DETAILED ACTION
In Reply filed on 04/01/2026, Claims 1-3 and 6-20 are pending. Claims 15-20 are withdrawn based on restriction requirement. Claims 1, 6-8 and 10-12 are currently amended. Claims 1-3 and 6-14 are considered in the current Office Action.
Status of Previous Objections/Rejections
Previous 35 USC 103 rejections are maintained in view of the Applicant’s amendment and argument. See Response to Argument below.
Claim Interpretation
The Examiner wishes to point out the application claims are directed towards an apparatus and as such will be examined under such conditions. The material worked upon or the process of using the apparatus is viewed as recitation of intended use and is given patentable weight only to the extent that structure is added to the claimed apparatus (Please see MPEP 2112.01 and 2114-2115 for further details).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 6-8 and 10-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US2017/0028633 (“Evans et al” hereinafter Evan) and US2018/0207850 (“Stockett et al” hereinafter Stockett).
Regarding Claim 1, Evans teaches a system for three-dimensional (3D) printing using a 3D printer (abstract and Figure 27), the system (Figure 27) comprising:
a printing head (Figure 27, delivery guide 112) of the 3D printer (Figure 27 and [0057], system 100 additionally or alternatively may be described as 3-D printers) for 3D printing a material including a photosensitive resin ([0069], the delivery guide 112 is capable of printing liquid photopolymer rein or non-resin component),
a first UV light source adapted to produce the first UV beam (see annotated Figure 27, source 116 of curing energy 118 comprises at least one light source 134 which might be ultraviolet light source [0107]), wherein the first UV light source is positioned such that the first UV beam enters the nozzle in order for the material to be partially solidified as the material exits an opening of the nozzle ([0006], delivering a predetermined or actively determined amount of curing energy at least to a portion of the segment of the continuous flexible line at a controlled rate while advancing the continuous flexible line toward the print path to at least partially cure at least the portion of the segment of the continuous flexible line. Thus, the apparatus of modified Evans is capable of being used as intended as discussed above and thus meets all of the structural limitations as claimed);
a second UV light source adapted to produce a second UV beam (see annotated Figure 27, source 116 of curing energy 118 comprises an additional light source 134 which might be ultraviolet light source [0107]), wherein the second UV light source is positioned such that the second UV beam is applied to the material after the material exits the opening of the nozzle and as the material is laid on a substrate ([0006], delivering a predetermined or actively determined amount of curing energy at least to a portion of the segment of the continuous flexible line at a controlled rate after the segment of the continuous flexible line is deposited along the print path to at least partially cure at least the portion of the segment of the continuous flexible line. Thus, the apparatus of modified Evans is capable of being used as intended as discussed above
and thus meets all of the structural limitations as claimed); and
a controller ([0306], controller controls the operation of various component parts of the system) of the 3D printer configured to
direct the printing head to print a layer of the material ([0306], precise movement of delivery guide and/or surface relative to each other may be controlled to manufacture a desired three-dimensional composite part),
calculate an appropriate strength of UV radiation in the first UV beam to partially solidify the layer of the material ([0308], controller may be programmed to perform one or more algorithms to automatically control the operation of system. [0103]-[0104], source 116 of curing energy 118 is configured to deliver a predetermined or actively determined amount of curing energy 118 at a controlled rate solidify the material at the desired portion. Thus, it is implied that the controller is capable of performing calculation based on the desired amount of curing energy being applied at a controlled rate to solidify the desired portion of the segment at the controlled rate. Limitations directed toward the capabilities or intended uses of the apparatus are given patentable weight to the extent which effects the structure of the apparatus. MPEP 2114.).
direct the first UV light source to project the first UV beam (see annotated Figure 27, source 116 of curing energy 118 comprises at least one light source 134 which might be ultraviolet light source [0107]) at the appropriate strength ([0103]-[0104], source 116 of curing energy 118 is configured to deliver a predetermined or actively determined amount of curing energy 118 at a controlled rate solidify the material at the desired portion) to the layer of the material through the nozzle to partially solidify the layer of the material ([0006], delivering a predetermined or actively determined amount of curing energy at least to a portion of the segment of the continuous flexible line at a controlled rate while advancing the continuous flexible line toward the print path to at least partially cure at least the portion of the segment of the continuous flexible line. Thus, the apparatus of modified Evans is capable of being used as intended as discussed above and thus meets all of the structural limitations as claimed).
