of 0.5%, 1%, 3%, or 5% by weight based on total weight of the composition, vitamin C or derivatives thereof including ascorbyl palmitate, ascorbyl glucoside etc. in an amount of 0.005-5% by weight based on total weight of the composition with example of 0.1% by weight
, niacin (vitamin B) and other vitamins (reads on HA, sodium salt of HA, molecular weight of HA, amount of HA, ascorbic acid, ascorbyl glucoside of the instant claims 24-29, 35-41) (entire patent, especially abstract, col 2, 4-8, Table 1 and Table 3 and claims).
With regard to limitations of the claims 37-40 “hydrophilic vitamin ---wettability ---<90; amount of the HA---effective to increase---permeation of the hydrophilic vitamins in the skin; hydrophilic vitamin has a LogP of less than 0”- Since the cited prior art teaches same composition with same ingredients including hydrophilic vitamins and in same amounts as in the instant claims, the composition, the hydrophilic vitamins and their amounts of the cited prior art are also expected to be capable of same “hydrophilic vitamin ---wettability ---<90; amount of the HA---effective to increase---permeation of the hydrophilic vitamins in the skin; hydrophilic vitamin has a LogP of less than 0”. Further, a composition and/or a compound (such as hydrophilic vitamin) are inseparable from their intrinsic properties, such as wettability and LogP values.
Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue
Somerville teaches a skin care composition having HA, sodium salt of HA, molecular weight of HA, amount of HA, ascorbic acid, ascorbyl glucoside of the instant claims. The cited prior art further teaches composition with vitamin B3, such as niacin and amount of hydrophilic vitamin in the composition as 0.005-5% (overlaps with range of the instant claims), but fails to teach vitamin B3 as niacinamide and example of a composition with hydrophilic vitamin within range of the instant claims.
Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art
With regards to the difference of niacinamide in the composition-The cited prior art teaches composition with vitamin B3 with example of niacin. Thus, with the guidance provided by the cited prior art, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art with reasonable expectation of success that vitamin B3 niacin may be substituted with another vitamin B3 niacinamide in the composition.
Further, Case law has established that it is prima facie obvious to substitute one known element for another to obtain predictable results. KSR Int'I Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398 (2007).
With regards to the difference of amount of hydrophilic vitamin in the composition as 1-25% by weight based on total weight of the composition- The cited prior art teaches amount of hydrophilic vitamin in the composition as 0.005-5% by weight based on total weight of the composition (overlaps with range of the instant claims). Thus, with the guidance provided by the cited prior art, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art with reasonable expectation of success that the composition may have hydrophilic vitamin in an amount of as 1-5% by weight based on total weight of the composition as taught by the cited prior art.
In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (The prior art taught carbon monoxide concentrations of "about 1-5%" while the claim was limited to "more than 5%." The court held that "about 1-5%" allowed for concentrations slightly above 5% thus the ranges overlapped.); In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 1469-71, 43 USPQ2d 1362, 1365-66 (Fed. Cir. 1997) (Claim reciting thickness of a protective layer as falling within a range of "50 to 100 Angstroms" considered prima facie obvious in view of prior art reference teaching that "for suitable protection, the thickness of the protective layer should be not less than about 10 nm [i.e., 100 Angstroms]." The court stated that "by stating that ‘suitable protection’ is provided if the protective layer is ‘about’ 100 Angstroms thick, [the prior art reference] directly teaches the use of a thickness within [applicant’s] claimed range."). See also In re Bergen, 120 F.2d 329, 332, 49 USPQ 749, 751-52 (CCPA 1941) (The court found that the overlapping endpoint of the prior art and claimed range was sufficient to support an obviousness rejection, particularly when there was no showing of criticality of the claimed range).
Based on the above established facts, it appears that the teachings of above cited prior art read applicants’ composition.
Therefore, all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled person in the art could have modified the elements as claimed with no change in their respective functions, and would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention.
Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness
To establish a prima facie case of obviousness, three basic criteria must be met: (1) the prior art reference must teach or suggest all the claim limitations; (2) there must be some suggestion or motivation, either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art, to modify the reference or to combine reference teachings; and (3) there must be a reasonable expectation of success; and (MPEP § 2143).
In this case, Somerville teaches a skin care composition having HA, sodium salt of HA, molecular weight of HA, amount of HA, ascorbic acid, ascorbyl glucoside of the instant claims.
In KSR International Vo. V. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d (U.S. 2007), the Supreme Court particularly emphasized “the need for caution in granting a patent based on a combination of elements found in the prior art,” (Id. At 1395) and discussed circumstances in which a patent might be determined to be obvious. Importantly, the Supreme Court reaffirmed principles based on its precedent that “[t]he combination of familiar elements according to known methods is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results.” (Id. At 1395). See MPEP 2143 - Examples of Basic Requirements of a Prima Facie Case of Obviousness [R-9].
