CTNF 18/328,372 CTNF 86431 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Information Disclosure Statement The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 09/03/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner. Drawings 06-36 AIA The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “plurality of output phases” as recited in claim 8, the “the current doubler rectifier output stage does not include inductors separated from the integrated transformer” as claimed in claim 14, the “ the auxiliary legs of the magnetic core comprise central auxiliary legs and side auxiliary legs” of claim 16 and the “the coupling winding extends around each auxiliary leg among the auxiliary legs of the magnetic core” as recited in claim 17 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 07-30-02 AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(b): (b) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph: The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the applicant regards as his invention. 07-34-01 Claims 16 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Regarding claim 16 , applicant should clarify what’s intended by “ the auxiliary legs of the magnetic core comprise central auxiliary legs and side auxiliary legs” as recited. Specifically, it’s not clear if the “side auxiliary legs” is the same as or different from the “legs” as recited in claim 15. The originally filed specification does sufficiently disclose the claimed limitations. Claim 17 is rejected as being dependent on claim 16. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-23-aia AIA The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 1-6, 9 and 12-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jacobs (U.S. PG. Pub. No. 2008/0101099 A1) in view of Malinin et al. (U.S. PG. Pub. No. 2011/0157945 A1) . With respect to claim 1 , Jacobs teaches a power converter (FIGURE 11), comprising: a switched bridged input stage (switching circle, para. [0069], not expressly shown); and a current doubler rectifier output stage 1100 comprising an integrated transformer T1, wherein: the integrated transformer comprises a plurality of magnetic cores 701 and 702; a primary winding Np and a secondary winding Ns of the integrated transformer; and the integrated transformer further comprises a coupling winding Nrc1 and or Nrc2 to provide magnetic integration among the plurality of magnetic cores through an electrical coupling (paras. [0060] and [0064]-[0066]). PNG media_image1.png 478 618 media_image1.png Greyscale Jacobs does not expressly teach the integrated transformer comprises a plurality of magnetic cores; a primary winding Np and a secondary winding Ns of the integrated transformer extend around each of the plurality of magnetic cores; and the integrated transformer further comprises a coupling winding Nrc1 and or Nrc2 that extends around each of the plurality of magnetic cores. Malinin et al., hereinafter referred to as “Malinin,” teaches a power converter (FIGs. 2-5) the integrated transformer T1 comprises a plurality of magnetic cores; a primary winding N1-1 and N1-2 and a secondary winding N2 and N3of the integrated transformer extend around each of the plurality of magnetic cores; and the integrated transformer further comprises a coupling winding N4 and or N5 that extends around each of the plurality of magnetic cores (paras. [0037]-[0041]). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the windings on the magnetic cores as taught by Malinin to the power converter of Jacobs to provide the required magnetic coupling between different windings to meet design requirements. With respect to claim 2 , Jacobs in view of Malinin teaches the power converter according to claim 1, wherein: each of the plurality of magnetic cores comprises side legs (outer legs) and a center leg (middle legs); the primary winding and the secondary winding of the current doubler rectifier output stage extend around the center leg of each of the plurality of magnetic cores (Malinin, paras. [0037] and [0038]). With respect to claim 3 , Jacobs in view of Malinin teaches the power converter according to claim 1, wherein: each of the plurality of magnetic cores comprises side legs (outer legs) and a center leg (middle leg); the coupling winding extends around the center leg of each of the plurality of magnetic cores (Malinin, para. [0038]). With respect to claim 4 , Jacobs in view of Malinin teaches the power converter according to claim 1, wherein: each of the plurality of magnetic cores comprises side legs (outer legs) and a center leg (middle leg); the primary winding and the secondary winding of the current doubler rectifier output stage extend around the side legs of each of the plurality of magnetic cores (Jacobs, para. [0061]). With respect to claim 5 , Jacobs in view of Malinin teaches the power converter according to claim 4, wherein the coupling winding extends around the center leg of each of the plurality of magnetic cores (Jacobs, para. [0061], Malinin, para. [0038]). With respect to claim 6 , Jacobs in view of Malinin teaches the power converter according to claim 1, further comprising a coupling inductor Lrc electrically coupled with the coupling winding to set a coupling coefficient among the plurality of magnetic cores (Jacobo, para. [0064]). With respect to claim 9 , Jacobs in view of Malinin teaches the power converter according to claim 1, wherein each of the plurality of magnetic cores comprises side legs (outer legs) and a center leg (center leg) (Jacobs, para. [0061]). With respect to claim 12 , Jacobs in view of Malinin teaches the power converter according to claim 1, wherein the integrated transformer comprises a planar transformer (the windings of Malinin are planar) (Malinin, paras. [0037] and [0038]). With respect to claim 13 , Jacobs in view of Malinin teaches the power converter according to claim 1, wherein magnetization inductances in the integrated transformer operate as inductors in the current doubler rectifier output stage (para. [0064]). With respect to claim 14 , Jacobs in view of Malinin teaches the power converter according to claim 1, wherein the current doubler rectifier output stage does not include inductors separated from the integrated transformer (para. [0064]). With respect to claim 15 , Jacobs teaches a current doubler rectifier (FIGURE 11), comprising: an integrated transformer T1; and a coupling inductor Lrc; wherein: the integrated transformer comprises a magnetic core 701 and or 702 (see FIG. 8 for illustration); a primary winding Np and a secondary winding Ns of the integrated transformer extend around legs (outer legs) of the magnetic core; the integrated transformer further comprises a coupling winding Nrc1 and or Nrc2 that extends around auxiliary leg of the magnetic core; and the coupling inductor is electrically coupled with the coupling winding to set a coupling coefficient among the legs of the magnetic core (paras. [0064]-[0066]). Jacobs does not expressly teach the integrated transformer further comprises a coupling winding that extends around auxiliary legs of the magnetic core. Malinin teaches a current doubler rectifier (FIGs. 2-5), wherein the integrated transformer T1 further comprises a coupling winding N4 and or N5 that extends around auxiliary legs (middle legs of cores 220) of the magnetic core 220 (paras. [0038]). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the windings on the magnetic cores as taught by Malinin to the power converter of Jacobs to provide the required magnetic coupling between different windings to meet design requirements. With respect to claim 16 , Jacobs in view of Malinin teaches the current doubler rectifier according to claim 15, wherein: the integrated transformer comprises a planar transformer (the windings of Malinin are planar); and the auxiliary legs of the magnetic core comprise central auxiliary legs and side auxiliary legs. With respect to claim 17 , Jacobs in view of Malinin teaches the current doubler rectifier according to claim 16, wherein the coupling winding extends around each auxiliary leg among the auxiliary legs of the magnetic core (Malinin, para. [0038]) . 07-22-aia AIA Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jacobs in view of Malinin , as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Andres et al. (U.S. PG. Pub. No. 2014/0266530 A1) . With respect to claim 7 , Jacobs in view of Malinin teaches the power converter according to claim 1, wherein: the primary winding comprises multiple turns extending around each of the plurality of magnetic cores (Jacobs, para. [0061]), Malinin, para. [0038]). Jacobs in view of Malinin does not expressly teach the secondary winding comprises a plurality of winding fins; each of the plurality of winding fins extending a single turn around each of the plurality of magnetic cores; and the plurality of winding fins of the secondary winding are interleaved among the multiple turns of the primary winding around each of the plurality of magnetic cores. Andres et al., hereinafter referred to as “Andres,” teaches a power converter (FIG.2), wherein the secondary winding 206 and or 208 comprises a plurality of winding fins (turns); each of the plurality of winding fins extending a single turn around each of the plurality of magnetic cores (core legs); and the plurality of winding fins of the secondary winding are interleaved among the multiple turns of the primary winding 204 around each of the plurality of magnetic cores (para. [0042]). