DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The cancellation of claims 3, and the amendments to claims 1, 4, 6, 7, 9 in the response filed on 03/12/2026 are acknowledged.
Claims 1 and 4-9 remain pending in the application
Claims 2-3 are cancelled.
Claims 1 and 4-9 are examined.
Response to Arguments
The applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection necessitated by the applicant’s amendments to the claims. The applicant has modified claim 1 to require “wherein the optical fiber and the front image capturing camera are arranged side by side, and the optical fiber is positioned offset from the lateral opening of the head tube; wherein a front projection camera is disposed in the head tube and arranged in a side-by- side manner with the front image capturing camera, and a lateral projection camera is disposed in the head tube and arranged in a side-by-side manner with the lateral image capturing camera”, limitations heretofore not presented for examination in this application. As such, the scope of the claims was substantially changed and new grounds for rejection are presented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4, 6, 7, 8, 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Levin et al. (US 20190254508 A1, hereinafter “Levin”).
Regarding claim 1, Levin discloses an endoscope device comprising: a head tube having a front opening (101, Fig. 1, [0107]) and a lateral opening (102, Fig. 1, [0107]);
a front image capturing camera disposed in the head tube and facing the front opening (105, Fig. 1, [0109]); an optical fiber disposed in the head tube and located at one side of the front image capturing camera for providing lights to the front image capturing lens camera ([0113]-[0114]);
a lateral image capturing camera disposed in the head tube and facing the lateral opening (115, Fig. 1, [0120]); and
a lateral light source disposed in the head tube and arranged adjacent to the lateral image capturing camera for providing lights to the lateral image capturing lens camera (118, Fig. 1, [0122]);
wherein the optical fiber has one end thereof connected to a light-emitting element disposed outside the head tube for transmitting the lights generated by the light-emitting element to the front image capturing camera ([0113]-[0114]); wherein the optical fiber and the front image capturing camera are arranged side by side ([0113]-[0114], the examiner notes the optical fiber would be connected to 108, which is beside the camera 105), and the optical fiber is positioned offset from the lateral opening of the head tube ([0113]-[0114], the examiner notes the optical fiber would be connected to 108, which would be offset from opening 102);
Levin fails to expressly teach wherein the optical fiber and the front image capturing camera are arranged side by side, and the optical fiber is positioned offset from the lateral opening of the head tube; wherein a front projection camera is disposed in the head tube and arranged in a side-by- side manner with the front image capturing camera, and a lateral projection camera is disposed in the head tube and arranged in a side-by-side manner with the lateral image capturing camera.
However, Levin, in a separate embodiment, further discloses wherein a front projection camera (135, Fig. 2, [0135]) is disposed in the head tube and arranged in a side-by- side manner with the front image capturing camera (105, Fig. 2, [0109]).
Additionally, Levin, in a separate embodiment, further discloses a lateral projection camera (602A, Fig. 6B, [0185]) is disposed in the head tube and arranged in a side-by-side manner with the lateral image capturing camera (602B, Fig. 6B, [0185]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Levin, to utilize a front projection camera and a lateral projection camera, as taught by Levin. It would have been advantageous to make the combination for the purpose of receiving images ([0135] of Levin).
Regarding claim 4, Levin discloses the endoscope device as claimed in claim 1, further comprising a lens disposed in the head tube and arranged adjacent the front image capturing camera and the front projection camera (107, Fig. 2, [0109]).
Regarding claim 6, Levin discloses the endoscope device as claimed in claim 1, wherein the front image capturing camera is disposed to a first flexible printed circuit board (106, Fig. 1, [0110]); the lateral image capturing camera is disposed to a rigid printed circuit board (116, Fig. 2, [0120]); the first flexible printed circuit board, the rigid printed circuit board, and the second flexible printed circuit board are disposed in the head tube (Fig. 2).
Levin fails to expressly teach the lateral light source, the front projection camera, and the lateral projection lens camera are disposed to a second flexible printed circuit board.
However, the Examiner is of the position that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to modify the device of Levin so that the lateral light source, the front projection camera, and the lateral projection lens camera are disposed to a second flexible printed circuit board, since Levin already discloses these components connected to circuits boards ([0110]-[0111], [0120]-[0140]), and since the mere rearrangement of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art (MPEP 2144.04(VI)(C)).
Regarding claim 7, Levin discloses the endoscope device as claimed in claim 1, further comprising a lens disposed in the head tube and arranged adjacent the front image capturing camera (107, Fig. 2, [0109]).
Regarding claim 8, Levin discloses the endoscope device as claimed in claim 7, but Levin fails to expressly teach wherein the optical fiber has one end thereof inserted into a concavity of the lens.
However, Kato teaches of an endoscope device (1, Fig. 1, [0037]) wherein the optical fiber (15, Fig. 1, [0039]-[0040]) has one end thereof inserted into a concavity of the lens (17, Fig. 1, [0039]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Levin to utilize an optical fiber in the manner as taught by Kato. It would have been advantageous to make the combination for the purpose of irradiating an observation region ([0041] of Kato).
Regarding claim 9, Levin discloses the endoscope device as claimed in claim 1, wherein the front image capturing camera is disposed to a first flexible printed circuit board (106, Fig. 1, [0110]); the lateral image capturing camera is disposed to a rigid printed circuit board(116, Fig. 2, [0120]); the lateral light source is disposed to a second flexible printed circuit board ([0110]-[0111], [0120]-[0140]); the first flexible printed circuit board, the rigid printed circuit board, and the second flexible printed circuit board are disposed in the head tube (Fig. 2).
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Levin et al. (US 20190254508 A1, hereinafter “Levin”) and further in view of Kato et al. (US 2011/0157574 A1, hereinafter “Kato”).
Regarding claim 5, Levin discloses the endoscope device as claimed in claim 4, but Levin fails to expressly teach wherein the optical fiber has one end thereof inserted into a concavity of the lens.
However, Kato teaches of an endoscope device (1, Fig. 1, [0037]) wherein the optical fiber (15, Fig. 1, [0039]-[0040]) has one end thereof inserted into a concavity of the lens (17, Fig. 1, [0039]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Levin to utilize an optical fiber in the manner as taught by Kato. It would have been advantageous to make the combination for the purpose of irradiating an observation region ([0041] of Kato).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/C.A.S./Examiner, Art Unit 3795
/MICHAEL J CAREY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3795