calculate an appropriate strength of UV radiation in the second UV beam to fully solidify the layer of the material after the layer of the material was partially solidified by the first UV beam ([0308], controller may be programmed to perform one or more algorithms to automatically control the operation of system. [0103]-[0104], source 116 of curing energy 118 is configured to deliver a predetermined or actively determined amount of curing energy 118 at a controlled rate solidify the material at the desired portion. Thus, it is implied that the controller is capable of performing calculation based on the desired amount of curing energy being applied at a controlled rate to solidify the desired portion of the segment at the controlled rate. Limitations directed toward the capabilities or intended uses of the apparatus are given patentable weight to the extent which effects the structure of the apparatus. MPEP 2114.), and
direct the second UV light source to project the second UV beam (see annotated Figure 27, source 116 of curing energy 118 comprises at least one light source 134 which might be ultraviolet light source [0107]) at the appropriate strength ([0103]-[0104], source 116 of curing energy 118 is configured to deliver a predetermined or actively determined amount of curing energy 118 at a controlled rate solidify the material at the desired portion) to the layer of the material after the layer of the material has moved through the semitransparent nozzle and is laid on the substrate in order to fully solidify the layer of the material on the substrate ([0006], delivering a predetermined or actively determined amount of curing energy at least to a portion of the segment of the continuous flexible line at a controlled rate after the segment of the continuous flexible line is deposited along the print path to at least partially cure at least the portion of the segment of the continuous flexible line. Thus, the apparatus of modified Evans is capable of being used as intended as discussed above and thus meets all of the structural limitations as claimed).
Evans fails to teach wherein the printing head includes a semitransparent nozzle adapted to allow a first ultraviolet (UV) beam to be transmitted through the semitransparent nozzle; and the first UV beams enters the semitransparent nozzle through a semitransparent wall of the semitransparent nozzle.
However, Stockett teaches wherein the printing head includes a semitransparent nozzle ([0021], a tip of nozzle may be at least partially transparent) adapted to allow a first ultraviolet (UV) beam to be transmitted through the semitransparent nozzle ([0021], this allows for energy from cure enhancers to penetrate tip and prime the curing of the matrix, as the composite material passes therethrough); and the first UV beams enters the semitransparent nozzle through a semitransparent wall of the semitransparent nozzle (Figure 3 and [0021], energy from cure enhancers 20 to penetrate tip 44 and prime the curing of the matrix. The tip of the nozzle comprises of semitransparent wall and the energy penetrated the tip to cure the material).
Evans and Stockett are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same field of additive manufacturing system and using a curing source to solidified liquid resin materials. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modified the printing head of Evans such that the printing head includes a semitransparent nozzle configured to allow the first UV beam to be transmitted through the semitransparent nozzle as taught by Stockett to allows for energy from cure enhancers to penetrate tip and prime the curing of the matrix, as the composite material passes therethrough in order to increase the speed of curing ([0021]).
Regarding Claim 2, the modified Evans teaches the system of claim 1, Evans teaches controller controls the operation of various component parts of system. For example, precise movement of delivery guide and/or surface relative to each other may be controlled to manufacture a desired three-dimensional composite part and operation of various component parts may be selectively started and stopped by controller during manufacture of composite part to create desired properties and configurations of composite part, but fails to explicitly teach the controller is further configured to calculate an optimum speed of printing the layer based on the appropriate strength.
However, Stockett teaches the controller is further configured to calculate an optimum speed of printing the layer based on the appropriate strength ([0020], controller may then correlate the discharge of material from head 16 (a type of material, desired performance of the material, cross-linking requirements of the material, a discharge rate, etc.) with the operation of cure enhancers, such that structure is produced in a desired manner. Thus, the controller of Stockett is capable of being used as intended as discussed above and thus meets all of the structural limitations as claimed).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modified the controller of the modified Evans such that it teaches the above discussed limitations as taught by Stockett to produce a structure in a desired manner and achieve a product with a desire properties distribution and desired performance of the material ([0020]).
Regarding Claim 3, the modified Evans teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the controller is further configured to apply the first UV beam to the semitransparent nozzle (Evans, Figure 27 and [0103]-[0104], source 116 of curing energy 118 is configured to deliver a predetermined or actively determined amount of curing energy 118 at a controlled rate at least to the materials and [0306], controller controls the movement of the source 116. Thus, the apparatus of modified Evans is capable of being used as intended as discussed above and thus meets all of the structural limitations as claimed).
Regarding Claim 6, the modified Evans teaches the system of claim 4, further comprising: a first robotic arm connected to the first UV light source (Evans, see annotated Figure 27), wherein the controller is further configured to direct the first robotic arm to move the first UV light source to a desired location based on a shape of a final 3D printed object ([0139] and [0306]).
