Claim Objections
Claim 12 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 12, line 1, “wherein first end” should read ---wherein the first end---.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“a receiver that removably receives” in line 7 of claim 1, line 3 of claim 16, and line 13 of claim 26.
“a gripping mechanism that secures” in lines 1-2 of claim 2 and line 1 of claim 17.
“a stopper mechanism that applies tension” in line 2 of claim 4 and lines 1-2 of claim 19.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6, 8, 10-12, 16-20, 22, and 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (US20200339029A1) in view of Gresham (US8141852B1).
Regarding claims 1, 10-11, 16, and 26, Chen discloses a ratchet strap system and method for installing a ratchet strap system, comprising: a first strap (4; Figures 2-5) that includes a ratchet mechanism (1); a second strap (3) that includes a strap tip on a first end of the second strap (3); a ratchet mechanism (1) attached to a first end of the first strap (4); attaching a first hook (5) on a second end of the first strap (4) to an attachment point on a first surface, attaching a second hook (5) on a second strap (3) to an attachment point on a second surface; inserting the strap tip of the second strap (3) into the ratchet mechanism (1) on the first strap (4); activating the ratchet mechanism (1) to receive additional portions of the second strap (3) through the ratchet mechanism (1); “indirectly” attaching a reel device (2) to the first strap (4), the reel device (2) comprising: a base (21) that removably receives the first strap (4); a receiver (22) that removably receives a first end of the second strap (3); and a reel mechanism (23, 231) operatively connected to the receiver (22), inserting the strap tip of the second strap (3) into the receiver (22) of the reel device (2); and activating the reel mechanism (23, 231) to rotate the receiver (22), wherein, when the reel mechanism (23, 231) rotates a first angular distance, the receiver (22) rotates a second angular distance proportional to the first angular distance in a same direction as the first angular distance (1:1 ratio), and wherein, when the receiver (22) is rotating while receiving the second strap (3) of the ratchet strap system, the second strap (3) wraps around the receiver (22), but fails to teach a base configured to slidably and removably attach (“coupled” claim 16) to the first strap; slidably attaching a reel device to the first strap.
Gresham teaches a similar ratchet strap system and further teaches a base (20; Figures 5-6) configured to slidably and removably attach (“coupled” claim 16) to the first strap (12; 4 of Chen); slidably attaching a reel device (45) to the first strap (12; 4 of Chen). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the ratchet system and reel device of Chen to include the slidably attached base and reel device as taught by Gresham in order to mount and position the base/reel device at various locations a distance away from the ratchet to avoid interference.
Regarding claims 2-3 and 17-18, Chen discloses wherein the receiver (22) includes a gripping mechanism (221, 223, 224; Figures 9-10) that secures the first end of the second strap (3); wherein the gripping mechanism (221, 223, 224) comprises gripping teeth (224)
Regarding claims 4-5 and 19, Chen discloses wherein the reel device (2) further comprises a stopper mechanism (24) that applies tension to the reel mechanism (23, 231), wherein the stopper mechanism (24) comprises a holder (23, 24, 21) for a spindle (23) of the reel mechanism (23, 231; ¶0037, when an inner end face of the winding wheel 23 is resisted against the outer surface of the frame 21, the winding shaft 2 is locked and prevented from rotation, thus preventing the strap 3 from unwinding)
Regarding claims 6 and 20, Chen discloses wherein the reel mechanism (23, 231) comprises a spindle (23) and a rotor (231).
Regarding claims 8 and 22, Chen discloses the above ratchet system and reel device, but fails to teach wherein the base comprises a slot that slides over the first strap to cover at least three sides of the first strap.
Gresham teaches a similar ratchet strap system and further teaches wherein the base (20) comprises a slot (31; Figure 6) that slides over the first strap (12; 4 of Chen) to cover at least three sides of the first strap (12; 4 of Chen). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the ratchet system and reel device of Chen to include the base slot as taught by Gresham in order to mount and position the base/reel device at various locations a distance away from the ratchet to avoid interference.
Regarding claim 12, Chen discloses wherein first end of the second strap (3) is first received by the ratchet mechanism (1) and then received by the reel mechanism (22, 231; reel device 2).
