DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the amendment filed on 11/19/2025.
Claims 1, 3, 7, 10-14 and 20 are amended.
Claims 1-20 have been examined and rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8, 10-18, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li (US 20230155663 A1) in view of Shi (US 20200275402 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Li discloses a communication method comprising:
receiving a sensing request, the sensing request including an indication of a beam direction for a sensing signal, the beam direction for the sensing signal being indicated (see para 65, FIG. 4A and 4B, the transmitter may transmit a first sensing signal… the first sensing signal may be a signal to be used for object detection (rather than a signal to be used for communication). The first sensing signal may be transmitted such that the first sensing signal is rotated across multiple beams over a period of time (e.g., via a CSI reference signal, a synchronization signal block, another reference signal, and/or the like). Each of the multiple beams associated with the first sensing signal may have a different spatial direction. As shown in FIG. 4A by reference 402r, the first sensing signal (e.g., some portion of the first sensing signal) is reflected by the object such that the receiver receives the first sensing signal (e.g., at least a portion of the first sensing signal)/i.e. representing the sensing signal including with beam direction detected in FIG. 4A); and
receiving the sensing signal transmitted using the beam direction (see para 66, at 404, the receiver may determine a preferred sensing direction for a second sensing signal based at least in part on the first sensing signal).
Li teaches beam direction using sensing a detected object, and sending this information to the receiving UE.
Li does not teach using a positional system for coordinate information of the sensed object, i.e., the limitation: beam direction for the sensing using coordinate information, the coordinate information expressed relative to a predefined coordinate system.
In the same field of endeavor, Shi teaches this limitation: see FIG. 10, para 96, a sensing system and a wireless system may cooperate with each other... The sensing system includes a plurality of sensors. The sensing system includes a positional system for determining coordinate information (e.g., 3D position and 3D velocity) from sensed data; also see para 110, providing coordinate information used for beam management.
It would have been obvious, to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the system of Li, so as to use a positional system for coordinate information used for beam management of the sensed object as taught by Shi, to improve beam management for mobile devices (see Shi, para 6 and para 110) and provide detailed coordinate information of the object.
Regarding Claims 2, 11, 15, Li discloses: transmitting a beam report, wherein the beam report includes an indication of a beam (see para 67, at step 406, the receiver may transmit, and the transmitter may receive, a directional sensing signal request. In some aspects, the directional sensing signal request includes information indicating the preferred sensing direction for the second sensing signal).
Li teaches sending a beam request to the transmitter with the preferred sensing direction.
Li does not specify “beam report includes an indication of a beam”.
In the same field of endeavor, Shi teaches this limitation: see para 125, FIG. 5. the electronic device ED measure and report to the BS one or more of the DL beam directions over which the ED can receive with the highest signal power. Particularly for mmWave beamforming, the quality of beam pairs between the BS and the ED may be more dependent on their relative positions rather than the in-between physical radio channel. These characteristics may be used by the association system of FIG. 10 in associating a position with a wireless device.
It would have been obvious, to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the system of Li, so as to use a positional system for coordinate information of the sensed object as taught by Shi, to improve beam management for mobile devices (see Shi, para 6).
Regarding Claims 3, 12, 16, Li discloses: the indication of the beam direction comprises an explicit indication of the beam direction or an indication of a beam index (see para 68, the information indicating the preferred sensing direction for the second sensing signal may include a beam index, where the beam index corresponds to a particular one of the multiple beams of the first sensing signal).
Regarding Claims 4, 13, 17, Li discloses: receiving sweeping sensing signals; and wherein the indication of the beam is based on measuring the sweeping sensing signals (see FIG. 4A-4B. para 65, the first sensing signal may be transmitted such that the first sensing signal is rotated across multiple beams i.e., representing sweeping sensing signals, over a period of time (e.g., via a CSI reference signal, a synchronization signal block, another reference signal, and/or the like)).