Regarding Claim 7, the modified Evans teaches the system of claim 1, further comprising: a first robotic arm connected to the first UV light source (Evans, see annotated Figure 27), wherein the controller is further configured to direct the first robotic arm to move the first UV light source to a desired location based on a shape of a final 3D printed object ([0139] and [0306]).
Regarding Claim 8, the modified Evans teaches the system of claim 7, further comprising: a second robotic arm connected to the second UV light source (Evans, see annotated Figure 27), wherein the controller is further configured to direct the second robotic arm to move the second UV light source to a desired location based on a shape of a final 3D printed object ([0139] and [0306]).
Regarding Claim 10, Evans teaches a system for three-dimensional (3D) printing (abstract and Figure 27) using a 3D printer (abstract and Figure 27 and [0057], system 100 additionally or alternatively may be described as 3-D printers), the system (Figure 27) comprising:
a printing head (Figure 27, delivery guide 112) of the 3D printer ([0057], system 100 additionally or alternatively may be described as 3-D printers) and is laid on a substrate, wherein the printing head is adapted for printing a material including a photosensitive resin (Figure 23 and [0069], the delivery guide 112 is capable of printing liquid photopolymer resin or non-resin component);
a first UV light source (see annotated Figure 27, source 116 of curing energy 119 comprises at least one light source 134 which might be ultraviolet light source [0107]) adapted to direct a first UV beam towards the nozzle (Figure 27 and [0103]-[0104], source 116 of curing energy 118 is configured to deliver a predetermined or actively determined amount of curing energy 118 at a controlled rate at least to the materials and [0306], controller controls the movement of the source 116. Thus, the apparatus of modified Evans is capable of being used as intended as discussed above and thus meets all of the structural limitations as claimed), wherein the first UV light source is positioned such that the first UV beam enters the nozzle in order for the material to be partially solidified as the material exits an opening of the nozzle ([0006], delivering a predetermined or actively determined amount of curing energy at least to a portion of the segment of the continuous flexible line at a controlled rate while advancing the continuous flexible line toward the print path to at least partially cure at least the portion of the segment of the continuous flexible line. Thus, the apparatus of modified Evans is capable of being used as intended as discussed above and thus meets all of the structural limitations as claimed);
a second UV light source (see annotated Figure 27) adapted to direct a second UV beam towards the substrate (Figure 27 and [0103]-[0104], an additional light source 116 of curing energy 118 is configured to deliver a predetermined or actively determined amount of curing energy 118 at a controlled rate at least to the materials), wherein the second UV light source is positioned such that the second UV beam is applied to the material after the material exits the opening of the nozzle and as the material is laid on a substrate ([0006], delivering a predetermined or actively determined amount of curing energy at least to a portion of the segment of the continuous flexible line at a controlled rate after the segment of the continuous flexible line is deposited along the print path to at least partially cure at least the portion of the segment of the continuous flexible line. Thus, the apparatus of modified Evans is capable of being used as intended as discussed above and thus meets all of the structural limitations as claimed); and
a controller ([0306], controller controls the operation of various component parts of system) of the 3D printer configured to
direct the printing head to print a layer of the material ([0306], controller controls the operation of various component parts of system. For example, precise movement of delivery guide),
calculate an appropriate strength of UV radiation in the first UV beam to increase a viscosity of the material as it moves through the nozzle ([0308], controller may be programmed to perform one or more algorithms to automatically control the operation of system. [0103]-[0104], source 116 of curing energy 118 is configured to deliver a predetermined or actively determined amount of curing energy 118 at a controlled rate solidify the material at the desired portion. As the amount of curing energy is adjusted, the viscosity of the material also adjusted. Thus, it is implied that the controller performs the calculation, thus, the algorithms, based on the desired amount of curing energy being applied at a controlled rate to solidify the desired portion of the segment at the controlled rate. Limitations directed toward the capabilities or intended uses of the apparatus are given patentable weight to the extent which effects the structure of the apparatus. MPEP 2114),
direct the first UV light source to project the first UV beam (see annotated Figure 27, source 116 of curing energy 118 comprises at least one light source 134 which might be ultraviolet light source [0107]) at the appropriate strength ([0103]-[0104], source 116 of curing energy 118 is configured to deliver a predetermined or actively determined amount of curing energy 118 at a controlled rate solidify the material at the desired portion) to increase the viscosity of the material as it moves through the semitransparent nozzle in order to partially solidify the layer of the material ([0308], controller may be programmed to perform one or more algorithms to automatically control the operation of system. [0103]-[0104], source 116 of curing energy 118 is configured to deliver a predetermined or actively determined amount of curing energy 118 at a controlled rate solidify the material at the desired portion. As the amount of curing energy is adjusted, the viscosity of the material also adjusted. Thus, it is implied that the controller performs the calculation, thus, the algorithms, based on the desired amount of curing energy being applied at a controlled rate to solidify the desired portion of the segment at the controlled rate),
