DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to applicant’s amendment filed on 26 February 2026. Claims 1-20 are now pending in the present application. This office action is made Non-Final.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Qiao et al. (hereinafter Qiao) (WO 2021/007447 A1).
Regarding claims 1, 12, and 19, Qiao discloses a network node for a communication system, the network node a part of being associated with a serving public land mobile network (PLMN) for a first client device (e.g., wireless device / UE) { (see pg. 33, [00139]; pp. 56-57, [00191] ; Figs. 12-13 & 21), where the system has multiple components (network node) }, wherein the network node is configured to:
transmit a first control message (e.g., parameters of access control and/or a disaster PLMN selection information) to the first client device (e.g., wireless device) in response to determining that the serving PLMN for the first client device (e.g., wireless device) is in a disaster condition, wherein the first control message (e.g., parameters of access control and/or a disaster PLMN selection information) indicates that the serving PLMN (e.g., PLMN 2) for the first client device (e.g., wireless device) is in the disaster condition { (see pg. 32, [0135]; Figs. 12-13 & 21), where the system provides service for a UE when a network is in disaster condition (see pg. 51, [0178]), and the system has a base station (e.g., first PLMN) that broadcast parameters of access control, a disaster PLMN identifier, and disaster PLMN selection information (see pp. 34-35, [0142, lines 13-22,2-5]), and the system provides a disaster PLMN that is able to detect or receive status information (e.g., network node/function due to a disaster) (see pg. 35, [00143]; pp. 35-36, [00145]), and the system provides an enhancement for the wireless device to be informed of second PLMN status (see pg. 34, [00141]) }.
Regarding claims 2 and 15, Qiao discloses the network node according to claim 1, wherein the network node is an access and mobility management function (AMF) of a core network, and the first control message is a registration reject message, a de-registration request message, a configuration update command message, or a service reject message { (see pg. 32, [0135-0136]; pg. 30, [00129-00130]; Figs. 12-13 & 21) }.
Regarding claims 3 and 16, Qiao discloses the network node according to claim 1, wherein the network node is a network access node of a radio access network (RAN) and the first control message is a paging message { (see pg. 51, [0178]; pg. 32, [0135-0136]; pg. 30, [00129-00130]; Figs. 12-13 & 21).
Regarding claims 4 and 17, Qiao discloses the network node according to claim 1, wherein the network node is a network access node of a radio access network (RAN), and the first control message is a radio resource control (RRC) connection reject message, a RRC connection release message, or a RRC serving PLMN disaster condition message { (see pg. 32, [0135-0136]; pg. 30, [00129-00130]; Figs. 12-13 & 21) }.
Regarding claims 5 and 18, Qiao discloses the network node according to claim 1, wherein the network node is a network access node of a radio access network (RAN), and the first control message is a system information block (SIB) { (see pg. 60, [0201]; pp. 56-57, [0191]; pg. 51, [0178]; pg. 32, [0135-0136]; pg. 30, [00129-00130]; Figs. 12-13 & 21) }.
Regarding claims 6, Qiao discloses the network node according to claim 1, further configured to: redirect the first client device from the serving PLMN to a visiting PLMN for the first client device in response to determining that the serving PLMN for the first client device is in the disaster condition { (see pg. 32, [0135-0136]; pg. 30, [00129-00130]; Figs. 12-13 & 21) }.
Regarding claim 7, Qiao discloses the network node according to claim 6, wherein the visiting PLMN belongs to a 3rd generation partnership project (3GPP) or a non-3GPP system { (see pg. 32, [0135-0136]; pg. 30, [00129-00130]; Figs. 12-13 & 21) }.
Regarding claims 8 and 14, Qiao discloses the network node according to claim 6, wherein the first control message further indicates at least one timer defining at least one of a start register time instance at the visiting PLMN for the first client device or a re-registration time instance at the serving PLMN for the first client device { (see pg. 32, [0135-0136]; pg. 30, [00129-00130]; Figs. 12-13 & 21) }.
Regarding claims 9, Qiao discloses the network node according to claim 1, further configured to: transmit a second control message to a second client device in response to determining that a serving PLMN for the second client device is in the disaster condition, wherein the serving PLMN (e.g., PLMN) for the second client device (e.g., wireless device or UEs) is different from the serving PLMN (e.g., home PLMN 2) for the first client device (e.g., wireless device), and the second control message indicates that the serving PLMN for the second client device is in the disaster condition { (see pg. 32, [0135-0136]; pg. 30, [00129-00130]; Figs. 12-13 & 21), and the system provides multiple different PLMNs (e.g., different home PLMNs) communicating with different wireless devices (or UEs) that have a PLMN as the home PLMN for the respective wireless devices (or UEs) (see pg. 15, [0055]; pp. 32-33, [00136; 00137, lines 18-19; 00139, lines 1-5 & 11]; pg. 35, [00144]; pp. 56-57, [00191]) }.
