Response to Amendment
The amendment filed January 9, 2026 has been entered. Claims 1-20 are pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on January 9, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On pp. 17-24 of Applicant’s response, Applicant appears to argue that the cited references fail to teach or suggest the limitations of claim 1 because the cited references teach a dual-polarized antenna structure. In particular, Applicant argues that that the dual polarized antenna elements of Alpman cannot teach more than two polarizations. Examiner disagrees.
While Alpman teaches dual polarized antenna elements, Alpman also teaches achieving polarization diversity with the dual polarized antenna elements. (See ¶¶ [01387]). Indeed, it is well known in the art that a dual polarized antenna element can be used to achieve more than two polarizations. For example, Chakraborty et al. (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2020/0144733), which is being used solely for the purpose of extrinsic evidence to establish that a dual polarized antenna element can be used to achieve more than two polarizations, at ¶ [0063] discloses that “dual-polarized antenna element 422 can transmit or receive signals associated with a horizontal polarization, a vertical polarization, a horizontal polarization and a vertical polarization, or a circular polarization.” Therefore, a dual-polarized antenna element is not limited to only two polarizations as Applicant contends. Accordingly, Alpman’s dual polarized antenna elements do not limit it to only two polarizations.
Applicant also contends that the combination of Yuhu and Alpman changes “the principle of operation of a reference” based on Applicant’s contention that Alpman cannot teach more than two polarizations. (Applicant’s response, p. 19). However, as explained above, it is known that a dual polarized antenna element can be used to achieve more than two polarizations. Therefore, the combination of Yuhu and Alpman does not change the operation of either reference, and further teaches the three polarizations of claim 1.
Applicant further argues that the vectors +/- 45-degree vectors 16001 and 16003 of FIG. 160A and vectors 16015 and 16017 of FIG. 160B of Alpman do not represent polarizations but only “directions of EXCITATION” (emphasis in original). (Applicant’s response, p. 22). Examiner disagrees. Firstly, Applicant appears to rely on the statement “[b]oth figures represent [+/-] 45-degree tilted excitation” of ¶ [1390] of Alpman. However, the details of FIGS. 160A and 160B of Alpman are described in ¶¶ [1391] and [1392]. In these paragraphs, Alpman describes that vectors 16009 and 16019 are vertical polarizations, therefore, it follows that the remaining vectors, such as vectors 16001, 16003, 16015, 16017, shown in FIGS. 160A and 160B also represent polarizations resulting from the ports in FIGS. 159A and 150B being excited. Secondly, it is well known in the art to have antenna elements with +/- 45 degree polarizations. For example, Martin et al. (U.S. Patent No. 8948239 B1), which is being used solely for the purpose of extrinsic evidence to establish that antenna elements can have +/- 45t-degree polarizations, in col. 1, lines 27-30 describes “[p]olarity diversity typically combines pairs of cross-polarized antennas (i.e., antennas with orthogonal polarizations, such as horizontal and vertical, +slant 45° and −slant 45°, etc.).” (Emphasis added). Therefore, +/- 45-degree vectors 16001 and 16003 of FIG. 160A and vectors 16015 and 16017 of FIG. 160B of Alpman do represent polarizations.
Applicant then argues that Alpman teaches away from the subject matter of ¶¶ [1387] to [1390] and FIGS. 159A to 160B due to more preferred embodiments described in Alpman’s paragraphs “[1404] to [1421] along with FIG. 163A to FIG. 168C.” (Applicant’s response, p. 23). Examiner disagrees. Alpman does not teach away from the structures and techniques described in ¶¶ [1387] to [1390] and FIGS. 159A to 160B because nothing in Alpman describes that those structures and techniques do not work in accomplishing their goal of polarization diversity. “A reference may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill in the art, including nonpreferred embodiments. Merck & Co. v.Biocraft Labs., Inc. 874 F.2d 804, 10 USPQ2d 1843 (Fed. Cir. 1989).” MPEP 2123. “Disclosed examples and preferred embodiments do not constitute a teaching away from a broader disclosure or nonpreferred embodiments. In re Susi, 440 F.2d 442, 169 USPQ 423 (CCPA 1971).” MPEP 2123.
Thus, the combination of the cited references of Yuhu and Alpman teaches the limitations of claim 1.
Regarding claim 15, Applicant argues that the combination of Yuhu, Alpman, and Kang do not teach all of the limitations of claim 15 because the references do not teach “that each codebook entry is also associated with of different polarizations, even in context of polarization diversity.” (Emphasis in original). However, claim 15 does not require that a codebook/beambook entry is associated with a polarization. Rather, claim 15 requires that a codebook/beambook entry is associated with “one of the second number of communication modes.” ¶ [1758] of Alpman describes use of codebooks for beams (i.e., second number of communication modes), and beams result from excitation of ports of antenna structures shown in FIGS. 159A and 159B, which as explained above, have different polarizations.
Thus, the combination of Yuhu, Alpman, and Kang do teach the all of the limitations of claim 15.
Rejection of claims 2-7, 10-12, and 17-20 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) have been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yuhu (WO2021000705A1) in view of Alpman et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2020/0091608).
Regarding claim 1, Yuhu teaches “[a]n antenna-in-module (AiM) with improved performances, comprising: a plurality of radiators” (see p. 1, line 26, and p. 3, line 2; an antenna module, the antenna module (i.e., antenna-in-module (AiM)) includes a plurality of antenna radiators arranged in an array);
Yuhu further teaches “a plurality of port-one terminals respectively coupled to the plurality of radiators” (see p. 1, lines 26 and 27; each of the antenna radiators is formed with at least one feed port (i.e., port-one terminals); thus, a plurality of port-one terminals are coupled to the plurality of radiators);
Yuhu also teaches “a plurality of port-two terminals respectively coupled to the plurality of radiators” (see p. 1, lines 26 and 27, p. 10, lines 39 and 40; each of the antenna radiators is formed with at least one feed port; as shown in FIG. 9, the antenna radiator 110 has a first feeding port 111 (i.e., port-one terminals) and a second feeding port 112 (i.e., port-two terminals)).
