DETAILED ACTION
This communication is an office action on the merits. Claims 1-5, as filed are currently pending and have been considered below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goepfer (FR 2,452,894) in view of Tipples (GB 2,572,803).
Regarding claim 1, Goepfer discloses a hooked clasp (B1), for use along with a second hooked clasp (B2) in a fastener (Fig. 1 as shown) for releasably securing strap ends to be adjoined, comprises
the hooked clasp having a strap attachment means (4) towards a strap end of the hooked clasp and a corresponding hook (1, 2, 5, 6, 7) further from the strap end of the hooked clasp in a longitudinal direction,
the hook having a return (8) directed towards the strap end of the clasp and thereby configured such that, when arranged with a corresponding hook on the second hooked clasp in an opposite longitudinal direction, the hook can catch the corresponding hook on the second hooked clasp (Figs. 1-5 as shown),
the hooked clasp having an orifice (Fig. 1 as shown), wherein the return and the orifice are dimensioned such that the return of the hooked clasp can pass into an orifice of the second hooked clasp without deforming the hook before the hook catches the hook on the second hooked clasp, and
wherein the return does not occupy the full thickness of the hooked clasp (A portion of Fig. 2 is reproduced below to show that the tongues 8 do not occupy the full thickness of the hooked clasp. The included double arrows are used to show the full thickness of the clasp wherein the projections 7 do not extend to this full thickness).
Goepfer fails to disclose the return having an inner side comprising a magnet.
Tipples teach a hooked clasp (10) with an inner side comprising a magnet (15).
From this teaching of Tipples, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the invention to provide an embedded magnet within the surface of the tongues of Goepfer. The magnet would ensure engagement of the hooks and provide positive feedback to a user when the hooks are aligned.
Figure 2 of Goepfer reproduced to show the thickness of the clasp
Regarding claim 2, Goepfer further discloses wherein the hook consists of a proximal portion (1) on a lateral portion of the hooked clasp and a distal portion (7, 8), comprising the return, on the central portion of the hooked clasp, whereby the lateral portion and the distal portion are laterally separated (Fig. 1 as shown).
Regarding claim 3, Goepfer further discloses a fastener comprising a first and a second hooked clasp according to claim 1 (Fig. 1 as shown),
a first return and a second return of the hooks configured and arranged on the fastener such that a first hook can catch a second hook to releasably secure the strap ends (Fig. 4 as shown),
each of the hooked clasp having the orifice , the return and the orifice dimensioned such that, in the process of securing the strap ends,
the return of the second clasp can pass into the orifice of the first clasp and the return of the first clasp can pass into the orifice of the second clasp without deforming either of the first hook and the second hook before the first hook catches the second hook to releasably secure the strap ends (Fig. 4 as shown),
the magnets configured to cause inner surfaces of the corresponding returns to adhere when the first hook catches the second hook and the strap ends are releasably secured (the combination hooks of Goepfer and Tipples as described in claim 1 are configured in this manner).
Regarding claim 4, Goepfer further discloses wherein the first and the second hooked clasp are a single item of manufacture (Figs. 1-5 as shown).
Regarding claim 5, Goepfer further discloses wherein each of the return has an outer surface and each of the hooked clasp has an opposite surface which is on the opposite side of the clasp to the return, wherein the outer surface of return of the second clasp aligns resulting in a common surface with the opposite surface of the first clasp and the outer surface of the return of the first clasp aligns resulting in a common surface with the opposite surface of the second clasp when the first hook catches the second hook to releasably secure the strap ends (Fig. 5 as shown).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 09 February 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant has argued that Goepfer explicitly teaches that the depth of the boss is equal to or greater than the thickness of the arms and the crossbar of the clasp. However, this language does not align with the language as claimed. The return is required to not occupy the full thickness of the hooked clasp. As noted above, the tongue 8 only occupies about half of the thickness of the hooked clasp as shown in Fig. 2. Applicant further has argued Tipples does not disclose a return having an inner side comprising a magnet embedded. Tipples was introduced to demonstrate that the embedding of magnets within hooked clasp surfaces was known in the prior art. Including the embedded magnets within a base surface or within a return surface is still considered to be obvious.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/M.S.L/Examiner, Art Unit 3677
/JASON W SAN/SPE, Art Unit 3677