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the interleaved windings as taught by Andres to the power converter of Jacobs in view of Malinin to reduce fringing flux, thereby improving efficiency (para. [0005]) . 07-22-aia AIA Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jacobs in view of Malinin , as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Fei et al. (U.S. PG. Pub. No. 2019/0355506 A1) With respect to claim 8 , Jacobs in view of Malinin teaches the power converter according to claim 1. Jacobs in view of Malinin does not expressly teach the current doubler rectifier output stage comprises a plurality of output phases; a first primary winding and a first secondary winding of a first of the plurality of output phases extend around two of the plurality of magnetic cores; and a second primary winding and a second secondary winding of a second of the plurality of output phases extend around another two of the plurality of magnetic cores. Fei et al., hereinafter referred to as “Fei,” teaches a power converter (FIG. 1), wherein the current doubler rectifier output stage (right side circuit from transformer 120-122) comprises a plurality of output phases; a first primary winding (primary winding of transformer 120) and a first secondary winding (secondary winding of transformer 120) of a first of the plurality of output phases extend around two of the plurality of magnetic cores (FIGs. 6 an d7); and a second primary winding (primary winding of transformer 121) and a second secondary winding (secondary winding of second transformer 121) of a second of the plurality of output phases extend around another two of the plurality of magnetic cores (para. [0037]). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the plurality of output phases as taught by Fei to the power converter of Jacobs in view of Malinin to provide constant power supply . 07-22-aia AIA Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jacobs in view of Malinin , as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Spinella et al. (U.S. PG. Pub. No. 2023/0343504 A1) . With respect to claim 10 , Jacobs in view of Malinin teaches the power converter according to claim 9. Jacobs in view of Malinin does not expressly teach each of the plurality of magnetic cores comprises an air gap between the side legs and no air gap between the center leg. Spinella et al., hereinafter referred to as “Spinella,” teaches a power converter 1 (FIGURE 3), wherein each of the plurality of magnetic cores 12 comprises an air gap 13 and 14 between the side legs (outer legs) and no air gap between the center leg (middle leg) (para. [0103]). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the magnetic gap as taught by Spinella to the power converter of Jacobs in view of Malinin to provide the required magnetic saturation characteristics to meet design requirements . 07-22-aia AIA Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jacobs in view of Malinin , as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Sigamani et al. (U.S. PG. Pub. No. 2023/0387810 A1) . With respect to claim 11 , Jacobs in view of Malinin teaches the power converter according to claim 9. Jacobs in view of Malinin does not expressly teach each of the plurality of magnetic cores comprises an air gap between the center leg and no air gap between the side legs. Sigamani et al., hereinafter referred to as “Sigamani,” teaches a power converter (FIG. 4), wherein each of the plurality of magnetic cores 334 comprises an air gap 350 between the center leg 347 and no air gap between the side legs 348 and 349 (para. [0033]). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the magnetic gap as taught by Sigamani to the power converter of Jacobs in view of Malinin to provide the required magnetic saturation characteristics to meet design requirements . 07-21-aia AIA Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Malinin in view of Xu et al. (U.S. PG. Pub. No. 2007/0175701 A1) . With respect to claim 18 , Malinin teaches a power converter (FIGs. 2-5), comprising: a switched bridged input stage (not expressly shown, the switch bridge would be between C1 and Vin); and a current doubler rectifier output stage 200, the current doubler rectifier output stage comprising an integrated transformer T1, wherein: the integrated transformer comprises a magnetic core 200; the magnetic core comprises two central legs (middle legs of magnetic core 200); and a primary winding N1and a secondary winding N2 and N3 of the integrated transformer extend around the two twisted central legs (paras. [0037] and [0038]). Jacobs does not expressly teach the magnetic core comprises two twisted central legs. Xu et al., hereinafter referred to as “Xu,” teaches a power converter (Fig. 10), wherein the magnetic core comprises two twisted central legs 54a and 54b (para. [0045]). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the twisted core legs as taught by Xu to the power converter of Jacobs to reduce the windings length, thereby decreasing the ohmic resistance (para. [0045]) . 07-22-aia AIA Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Malinin in view of Xu , as applied to claim 19 above, and further in view of Andres . With respect to claim 19 , Malinin in view of Xu teaches the power converter according to claim 18, wherein: the primary winding comprises multiple turns extending around each of the two twisted central legs (Andres, para. [0038], Xu, para. [0035]). Malinin in view of Xu does not expressly teach the secondary winding comprises a plurality of winding fins; each of the plurality of winding fins extending a single turn around each of the two twisted central legs; and the plurality of winding fins of the secondary winding are interleaved among the multiple turns of the primary winding around each of the two twisted central legs. Andres teaches a power converter (FIG.2), wherein the secondary winding 206 and or 208 comprises a plurality of winding fins (turns); each of the plurality of winding fins extending a single turn around each of the plurality of magnetic cores (core legs); and the plurality of winding fins of the secondary winding are interleaved among the multiple turns of the primary winding 204 around each of the plurality of magnetic cores (para. [0042]). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the interleaved windings as taught by Andres to the power converter of Malinin in view of Xu to reduce fringing flux, thereby improving efficiency (para. [0005]) . 07-22-aia AIA Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Malinin in view of Xu , as applied to claim 18 above, and further in view of Fei . With respect to claim 20 , Malinin in view of Xu teaches the power converter according to claim 18. Malinin in view of Xu does not expressly teach the current doubler rectifier output stage comprises a plurality of output phases; the magnetic core comprises four twisted central legs; and primary and secondary windings of a first output phase among the plurality of output phases of the current doubler rectifier output stage extend around two twisted central legs of the four twisted central legs; and primary and secondary windings of a second output phase among the plurality of output phases of the current doubler rectifier output stage extend around another two twisted central legs of the four twisted central legs. Fei teaches a power converter (FIG. 1), wherein the current doubler rectifier output stage (right side circuit from transformer 120-122) comprises a plurality of output phases; a first primary winding (primary winding of transformer 120) and a first secondary winding (secondary winding of transformer 120) of a first of the plurality of output phases extend around two of the plurality of magnetic cores (FIGs. 6 an d7); and a second primary winding (primary winding of transformer 121) and a second secondary winding (secondary winding of second transformer 121) of a second of the plurality of output phases extend around another two of the plurality of magnetic cores (para. [0037]). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the plurality of output phases as taught by Fei to the power converter of Malinin in view of Xu to provide constant power supply . Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. A list of pertinent prior art is attached in form PTO-892 . Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to MANGTIN LIAN whose telephone number is (571)270-5729. The examiner can normally be reached Monday-Friday 0800-1700. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Shawki S. Ismail can be reached at 571-272-3985. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /MANG TIN BIK LIAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837 Application/Control Number: 18/328,372 Page 2 Art Unit: 2837 Application/Control Number: 18/328,372 Page 3 Art Unit: 2837 Application/Control Number: 18/328,372 Page 4 Art Unit: 2837 Application/Control Number: 18/328,372 Page 5 Art Unit: 2837 Application/Control Number: 18/328,372 Page 6 Art Unit: 2837 Application/Control Number: 18/328,372 Page 7 Art Unit: 2837 Application/Control Number: 18/328,372 Page 8 Art Unit: 2837 Application/Control Number: 18/328,372 Page 9 Art Unit: 2837 Application/Control Number: 18/328,372 Page 10 Art Unit: 2837 Application/Control Number: 18/328,372 Page 11 Art Unit: 2837 Application/Control Number: 18/328,372 Page 12 Art Unit: 2837 Application/Control Number: 18/328,372 Page 13 Art Unit: 2837