Regarding Claims 5, 18, Li discloses: receiving sweeping synchronization signal blocks; and wherein the indication of the beam is based on measuring the sweeping synchronization signal blocks (see paras 65-66, the first sensing signal may be transmitted such that the first sensing signal is rotated across multiple beams i.e., representing sweeping sensing signals, over a period of time (e.g., via a synchronization signal block)… each of the multiple beams associated with the first sensing signal may have a different spatial direction. At 402r, the first sensing signal (e.g., some portion of the first sensing signal) is reflected by the object such that the receiver receives the first sensing signal (e.g., at least a portion of the first sensing signal … the receiver may determine/i.e., by measuring the sync signals, a preferred sensing direction for a second sensing signal based at least in part on the first sensing signal).
Regarding Claim 6, Li discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising processing the sensing signal (see para 66, the receiver may determine a preferred sensing direction/i.e., by processing the first sensing signal, for a second sensing signal based at least in part on the first sensing signal).
Regarding Claim 7, Li discloses the method of claim 6, but does not disclose detials regarding: a result of the processing comprises a position for a target or an orientation for the target.
In the same field of endeavor, Shi teaches this limitation: para 110, Shi teaches the precision of the coordinate information may be adapted to different kinds of applications. For example, the beam-covered area is proportional to the beam angle. A beam having a larger beam angle covers a larger area than a beam having a smaller beam angle. Therefore, when providing coordinate information used for beam management, the precision of the coordinate information may be less in management of a beam having a larger beam angle, than in management of a beam having a smaller beam angle. For example, when the coordinate information is used for beam management operations for a mmWave beam, the coordinate information may require a precision on the order of ˜mm in order to be useful; whereas when the coordinate information is used for beam management operations for a sub-6 GHz beam, the coordinate information may only need a precision on the order of ˜10-100 cm in order to be useful. The positional system is be capable of calculating coordinate information to the necessary degree of precision, depending on the application. In some examples, the precision of the coordinate information may at least partly depend on the precision and/or sensitivity of the sensors.
It would have been obvious, to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the system of Li, so as to use a positional system for coordinate information of the sensed object as taught by Shi, to improve beam management for mobile devices (see Shi, para 6) and provide detailed coordinate information of the object.
Regarding Claim 8, Li discloses the method of claim 6, but does not disclose detials regarding: the processing comprises employing artificial intelligence.
Shi teaches this limitation: see FIGS. 14A and 14B are schematic diagrams of example machine learning systems for predicting possible ED positions and for predicting suitable beam pairs, respectively; see para 132, The machine learning may be implemented at a machine learning system 630a of the association system 600 (FIG. 10). The machine learning may be implemented at the BS. Inputs to the neural network are environmental information and measured beam state feedback, and output is the possible ED position. Real-world samples may be accumulated or obtained from a database, as training set to train the neural network. Once trained, the neural network may output possible ED position given environmental information and information about beam pairs.
It would have been obvious, to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the system of Li, so as to use machine learning in the positional system as taught by Shi, to estimate possible ED positions using environmental information and information about beam pairs (e.g., measured beam state) (see Shi, para 132).
Regarding Claim 10, Li discloses a device comprising: a memory storing instructions; and a processor (see FIG. 2, UE 120, para 36) configured, by executing the instructions, to:
receiving a sensing request, the sensing request including an indication of a beam direction for a sensing signal, the beam direction for the sensing signal being indicated (see para 65, FIG. 4A and 4B, the transmitter may transmit a first sensing signal… the first sensing signal may be a signal to be used for object detection (rather than a signal to be used for communication). The first sensing signal may be transmitted such that the first sensing signal is rotated across multiple beams over a period of time (e.g., via a CSI reference signal, a synchronization signal block, another reference signal, and/or the like). Each of the multiple beams associated with the first sensing signal may have a different spatial direction. As shown in FIG. 4A by reference 402r, the first sensing signal (e.g., some portion of the first sensing signal) is reflected by the object such that the receiver receives the first sensing signal (e.g., at least a portion of the first sensing signal)/i.e. representing the sensing signal including with beam direction detected in FIG. 4A); and
receiving the sensing signal transmitted using the beam direction (see para 66, at 404, the receiver may determine a preferred sensing direction for a second sensing signal based at least in part on the first sensing signal).