Claim(s) 7 and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen, in view of Gresham, and in further view of Ratzlaff (US20020030133A1).
Regarding claims 7 and 21, Chen discloses the above ratchet system and reel device, but fails to teach wherein the base comprises a tongue connected to the base that extends upwards towards the receiver to guide the second strap to the receiver.
Ratzlaff teaches a similar ratchet strap system and further teaches wherein the base (10; Figures 1-2) comprises a tongue (54) connected to the base (10) that extends upwards towards the receiver (46) to guide the second strap (12) to the receiver (46; Figure 5, the tongue 54 extends upwards from a wall of the base towards the receiver 46). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the ratchet system and reel device of Chen to include the tongue as taught by Ratzlaff in order to keep the strap flat and prevent uncoiling, folding, and tangling of the strap.
Claim(s) 13 and 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen, in view of Gresham, and in further view of Haddow (US0594619A).
Regarding claims 13 and 23, modified Chen discloses the above ratchet system and reel device, but fails to teach wherein the receiver comprises a compound receiver, the compound receiver further comprising: a first axle operatively connected to the reel mechanism; a second axle; and a continuous belt that at least partially wraps around each of the first axle and the second axle.
Haddow teaches a similar reel device and further teaches wherein the receiver comprises a compound receiver (g0, g5; Figures 3-4), the compound receiver (g0, g5) further comprising: a first axle (g0) operatively connected to the reel mechanism (m, m1; Figure 1); a second axle (g5); and a continuous belt (g3) that at least partially wraps around each of the first axle (g0) and the second axle (g5). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the ratchet system and reel device of Chen to include the compound receiver as taught by Haddow in order to reduce the layers of the strap to help reduce the height or width of the ratchet system.
Claim(s) 14-15 and 24-25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen, in view of Gresham, in view of Haddow, and in further view of Davis (US2815850A).
Regarding claims 14-15 and 24-25, modified Chen discloses the above ratchet system and reel device, but fails to teach wherein the continuous belt comprises a rough surface, wherein the compound receiver receives the first end of the second strap by adhering the first end of the second strap to the rough surface of the continuous belt; wherein the rough surface of the continuous belt comprises one or more barbs.
Haddow teaches a similar reel device and further teaches wherein the compound receiver (g0, g5) receives the first end of the second strap (3 of Chen) by adhering the first end of the second strap (3 of Chen) to the surface of the continuous belt, but fails to teach wherein the continuous belt comprises a rough surface; wherein the rough surface of the continuous belt comprises one or more barbs. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the ratchet system and reel device of Chen to include the compound receiver as taught by Haddow in order to reduce the layers of the strap to help reduce the height or width of the ratchet system.
Davis teaches a similar continuous belt and further teaches wherein the continuous belt (1; Figure 4) comprises a rough surface; wherein the rough surface of the continuous belt (1) comprises one or more barbs (3). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the ratchet system and reel device of Chen to include the continuous belt as taught by Davis in order to increase friction and reduce slippage of the strap.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10/24/2025 with respect to claims 1, 8, 16, and 26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding claims 1, 8, 16, and 26, in the last paragraph in page 6 and in pages 7-11, the applicant argued that the disclosure of Huang, Chen, and the other cited references, fail to teach a base and reel device that is configured to slidably and removably attach to the first strap, and wherein the base comprises a slot that slides over the first strap to cover at least three sides of the first strap.
The examiner agrees that the disclosure of Huang, Chen, and the other cited references, fail to teach a base and reel device that is configured to slidably and removably attach to the first strap, and wherein the base comprises a slot that slides over the first strap to cover at least three sides of the first strap. However, the examiner construed that the disclosure of Gresham teaches a base and reel device comprising a slot in order to be slidably and removably attached to the strap, in which the slot covers at least three sides of the strap, as described above. Thus, contradicting to applicant’s assertions, such amendment does not overcome the prior art.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Additional references listed on form PTO-892 are cited for their relevance to the disclosed invention and demonstration of the state of the art.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/H.S./ Examiner, Art Unit 3654
/ANNA M MOMPER/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3619