DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 06/02/2023 and 05/30/2024 have been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (CN 112859350) in view of Chang et al. (US 2022/00999110).
Regarding claim 1, Wang discloses, a head-mounted device (Figs. 1-3), comprising:
a head-mounted housing (see 1);
optical assemblies (2, 3) in the head-mounted housing that are configured to move towards and away from a nose bridge portion of the head-mounted housing (Claims 1 and 2; note, discloses moving the optical assemblies towards or away from the nose bridge portion to adjust the interpupillary distance of the optical assemblies), each optical assembly including a lens (Claims 1 and 2) and a display (2) configured to provide an image to an eye box through the lens (Claims 1 and 2);
a button (6); and
a motor (44) configured to move the optical assemblies towards the nose bridge portion while the button is being pressed (Claims 1 and 2; note, discloses the motor is used for moving the optical assemblies towards or away from the nose bridge portion to adjust the interpupillary distance of the optical assemblies).
Wang does not explicitly disclose multiple motors configured to move the optical assemblies towards the nose bridge portion.
Chang teaches, from the same field of endeavor that in a head-mounted device (Figs. 2-4) that it would have been desirable to include multiple motors (150, 170) configured to move the optical assemblies (110, 120) towards the nose bridge portion (Para. 0028, lines 19-25 and 0033, lines 6-13).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include multiple motors configured to move the optical assemblies towards the nose bridge portion as taught by the head-mounted device of Chang in the head-mounted device of Wang since Chang teaches it is known to include these features in a head-mounted device for the purpose of providing a low cost head-mounted device that accurately positions the optical assemblies.
Regarding claim 2, Wang in view of Chang discloses and teaches as set forth above, and Wang further discloses, the motors are configured to halt motion in response to detection that the button is not being pressed (see 6, 44 of Figs. 2-4 and associated text).
Regarding claim 7, Wang discloses, a head-mounted device (Figs. 1-3), comprising:
a head-mounted housing (see 1);
optical assemblies (2, 3) in the head-mounted housing that are configured to move towards and away from a nose bridge portion of the head-mounted housing (Claims 1 and 2; note, discloses moving the optical assemblies towards or away from the nose bridge portion to adjust the interpupillary distance of the optical assemblies), each optical assembly including a lens (Claims 1 and 2) and a display (2) configured to provide an image to an eye box through the lens (Claims 1 and 2); and
a motor (44) configured to move the optical assemblies towards the nose bridge portion while the button is being pressed (Claims 1 and 2; note, discloses the motor is used for moving the optical assemblies towards or away from the nose bridge portion to adjust the interpupillary distance of the optical assemblies).
Wang does not explicitly disclose multiple motors configured to move the optical assemblies towards the nose bridge portion.
Chang teaches, from the same field of endeavor that in a head-mounted device (Figs. 2-4) that it would have been desirable to include multiple motors (150, 170) configured to move the optical assemblies (110, 120) towards the nose bridge portion (Para. 0028, lines 19-25 and 0033, lines 6-13).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include multiple motors configured to move the optical assemblies towards the nose bridge portion as taught by the head-mounted device of Chang in the head-mounted device of Wang since Chang teaches it is known to include these features in a head-mounted device for the purpose of providing a low cost head-mounted device that accurately positions the optical assemblies.
Claims 3-6 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (CN 112859350) in view of Chang et al. (US 2022/00999110) as applied to claims 1 and 7 above, and further in view of Whitmire et al. (US 2021/0088784).
Wang in view of Chang remains as applied to claims 1 and 7 above.
Wang in view of Chang does not disclose a head-presence sensor.
Whitmire teaches, from the same field of endeavor that in a head-mounted device that it would have been desirable to include a head-presence sensor (Para. 0001, lines 9-15).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed to include a head-presence sensor as taught by the head-mounted device of Whitmire in the combination of Wang in view of Chang since Whitmire teaches it is known to include this feature in a head-mounted device for the purpose of providing a head-mounted device with reduced cost, and improved accuracy and performance.
