DETAILED ACTION
This office action is a response to the election of species filed on 3/25/2026.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Species A, claims 1, 2 and 5-15, in the reply filed on 3/25/2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claims 3 and 4 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 3/25/2026.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: --METHOD OF MANUFACTURING AN ELECTRICAL EQUIPMENT LAMINATION--.
Claim Objections
Claim 5 is objected to as being a substantial duplicate of claim 1. Claim 1 and claim 5 are essentially duplicates of one another or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording. It is improper to have two claims which contain the same limitations, in the same application as one claim would be a substantial duplicate of the other claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2 and 9-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Re. claim 2: The phrase “the stamped laminates” as recited in lines 1-2 lacks antecedent basis.
Re. claim 9: The phrase “the stamped laminate” as recited in lines 1-2 lacks antecedent basis.
Re. claim 14: The phrase “the stamped laminate” as recited in lines 1-2 lacks antecedent basis.
The phrase “further comprising heating the stamped laminate in the presence of an annealing atmosphere” as recited in lines 1-2 renders the claim vague and indefinite. It is unclear as to whether this heating process is performed after the heating process as recited in lines 6-7 of claim 1. Clarification is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2 and 5-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gerster et al. (US PAT. 8,887,376) in view of Volbers et al. (US PAT. 11,827,961), and further in view of Sieron et al. (US PAT. 11/788,168).
Gerster et al. teach a process of making a stamped lamination for a rotor or stator comprising a step of providing a lamination, the lamination having been produced from a sheet material (col. 2, lines 7-11); heating the lamination in an annealing furnace to produce an annealed lamination (col. 4, lines 4-12 and col. 6, lines 60-62); and forming an oxidation layer on the annealed lamination to produce an oxidized and annealed lamination (col. 4, line 65 to col. 5, line 3 and col. 7, lines 11-16).
However, Gerster et al. silent a stamp lamination. Volbers et al. teach a process making a stamped lamination by stamping (or punching) from a steel sheet by a stamping die (as per claim 5, col. 21, lines 40-42) follow by joining the sheets (col. 20, lines 50-53 and col. 21, lines 40-43). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made, to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify a process of fabricating a lamination of Gerster et al. by stamping (or punching) from a steel sheet to form a stamped lamination as taught by Volbers et al. in order to provide a series production for a stamped lamination.
Re. claim 2: Gerster et al. also teach that the oxidized and annealed stamped lamination is configured for use in constructing an electric motor or an electric generator (col. 1, lines 12-20).
Re. claims 6 and 7: Volbers et al. also teach a preheating (8200 C) the stamped lamination follow by final heat (at least 9000 C) treatment (col. 20, lines 43-59).
Re. claim 8: Since the final heat treatment temperature is at least 9000 C in Volbers et al., In this case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). MPEP 2144.05.1.
Re. claim 9: Volbers et al. also teach cooling down the stamped laminate after the second heating to an oxidation temperature (such as in dry hydrogen at a reducing temperature of 8200 C, col. 21, lines 22-28).
Re. claim 10 and 12: Volbers et al. also teach an oxidation temperature is between 35000 C and 5000 C for a time period of 0.5 h to 5h (col. 21, lines 1-2).
Re. claim 11: Gerster et al. also teach that the annealed stamped laminate at the oxidation temperature for a time period and in a presence of an oxidation atmosphere (col. 4, line 65 to col. 4, line 1).
Re. claim 13: Gerster et al., modified by Volbers et al., silent that the oxidation atmosphere causes a layer of Fe3O4 to form on the annealed stamped lamination. Since it has been held that where the general conditions of the oxidation process of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, both Gerster et al. and Volbers et al., discovering the optimum or workable rangers involves only routine skill in the art. MPEP 2144.04 (il-A). The applicant has not disclosed any criticality for the claimed limitations.
Re. claim 14: Gerster et al. also teach that the stamped laminate is heated in the presence of an annealing atmosphere (such as an insert gas, col. 4, lines 5-6).
Re. claim 15: At the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the inert gas as recited in the claimed invention because Applicant has not disclosed that the annealing gas as recited in the claimed invention provides an advantage, is used for a particular purpose, or solves a stated problem. One of ordinary skill in the art, furthermore, would have expected Applicant’s invention to perform equally well with Gerster et al. because the annealing gas as recited in the claimed invention would perform equally well such as the inert gas in Gerster et al. Therefore, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to modify the annealing gas of Gerster et al. to obtain the invention as specified in claim 15.
The Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Martin et al. (PGPub 2023/0034953 A1), KAMIKAWABATA et al. (PGPub 2022/0028608 A1), and Zhu et al. (US PAT. 12,237,103 B2) are cited to further show the state of the art with respect to a process for preparing a lamination for use in constructing electrical equipment.
Conclusion
/PAUL D KIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3729