Li teaches beam direction using sensing a detected object, and sending this information to the receiving UE.
Li does not teach using a positional system for coordinate information of the sensed object, i.e., the limitation: beam direction for the sensing using coordinate information, the coordinate information expressed relative to a predefined coordinate system.
In the same field of endeavor, Shi teaches this limitation: see FIG. 10, para 96, a sensing system and a wireless system may cooperate with each other... The sensing system includes a plurality of sensors. The sensing system includes a positional system for determining coordinate information (e.g., 3D position and 3D velocity) from sensed data; also see para 110, providing coordinate information used for beam management.
It would have been obvious, to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the system of Li, so as to use a positional system for coordinate information used for beam management of the sensed object as taught by Shi, to improve beam management for mobile devices (see Shi, para 6 and para 110) and provide detailed coordinate information of the object.
Regarding Claim 14, Li discloses a method (see FIG. 4A) comprising:
receiving a sensing request, the sensing request including an indication of a downlink beam direction for a downlink sensing signal, the beam direction for the sensing signal being indicated (see para 65, FIG. 4A, the transmitter (base station) may transmit a first sensing signal… the first sensing signal/i.e., 1st sending signal 402 in the downlink direction, may be a signal to be used for object detection (rather than a signal to be used for communication). The first sensing signal may be transmitted such that the first sensing signal is rotated across multiple beams over a period of time (e.g., via a CSI reference signal, a synchronization signal block, another reference signal, and/or the like). Each of the multiple beams associated with the first sensing signal may have a different spatial direction. As shown in FIG. 4A by reference 402r, the first sensing signal (e.g., some portion of the first sensing signal) is reflected by the object such that the receiver receives the first sensing signal (e.g., at least a portion of the first sensing signal)/i.e. representing the sensing signal including with beam direction detected in FIG. 4A); and
transmitting an uplink sensing signal transmitted using an uplink beam direction, the uplink beam direction derived from the downlink beam direction (see para 67, FIG. 4A, the receiver may transmit, and the transmitter may receive, a directional sensing signal request 406/i.e., transmitting directional sensing signal request indicating preferred sensing signal direction in the uplink to the base station… the directional sensing signal request includes information indicating the preferred sensing direction for the second sensing signal).
Li teaches determination of the beam direction using sensing a detected object, and sending this information to the receiving UE.
Li does not teach using a positional system for coordinate information of the sensed object, i.e., the limitation: beam direction for the sensing using coordinate information, the coordinate information expressed relative to a predefined coordinate system.
In the same field of endeavor, Shi teaches this limitation: see FIG. 10, para 96, a sensing system and a wireless system may cooperate with each other... The sensing system includes a plurality of sensors. The sensing system includes a positional system for determining coordinate information (e.g., 3D position and 3D velocity) from sensed data; also see para 110, providing coordinate information used for beam management.
It would have been obvious, to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the system of Li, so as to use a positional system for coordinate information used for beam management of the sensed object as taught by Shi, to improve beam management for mobile devices (see Shi, para 6 and para 110) and provide detailed coordinate information of the object.
Regarding Claim 20, Li discloses a device comprising: a memory storing instructions; and a processor (see FIG. 2, UE 120, para 36) configured, by executing the instructions, to:
receive a sensing request, the sensing request including an indication of a downlink beam direction for a downlink sensing signal, the beam direction for the sensing signal being indicated (see para 65, FIG. 4A, the transmitter (base station) may transmit a first sensing signal… the first sensing signal/i.e., 1st sending signal 402 in the downlink direction, may be a signal to be used for object detection (rather than a signal to be used for communication). The first sensing signal may be transmitted such that the first sensing signal is rotated across multiple beams over a period of time (e.g., via a CSI reference signal, a synchronization signal block, another reference signal, and/or the like). Each of the multiple beams associated with the first sensing signal may have a different spatial direction. As shown in FIG. 4A by reference 402r, the first sensing signal (e.g., some portion of the first sensing signal) is reflected by the object such that the receiver receives the first sensing signal (e.g., at least a portion of the first sensing signal)/i.e. representing the sensing signal including with beam direction detected in FIG. 4A); and
transmit an uplink sensing signal transmitted using an uplink beam direction, the uplink beam direction derived from the downlink beam direction (see para 67, FIG. 4A, the receiver may transmit, and the transmitter may receive, a directional sensing signal request 406/i.e., transmitting directional sensing signal request indicating preferred sensing signal direction in the uplink to the base station… the directional sensing signal request includes information indicating the preferred sensing direction for the second sensing signal).