calculate an appropriate strength of UV radiation in the second UV beam to fully solidify the layer of the material after the layer of the material ([0006], delivering a predetermined or actively determined amount of curing energy at least to a portion of the segment of the continuous flexible line at a controlled rate after the segment of the continuous flexible line is deposited along the print path to at least partially cure at least the portion of the segment of the continuous flexible line) was partially solidified by the first UV beam and as it is laid on the substrate ([0308], controller may be programmed to perform one or more algorithms to automatically control the operation of system. [0103]-[0104], source 116 of curing energy 118 is configured to deliver a predetermined or actively determined amount of curing energy 118 at a controlled rate solidify the material at the desired portion. As the amount of curing energy is adjusted, the viscosity of the material also adjusted. Thus, it is implied that the controller is capable of performing calculation based on the desired amount of curing energy being applied at a controlled rate to solidify the desired portion of the segment at the controlled rate. Limitations directed toward the capabilities or intended uses of the apparatus are given patentable weight to the extent which effects the structure of the apparatus. MPEP 2114), and
direct the second UV light source to project the second UV beam (see annotated Figure 27, source 116 of curing energy 118 comprises at least one light source 134 which might be ultraviolet light source [0107]) at the appropriate strength ([0103]-[0104], source 116 of curing energy 118 is configured to deliver a predetermined or actively determined amount of curing energy 118 at a controlled rate solidify the material at the desired portion) to fully solidify the layer of the material as it is laid on the substrate after the layer of the material has moved through the nozzle ([0006], delivering a predetermined or actively determined amount of curing energy at least to a portion of the segment of the continuous flexible line at a controlled rate after the segment of the continuous flexible line is deposited along the print path to at least partially cure at least the portion of the segment of the continuous flexible line. Thus, the apparatus of modified Evans is capable of being used as intended as discussed above and thus meets all of the structural limitations as claimed).
Evans fails to teach wherein the printing head includes a semitransparent nozzle adapted to allow a first ultraviolet (UV) beam to be transmitted through the semitransparent nozzle; and the first UV beams enters the semitransparent nozzle through a semitransparent wall of the semitransparent nozzle.
However, However, Stockett teaches wherein the printing head includes a semitransparent nozzle ([0021], a tip of nozzle may be at least partially transparent) adapted to allow a first ultraviolet (UV) beam to be transmitted through the semitransparent nozzle ([0021], this allows for energy from cure enhancers to penetrate tip and prime the curing of the matrix, as the composite material passes therethrough); and the first UV beams enters the semitransparent nozzle through a semitransparent wall of the semitransparent nozzle (Figure 3 and [0021], energy from cure enhancers 20 to penetrate tip 44 and prime the curing of the matrix. The tip of the nozzle comprises of semitransparent wall and the energy penetrated the tip to cure the material).
Evans and Stockett are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same field of additive manufacturing system and using a curing source to solidified liquid resin materials. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modified the printing head of Evans such that the printing head includes a semitransparent nozzle configured to allow the first UV beam to be transmitted through the semitransparent nozzle as taught by Stockett to allows for energy from cure enhancers to penetrate tip and prime the curing of the matrix, as the composite material passes therethrough in order to increase the speed of curing ([0021]).
Regarding Claim 11, the modified Evans teaches the system of claim 10, further comprising: a first robotic arm connected to the first UV light source (Evans, see annotated Figure 27), wherein the controller is further configured to direct the first robotic arm to move the first UV light source to a desired location based on a shape of a final 3D printed object ([0139] and [0306]).
Regarding Claim 12, the modified Evans teaches the system of claim 11, further comprising: a second robotic arm connected to the second UV light source (Evans, see annotated Figure 27), wherein the controller is further configured to direct the second robotic arm to move the second UV light source to a desired location based on a shape of a final 3D printed object ([0139] and [0306]).
Regarding Claim 13, the modified Evans teaches the system of claim 10, Evans teaches controller controls the operation of various component parts of system. For example, precise movement of delivery guide and/or surface relative to each other may be controlled to manufacture a desired three-dimensional composite part and operation of various component parts may be selectively started and stopped by controller during manufacture of composite part to create desired properties and configurations of composite part, but fails to explicitly teach the controller is further configured to calculate an optimum speed of printing the layer of the material based on the appropriate strengths of UV radiation in the first UV beam and the appropriate strength of UV radiation in the second UV beam.