Yuhu does not explicitly disclose “wherein: the AiM implements a mode-one wireless communication by excitations of a plurality of phase-shifted versions of a mode-one signal respectively at the plurality of port-one terminals; the AiM further implements a mode-two wireless communication by excitations of a plurality of phase-shifted versions of a mode-two signal respectively at the plurality of port-two terminals; the AiM further implements a mode-three wireless communication by simultaneous excitations of a first plurality and a second plurality of phase-shifted versions of a mode-three signal respectively at the plurality of port-one terminals and the plurality of port-two terminals; and polarizations of the mode-one, the mode-two and the mode-three wireless communications are different.” However, the foregoing limitations are known in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
For example, Alpman teaches “wherein: the AiM implements a mode-one wireless communication by excitations of a plurality of phase-shifted versions of a mode-one signal respectively at the plurality of port-one terminals; the AiM further implements a mode-two wireless communication by excitations of a plurality of phase-shifted versions of a mode-two signal respectively at the plurality of port-two terminals” (see ¶¶ [1337], [1387], and [1389]; phase of each feed is shifted 120 degrees from the element next to it; therefore, phase of the signal provided at a feed is shifted; the horizontal and vertical ports of an antenna element are excited (i.e., with a first signal and a second signal); thus, a first mode (i.e., mode-one) of wireless communication is implemented by excitation of a phase-shifted first signal at first set of ports (i.e., port-one terminals), and a second mode (i.e., mode-two) of wireless communication is implemented by excitation of a phase-shifted second signal at a second set of ports (i.e., port-two terminals));
Alpman further teaches “the AiM further implements a mode-three wireless communication by simultaneous excitations of a first plurality and a second plurality of phase-shifted versions of a mode-three signal respectively at the plurality of port-one terminals and the plurality of port-two terminals” (see ¶ [1397]; antenna structure as shown is simultaneously excited at both ports by two phase-shifted signals (i.e., a first plurality and a second plurality of phase-shifted versions) at the ports; thus, a third mode (i.e., mode-three) of wireless communication is implemented by simultaneous excitation of phase-shifted signal at both ports); and
Alpman further teaches “polarizations of the mode-one, the mode-two and the mode-three wireless communications are different” (see ¶¶ [1388], [1390], and [1397]; polarization diversity (i.e., different polarizations) is realized from excitations at different ports by the signals and the different phases of the signals; since the different signals correspond to the different communication modes, the polarizations of the mode-one, the mode-two and the mode-three wireless communications are different).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Yuhu to incorporate teachings of Alpman to excite, including simultaneously, ports/terminals of radiators with phase shifted signals have different communication modes with different polarizations. The motivation to do so would have been to improve signal quality and reliability in wireless communication systems (see ¶ [1320] of Alpman).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Yuhu and Alpman teaches the apparatus of claim 1, and further teaches “the polarizations of the mode-one, the mode-two and the mode-three wireless communications are parallel to a mode-one, a mode-two and a mode-three vectors, respectively; and the mode-one, mode-two and mode-three vectors are nonparallel” (see ¶¶ [1389], [1390], and [1397] of Alpman; polarizations from the excitation of ports correspond to the different polarization vectors and they are not parallel to each other; since the different signals correspond to the different communication modes, the polarizations of the mode-one, the mode-two and the mode-three wireless communications have corresponding polarization vectors and they are not parallel to each other). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Yuhu to incorporate teachings of Alpman to have the different polarizations correspond to vectors that are not parallel to each other. The motivation to do so would have been to improve signal quality and reliability in wireless communication systems (see ¶ [1320] of Alpman).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Yuhu and Alpman teaches the apparatus of claim 2, and further teaches “the mode-three vector is not perpendicular to the mode-one and mode-two vectors” (see ¶ [1392] of Alpman; vector 16015 (e.g., mode-three vector) is not perpendicular to the other vectors). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Yuhu to incorporate teachings of Alpman to have a polarization vector corresponding to a mode of communication not be perpendicular to the other vectors. The motivation to do so would have been to improve signal quality and reliability in wireless communication systems (see ¶ [1320] of Alpman).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Yuhu and Alpman teaches the apparatus of claim 2, and further teaches “the mode-three vector is parallel to a sum of the mode-one and mode-two vectors, or a difference between the mode-one and mode-two vectors” (see ¶ [1392] of Alpman; vector 16015 (e.g., mode-three vector) is parallel to a sum of the other vectors). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Yuhu to incorporate teachings of Alpman to have a polarization vector corresponding to a mode of communication to be parallel to the sum of the other vectors. The motivation to do so would have been to improve signal quality and reliability in wireless communication systems (see ¶ [1320] of Alpman).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Yuhu and Alpman teaches the apparatus of claim 1, and further teaches “a first port-one terminal of the plurality of port-one terminals is coupled to a first radiator of the plurality of radiators; a first port-two terminal of the plurality of port-two terminals is coupled to the first radiator” (see p. 1, lines 26 and 27, and p. 10, lines 39 and 40 of Yuhu; each of the antenna radiators is formed with at least one feed port; as shown in FIG. 9, the antenna radiator 110 has a first feeding port 111 (i.e., port-one terminals) and a second feeding port 112 (i.e., port-two terminals));
the combination of Yuhu and Alpman further teaches “the first plurality of phase-shifted versions of the mode-three signal include a first and a fifth phase-shifted versions of the mode-three signal; the second plurality of phase-shifted versions of the mode-three signal include a second and a sixth phase-shifted versions of the mode-three signal” (see ¶ [1397] of Alpman; antenna structure as shown is simultaneously excited at both ports by phase-shifted signals (i.e., of mode-three signal) at the ports; since the antenna will be operated over time, signals provided to the first and the second port (i.e., port-one and port-two terminals), at a first time, the phase-shifted signals would include two phase-shifted versions (i.e., a first and a fifth phase-shifted versions), and, signals provided to the first and the second port, at a second time the phase-shifted signals would include another two phase-shifted versions (i.e., a second and a sixth phase-shifted versions));
the combination of Yuhu and Alpman also teaches “when the AiM implements the mode-three wireless communication, the first radiator contributes to a first beam of the mode-three wireless communication by simultaneous excitations of the first and the second phase-shifted versions of the mode-three signal respectively at the first port-one terminal and the first port-two terminal, and contributes to a second beam of the mode-three wireless communication by simultaneous excitations of the fifth and the sixth phase-shifted versions of the mode-three signal respectively at the first port-one terminal and the first port-two terminal” (see ¶¶ [1397], [1428], and [1429] of Alpman; antenna structure as shown is simultaneously excited at both ports (i.e., the first port-one terminal and the first port-two terminal) by phase-shifted signals (i.e., the first and the second phase-shifted versions of mode-three signal) at the ports, and a resulting beam is generated/communicated; thus, the beam corresponds to the mode-three wireless communication; since the antenna will be operated over time, at a first time instance, a first beam is generated/communicated, and at a second time instance, a second beam is generated/communicated; thus, antenna contributes to a first beam and a second beam by simultaneous excitations);