Regarding claim 4, Wang, Chang and Whitmire discloses and teaches as set forth above, and Whitmire further teaches, from the same field of endeavor that in a head-mounted device that it would have been desirable to make the head-presence sensor is configured to detect when the head-mounted housing is being worn (Para. 0001, lines 9-15) and wherein the motors are configured to move the optical assemblies towards the nose bridge portion while the head-presence sensor is detecting that the head-mounted housing is being worn only when the button is being pressed (Para. 0001, lines 9-15).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed to include the above mentioned limitations as taught by the head-mounted device of Whitmire in the combination of Wang in view of Chang since Whitmire teaches it is known to include this feature in a head-mounted device for the purpose of providing a head-mounted device with reduced cost, and improved accuracy and performance.
Regarding claim 5, Wang, Chang and Whitmire discloses and teaches as set forth above, and Whitmire further teaches, from the same field of endeavor that in a head-mounted device that it would have been desirable to include gaze trackers configured to measure user eye characteristics used in determining target positions for the optical assemblies (Para. 0001, lines 9-15).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed to include the above mentioned limitations as taught by the head-mounted device of Whitmire in the combination of Wang in view of Chang since Whitmire teaches it is known to include this feature in a head-mounted device for the purpose of providing a head-mounted device with reduced cost, and improved accuracy and performance.
Regarding claim 6, Wang, Chang and Whitmire discloses and teaches as set forth above, and Whitmire further teaches, from the same field of endeavor that in a head-mounted device that it would have been desirable to make the motors are configured to move the optical assemblies towards the target positions in response to determining that the button is being pressed (Para. 0001, lines 9-15).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed to include the above mentioned limitations as taught by the head-mounted device of Whitmire in the combination of Wang in view of Chang since Whitmire teaches it is known to include this feature in a head-mounted device for the purpose of providing a head-mounted device with reduced cost, and improved accuracy and performance.
Regarding claim 12, Wang, Chang and Whitmire discloses and teaches as set forth above, and Whitmire further teaches, from the same field of endeavor that in a head-mounted device that it would have been desirable to include gaze trackers configured to determine target positions for the optical assemblies (Para. 0001, lines 9-15).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed to include the above mentioned limitations as taught by the head-mounted device of Whitmire in the combination of Wang in view of Chang since Whitmire teaches it is known to include this feature in a head-mounted device for the purpose of providing a head-mounted device with reduced cost, and improved accuracy and performance.
Claims 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (CN 112859350) in view of Chang et al. (US 2022/00999110) as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of Franklin et al. (US 2020/0064635; already of record).
Wang in view of Chang remains as applied to claim 7 above.
Wang in view of Chang does not disclose the motors are configured to halt movement in response to detection that a phase difference between a back EMF for the motors and an applied current for the motors has exceeded a threshold.
Franklin teaches, from the same field of endeavor that in a head-mounted device that it would have been desirable to make the motors are configured to halt movement in response to detection that a phase difference between a back EMF for the motors and an applied current for the motors has exceeded a threshold (Para. 0039, 0042 and see Figs. 5-6).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the motors are configured to halt movement in response to detection that a phase difference between a back EMF for the motors and an applied current for the motors has exceeded a threshold as taught by the head-mounted device of Franklin in the combination of Wang in view of Chang since Franklin teaches it is known to include this feature in a head-mounted device for the purpose of providing a head-mounted device that accurately positions the optical assemblies.
Regarding claim 9, Wang, Chang and Franklin discloses and teaches as set forth above, and Franklin further teaches, from the same field of endeavor that in a head-mounted device that it would have been desirable to make the motors are configured to halt movement in response to detection that a motor drive current has exceeded a predetermined threshold (Para. 0039, 0042 and see Figs. 5-6).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the above mentioned limitations as taught by the head-mounted device of Franklin in the combination of Wang in view of Chang since Franklin teaches it is known to include this feature in a head-mounted device for the purpose of providing a head-mounted device that accurately positions the optical assemblies.