Li teaches determination of the beam direction using sensing a detected object, and sending this information to the receiving UE.
Li does not teach using a positional system for coordinate information of the sensed object, i.e., the limitation: beam direction for the sensing using coordinate information, the coordinate information expressed relative to a predefined coordinate system.
In the same field of endeavor, Shi teaches this limitation: see FIG. 10, para 96, a sensing system and a wireless system may cooperate with each other... The sensing system includes a plurality of sensors. The sensing system includes a positional system for determining coordinate information (e.g., 3D position and 3D velocity) from sensed data; also see para 110, providing coordinate information used for beam management.
It would have been obvious, to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the system of Li, so as to use a positional system for coordinate information used for beam management of the sensed object as taught by Shi, to improve beam management for mobile devices (see Shi, para 6 and para 110) and provide detailed coordinate information of the object.
Claim(s) 9, 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li in view of Shi in view of Priyanto (US 20220099785 A1).
Regarding Claims 9, 19, Li in view of Shi do not disclose details regarding: the coordinate information comprises differential coordinates expressed relative to a reference beam direction.
Priyanto teaches this limitation: see FIG. 9, para 67, the signaling and the beam information may be simplified using a predetermined beam configuration for a base station. For example, RAN node can utilize a specific beam configuration that is aligned to a geographical reference direction (e.g. North). The alignment to the reference/i.e., representing reference beam direction, as well as a number of supported beams enables a geographical configuration of each beam to be determined... FIG. 9 illustrates an example where the number of beams is eight, with beam 1 aligned with geographical north. Accordingly, each beam has 45° of beamwidth. Given the alignment (e.g. the reference direction) and the number of beams, an angle of departure/i.e., representing the differential coordinates, may be derived based on a reported beam index (e.g. beam 3, which corresponds to an AoD of) 90°. The UE or the positioning computation node may be informed of respective configuration for the RAN nodes to facilitate positioning estimates.
It would have been obvious, to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the combined systems of Li and Shi, so as to compute the coordinate information as differential coordinates expressed relative to a reference beam direction as taught by Priyanto, to improve multipath conditions, which can result in wrong timing information, so as to provide accurate positioning (see Priyanto, para 6).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11/19/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive as detailed below:
On page 1, the Applicant argues that: “… The cited sections of Li and Shi do not disclose the sensing request with the coordinate information used to indicate the beam direction for the sensing signal."
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. In Li, the coordinates for the sensing signal are determined using a sensing signal reflected off an object that includes a preferred direction of sensing. However, in Li, the sensing signal includes just a preferred direction and it does not teach the actual details of the preferred direction, such as the actual coordinates of the preferred direction.
In the same filed of endeavor, Shi teaches determining the precise location using positional system for coordinate information used for beam management. At para 110, Shi teaches the precision of the coordinate information may be adapted to different kinds of applications. For example, the beam-covered area is proportional to the beam angle. A beam having a larger beam angle covers a larger area than a beam having a smaller beam angle. Therefore, when providing coordinate information used for beam management, the precision of the coordinate information may be less in management of a beam having a larger beam angle, than in management of a beam having a smaller beam angle. For example, when the coordinate information is used for beam management operations for a mmWave beam, the coordinate information may require a precision on the order of ˜mm in order to be useful; whereas when the coordinate information is used for beam management operations for a sub-6 GHz beam, the coordinate information may only need a precision on the order of ˜10-100 cm in order to be useful. The positional system is be capable of calculating coordinate information to the necessary degree of precision, depending on the application. In some examples, the precision of the coordinate information may at least partly depend on the precision and/or sensitivity of the sensors.
Hence, the combination of Li and Shi teaches claim 1.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DEEPA BELUR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2472