the combination of Yuhu and Alpman teaches “beam directions of the first and the second beams of the mode-three wireless communication are substantially nonparallel” (see ¶¶ [1428], and [1429] of Alpman; the beams correspond to the polarization of wireless communication; thus, the directions of the beams also correspond to the polarization, and since the polarizations not parallel, the beam directions of the first and the second beams are also not parallel); and
the combination of Yuhu and Alpman further teaches “a phase difference between the first and the second phase-shifted versions of the mode-three signal, and a phase difference between the fifth and the sixth phase-shifted versions of the mode-three signal, are substantially equal” (see ¶ [1397] of Alpman; since the antenna will be operated over time, at a first time, the phase-shifted signals would include two phase-shifted versions (i.e., a first and a fifth phase-shifted versions), and, at a second time the phase-shifted signals would include another two phase-shifted versions (i.e., a second and a sixth phase-shifted versions) would have the same phase; thus, phase difference between the first and the second phase-shifted versions and phase difference between the fifth and the sixth phase-shifted are equal).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Yuhu to incorporate teachings of Alpman to have different phase shifted versions of signal simultaneously excite two ports of a radiator that contributes to beams with directions that are not parallel and where the phase difference between the phase shifted version being equal. The motivation to do so would have been to improve signal quality and reliability in wireless communication systems (see ¶ [1320] of Alpman).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Yuhu and Alpman teaches the apparatus of claim 1, and further teaches “a first port-one terminal and a second port-one terminal of the plurality of port-one terminals are respectively coupled to a first radiator and a second radiator of the plurality of radiators; a first port-two terminal and a second port-two terminal of the plurality of port-two terminals are respectively coupled to the first radiator and the second radiator” (see p. 1, lines 26 and 27, and p. 10, lines 39 and 40 of Yuhu; each of the antenna radiators is formed with at least one feed port; as shown in FIG. 9, the antenna radiator 110 has a first feeding port 111 (i.e., port-one terminals) and a second feeding port 112 (i.e., port-two terminals); thus, a first radiator is coupled to a first port-one terminal and a first port-two terminal and a second radiator is coupled to a second port-one terminal and a second port-two terminal);
the combination of Yuhu and Alpman teaches “the first plurality of phase-shifted versions of the mode-three signal include a first and a third phase-shifted versions of the mode-three signal; the second plurality of phase-shifted versions of the mode-three signal include a second and a fourth phase-shifted versions of the mode-three signal” (see ¶ [1397] of Alpman; antenna structure as shown is simultaneously excited at both ports by phase-shifted signals (i.e., of mode-three signal) at the ports of an antenna element (i.e., a radiator); since the antenna will be operated over time, signals provided to the first and the second port (i.e., port-one and port-two terminals) of a first antenna element/radiator, at a first time, the phase-shifted signals would include two phase-shifted versions (i.e., a first and a third phase-shifted versions), and, signals provided to the first and the second port of a second antenna element/radiator, at a second time the phase-shifted signals would include another two phase-shifted versions (i.e., a second and a fourth phase-shifted versions));
the combination of Yuhu and Alpman also teaches “when the AiM implements the mode-three wireless communication, the first radiator contributes to a beam of the mode-three wireless communication by simultaneous excitations of the first and the second phase-shifted versions of the mode-three signal respectively at the first port-one terminal and the first port-two terminal, and the second radiator contributes to the beam of the mode-three wireless communication by simultaneous excitations of the third and the fourth phase-shifted versions of the mode-three signal respectively at the second port-one terminal and the second port-two terminal” (see ¶¶ [1397], [1428], and [1429] of Alpman; antenna structure as shown is simultaneously excited at both ports (i.e., the first port-one terminal and the first port-two terminal) by phase-shifted signals (i.e., the first and the second phase-shifted versions of mode-three signal) at the ports of the first antenna element/radiator and the second antenna element/radiator, and a resulting beam is generated/communicated; thus, the beam corresponds to the mode-three wireless communication; since the antenna will be operated over time, at a first time instance, a first beam is generated/communicated by the first antenna element/radiator, and at a second time instance, a second beam is generated/communicated by the second antenna element/radiator; thus, the first antenna radiator contributes to a first beam and the second antenna radiator contributes to a second beam by simultaneous excitations); and
the combination of Yuhu and Alpman further teaches “a phase difference between the first and the second phase-shifted versions of the mode-three signal, and a phase difference between the third and the fourth phase-shifted versions of the mode-three signal, are substantially equal” (see ¶ [1397] of Alpman; since the antenna will be operated over time, at a first time, the phase-shifted signals would include two phase-shifted versions (i.e., a first and a second phase-shifted versions), and, at a second time the phase-shifted signals would include another two phase-shifted versions (i.e., a third and a fourth phase-shifted versions) would have the same phase; thus, phase difference between the first and the second phase-shifted versions and phase difference between the third and the fourth phase-shifted are equal).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Yuhu to incorporate teachings of Alpman to have different phase shifted versions of signal simultaneously excite two ports of different radiators that contribute to beams, where the phase difference between the phase shifted version being equal. The motivation to do so would have been to improve signal quality and reliability in wireless communication systems (see ¶ [1320] of Alpman).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Yuhu and Alpman teaches the apparatus of claim 6, and further teaches “a phase difference between the first and the third phase-shifted versions of the mode-three signal, and a phase difference between the second and the fourth phase-shifted versions of the mode-three signal, are substantially equal” (see ¶ [1397] of Alpman; since the antenna will be operated over time, at a first time, the phase-shifted signals would include two phase-shifted versions (i.e., a first and a second phase-shifted versions), and, at a second time the phase-shifted signals would include another two phase-shifted versions (i.e., a third and a fourth phase-shifted versions) would have the same phase; thus, phase difference between the first and the third phase-shifted versions and phase difference between the second and the fourth phase-shifted are equal). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Yuhu to incorporate teachings of Alpman to have the phase difference between the phase shifted versions being equal. The motivation to do so would have been to improve signal quality and reliability in wireless communication systems (see ¶ [1320] of Alpman).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Yuhu and Alpman teaches the apparatus of claim 1, and further teaches “the AiM further implements a mode-four wireless communication by simultaneous excitations of a first plurality and a second plurality of phase-shifted versions of a mode-four signal respectively at the plurality of port-one terminals and the plurality of port-two terminals” (see ¶¶ [1392] and [1397]; antenna structure as shown is simultaneously excited at both ports by two phase-shifted signals (i.e., a first plurality and a second plurality of phase-shifted versions) at the ports, and the phase-shift can be 180 degrees apart to from another; thus, a fourth mode (i.e., mode-four) of wireless communication is implemented by simultaneous excitation of phase-shifted signal at both ports); and
