DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 5-6, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Xu (US 2022/0269223).
Regarding claims 1 and 13, Xu teaches a system and method comprising: a non-transitory memory including instructions stored thereon ([0038]-[0039]); and a processor ([0038]) operably coupled to the non-transitory memory being configured to execute the instructions including: collecting, via a first node (abstract: “master station”), a characteristic ([0015]: “calculating a clock error evaluation”) of a first clock (master clock) disposed therein; collecting, via a second node (abstract: “slave station”), a characteristic ([0020]: “returning a feedback”) of a second clock (slave station) disposed therein; receiving, via the first node, an instance of time of the first clock ([0024]); receiving, via the second node, an instance of time of the second clock ([0022]: “the system of the slave station”); causing to determine, via a model based on the collected characteristic and the received instance of time from each of the first and second nodes, a time offset and/or frequency offset between the first and second clocks ([0025]: “calculating the time difference according to the system time of the master station…and the system time of the slave station”); and transmitting, to the second node, an indication of the determined time offset and/or frequency offset output from the model ([0011]: “transmitting the time information to the slave station”), wherein the first or second clock includes a crystal oscillator ([0015]).
Regarding claims 2 and 14, Xu teaches the method of claim 1 and system of claim 13, further comprising: the processor being configured to execute instructions of transmitting, to the second node, an indication of the determined time offset and/or frequency offset output from the model ([0011]: “transmitting the time information to the slave station”); and receiving, from the second node, feedback that an output of the second node has been updated in view of the transmission. After the second clock is corrected ([0035]) and its output of the time is updated, the method inherently receives feedback because the second clock’s time will have changed.
Regarding claims 5 and 17, Xu teaches the method of claim 1 of system of claim 13, further comprising the processor executing instructions of: evaluating whether the time offset falls outside of acceptable synchronization bounds ([0026]); and causing to reset the first and second clocks to substantially match one another based upon the evaluation. Paragraphs [0027]-[0028] and [0074] teach that the first and second clocks will not be corrected and set to match one another until the clocks are in an acceptable synchronization bound (the steady state).
Regarding claim 6, Xu teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the first clock or the second clock includes any one or more of a crystal oscillator, a chip scale atomic clock, or an atomic clock including rubidium gas cells, cesium beams or hydrogen masers ([0015]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over unpatentable over Xu in view of Johnson (US 6,324,586).
Regarding claims 3 and 15, Xu discloses the method of claim 2 and system of claim 13.
Xu does not show the feedback indicating synchronization of less than or equal to 1 microsecond between the first and second clocks.
Johnson teaches synchronization between clocks being to the level of a nanosecond, which is less than 1 microsecond (column 4, line 67 to column 5, lines 1-3).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have synchronized Xu’s master and slave clocks to the level of a nanosecond, as suggested by Johnson. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to create a highly precise network of clocks.
Claims 4 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu.
Regarding claims 4 and 16, Xu discloses the method of claim 2 and system of claim 14, wherein the update includes a correction to a time of the second clock ([0035]).
Xu does not explicitly show the update correcting a published timestamp of the second clock.
Clocks comprise displays for publishing timestamps.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have displayed the corrected time of Xu’s second clock, so that the update publishes corrected timestamps. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to create a clock that displays accurate information.
Claims 7-8, 11, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu in view of Maki (US 2016/0149610).
Regarding claims 7-8 and 18-19, Xu discloses the method of claim 1 and system of claim 13, but does not show the characteristic including an environmental condition that is temperature.
Maki teaches a method comprising collecting a characteristic that is a temperature ([0088]).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have substituted the characteristic of Xu for the characteristic of Maki. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this substitution to achieve the predictable result of compensating for frequency changes due to temperature fluctuations ([0088] of Maki).
Regarding claims 11 and 20, Xu discloses the method of claim 1 and system of claim 13.
Xu does not show the determination including a frequency offset wherein the frequency offset includes an environmental influence.
Maki teaches a determination including a frequency offset that is an environmental influence ([0088]).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined Maki’s frequency offset with Xu’s determination. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this combination to increase the clocks’ accuracy by compensating for frequency offsets.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu in view of Greer (US 5,697,082).
Regarding claim 9, Xu discloses the method of claim 1.
Xu does not show the model including a Kalman filter.
Greer teaches a Kalman filter for calibrating a clock (abstract and column 2, lines 47-49).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined Greer’s Kalman filter with Xu’s model. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this combination because a Kalman filter would improve estimates of frequency errors and compensate for age-related frequency deviation (Greer, column 2, lines 49-58).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu in view of Wikipedia (MachineLearning.pdf).
Regarding claim 10, Xu discloses the method of claim 1, but does not show the model being a machine learning model.
Wikipedia teaches a machine learning model (MachineLearning.pdf).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have substituted Xu’s model for Wikipedia’s model. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this substitution as a known model for predictably determining time and/or frequency offsets.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nicholls (US 6,711,230).
Regarding claim 12, Xu discloses the method of claim 1.
Xu does not show noise detected via the model being based upon environmental relative frequency covariance.
Nicholls teaches noise detected via a model being based upon environmental relative frequency covariance (column 10, lines 43-47).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 2025-11-19 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that “Xu does not disclose collecting characteristics” because “calculating a clock error evaluation period is separate and distinct from collecting a characteristic of a first clock via a first node and collecting a characteristic of a second clock via a second node.” The claims and specification do not provide a special technical definition of “characteristic,” so the broadest, reasonable interpretation (BRI) applies. Under BRI, a clock’s clock error and feedback are characteristics.
Applicant argues that Xu does not disclose “causing to determine a time offset and/or frequency offset via a model” because Xu’s calculated transmission path delay, round-trip timing, master station system time, subservient station time, and Allan variance calculation are “not part of a model for purposes of determining time/frequency offsets based upon collected clock characteristics.” Transmission path delay, round-trip timing, master station system time, subservient station time, and Allan variance are all clock characteristics under BRI. Moreover, a path delay and variance are time offsets under BRI, and Xu uses these characteristics in a calculation—that calculation may be considered a model.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/MATTHEW DANIEL HWANG/Examiner, Art Unit 2833
/renee s luebke/Supervisory Patent Examiner
Art Unit 2833