DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 8, 10, 17, and 19 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species embodiments drawn to the embodiments depicted in Figs. 5, 7, 8, and 9, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 01/07/2026.
Applicant’s election without traverse of the species embodiment drawn to Fig. 6, claims 1-7, 11-16, 18 and 20 in the reply filed on 01/07/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 11-13 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Okabayashi (US 2022/0223970 A1).
Regarding claim 11, Okabayashi discloses a battery cell case (See Figs. 1-5, battery pack contains battery cell 12 [0006][0015]) an internal chamber (portion which houses batteries) and an external environment (outside of internal chamber) the battery cell case comprising at least one aperture (13, see Fig. 1) configured to provide a gas path between the internal chamber and an external environment; and
a reversible, multiple-use valve assembly (See Fig. 2, 10) mounted to the battery cell case (12) and configured to selectively open a fluid flow through the at least one aperture to relieve a gas pressure within the internal chamber exceeding a predetermined pressure threshold ([0016]).
Regarding claim 12, modified Okabayashi discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
In addition, Okabayashi discloses wherein the valve assembly (see Fig. 2 and 3) includes at least one cantilever arm (32 [0019]) pivotably (29, [0018]-[0020]) mounted to the battery cell case.
Regarding claim 13, modified Okabayashi discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
In addition, Okabayashi includes wherein each cantilever arm is an elastic
element constructed from a rigid material (formed from a material which can form a spring which inherently includes a material with rigid properties, see Fig. 1, 31 and 32 formed as one element and [0019]).
Regarding claim 15, modified Okabayashi discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
In addition, Okabayashi wherein the valve assembly additionally includes a valve tip (44) connected to each cantilever arm (32-connected to 22 and 44/45) and configured to selectively open and close the respective aperture ([0020][0028]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okabayashi (US 2022/0223970 A1) in view of Brisbane (US 20160308344 A1).
Regarding claims 1, Okabayashi discloses a battery cell/a battery cell case comprising (See Figs. 1-5, battery pack contains battery cell [0006][0015]):
a cathode element (positive electrode [0015]) and an anode element (negative electrode [0015]);
a battery cell case (12 [0015]) and defining an internal chamber (portion which houses batteries) and an external environment (outside of internal chamber) configured to house each of the cathode element, the anode element, wherein the battery cell case defines at least one aperture (13, see Fig. 1) configured to provide a gas path between the internal chamber and an external environment; and
a reversible, multiple-use valve assembly (See Fig. 2, 10) mounted to the battery cell case (12) and configured to selectively open a fluid flow through the at least one aperture to relieve a gas pressure within the internal chamber exceeding a predetermined pressure threshold ([0016]).
However, Okabayashi does not disclose an electrolyte disposed in contact with each of the cathode and anode elements and that the battery cell case is constructed from a rigid material.
Brisbane discloses a battery pack (see Fig. 2A and 2B, 10) which includes batteries which have an anode (anodes [0026]), cathode (cathodes [0026]) and electrolyte (electrolyte between and separating anodes and cathodes) in contact with each of the cathode and anode elements.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to replace the batteries of Okabayashi by using the batteries as disclosed by Brisbane because Brisbane discloses that these types of batteries can be incorporated into battery packs and the selection of a known battery would be within the level of one of ordinary skill in the art one of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success in doing so.
Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have the pack casing of Okabayashi to be formed from a rigid material because it will protect the batteries within the pack and furthermore be able to withstand environmental conditions and mechanical forces from being mounted in a vehicle ([0002]).
Regarding claim 2, modified Okabayashi discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
In addition, Okabayashi discloses wherein the valve assembly (see Fig. 2 and 3) includes at least one cantilever arm (32 [0019]) pivotably (29, [0018]-[0020]) mounted to the battery cell case.
Regarding claim 3, modified Okabayashi discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
In addition, Okabayashi includes wherein each cantilever arm is an elastic
element constructed from a rigid material (formed from a material which can form a spring which inherently includes a material with rigid properties, see Fig. 1, 31 and 32 formed as one element and [0019]).
Regarding claim 5, modified Okabayashi discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
In addition, Okabayashi wherein the valve assembly additionally includes a valve tip (44) connected to each cantilever arm (32-connected to 22 and 44/45) and configured to selectively open and close the respective aperture ([0020][0028]).
Claim(s) 6 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okabayashi (US 2022/0223970 A1) in view of Brisbane (US 20160308344 A1) as applied to claims 1-3 and 5 above and in further view of Nakayama (US 2005/0039806 A1).