the combination of Yuhu and Alpman further teaches “a polarization of the mode-four wireless communication is different from the polarizations of the mode-one, the mode-two and the mode-three wireless communications” (see ¶¶ [1388], [1390], and [1397]; polarization diversity (i.e., different polarizations) is realized from excitations at different ports by the signals and the different phases of the signals; since the different signals correspond to the different communication modes, the polarization of the mode-four is different from the polarizations of the mode-one, the mode-two and the mode-three wireless communications). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Yuhu to incorporate teachings of Alpman to have a mode of wireless communication with polarization different from the polarizations of the other modes. The motivation to do so would have been to improve signal quality and reliability in wireless communication systems (see ¶ [1320] of Alpman).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Yuhu and Alpman teaches the apparatus of claim 8, and further teaches “the polarizations of the mode-one, the mode-two, the mode-three and the mode-four wireless communications are along a mode-one, a mode-two, a mode-three and a mode-four vectors, respectively” (see ¶¶ [1389], [1390], and [1397] of Alpman; polarizations from the excitation of ports correspond to the different polarization vectors; therefore, the polarizations of the communications correspond to the polarization vectors; thus, the polarizations of the mode-one, the mode-two, the mode-three, and the mode-four wireless communications are along a mode-one, a mode-two, a mode-three and a mode-four vectors, respectively);
the combination of Yuhu and Alpman teaches “the mode-three vector is parallel to a sum of the mode-one and mode-two vectors” (see ¶ [1392] of Alpman; vector 16015 (e.g., mode-three vector) is parallel to a sum of the other vectors); and
the combination of Yuhu and Alpman teaches “the mode-four vector is parallel to a difference between the mode-one and mode-two vectors” (see ¶¶ [1392] and [3671] of Alpman; vector 16017 (e.g., mode-four vector) is parallel to a difference between the other vectors, and is 180 degrees away). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Yuhu to incorporate teachings of Alpman to have different polarizations correspond to vectors and the some of the vectors be parallel to a sum and/or difference between the vectors. The motivation to do so would have been to improve signal quality and reliability in wireless communication systems (see ¶ [1320] of Alpman).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Yuhu and Alpman teaches the apparatus of claim 8, and further teaches “a first port-one terminal of the plurality of port-one terminals is coupled to a first radiator of the plurality of radiators; a first port-two terminal of the plurality of port-two terminals is coupled to the first radiator” (see p. 1, lines 26 and 27, and p. 10, lines 39 and 40 of Yuhu; each of the antenna radiators is formed with at least one feed port; as shown in FIG. 9, the antenna radiator 110 has a first feeding port 111 (i.e., port-one terminals) and a second feeding port 112 (i.e., port-two terminals);
the combination of Yuhu and Alpman teaches “the first plurality of phase-shifted versions of the mode-three signal include a first phase-shifted version of the mode-three signal; the second plurality of phase-shifted versions of the mode-three signal include a second phase-shifted version of the mode-three signal” (see ¶ [1397] of Alpman; antenna structure as shown is simultaneously excited at both ports by phase-shifted signals (i.e., of mode-three signal) at the ports of an antenna element (i.e., a radiator); the phase-shifted signals would include two phase-shifted versions (i.e., a first and a third phase-shifted versions));
the combination of Yuhu and Alpman teaches “the first plurality of phase-shifted versions of the mode-four signal include a first phase-shifted version of the mode-four signal; the second plurality of phase-shifted versions of the mode-four signal include a second phase-shifted version of the mode-four signal” (see ¶¶ [1392] and [1397] of Alpman; antenna structure as shown is simultaneously excited at both ports by two phase-shifted signals (i.e., a first plurality and a second plurality of phase-shifted versions) at the ports, and the phase-shift can be 180 degrees apart to from another; thus, a fourth mode (i.e., mode-four));
the combination of Yuhu and Alpman teaches “when the AiM implements the mode-three wireless communication, the first radiator contributes to a beam of the mode-three wireless communication by simultaneous excitations of the first and the second phase shifted versions of the mode-three signal respectively at the first port-one terminal and the first port-two terminal” (see ¶¶ [1397], [1428], and [1429] of Alpman; when simultaneously excited at both ports of antenna element/radiator as described above, a resulting beam is generated/communicated; thus, the beam corresponds to the mode-three wireless communication; thus, antenna element/radiator contributes to a beam by simultaneous excitations);
the combination of Yuhu and Alpman teaches “when the AiM implements the mode-four wireless communication, the first radiator contributes to a beam of the mode-four wireless communication by simultaneous excitations of the first and the second phase shifted versions of the mode-four signal respectively at the first port-one terminal and the first port-two terminal” (see ¶¶ [1392], [1397], [1428], and [1429] of Alpman; when simultaneously excited at both ports of antenna element/radiator with 180 degrees phase-shift, as described above, a resulting beam is generated/communicated; thus, the beam corresponds to the mode-four wireless communication; thus, antenna element/radiator contributes to a beam by simultaneous excitations);
the combination of Yuhu and Alpman teaches “a beam direction of the beam of the mode-three wireless communication, and a beam direction of the beam of the mode-four wireless communication, are substantially parallel” (see ¶¶ [1428], and [1429] of Alpman; the beams correspond to the polarization of wireless communication; thus, the directions of the beams also correspond to the polarization; thus, the directions of the beams also correspond to the polarization parallel to their communication direction); and
the combination of Yuhu and Alpman teaches “a phase difference between the first and the second phase-shifted versions of the mode-three signal, and a phase difference between the first and the second phase-shifted versions of the mode-four signal, are substantially different” (see ¶¶ [1397], and [3671] of Alpman; the signals have phase-shift 180 degrees; thus, the phase differences are different).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Yuhu to incorporate teachings of Alpman to have different phase shifted versions of different signals, where they simultaneously excite two ports of a radiator, and which contributes to beams with directions parallel to polarization, and where the phase differences between them being different. The motivation to do so would have been to improve signal quality and reliability in wireless communication systems (see ¶ [1320] of Alpman).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Yuhu and Alpman teaches the apparatus of claim 10, and further teaches “the phase difference between the first and the second phase-shifted versions of the mode-three signal, and the phase difference between the first and the second phase-shifted versions of the mode-four signal, are substantially different by one-hundred and eighty degrees” (see ¶¶ [1397], and [3671] of Alpman; the signals have phase-shift 180 degrees; thus, the phase differences are different). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Yuhu to incorporate teachings of Alpman to have phase differences being different by 180 degrees. The motivation to do so would have been to improve signal quality and reliability in wireless communication systems (see ¶ [1320] of Alpman).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Yuhu and Alpman teaches the apparatus of claim 8, and further teaches “a first port-one terminal and a second port-one terminal of the plurality of port-one terminals are respectively coupled to a first radiator and a second radiator of the plurality of radiators; a first port-two terminal and a second port-two terminal of the plurality of port-two terminals are respectively coupled to the first radiator and the second radiator” (see p. 1, lines 26 and 27, and p. 10, lines 39 and 40 of Yuhu; each of the antenna radiators is formed with at least one feed port; as shown in FIG. 9, the antenna radiator 110 has a first feeding port 111 (i.e., port-one terminals) and a second feeding port 112 (i.e., port-two terminals); thus, a first radiator is coupled to a first port-one terminal and a first port-two terminal and a second radiator is coupled to a second port-one terminal and a second port-two terminal);
