DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Priority In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis ( i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(b): (b ) CONCLUSION.— The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph: The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the appl icant regards as his invention. Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 19, line 4 recites the phrase “potentially even be used freestanding” which renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear if the limitations following “potentially” are to be include in the interpretation of the claims. It is suggested to delete the phrase “potentially” and positively recite the “freestanding” limitation. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness . Clai m s 1 -8 and 13-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Jones (US 2018/0363870) in view of Rumens (US 2015/0253037). With respect to the limitations of claim 1, Jones teaches a modular assembled electric fireplace (Figs 1, 2, electric fireplace, 0012) , comprising a display assembly (flame simulation assembly 120, 0044) ; the display assembly includes a flame screen (flame screen 150, 0044) and a flame generator module (flame simulating light source 130, 0044) , the flame screen is placed in front (Figs 2, 2A, where a majority of the screen 150 is in front of light sources 134) of the flame generator module, in front of the flame screen is provided with a lighting device, modular ornamental parts (Fig 2, log 194, 0061) are provided above the lighting device. Jones discloses the claimed invention except for in front of the flame screen is provided with a lighting device . However, Rumens discloses in front of the flame screen is provided with a lighting device (Fig 18, LED lights 158, 0066) is known in the art. It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to adapt the modular electric fireplace of Jones having a flame screen silent to a lighting device with in front of the flame screen is provided with a lighting device of Rumens for the purpose of providing a known lighting configuration that provide s a variety of colors, patterns, and/or sequences by selectively illuminating the lights during use of the modular, linear fireplace assembly (0066). Jones in view of Rumens fully discloses the limitations of “ modular ornamental parts are provided above the lighting devic e” because the modular ornamental parts (logs 194) of Jones is located above the base, where the base includes the lighting device of Rumens. With respect to the limitations of claim s 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 13, 14, 16, 17, 18 and 19 , Jones teaches the flame generator module is a packaged module ( light array 130, LEDs 134, PCB support 132, 0047) the flame generator module includes a flame generator (rotating flicker element 140, flame screen 150, 0046) the flame generator module is provided with an inclined surface (inclined surfaces of rotating flicker element 140, ember bed reflector 170, 0054) facing the flame screen ; a simulated flame pattern (Figs 3-4, flame pattern) or an opening is provided on the inclined surface ; the flame generator module further includes a rotary electric reflector, the rotary electric reflector includes a rotating shaft and some reflecting blades, the reflecting blades are arranged around the rotating shaft at intervals (Fig 2A, rotating flicker rod 142, paddles 144a, 0053, 0054); the flame screen is a transparent or translucent screen, or at least a portion of the flame screen is transparent or translucent to allow light through (Figs 3-5, flame shaped transparent openings) , or the flame screen is translucent and reflective to allow light through and can add a mirrored effect to ornaments placed in the front ; t he flame screen is provided with a folding line (Figs 3-5, fold / bend lines along top and bottom edge) , and the flame screen is foldable along the folding line. comprising a base panel (Figs 2, 2A, support base 132, 0047) , the flame screen is attached to the base panel in a foldable manner (flame screen 150 attached to support base 132 along bottom fold line) ; comprising side panels, the flame screen are attached with the side panels in a foldable manner (Figs 3-5, front face of flame screen 150 attached to sidewalls 124a, 124b, 0046) ; comprising a back panel and side panels, the back panel and the side panels are collapsible and foldable (Figs 1, 2, 2A, folded side, back panel) modular ornamental parts can be cut in half (log 194) and pre-mounted to the flame screen (150) , the flame screen is translucent and allows a fame effect to be shown through ornaments ; the flame screen has an opaque or translucent structural portion (support 132) to mount and support the flame generator module (light sources 134); the flame screen has a structural layer to provide supporting and mounting to the parts with a cut-out or open area to allow the flame to go through (Figs 3-5, front openings) , which allows the display assembly to be un-folded and potentially even be used freestanding. With respect to the limitations of claim s 15 and 20 , Jones in view of Rumens discloses the flame generator module (Jones, flame simulating light source 130) and the lighting device (Rumens, Fig 18, LED lights 158, 0066) is pre-assembled and pre-wired to a foldable base panel (Jones, Figs 2, 2A, folded base) ; t he lighting device is an independent lighting module (Rumens, Fig 18, LED lights 158, 0066) , and the modular ornamental parts (Jones, log 194) can be interchanged without being wired. Claims 9, 10 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Jones (US 2018/0363870) in view of Rumens (US 2015/0253037) as applied to claim 1, further in view of Crowe (US 2021/0404667). With respect to the limitations of claims 9, 10 and 11, Jones in view of Rumens discloses the claimed invention except for further comprising an electric insertion assembly, the electric insertion assembly includes a control module and one or more heating modules, one or more heating modules are detachably attached to the control module or installed in separate areas of the electric fireplace and connected with the control module ; the