Claims 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (CN 112859350) in view of Chang et al. (US 2022/00999110) as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of Stellman et al. (US 2021/0132397).
Wang in view of Chang remains as applied to claim 7 above.
Wang in view of Chang does not disclose rotary encoders configured to measure rotation of the motors.
Stellman teaches, from the same field of endeavor that in a head-mounted device that it would have been desirable to make rotary encoders configured to measure rotation of the motors (Para. 0055 and see 942 of Fig. 9).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make rotary encoders configured to measure rotation of the motors as taught by the head-mounted device of Stellman in the combination of Wang in view of Chang since Stellman teaches it is known to include this feature in a head-mounted device for the purpose of providing a head-mounted device that accurately measures and verifies the position of the optical assemblies.
Regarding claim 11, Wang, Chang and Stellman discloses and teaches as set forth above, and Stellman further teaches, from the same field of endeavor that in a head-mounted device that it would have been desirable to make linear encoders configured to measure movement by the motors of the optical assemblies (Para. 0055 and see 942 of Fig. 9).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the above mentioned limitations as taught by the head-mounted device of Stellman in the combination of Wang in view of Chang since Stellman teaches it is known to include this feature in a head-mounted device for the purpose of providing a head-mounted device that accurately measures and verifies the position of the optical assemblies.
Claims 13 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (CN 112859350) in view of Chang et al. (US 2022/00999110), and further in view of Funatsu (US 5,583,693).
Regarding claim 13, Wang discloses, a head-mounted device (Figs. 1-3), comprising:
a head-mounted housing (see 1);
optical assemblies (2, 3) in the head-mounted housing that are configured to move towards and away from a nose bridge portion of the head-mounted housing (Claims 1 and 2; note, discloses moving the optical assemblies towards or away from the nose bridge portion to adjust the interpupillary distance of the optical assemblies), each optical assembly including a lens (Claims 1 and 2) and a display (2) configured to provide an image to an eye box through the lens (Claims 1 and 2); and
a motor (44) configured to move the optical assemblies towards the nose bridge portion while the button is being pressed (Claims 1 and 2; note, discloses the motor is used for moving the optical assemblies towards or away from the nose bridge portion to adjust the interpupillary distance of the optical assemblies).
Wang does not explicitly disclose multiple motors configured to move the optical assemblies towards the nose bridge portion.
Chang teaches, from the same field of endeavor that in a head-mounted device (Figs. 2-4) that it would have been desirable to include multiple motors (150, 170) configured to move the optical assemblies (110, 120) towards the nose bridge portion (Para. 0028, lines 19-25 and 0033, lines 6-13).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include multiple motors configured to move the optical assemblies towards the nose bridge portion as taught by the head-mounted device of Chang in the head-mounted device of Wang since Chang teaches it is known to include these features in a head-mounted device for the purpose of providing a low cost head-mounted device that accurately positions the optical assemblies.
Wang in view of Chang does not explicitly disclose a clutch for each motor that is configured to limit the force.
Funatsu teaches, from the same field of endeavor that in a head-mounted device that it would have been desirable to include a clutch for each motor that is configured to limit the force (93 of Fig. 14-15).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a clutch for each motor that is configured to limit the force as taught by the head-mounted device of Funatsu in the combination of Wang in view of Chang since Funatsu teaches it is known to include this feature in a head-mounted device for the purpose of providing a simple and low-cost head-mounted device that accurately positions the optical assemblies.
Regarding claim 20, Wang, Chang and Funatsu discloses and teaches as set forth above, and Funatsu further teaches, from the same field of endeavor that in a head-mounted device that it would have been desirable to make each clutch has a pin and a corresponding releasable pin lock configured to decouple to limit the force (see 93 of Figs. 14-15).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the above mentioned limitations as taught by the head-mounted device of Funatsu in the combination of Wang in view of Chang since Funatsu teaches it is known to include this feature in a head-mounted device for the purpose of providing a simple and low-cost head-mounted device that accurately positions the optical assemblies.