the combination of Yuhu and Alpman teaches “the first plurality of phase-shifted versions of the mode-three signal include a first and a third phase-shifted versions of the mode-three signal; the second plurality of phase-shifted versions of the mode-three signal include a second and a fourth phase-shifted versions of the mode-three signal” (see ¶ [1397] of Alpman; antenna structure as shown is simultaneously excited at both ports by phase-shifted signals (i.e., of mode-three signal) at the ports of an antenna element (i.e., a radiator); since the antenna will be operated over time, signals provided to the first and the second port (i.e., port-one and port-two terminals) of a first antenna element/radiator, at a first time, the phase-shifted signals would include two phase-shifted versions (i.e., a first and a third phase-shifted versions), and, signals provided to the first and the second port of a second antenna element/radiator, at a second time the phase-shifted signals would include another two phase-shifted versions (i.e., a second and a fourth phase-shifted versions));
the combination of Yuhu and Alpman teaches “the first plurality of phase-shifted versions of the mode-four signal include a first and a third phase-shifted versions of the mode-four signal; the second plurality of phase-shifted versions of the mode-four signal include a second and a fourth phase-shifted versions of the mode-four signal” (see ¶¶ [1397], and [3671] of Alpman; antenna structure as shown is simultaneously excited at both ports by phase-shifted signals (i.e., of mode-three signal) at the ports of an antenna element (i.e., a radiator); since the antenna will be operated over time, signals provided to the first and the second port (i.e., port-one and port-two terminals) of a first antenna element/radiator, at a first time, the phase-shifted signals would include two phase-shifted versions (i.e., a first and a third phase-shifted versions) of a fourth mode (i.e., mode-four), and, signals provided to the first and the second port of a second antenna element/radiator, at a second time the phase-shifted signals would include another two phase-shifted versions (i.e., a second and a fourth phase-shifted versions) of a fourth mode (i.e., mode-four));
the combination of Yuhu and Alpman teaches “when the AiM implements the mode-three wireless communication, the first radiator contributes to a beam of the mode-three wireless communication by simultaneous excitations of the first and the second phase shifted versions of the mode-three signal respectively at the first port-one terminal and the first port-two terminals, and the second radiator contributes to the beam of the mode-three wireless communication by simultaneous excitations of the third and the fourth phase-shifted versions of the mode-three signal respectively at the second port-one and the second port-two terminals” (see ¶¶ [1397], [1428], and [1429] of Alpman; antenna structure as shown is simultaneously excited at both ports (i.e., the first port-one terminal and the first port-two terminal) by phase-shifted signals (i.e., the first and the second phase-shifted versions of mode-three signal) at the ports of the first antenna element/radiator and the second antenna element/radiator, and a resulting beam is generated/communicated; thus, the beam corresponds to the mode-three wireless communication; since the antenna will be operated over time, at a first time instance, a first beam is generated/communicated by the first antenna element/radiator, and at a second time instance, a second beam is generated/communicated by the second antenna element/radiator; thus, the first antenna radiator contributes to a first beam and the second antenna radiator contributes to a second beam by simultaneous excitations);
the combination of Yuhu and Alpman teaches “when the AiM implements the mode-four wireless communication, the first radiator contributes to a beam of the mode-four wireless communication by simultaneous excitations of the first and the second phase shifted versions of the mode-four signal respectively at the first port-one terminal and the first port-two terminals, and the second radiator contributes to the beam of the mode-four wireless communication by simultaneous excitations of the third and the fourth phase-shifted versions of the mode-four signal respectively at the second port-one and the second port-two terminals” (see ¶¶ [1397], [1428], [1429], and [3671] of Alpman; antenna structure as shown is simultaneously excited at both ports (i.e., the first port-one terminal and the first port-two terminal) by phase-shifted signals with 180 degrees difference from mode-three (i.e., the first and the second phase-shifted versions of mode-three signal) at the ports of the first antenna element/radiator and the second antenna element/radiator, and a resulting beam is generated/communicated; thus, the beam corresponds to the mode-three wireless communication; since the antenna will be operated over time, at one time instance, a first beam is generated/communicated by the first antenna element/radiator, and at a different time instance, a second beam is generated/communicated by the second antenna element/radiator; thus, the first antenna radiator contributes to a first beam and the second antenna radiator contributes to a second beam by simultaneous excitations);
the combination of Yuhu and Alpman teaches “a beam direction of the beam of the mode-three wireless communication, and a beam direction of the beam of the mode-four wireless communication, are substantially parallel” (see ¶¶ [1428], and [1429] of Alpman; the beams correspond to the polarization of wireless communication; thus, the directions of the beams also correspond to the polarization; thus, the directions of the beams also correspond to the polarization parallel to their communication direction); and
the combination of Yuhu and Alpman teaches “a phase difference between the first and the third phase-shifted versions of the mode-three signal, and a phase difference between the first and the third phase-shifted versions of the mode-four signal, are substantially equal” (see ¶¶ [1397] and [3671] of Alpman; since the antenna will be operated over time, at two different times, the phase-shifted signals would include two phase-shifted versions (i.e., a first and a third phase-shifted versions) of a mode-three signal would have the same phase, and, at another two different times, the phase-shifted signals would include another two phase-shifted versions (i.e., a first and a third phase-shifted versions) of a mode-four signal would have the same phase; thus, phase difference between the first and the third phase-shifted versions of mode-three and phase difference between the first and the third phase-shifted of mode-four are equal). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Yuhu to incorporate teachings of Alpman to have different phase shifted versions of different signal simultaneously excite two ports of different radiators that contribute to beams, where the phase difference between the phase shifted versions of different signals being equal. The motivation to do so would have been to improve signal quality and reliability in wireless communication systems (see ¶ [1320] of Alpman)