However, Stockett teaches the controller is further configured to calculate an optimum speed of printing the layer of the material based on the appropriate strengths of UV radiation in the first UV beam and the appropriate strength of UV radiation in the second UV beam ([0020], controller may then correlate the discharge of material from head 16 (a type of material, desired performance of the material, cross-linking requirements of the material, a discharge rate, etc.) with the operation of cure enhancers, such that structure is produced in a desired manner. Thus, the controller of Stockett is capable of being used as intended as discussed above and thus meets all of the structural limitations as claimed).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modified the controller of Evans such that it teaches the above discussed limitations as taught by Stockett to produce a structure in a desired manner and achieve a product with a desire properties distribution and desired performance of the material ([0020]).
Claim(s) 9 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US2017/0028633 (“Evans et al” hereinafter Evan) and US2018/0207850 (“Stockett et al” hereinafter Stockett) as applied to claims 1 or 10 above, and further in view of US2006/0016914 (“Bach et al” hereinafter Bach).
Regarding Claim 9, the modified Evans teaches the system of claim 1, Stockett teaches a tip of nozzle may be at least partially transparent ([0021]) but fails to teach wherein the semitransparent nozzle is made of transparent aluminum.
However, Bach teaches the semitransparent nozzle is made of transparent aluminum ([0007], the nozzle is specified to have a main body and disposed on the main body a wear-resistant coating composed of a protective-coating material that comprises a metal material content and a non-metal material content, where the metal material might be aluminum and the non-metal material might be oxynitrides [0027]. [0028] of instant application disclosed aluminum oxynitrides as an example of transparent aluminum).
Bach is reasonably pertinent to the problem faced by the inventor of the instant application to increase the wear-resistant ability of the nozzle and increase the heat durability of the nozzle (Bach, [0004]-[0005]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modified the modified Evans such that the semitransparent nozzle is made of transparent aluminum as taught by Bach to provide a nozzle that is high thermal resistance, high oxidation resistance, high protection ([0007]).
Regarding Claim 14, the modified Evans teaches the system of claim 10, Stockett teaches a tip of nozzle may be at least partially transparent ([0021]) but fails to teach wherein the semitransparent nozzle is made of transparent aluminum.
However, Bach teaches the semitransparent nozzle is made of transparent aluminum ([0007], the nozzle is specified to have a main body and disposed on the main body a wear-resistant coating composed of a protective-coating material that comprises a metal material content and a non-metal material content, where the metal material might be aluminum and the non-metal material might be oxynitrides [0027]. [0028] of instant application disclosed aluminum oxynitrides as an example of transparent aluminum).
Bach is reasonably pertinent to the problem faced by the inventor of the instant application to increase the wear-resistant ability of the nozzle and increase the heat durability of the nozzle (Bach, [0004]-[0005]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modified the modified Evans such that the semitransparent nozzle is made of transparent aluminum as taught by Bach to provide a nozzle that is high thermal resistance, high oxidation resistance, high protection ([0007]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 04/01/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The Applicant Evans and Stockett, both individually and in combination do not teach or suggest the newly amended limitations of claims 1 and 10.
The Examiner respectfully disagreed. The Applicant is reminded that apparatus claims are not limited by the function they perform, as per MPEP §2114. While features of an apparatus may be recited either structurally or functionally, claims directed to an apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function. As the apparatus of the prior art and the claimed apparatus are patentably indistinguishable in terms of structure, the apparatus of the prior art is reasonably expected to be able to perform the claimed functionalities. Furthermore, Applicant is reminded that apparatus claims are not limited by the material worked upon as per MPEP §2115). In this case, the newly added limitations to claim 1 are directed to the functional limitations and these functional limitations do not add additional structure to the apparatus. Evans in view of Stockett discloses a first UV source and a second UV source delivering a predetermined or actively determined amount of curing energy at least to a portion of the segment of the continuous flexible line at a controlled rate while advancing the continuous flexible line toward the print path to at least partially cure at least the portion of the segment of the continuous flexible line (Evans[0006]). Thus, the apparatus of modified Evans is capable of being used as intended as discussed above and thus meets all of the structural limitations as claimed. See claim 1 rejection above for specific mapping. Similar amendment had been made for claim 10 and the Examiner believed the same response applies. In conclusion, the combination of Evans in view of Stockett does teach all of the recited limitations of claims 1 and 10 and the rejection is maintained.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
XINWEN (CINDY) YE
Examiner
Art Unit 1754
/LARRY W THROWER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1754