flame generator module is electrically connected with the control module, the lighting device is electrically connected with the flame generator module ; the control module and the heating module are electrically connected by wires, or by plugs and sockets, or by DC/AC dual connector. However, Crowe discloses further comprising an electric insertion assembly, the electric insertion assembly (Figs 2-6, electrical connection assembly 246, 0104) includes a control module (Fig 5A, 5B, controller 528, 0130) and one or more heating modules (heater assembly 526, 0127) , one or more heating modules are detachably attached to the control module (see figure 5A) or installed in separate areas of the electric fireplace and connected with the control module ; the flame generator module is electrically connected with the control module, the lighting device is electrically connected with the flame generator module (Fig 2, 0104 , the electrical connection assembly 249 can further include a third electrical connection port 349E (illustrated in FIG. 3B) that is formed into the grate 16, which can include the light source 22 and/or the flame generator 24 incorporated therein ); the control module and the heating module are electrically connected by wires, or by plugs and sockets, or by DC/AC dual connector (electrical cable 449C1, D1, wire connector 449C2, 449D2, 0104) is known in the art. It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to adapt the modular electric fireplace of Jones in view of Rumens having a heater and controller silent to the recited electric insertion assembly with the further comprising an electric insertion assembly, the electric insertion assembly includes a control module and one or more heating modules, one or more heating modules are detachably attached to the control module or installed i n separate areas of the electric fireplace and connected with the control module ; the flame generator module is electrically connected with the control module, the lighting device is electrically connected with the flame generator module ; the control module and the heating module are electrically connected by wires, or by plugs and sockets, or by DC/AC dual connector of Crowe for the purpose of forming a known electrical connection assembly that provides necessary power to the heater assembly and/or the controller, and also to one or more of the light source and the flame generator (0104) in a compact and efficient manner. Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Jones (US 2018/0363870) in view of Rumens (US 2015/0253037) as applied to claims 1 and 8, further in view of Streeter (US 2008/0084024). With respect to the limitations of claim 12, Jones in view of Rumens discloses an electronic display screen which would be inherently connected to a main circuit board. Jones in view of Rumens discloses the claimed invention except for explicitly showing the electronic display screen is provided at the front end of the control module, a main circuit board is enclosed inside the control module, the main circuit board is connected to the electronic display screen. However, the electronic display screen is provided at the front end of the control module, a main circuit board is enclosed inside the control module, the main circuit board is connected to the electronic display screen is known in the art. Streeter, for example, discloses the electronic display screen (Figs 11, 16, display 362, 0090) is provided at the front end of the control module (Fig 11, top housing) , a main circuit board (circuit board 364, 0090) is enclosed inside the control module, the main circuit board is connected (cable 368, 0090) to the electronic display screen. It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to adapt the modular electric fireplace of Jones in view of Rumens having display screen silent to the recited main circuit board with the electronic display screen is provided at the front end of the control module, a main circuit board is enclosed inside the control module, the main circuit board is connected to the electronic display screen of Streeter for the purpose of providing a known electronic display screen and circuit board configuration that is known and conventional. Claims 20 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Jones (US 2018/0363870) in view of Rumens (US 2015/0253037) as applied to claims 1 and 8, further in view of Zhu (US 2010/0205839). With respect to the limitations of claims 20 and 21, Jones in view of Rumens discloses the flame generator includes a projector and is remotely placed in an area in the back of the flame screen ; film image is included to project an image of a flame onto the flame screen . However, Zhu discloses the flame generator (flame generator 2, 0031, 0033) includes a projector (Figs 1-4, light source, 0031, 0033) and is remotely placed in an area in the back of the flame screen (flame curtain 1, 0031) ; film image is included to project an image of a flame onto the flame screen (0033) is known in the art. It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to adapt the modular electric fireplace of Jones in view of Rumens having a flame generator silent to the recited projector location with the flame generator includes a projector and is remotely placed in an area in the back of the flame screen ; film image is included to project an image of a flame onto the flame screen of Zhu for the purpose of locating the projecting flame generator in a known location that allows for flames to be suitably projected on a flame curtain for viewing by a user. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to FILLIN "Examiner name" \* MERGEFORMAT THIEN S TRAN whose telephone number is FILLIN "Phone number" \* MERGEFORMAT (571)270-7745 . The examiner can normally be reached FILLIN "Work Schedule?" \* MERGEFORMAT Monday-Friday [8:00-4:00] . Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice . If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, FILLIN "SPE Name?" \* MERGEFORMAT Steven Crabb can be reached at FILLIN "SPE Phone?" \* MERGEFORMAT 571-270-5095 . The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /THIEN S TRAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761 3/ 9 /2026