In this case at least prong (E) “Obvious to try” – choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success would apply.
The rationale to support a conclusion that the claim would have been obvious is that “a person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely that product [was] not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense. In that instance the fact that a combination was obvious to try might show that it was obvious under § 103.”KSR, 550 U.S. at ___, 82 USPQ2d at 1397. If any of these findings cannot be made, then this rationale cannot be used to support a conclusion that the claim would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art. Further, there is a reasonable expectation of success that vitamin B3 niacin may be substituted with other vitamin B3 niacinamide and can be made by teachings of the above cited prior art.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention by taking the advantage of the teaching of the above cited references and to make the instantly claimed composition with a reasonable expectation of success.
Claims 24-43 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Somerville (US 8980228 B2) and Nabi (US20190008739 A1) in combination.
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art
Somerville disclose a skin care composition comprising HA or its sodium salt sodium hyaluronate of molecular weight of about 50kDa in an amount of 0.5%, 1%, 3%, or 5% by weight based on total weight of the composition, vitamin C or derivatives thereof including ascorbyl palmitate, ascorbyl glucoside etc. in an amount of 0.005-5% by weight based on total weight of the composition with example of 0.1% by weight
, niacin (vitamin B) and other vitamins (reads on HA, sodium salt of HA, molecular weight of HA, amount of HA, ascorbic acid, ascorbyl glucoside of the instant claims 24-29, 35-41) (entire patent, especially abstract, col 2, 4-8, Table 1 and Table 3 and claims).
With regard to limitations of the claims 37-40 “hydrophilic vitamin ---wettability ---<90; amount of the HA---effective to increase---permeation of the hydrophilic vitamins in the skin; hydrophilic vitamin has a LogP of less than 0”- Since the cited prior art teaches same composition with same ingredients including hydrophilic vitamins and in same amounts as in the instant claims, the composition, the hydrophilic vitamins and their amounts of the cited prior art are also expected to be capable of same “hydrophilic vitamin ---wettability ---<90; amount of the HA---effective to increase---permeation of the hydrophilic vitamins in the skin; hydrophilic vitamin has a LogP of less than 0”. Further, a composition and/or a compound (such as hydrophilic vitamin) are inseparable from their intrinsic properties, such as wettability and LogP values.
Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue
Somerville teaches a skin care composition having HA, sodium salt of HA, molecular weight of HA, amount of HA, ascorbic acid, ascorbyl glucoside of the instant claims. The cited prior art further teaches composition with vitamin B3, such as niacin and amount of hydrophilic vitamin in the composition as 0.005-5% (overlaps with range of the instant claims), but fails to teach vitamin B3 as niacinamide; example of a composition with hydrophilic vitamin within range of the instant claims and composition with amino acids taurine, arginine and glycine in weight ratio range from about 85:45:1 to about 45:24:1.
Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art
With regards to the difference of niacinamide in the composition-The cited prior art teaches composition with vitamin B3 with example of niacin. Thus, with the guidance provided by the cited prior art, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art with reasonable expectation of success that vitamin B3 niacin may be substituted with another vitamin B3 niacinamide in the composition.
Further, Case law has established that it is prima facie obvious to substitute one known element for another to obtain predictable results. KSR Int'I Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398 (2007).
With regards to the difference of amount of hydrophilic vitamin in the composition as 1-25% by weight based on total weight of the composition- The cited prior art teaches amount of hydrophilic vitamin in the composition as 0.005-5% by weight based on total weight of the composition (overlaps with range of the instant claims). Thus, with the guidance provided by the cited prior art, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art with reasonable expectation of success that the composition may have hydrophilic vitamin in an amount of as 1-5% by weight based on total weight of the composition as taught by the cited prior art.
In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (The prior art taught carbon monoxide concentrations of "about 1-5%" while the claim was limited to "more than 5%." The court held that "about 1-5%" allowed for concentrations slightly above 5% thus the ranges overlapped.); In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 1469-71, 43 USPQ2d 1362, 1365-66 (Fed. Cir. 1997) (Claim reciting thickness of a protective layer as falling within a range of "50 to 100 Angstroms" considered prima facie obvious in view of prior art reference teaching that "for suitable protection, the thickness of the protective layer should be not less than about 10 nm [i.e., 100 Angstroms]." The court stated that "by stating that ‘suitable protection’ is provided if the protective layer is ‘about’ 100 Angstroms thick, [the prior art reference] directly teaches the use of a thickness within [applicant’s] claimed range."). See also In re Bergen, 120 F.2d 329, 332, 49 USPQ 749, 751-52 (CCPA 1941) (The court found that the overlapping endpoint of the prior art and claimed range was sufficient to support an obviousness rejection, particularly when there was no showing of criticality of the claimed range).