Regarding claims 6 and 7, modified Okabayashi discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
However, Okabayashi does not disclose wherein the valve assembly tip is formed of a rubber resistant to electrolyte.
Nakayama discloses a pressure relief valve member (30, see Fig. 4) wherein the sealing member (32, see Fig. 4) is formed of butyl rubber to increase electrolyte resistance ([0088]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to form the valve assembly tip sealing structure of modified Okabayashi with a rubber as disclosed by Nakayama because it will increase the valve resistance against electrolyte damage.
With regards to the property of “a material configured to withstand temperatures up to 200 degrees Celsius”, modified Okabayashi discloses the instantly claimed material for the valve tip when the structure recited in the reference is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent. The Courts have held that it is well settled that where there is a reason to believe that a functional characteristic would be inherent in the prior art, the burden of proof then shifts to the applicant to provide objective evidence to the contrary. See In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d at 1478, 44 USPQ2d at 1478, 44 USPQ2d at 1432 (Fed. Cir. 1997) (see MPEP § 2112.01, I.).
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okabayashi (US 2022/0223970 A1) in view of Brisbane (US 20160308344 A1) as applied to claims 1-3 and 5 above and in further view of Pfeiffer (DE 102021123420 A1, Machine Translation).
Regarding claim 4, modified Okabayashi discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
However, Okabayashi does not disclose what material the spring element is formed of spring steel.
Pfeiffer discloses that a spring element is formed of steel spring (pg. 3-5, spring mechanism, end of pg. 4, and pg. 8, element 45 in Fig. 20 and 4 in Fig. 9, second to last paragraph and spring steel see pg. 3, paragraph 7) is used to open a pressure relief valve.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the of filing to modify the spring element of Okabayashi by forming the spring element out of spring steel as disclosed by Pfeiffer because it allows one to adjust the pressure that the spring element applies to the valve.
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okabayashi (US 2022/0223970 A1) as applied to claims 1-3 and 5 above and in further view of Nakayama (US 2005/0039806 A1).
Regarding claim 16, modified Okabayashi discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
However, Okabayashi does not disclose wherein the valve assembly tip is formed of a rubber resistant to electrolyte.
Nakayama discloses a pressure relief valve member (30, see Fig. 4) wherein the sealing member (32, see Fig. 4) is formed of butyl rubber to increase electrolyte resistance ([0088]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to form the valve assembly tip sealing structure of modified Okabayashi with a rubber as disclosed by Nakayama because it will increase the valve resistance against electrolyte damage.
With regards to the property of “a material configured to withstand temperatures up to 200 degrees Celsius”, modified Okabayashi discloses the instantly claimed material for the valve tip when the structure recited in the reference is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent. The Courts have held that it is well settled that where there is a reason to believe that a functional characteristic would be inherent in the prior art, the burden of proof then shifts to the applicant to provide objective evidence to the contrary. See In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d at 1478, 44 USPQ2d at 1478, 44 USPQ2d at 1432 (Fed. Cir. 1997) (see MPEP § 2112.01, I.).
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okabayashi (US 2022/0223970 A1) as applied to claims 11-13 and 15 above and in further view of Pfeiffer (DE 102021123420 A1, Machine Translation).
Regarding claim 14, modified Okabayashi discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
However, Okabayashi does not disclose what material the spring element is formed of spring steel.
Pfeiffer discloses that a spring element is formed of steel spring (pg. 3-5, spring mechanism, end of pg. 4, and pg. 8, element 45 in Fig. 20 and 4 in Fig. 9, second to last paragraph and spring steel see pg. 3, paragraph 7) is used to open a pressure relief valve.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the of filing to modify the spring element of Okabayashi by forming the spring element out of spring steel as disclosed by Pfeiffer because it allows one to adjust the pressure that the spring element applies to the valve.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 18 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 20 is allowed and the following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance. The closest prior art of record includes Okabayashi (US 2022/0223970 A1). Okabayashi discloses a battery pack (12) with an aperture (13) between the internal and external environment, wherein the aperture is sealed with a pressure relief valve (10) and the pressure relief valve has a cantilever arm (32 [0019]) that is pivotable mounted and has a pressure relief valve at one end ([0015]-[0018]). Okabayashi does not disclose that the cantilever arm has a pivot point which is adjustable. No teaching, suggestion, or motivation can be to modify Okabayashi to have the entirety of claim 20.
Conclusion
DEVINA PILLAY
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1726
/DEVINA PILLAY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1726