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Yuhu and Alpman teaches the apparatus of claim 1, and further teaches “the plurality of port-one terminals are arranged to respectively connect a plurality of path-one terminals of a radiofrequency integrated circuit (RFIC), and to respectively connect a plurality of path-three terminals of the RFIC; the plurality of port-two terminals are arranged to respectively connect a plurality of path-two terminals of the RFIC, and to respectively connect a plurality of path-four terminals of the RFIC” (see ¶¶ [0771], [0880], and [1201] – [1203] of Alpman; the RFIC is connected to feed ports (i.e., port-one and port-two terminals) of antenna element/radiator via RF traces and contacts (i.e., path-one terminals and path-three terminals, and path-two and path-four terminals); thus, the plurality of port-one terminals are connected to a plurality of path-one and path-three terminals of the RFIC, and plurality of port-two terminals are connected to a plurality of path-two and path-four terminals of RFIC);
the combination of Yuhu and Alpman teaches “when the AiM implements the mode-one wireless communication, the plurality of port-one terminals are further arranged to enable exchange of the plurality of phase-shifted versions of the mode-one signal between the AiM and the RFIC respectively via the plurality of path-three terminals, and to disable signal exchange between the AiM and the RFIC via the plurality of path-one terminals” (see ¶¶ [0771], [0776], [0880], and [1201] – [1203] of Alpman; via some of the RF traces and the contacts (i.e., path-three terminals), the plurality of phase-shifted versions of the mode-one signal are exchanged between the antenna and the RFIC; as the antenna structure is operated over time, different corresponding signal/communicated or communication mode is used, (e.g., mode-two or mode-three), and different ports of the antenna element/radiator are excited over that time; thus, a signal exchange between one port (i.e., port-one terminal) of antenna and the RFIC via some other RF traces and the contacts (i.e., path-one terminals) are disabled);
the combination of Yuhu and Alpman teaches “when the AiM implements the mode-two wireless communication, the plurality of port-two terminals are further arranged to enable exchange of the plurality of phase-shifted versions of the mode-two signal between the AiM and the RFIC respectively via the plurality of path-four terminals, and to disable signal exchange between the AiM and the RFIC via the plurality of path-two terminals” (see ¶¶ [0771], [0776], [0880], and [1201] – [1203] of Alpman; via some of the RF traces and the contacts (i.e., path-four terminals), the plurality of phase-shifted versions of the mode-two signal are exchanged between the antenna and the RFIC; as the antenna structure is operated over time, different corresponding signal/communicated or communication mode is used, (e.g., mode-two or mode-three), and different ports of the antenna element/radiator are excited over that time; thus, a signal exchange between one port (i.e., port-two terminal) of antenna and the RFIC via some other RF traces and the contacts (i.e., path-two terminals) are disabled); and
the combination of Yuhu and Alpman teaches “when the AiM implements the mode-three wireless communication, the plurality of port-one terminals are further arranged to enable exchange of the first plurality of phase-shifted versions of the mode-three signal between the AiM and the RFIC respectively via the plurality of path-one terminals, and to disable signal exchange between the AiM and the RFIC via the plurality of path-three terminals; and the plurality of port-two terminals are further arranged to enable exchange of the second plurality of phase-shifted versions of the mode-three signal between the AiM and the RFIC respectively via the plurality of path-two terminals, and to disable signal exchange between the AiM and the RFIC via the plurality of path-four terminals” (see ¶¶ [0771], [0776], [0880], and [1201] – [1203] of Alpman; via some of the RF traces and the contacts (i.e., path-one and path-two terminals), the plurality of phase-shifted versions of the mode-one signal are exchanged between the antenna and the RFIC; as the antenna structure is operated over time, different corresponding signal/communicated or communication mode is used, (e.g., mode-one or mode-two), and different ports of the antenna element/radiator are excited; thus, signal exchange between ports (i.e., port-one and port-two terminals) of antenna and the RFIC via some other RF traces and the contacts (i.e., path-three and path-four terminals) are disabled).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Yuhu to incorporate teachings of Alpman to have RFIC connected to ports of antenna element/radiator via different path terminals, and for different signals or communication modes, to exchange signals between the RFIC and the port via one path terminal(s) and disable exchange between the ports and the RFIC via another path terminal. The motivation to do so would have been to improve signal quality and reliability in wireless communication systems (see ¶ [1320] of Alpman).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Yuhu and Alpman teaches the apparatus of claim 1, and further teaches “the plurality of port-one terminals are arranged to respectively connect a plurality of path-three terminals of a radiofrequency integrated circuit (RFIC); the plurality of port-two terminals are arranged to respectively connect a plurality of path-four terminals of the RFIC” (see ¶¶ [0771], [0880], and [1201] – [1203] of Alpman; the RFIC is connected to feed ports (i.e., port-one and port-two terminals) of antenna element/radiator via RF traces and contacts (i.e., path-three terminals and path-four terminals); thus, the plurality of port-one terminals are connected to a plurality of path-three terminals of the RFIC, and plurality of port-two terminals are connected to a plurality of path-four terminals of RFIC);
the combination of Yuhu and Alpman teaches “when the AiM implements the mode-one wireless communication, the plurality of port-one terminals are further arranged to enable exchange of the plurality of phase-shifted versions of the mode-one signal between the AiM and the RFIC via the plurality of path-three terminals” (see ¶¶ [0771], [0776], [0880], and [1201] – [1203] of Alpman; via some of the RF traces and the contacts (i.e., path-three terminals), the plurality of phase-shifted versions of the mode-one signal are exchanged between the antenna and the RFIC);
the combination of Yuhu and Alpman teaches “when the AiM implements the mode-two wireless communication, the plurality of port-two terminals are further arranged to enable exchange of the plurality of phase-shifted versions of the mode-two signal between the AiM and the RFIC via the plurality of path-four terminals” (see ¶¶ [0771], [0776], [0880], and [1201] – [1203] of Alpman; via some of the RF traces and the contacts (i.e., path-four terminals), the plurality of phase-shifted versions of the mode-two signal are exchanged between the antenna and the RFIC); and
the combination of Yuhu and Alpman teaches “when the AiM implements the mode-three wireless communication, the plurality of port-one terminals are further arranged to enable exchange of the first plurality of phase-shifted versions of the mode-three signal between the AiM and the RFIC via the plurality of path-three terminals, and the plurality of port-two terminals are further arranged to enable exchange of the second plurality of phase-shifted versions of the mode-three signal between the AiM and the RFIC via the plurality of path-four terminals” (see ¶¶ [0771], [0776], [0880], and [1201] – [1203] of Alpman; via some of the RF traces and the contacts (i.e., path-three and path-four terminals), the plurality of phase-shifted versions of the mode-three signal are exchanged between the antenna and the RFIC).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Yuhu to incorporate teachings of Alpman to have RFIC connected to ports of antenna element/radiator via different path terminals, and for different signals or communication modes, to exchange signals between the RFIC and the port via one path terminal(s). The motivation to do so would have been to improve signal quality and reliability in wireless communication systems (see ¶ [1320] of Alpman).