With regards to the difference of composition with amino acids taurine, arginine and glycine in weight ratio range from about 85:45:1 to about 45:24:1-This deficiency is cured by Nabi.
In the same field of endeavor, Nabi teaches a skin care composition comprising HA, vitamins, such as vitamin B3 and amino acid combination of taurine, arginine and glycine in weight ratio range such as (64-69):(30-35):1, 65:34:1, 69:30:1 (all are within range of from about 85:45:1 to about 45:24:1 of the instant claims) (entire application, especially abstract, paragraphs 0004-0057 and claims). The cited prior art further teaches that combination of taurine, arginine and glycine reduces skin irritation, inflammation and improves barrier repair of the skin (entire application, especially abstract, paragraphs 0004-0057 and claims). Thus, based on the guidance provided by Somerville and Nabi, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art with a reasonable expectation of success that the skin care composition having HA and hydrophilic vitamin may have combination of taurine, arginine and glycine in weight ratio as disclosed by Nabi. Further, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine teachings of Somerville with Nabi to form an improved composition that reduces skin irritation, inflammation and improves barrier repair of the skin.
Additionally, it is obvious to combine two compositions taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose to form a third composition that is to be used for the very same purpose. In re Kerkehoven, 626 F.2d 846, 205 U.S.P.Q. 1069 (CCPA 1980).
Based on the above established facts, it appears that the teachings of above cited prior art read applicants’ composition.
Therefore, all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled person in the art could have combined the elements as claimed with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention.
Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness
To establish a prima facie case of obviousness, three basic criteria must be met: (1) the prior art reference must teach or suggest all the claim limitations; (2) there must be some suggestion or motivation, either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art, to modify the reference or to combine reference teachings; and (3) there must be a reasonable expectation of success; and (MPEP § 2143).
In this case, Somerville teaches a skin care composition having HA, sodium salt of HA, molecular weight of HA, amount of HA, ascorbic acid, ascorbyl glucoside of the instant claims. Nabi teaches a skin care composition comprising HA, vitamins, such as vitamin B3 and amino acid combination of taurine, arginine and glycine in weight ratio range such as (64-69):(30-35):1, 65:34:1, 69:30:1.
So, the combination reads the instant claims.
In KSR International Vo. V. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d (U.S. 2007), the Supreme Court particularly emphasized “the need for caution in granting a patent based on a combination of elements found in the prior art,” (Id. At 1395) and discussed circumstances in which a patent might be determined to be obvious. Importantly, the Supreme Court reaffirmed principles based on its precedent that “[t]he combination of familiar elements according to known methods is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results.” (Id. At 1395). See MPEP 2143 - Examples of Basic Requirements of a Prima Facie Case of Obviousness [R-9].
In this case at least prong (E) “Obvious to try” – choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success would apply.
The rationale to support a conclusion that the claim would have been obvious is that “a person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely that product [was] not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense. In that instance the fact that a combination was obvious to try might show that it was obvious under § 103.”KSR, 550 U.S. at ___, 82 USPQ2d at 1397. If any of these findings cannot be made, then this rationale cannot be used to support a conclusion that the claim would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art. Further, there is a reasonable expectation of success that the skin care composition with HA and hydrophilic vitamin may be combined with amino acids taurine, arginine and glycine and can be made by teachings of the above cited prior art.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention by taking the advantage of the teaching of the above cited references and to make the instantly claimed composition with a reasonable expectation of success.
Double Patenting
Claims 24-43 in the instant application are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-10 of U.S. Patent No. 11938212 B2, since the claims, if allowed, would improperly extend the “right to exclude" already granted in the patent.
Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because of the following reasons:
The claims of instant application and 1-10 of U.S. Patent No. 11938212 B2 are drawn to a composition comprising HA, hydrophilic vitamin and amino acids taurine, arginine and glycine with a difference of scope.
The difference of scope, however, does not constitute a patentable distinction, because the claims in the present invention simply fall within the scope of claims 1-10 of U.S. Patent No. 11938212 B2. For the foregoing reasons, the instantly claimed composition is made obvious.
Furthermore, there is no apparent reason why applicant was prevented from presenting claims corresponding to those of the instant application during prosecution of the application which matured into a patent. See also MPEP § 804.
Claims 24-43 in the instant application are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over the claims 49, 53, 54, 56, 59-61, 64-71, 75 and 76 of co-pending US application 18194527. Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because of the following reasons:
The claims of instant application and co-pending application are drawn to a composition comprising HA, hydrophilic vitamin and amino acids taurine, arginine and glycine with a difference of scope.
The difference of scope, however, does not constitute a patentable distinction, because the claims in the present invention simply fall within the scope of co-pending application. For the foregoing reasons, the instantly claimed composition is made obvious.
This is provisional obviousness-type double patenting rejection because the conflicting claims have not been patented yet.
Conclusion
No Claim is allowed.
/PANCHAM BAKSHI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1623