Regarding claims 10, Qiao discloses the network node according to claim 9, wherein the network node is a network access node of a radio access network (RAN), and the second control message is a system information block (SIB) { (see pg. 60, [0201]; pp. 56-57, [0191]; pg. 51, [0178]; pg. 32, [0135-0136]; pg. 30, [00129-00130]; Figs. 12-13 & 21) }.
Regarding claims 11, Qiao discloses the network node according to claim 1, further configured to: transmit a third control message to a second client device in response to determining that the disaster condition for a serving PLMN for the second client device is over, wherein the serving PLMN (e.g., PLMN) for the second client device (e.g., wireless device or UEs) is different from the serving PLMN (e.g., home PLMN 2) for the first client device (e.g., wireless device), and the third control message indicates that the disaster condition for the serving PLMN for the second client device is over { (see pg. 32, [0135-0136]; pg. 30, [00129-00130]; Figs. 12-13 & 21), and the system provides multiple different PLMNs (e.g., different home PLMNs) communicating with different wireless devices (or UEs) that have a PLMN as the home PLMN for the respective wireless devices (or UEs) (see pg. 15, [0055]; pp. 32-33, [00136; 00137, lines 18-19; 00139, lines 1-5 & 11]; pg. 35, [00144]; pp. 56-57, [00191]) }.
Regarding claims 13 and 20, Qiao discloses the client device according to claim 12, further configured to: obtain a PLMN list comprising at least one of the visiting PLMN for the client device or one or more other visiting PLMNs for the client device; and register at one or more of the visiting PLMNs in the PLMN list in response to receiving the first control message or the second control message. { (see pg. 51, [0178]; pg. 32, [0135-0136]; pg. 30, [00129-00130]; pg. 60, [0201]; pp. 56-57, [0191]; Figs. 12-13 & 21) }.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to claims 1-20 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection necessitated by the amended language, new limitations, and/or new claims.
In response to applicant’s arguments, the Examiner respectfully disagrees as the applied reference(s) provide more than adequate support and to further clarify (see the above claims for relevant citations).
Repeat from office action mailed 30 October 2025 - Regarding applicant’s argument of claim 1 on pg. 6, 6th par., “…fails to discloses…transmit a first control message to the first client… wherein the first control message indicates that the serving PLMN for the first client device is in the disaster condition…”, the Examiner respectfully disagrees. Applicant has failed to interpret and appreciate the teachings of well-known prior art Qiao that clearly discloses the claimed feature(s) as would be clearly recognized by one of ordinary skill in the art.
As a note, applicant admits the following:
Admission #1: Applicant admits “…Qiao discuss a situation…when the home network is disabled due to disaster…possible option for the UE to be…served by the neighboring networks…operators’ policy…” (see pg. 7, 1st full par.).
Admission #2: Applicant admits “…Qiao explains…UE 2 may register to the home PLMN (e.g., PLMN 2)…due to disaster and other problems…UE 2 may try to register to the PLMN 1…” (see pg. 7, 2nd full par.).
In particular, Qiao discloses the language as related to the claimed feature(s)
transmit a first control message (e.g., parameters of access control and/or a disaster PLMN selection information) to the first client device (e.g., wireless device) in response to determining that the serving PLMN for the first client device (e.g., wireless device) is in a disaster condition, wherein the first control message (e.g., parameters of access control and/or a disaster PLMN selection information) indicates that the serving PLMN (e.g., for the first client device (e.g., wireless device) is in the disaster condition { (see pg. 32, [0135]; Figs. 12-13 & 21), where the system provides service for a UE when a network is in disaster condition (see pg. 51, [0178]), and the system has a base station (e.g., first PLMN) that broadcast parameters of access control, a disaster PLMN identifier, and disaster PLMN selection information (see pp. 34-35, [0142, lines 13-22,2-5]) }.
Therefore, as addressed above, the applied reference more than adequately meets the claim limitations.
Regarding applicant's argument(s) of claims 2-20, the claims are addressed for the same reasons as set forth above and as applied in each claim rejection of the Final Action.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Preman et al. (US 2023/0337167 A1) discloses client device and network for efficient disaster handling.
/WILLIE J DANIEL JR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2465
WJD,Jr
04 March 2026