DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Iwatsuki (JP7141070B2).
Regarding claim 1, the Iwatsuki reference discloses a gripper (Title) for gripping a target (Figure), comprising:
a first support section (3a);
a second support section (5) spaced apart from the first support section in a direction of a rotation center axis; and
a plurality of elastic wires (2) supported across the first support section and the second support section (Figures),
wherein a first grip area (Figures) surrounded by the plurality of elastic wires is formed between the first support section and the second support section upon a relative rotation of the first support section and the second support section around the rotation center axis (Figures), and
wherein the first grip area becomes narrower until all the plurality of elastic wires comes into contact with the target by the relative rotation of the first support section and the second support section, and the plurality of elastic wires is tightened to grip the target entering the first grip area (Figures).
Regarding claim 2, the Iwatsuki reference discloses a third support section (3b) spaced apart from the second support section on a side opposite to the first support section,
wherein the plurality of elastic wires is supported across the first support section, the second support section and the third support section (Figures),
wherein a second grip area (Figures) surrounded by the elastic wires is formed between the second support section and the third support section upon a relative rotation of the second support section and the third support section around the rotation center axis, and
wherein the second grip area becomes narrower until all the plurality of elastic wires comes into contact with the target by the relative rotation of the second support section and the third support section, and the plurality of elastic wires is tightened to grip the target entering the second grip area (Figures).
Regarding claim 3, the Iwatsuki reference discloses a center of the first grip area and a center of the second grip area are disposed on the rotation center axis (Figures), and
wherein the target is centrally aligned on the rotation center axis, and the target is gripped with a lengthwise direction aligned vertically in parallel to the rotation center axis (Figures).
Regarding claim 4, the Iwatsuki reference discloses the second support section rotates relative to the first support section and the third support section in stationary state upon rotating (Figures).
Regarding claim 5, the Iwatsuki reference discloses each elastic wire is extended in a straight line at an initial position (Figs. 38-41), when viewed in a direction facing the rotation center axis in a radial direction of the gripper, and wherein each elastic wire is supported in tight state at the initial position (Figs. 38-41).
Regarding claim 6, the Iwatsuki reference discloses the second support section is rotatable 180o or more relative to the first support section and the third support section from the initial position (Figs. 38-41).
Regarding claim 7, the Iwatsuki reference discloses the second support section further rotates a predetermined angle after all the plurality of elastic wires comes into contact with the target, and wherein the plurality of elastic wires is wound around the target to increase a gripping force (Figures).
Regarding claim 8, the Iwatsuki reference discloses a plurality of tension sensors (8,80) to detect tension acting on the plurality of elastic wires, respectively, wherein a size and direction of an external force acting on the target is detected by summing the tension detected by the plurality of tension sensors.
Regarding claim 9, the Iwatsuki reference discloses the tension sensor is a load cell (e.g. Para. [0063],[0068]) connected to a support point at which an end of each of the plurality of elastic wires is fixed in the first support section (e.g. Para. [0063],[0068]).
Regarding claim 10, the Iwatsuki reference discloses a radius of a first support area defined in the first support section, a radius of a second support area defined in the second support section, and a radius of a third support area defined in the third support section are different (e.g. Figs. 38-41).
Regarding claim 11, the Iwatsuki reference discloses a distance between the first support section and the second support section and a distance between the second support section and the third support section are different (Figs. 8, 38-41).
Regarding claim 12, the Iwatsuki reference discloses the gripper of claim 1 being used in a robot system (Para. [0084])
Conclusion
/GILBERT Y LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3675