Claims 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yuhu in view of Alpman and further in view of Kang et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2023/0100555).
Regarding claim 15, Yuhu teaches “[a] method for improving performances of an antenna-in-module (AiM) in a user equipment (UE), wherein: the AiM comprises a plurality of radiators and a first number of terminals . . . each of the first number of terminals is coupled to one of the plurality radiators” (see p. 1, lines 26 and 27, p. 3, line 2, p. 10, lines 39 and 40, p. 11, lines 48 and 49; electronic device (i.e., user equipment (UE)) includes an antenna module, the antenna module (i.e., antenna-in-module (AiM)), which includes a plurality of antenna radiators arranged in an array; each of the antenna radiators is formed with at least one feed port (i.e., first number of terminals); thus, each of the first number of terminals is coupled to one of the plurality radiators).
Yuhu does not explicitly disclose “and is configured for implementing a second number of communication modes; . . . polarizations of the second number of communication modes are different; the method is executed by the UE according to a beam book; the beam book comprises a third number of beam book entries; each of the third number of beam book entries is associated with one of a fourth number of beams and one of the second number of communication modes, and records one or more phases respectively associated with one or more of the first number of terminals; the method comprises: from the beam book, selecting one of the third number of beam book entries; causing the AiM to implement the communication mode associated with the selected beam book entry by shifting phases according to the one or more phases recorded in the selected beam book entry respectively at the associated one or more of the first number of terminals.” However, the foregoing limitations are known in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
For example, Alpman teaches “configured for implementing a second number of communication modes; . . . polarizations of the second number of communication modes are different” (see ¶¶ [1337], [1387]-[1389], and [1397]; phase of each feed is shifted 120 degrees from the element next to it; therefore, phase of the signal provided at a feed is shifted; the horizontal and vertical ports of an antenna element are excited (i.e., with a first signal and a second signal); thus, different modes (i.e., second number of communication modes) of wireless communication; polarization diversity (i.e., different polarizations) is realized from excitations at different ports by the signals and the different phases of the signals; since the different signals correspond to the different communication modes; polarizations of the communication modes are different);
Alpman further teaches codebook associated with “a fourth number of beams and one of the second number of communication modes, and . . . one or more phases respectively associated with one or more of the first number of terminals” (see ¶¶ [1397], [1428], [1429], and [1758] of Alpman; from excitation of ports, a resulting beam is generated/communicated; thus, the beam corresponds to the second number of communication modes; the phases of the ports (i.e., first number of terminals) of the antenna/element correspond to the phases of the signals, thus, one or more phases respectively associated with one or more of the first number of terminals);
Alpman also teaches “the method comprises: causing the AiM to implement the communication mode . . . by shifting phases . . . at the . . . one or more of the first number of terminals” (see ¶¶ [1337], [1387], and [1389]; by excitation of different phase-shifted signals at set of ports (i.e., one or more of the first number of terminals), different communication modes are implemented). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Yuhu to incorporate teachings of Alpman to implement different communication modes with different polarizations, and with different beams corresponding to the different communication modes, where the phases are shifted at different ports of an antenna element/radiator. The motivation to do so would have been to improve signal quality and reliability in wireless communication systems (see ¶ [1320] of Alpman).
While the combination of Yuhu and Alpman discloses using codebooks for selecting of beams and implementing the communication modes with corresponding phase shifts based on the used/selected codebooks, the combination does not explicitly disclose “a beam book,” “a third number of beam book entries,” “each of the third number of beam book entries is associated,” and “selecting one of the third number of beam book entries.” However, the foregoing limitations are known in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
For example, Kang teaches “a beam book . . . a third number of beam book entries . . . each of the third number of beam book entries is associated with one of fourth number of beams. . . and records one or more phases respectively . . . selecting one of the third number of beam book entries; causing the AiM to implement the communication mode associated with the selected beam book entry” (see ¶¶ [0079], [0144] and [0145]; beam book includes information related to the phase value corresponding to each antenna element and corresponding beam; thus, beam book comprises a number of beam book entries, and each of the beam book entries is associated with a beam and the related phase value (i.e., the association/relationship records the phase value); by referring to the beam book entry (i.e., selecting one of the beam book entries), the phase shift value is controlled, and the corresponding beam is generated/communicated based on the recorded phase value associated with number of elements; each beam generated/communicated with different phase shifted values, corresponds to different communication modes; thus, selection of the beam book entry causes communication mode associated with the beam book entry to be implemented). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Yuhu in view of Alpman to incorporate teachings of Kang to have a beam book with entries associated with different beams and phases and implementing a communication mode associated with a selected beam book entry. The motivation to do so would have been to improve communication performance (¶ [0093] of Kang).
