DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The prior art documents submitted by applicant in the Information Disclosure Statement filed 11/25/2025 have all been considered and made of record.
Response to Amendments
Applicant’s amendment filed 01/12/2026 has been considered and entered.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments (Pages 5-6 of the remarks received 01/12/2026) with respect to the rejection(s) of claim 1 under 35 USC 102 have been fully considered but are moot in view of the claim amendments and new grounds for rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nobuo (JP 2002310808 A).
With regards to claim 1, Nobuo discloses a fiber optic cable configured for downhole and harsh environments, comprising: a braided core (Nobuo/Fig3/Braided core 12) consisting of three helically-arranged elongated structures braided together (Fig3/Elongated structures 11a, 11b, and 11c), each helically-arranged structure in direct contact with all of the other helically-arranged elongated structures of the braided core (Fig3), the braided core defining a helical groove between each pair of adjacent helically-arranged elongated structures (Fig3/Helical grooves as indicated below), and one or more optical fibers (Fig3/Optical fiber 13&14) disposed along one or more of the helical grooves correspondinqly and in direct contact with the one or more of the helical grooves of the braided core (Fig3), the diameters of the one or more optical fibers are selected so that the one or more optical fibers are entirely within and inwardly spaced from a circle defined by a largest diameter of the braided core (Fig3/Circle as indicated below [Right]).
With regards to claim 2, Nobuo discloses the fiber optic cable of claim 1, wherein the braided core is composed of a plurality of wires braided together (Fig3; Paragraph 1 “…power cable…”).
With regards to claim 7, Nobuo discloses the fiber optic cable of claim 1, further comprising an outer layer disposed over an outer surface of the braided core and the one or more optical fibers (Fig3/Outer layer as indicated below).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nobuo (JP 2002310808 A) as applied to claim 1, in further view of Oikawa (US 20180274237 A1).
With regards to claim 3, Nobuo discloses the fiber optic cable of claim 2, but is silent regarding whether or not the wires are made of steel. However, the practice of selecting steel as the material for wires of a braided core exists in the art as exemplified by Oikawa.
Nobuo and Oikawa are considered to be analogous in the field of optical-fiber inclusive electrical cables. Nobuo discloses 3 wires braided together. Oikawa discloses steel as a material for wires that are braided together (Oikawa/Paragraph 44/Lines 3-5). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select steel as the material for the wires of the braided core of Nobuo as suggested by Oikawa since doing so would positively contribute to the durability of the optical cable.
Claims 4 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nobuo (JP 2002310808 A).
With regards to claim 4, Nobuo discloses the optical cable of claim 2, but is silent regarding whether or not the wires are made of polymer. However, it has been held that it is within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select polymer as the material for the wires of the braided core of Nobuo since doing so would positively contribute to the durability of the optical cable.
With regards to claim 9, Nobuo discloses the fiber optic cable of claim 7, but is silent regarding the outer layer comprising a metal layer. However, it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select a metal as the material for the outer layer disclosed by Nobuo, since doing so would provide increased durable protection for the fiber optic cable.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nobuo (JP 2002310808 A) as applied to claim 7 above, in further view of Oikawa (US 20180274237 A1).
With regards to claim 8, Nobuo discloses the fiber optic cable of claim 7, but is silent regarding whether or not the outer layer comprises a flexible plastic layer. However, the practice of configuring the outer layer of a cable to comprise a flexible plastic layer exists in the art as exemplified by Oikawa.
Nobuo and Oikawa are considered to be analogous in the field of optical-fiber inclusive electrical cables. Nobuo discloses an outer layer of an optical fiber cable. Oikawa discloses an outer layer of a cable as comprising a flexible plastic layer (Oikawa/Paragraph 75/Lines 11-12). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the optical fiber cable of Nobuo such that the outer layer comprised a flexible plastic layer as suggested by Oikawa since doing so would positivily impact the durability of the cable while allowing elastic motion.
Claims 5 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nobuo (JP 2002310808 A) as applied to claim 1 above in view of Sarchi (US 20120082422 A1).
With regards to claim 5, Nobuo discloses the fiber optic cable of claim 1, but is silent regarding whether or not the braided core is composed of a plurality of braided ropes braided together. However, the practice of configuring a braided core to comprise a plurality of braided ropes braided together exists in the art as exemplified by Sarchi.
Nobuo and Sarchi are considered to be analogous in the field of optical-fiber inclusive electrical cables. Nobuo discloses a braided core comprising a plurality of elongated structures. Sarchi discloses a braided core comprising a plurality of braided ropes braided together (Sarchi/Fig1/Braided ropes 7). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the fiber optic cable of Nobuo such that the braided core is composed of a plurality of braided ropes braided together as suggested by Sarchi since doing so would facilitate superior stress distribution within the cable.
With regards to claim 10, Nobuo discloses the fiber optic cable of claim 1, but is silent regarding whether or not at least one of the one or more optical fibers comprises a fiber module having more than one optic core. However, the practice of configuring a one or more optical fibers within a fiber optic cable such that it comprises multiple cores exists in the art as exemplified by Sarchi. Nobuo and Sarchi are considered to be analogous in the field of fiber optic cables.
Nobuo discloses a fiber optic cable including one of the one or more optical fibers. Sarchi discloses one or more optical fibers within an optical cable as comprising a fiber module having more than one optic core (Sarchi/Fig1a/Fiber module 19 [Module]; Plurality of optic cores 24 [Optical fibers]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the optic cable disclosed by Nobuo such that the one or more optical fibers comprised multiple cores as suggested by Sarchi, since doing so would increase the amount of information that could be communicated within an individual fiber.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nobuo (JP 2002310808 A) and Oikawa (US 20180274237 A1) as applied to claim 7 above, in further view of Lambert (US 8746074 B2).
With regards to claim 11, Nobuo and Oikawa together disclose the fiber optic cable of claim 7, wherein the outer layer has an inner surface in direct contact with the braided core (Oikawa/Fig4/Element 6 in contact with combination of elements 2 and 3), but are silent regarding the inner surface being cylindrical. However, the practice of configuring an optical fiber cable such that the outermost layer has a cylindrical inner surface in direct contact with a braided core exists in the art, as exemplified by Lambert. Nobuo, Oikawa, and Lambert are considered to be analogous in the field of fiber optic cables.
Lambert discloses a fiber optic cable wherein an outer layer with a cylindrical inner surface (Lamber/Outer layer 24) is in direct contact with a braided core (Lambert/Braided core 12, 14, 16, 18, 20, and 22). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the fiber optic cable of Nobuo and Oikawa such that the optical fiber cable had a cylindrical inner surface in direct contact with a braided core as suggested by Lambert, since doing so would reduce the geometric complexity of the interior surface of the outer layer, and increase the ease with which the outer layer could be produced and/or applied to the braided core.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MARC E MANHEIM/Examiner, Art Unit 2874
/THOMAS A HOLLWEG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2874