Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yamazaki (JP 2011183454 A).
Regarding Claim 1, Yamazaki teaches (Figure 6) a welding gun (spot welding gun 1b). The welding gun comprises a fixed electrode (second electrode chip 10) fixed to an arm (rotation arm 8). The moveable electrode (first electrode chip 3a) is held by a holding member (rotation restricting member 19) separate from the arm, and the pressure driver (air cylinder 2a) including rod portion (piston rod 2b) is fixed to the holding member. The pressure driver applies pressure to a welding target that is sandwiched between the moveable electrode and fixed electrode by linearly advancing or retracting the rod portion. The holding member is attached to a guide machine (guide portion 20), which guides the holding member along an axis that is parallel to that of the rod portion using a guide rod (guide rod 20a).
With regards to Claim 2, Yamazaki teaches a welding gun according to claim 1, where an electrode holding member is bent such that an axis of the moveable electrode is disposed to be inclined to the axis of the fixed electrode (Modified Fig 6 below). The indicated inclined axes indicated below are two of a plurality of axes of the moveable electrode.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamakazi in further view of Marek (US 2003/0222055A1).
Regarding claims 3 and 4, Yamazaki teaches all of the elements of the current invention as stated above except the guide mechanism being a ball spline.
Marek teaches a welding gun (abstract) which includes ([0025] and Fig 1) a linear guide that has a stiff and non-bending design. This design may use a roller bearing as a linear guide, that includes a guide rail (27), and guide rail or guide grooves for bearing balls (30) and a guide carriage (28), where the guide carriage has a bead chain, which allows linear movement on the guide rail with little friction.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Yamazaki to incorporate the teachings of Marek to provide a welding gun with a ball spline guide mechanism. This modification would make the guide mechanism, including the guide rod, a ball spline guide mechanism that runs parallel to the rod portion of the pressure driver, doing so would maintain rigidity of movement while also reducing friction between sliding parts. (Marek Claim 1 and 2).
Claims 5 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamakazi and Marek as applied to claims 3 and 4 above, and further in view of Lu (Chinese Publication no. CN 10577923 A).
Regarding claims 5 and 6, Yamakazi and Marek teach all of the elements of the current invention as stated above except that the pressure driver, guide mechanism, and arm are fixed to a support member disposed on each of both sides of the rod portion across the axis of the rod portion, where the support member is fixed to an attachment member that attaches the welding gun to a robot arm.
Lu teaches a welding clamp body (Fig 1, 2 and 4) where the pressure driver (tong driver 3), guide mechanism (slide rail 5), and arm (moveable arm connection device 6) are fixed to a support member (side plates 11 and 12) disposed on each of both sides of the rod portion across the axis of the rod portion. Lu further teaches that a support member is fixed to an attachment that attaches the welding gun to a robot arm (Abstract).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Yamakazi and Marek to incorporate the teachings of Lu to provide a welding gun where the supporting plates enclose the pressure driver, the guide mechanism, and the arm, on opposing sides of the rod portion; where the support member provides a manner of connecting the welding gun to a robotic arm. This modification would provide the benefit of being able to connect a multitude of structures to the welding gun and arm in a variety of ways that increases the available working conditions and positions of the welding gun (Lu [0009]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Takano (GB 2225972 A) teaches a resistance welding apparatus that includes two electrodes affixed to a pair of gun arms in a confronting relation.
/HUNTER G HEMMINGS/Examiner, Art Unit 3761 /EDWARD F LANDRUM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3761