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Yuhu, Alpman, and Kang teaches “when selecting one of the third number of beam book entries, selecting from a subset of the third number of beam book entries; and each of the subset of the third number of beam book entries is not associated with a skippable communication mode of the second number of communication modes” (see ¶¶ [0144] and [0145] of Kang, and ¶ [1412] of Alpman; a beam book of Kang is referred to, and phase shift value for an antenna element of the multiple antenna elements is controlled based on it; thus, a subset of the third number of beam book entries is selected; anti-phase signal of Alpman (i.e., skippable communication mode); since it is cancelled, and a beam book would not include entries associated with such signals; thus, the subset of the third number of beam book entries is not associated with a skippable communication mode). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Yuhu in view of Alpman to incorporate teachings of Kang to have a beam book with entries not associated a skippable communication mode. The motivation to do so would have been to improve communication performance (¶ [0093] of Kang).
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Yuhu, Alpman, and Kang teaches the method of claim 16, and further teaches “the plurality of radiators distribute along an array direction; and the polarization of the skippable communication mode is substantially perpendicular to the array direction” (see p. 1, line 26, and p. 3, line 2 of Yuhu, and ¶¶ [1497], [1498], [4072], [4073] of Alpman; the antenna module (i.e., antenna-in-module (AiM)) of Yuhu includes a plurality of antenna radiators arranged in an array; thus, the radiators are distributed along an array direction; antenna is vertical and the ground plane is horizontal, and the polarization of one of the anti-signals (the skippable communication mode) is perpendicular to the ground plane (i.e., perpendicular to the array direction)). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Yuhu in view of Alpman to incorporate teachings of Kang to have antenna radiators distributed in an array and the polarization of a skippable mode of communication be perpendicular to the array. The motivation to do so would have been to improve communication performance (¶ [0093] of Kang).
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Yuhu, Alpman, and Kang teaches the method of claim 16, and further teaches “the plurality of radiators distribute along an array direction; and the polarization of the skippable communication mode is substantially parallel to the array direction” (see p. 1, line 26, and p. 3, line 2 of Yuhu, and ¶¶ [1497], [1498], [4072], [4073] of Alpman; the antenna module (i.e., antenna-in-module (AiM)) of Yuhu includes a plurality of antenna radiators arranged in an array; thus, the radiators are distributed along an array direction; antenna is vertical and the ground plane is horizontal; the polarization of one of the anti-signals (the skippable communication mode) can be parallel to the ground plane). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Yuhu in view of Alpman to incorporate teachings of Kang to have antenna radiators distributed in an array and the polarization of a skippable mode of communication be parallel to the array. The motivation to do so would have been to improve communication performance (¶ [0093] of Kang).
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Yuhu, Alpman, and Kang teaches the method of claim 16, and further teaches “the plurality of radiators are placed on a front surface of the AiM, and distribute alone an array direction; the front surface of the AiM is perpendicular to a forward direction” (see p. 1, line 26, p. 3, line 2, p. 10, line 30 of Yuhu; the antenna module of Yuhu includes a plurality of antenna radiators arranged in an array; thus, the radiators are distributed along an array direction; each of the radiator is located on a surface of substrate of the antenna module (i.e., AiM); thus, the radiators are placed on a front surface of the AiM, and the front surface is perpendicular to a direction out of the page as shown (i.e., forward direction));
the combination further teaches “the UE further comprises an internal ground plane which is substantially perpendicular to a vertical direction; the AiM is placed with the forward direction substantially parallel to the vertical direction; and the polarization of the skippable communication mode is substantially perpendicular to the array direction” (see ¶¶ [1497], [1498], [4072], [4073] of Alpman; antenna is vertical and the ground plane is horizontal, the two are perpendicular to each other; thus, UE comprises an internal ground plane which is substantially perpendicular to a vertical direction; the antenna is vertical, thus parallel to the vertical direction; and the polarization of one of the anti-signals (the skippable communication mode) is perpendicular to the ground plane (i.e., perpendicular to the array direction)). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Yuhu in view of Alpman to incorporate teachings of Kang to have radiators placed on a surface of a portion of an antenna and distributed along an array, where the surface is perpendicular to a direction of the antenna, and the antenna is parallel to a vertical direction, where polarization of a skippable communication mode is perpendicular to the array direction. The motivation to do so would have been to improve communication performance (¶ [0093] of Kang).
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Yuhu, Alpman, and Kang teaches the method of claim 16, and further teaches “the plurality of radiators are placed on a front surface of the AiM, and distribute alone an array direction; the front surface of the AiM is perpendicular to a forward direction” (see p. 1, line 26, p. 3, line 2, p. 10, line 30 of Yuhu; the antenna module of Yuhu includes a plurality of antenna radiators arranged in an array; thus, the radiators are distributed along an array direction; each of the radiator is located on a surface of substrate of the antenna module (i.e., AiM); thus, the radiators are placed on a front surface of the AiM, and the front surface is perpendicular to a direction out of the page as shown (i.e., forward direction));
the combination further teaches “the UE further comprises an internal ground plane which is substantially perpendicular to a vertical direction; the AiM is placed with the forward direction and the array direction substantially perpendicular to the vertical direction; and the polarization of the skippable communication mode is substantially perpendicular to the vertical direction” (see ¶¶ [1497], [1498], [4072], [4073] of Alpman; antenna is vertical and the ground plane is horizontal, the two are perpendicular to each other; thus, UE comprises an internal ground plane which is substantially perpendicular to a vertical direction; the antenna is vertical, and the array direction is on a horizontal plane, thus perpendicular to the vertical direction; and the polarization of one of the anti-signals (the skippable communication mode) is perpendicular to the vertical plane (i.e., perpendicular to the vertical direction)). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Yuhu in view of Alpman to incorporate teachings of Kang to have radiators placed on a surface of a portion of an antenna and distributed along an array, where the surface is perpendicular to a direction of the antenna, and the antenna is parallel to a vertical direction, where polarization of a skippable communication mode is perpendicular to the vertical direction. The motivation to do so would have been to improve communication performance (¶ [0093] of Kang).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SRIHARSHA REDDY VANGAPATY/Examiner, Art Unit 2475
/KHALED M KASSIM/supervisory patent examiner, Art Unit 2475