DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwak et al. (US 2019/0300557) (hereafter “Kwak”) in view Martinez-Alonso et al. (Chem. Eur. J. 2018, 24, 17523-17537) (hereafter “Martinez-Alonso”) and Kamatani et al. (US 2015/0333279) (hereafter “Kamatani”).
Regarding claims 1-20, Kwak teaches an electroluminescent device comprising an anode, a hole transporting layer, a light emitting layer, an electron transporting layer, and a cathode (paragraphs [0296]-[0299]) (claims 15, 16, and 19). Kwak teaches that the light emitting layer comprises a phosphorescent dopant and a host material (paragraph [0298]) (claims 17). Kwak teaches that the phosphorescent dopant can have the following structure,
,
, and
are a few examples (paragraph [0139]) (claims 1-14). Kwak teaches that the dopant emits light between 590 nm to 650 nm (paragraph [0301], Table 1) (claim 18). Kwak teaches that the electroluminescent device can be used in an electronic apparatus (paragraph [0210]) (claim 20).
Kwak does not there where one of the ligands is a hydroxyphenylbenzimidazole group.
Martinez-Alonso teaches that one can affect the photophysical and electrochemical properties of iridium metal complexes by changing the ligands attached to the metal (page 17532 first paragraph under the heading Conclusion). Martinez-Alonso teaches that using
, where X is S or NH, as the ligand can change the properties of the metal complex not matter the other ligands on the metal (page 17525 Scheme 1 and page 17532 first paragraph under the heading Conclusion).
Kamatani teaches
and
as ligands that can be used for metal complexes in electroluminescent devices (paragraph [0119]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the metal complex of Kwak,
,
, or
, so the single ligand was changed to
, where X is NH,
, or
as taught by Martinez-Alonso and Kamatani. The motivation has taught by Martinez-Alonso would have ben to improve the photophysical and electrochemical properties of the metal complex.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Boudreault et al. (US 2016/0104848) teaches iridium metal complexes that list ligands that meet the applicant’s claimed general formula, but does not teach metal complexes comprising both types of claimed ligands.
Yi et al. (US 2021/0288268) teaches ligands that meets applicant’s formula 1B.
/ANDREW K BOHATY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1759