Claims 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (CN 112859350) in view of Chang et al. (US 2022/00999110) in view of Funatsu (US 5,583,693) as applied to claim 13 above, and further in view of Maric et al. (US 2021/0333506; already of record).
Wang, Chang and Funatsu remains as applied to claim 13 above.
Wang, Chang and Funatsu does not disclose threaded shafts rotated by the motors; and nuts moved by rotation of the threaded shafts, each nut being coupled to a respective one of the optical assemblies.
Maric teaches, from the same field of endeavor that in a head-mounted device that it would have been desirable to include threaded shafts rotated by the motors (Para. 0046-0047); and nuts moved by rotation of the threaded shafts, each nut being coupled to a respective one of the optical assemblies (Para. 0046-0047).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include threaded shafts rotated by the motors; and nuts moved by rotation of the threaded shafts, each nut being coupled to a respective one of the optical assemblies as taught by the head-mounted device of Maric in the combination of Wang, Chang and Funatsu since Maric teaches it is known to include these features in a head-mounted device for the purpose of providing a durable head-mounted device with reduced friction and burden on the motors.
Regarding claim 15, Wang, Chang, Funatsu and Maric discloses and teaches as set forth above, and Maric further teaches, from the same field of endeavor that in a head-mounted device that it would have been desirable to make the nuts comprise split nuts, each split nut serving as one of the clutches and being configured to slide over threads on a respective one of the threaded shafts to limit the force (Para. 0046-0047).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the above mentioned limitations as taught by the head-mounted device of Maric in the combination of Wang, Chang and Funatsu since Maric teaches it is known to include these features in a head-mounted device for the purpose of providing a durable head-mounted device with reduced friction and burden on the motors.
Claims 16 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (CN 112859350) in view of Chang et al. (US 2022/00999110) in view of Funatsu (US 5,583,693) in view of Maric et al. (US 2021/0333506; already of record) as applied to claim 14 above, and further in view of Akaba (US 4,537,480).
Wang, Chang, Funatsu and Maric remains as applied to claim 14 above.
Wang, Chang, Funatsu and Maric does not disclose each clutch comprises a magnetic clutch.
Akaba teaches, from the same field of endeavor that in a head-mounted device that it would have been desirable to make each clutch comprises a magnetic clutch (11 of Fig. 1B).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make each clutch comprises a magnetic clutch as taught by the head-mounted device of Akaba in the combination of Wang, Chang, Funatsu and Maric since Akaba teaches it is known to include this feature in a head-mounted device for the purpose of providing a head-mounted device with reduced power consumption that accurately positions the optical assemblies.
Regarding claim 19, Wang, Chang, Funatsu, Maric and Akaba discloses and teaches as set forth above, and Akaba further teaches, from the same field of endeavor that in a head-mounted device that it would have been desirable to make each magnetic clutch has first and second rows of magnets that are configured to slide past each other to limit the force (11 of Fig. 1B).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the above mentioned limitations as taught by the head-mounted device of Akaba in the combination of Wang, Chang, Funatsu and Maric since Akaba teaches it is known to include this feature in a head-mounted device for the purpose of providing a head-mounted device with reduced power consumption that accurately positions the optical assemblies.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 17-18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Regarding claim 17, in the Examiner’s opinion it would not have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make each magnetic clutch has a magnet coupled to a respective one of the nuts in a head-mounted device so as to provide an effective and efficient head-mounted device.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Enomoto et al. (US 2003/0063209) and Mirabella et al. (US 2021/0080746) discloses a head-mounted device that include a head-mounted housing, optical assemblies, a button and a motor.
/DAWAYNE PINKNEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872 07/08/2025