DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 3 and 4 are objected to because of the following informalities: Replace “a.”, “b.”, and “c.” with –a)--, --b)--, and --c)--, respectively as only one period is allowed per claim. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Newman (US Pub. 20230239854).
Regarding claim 1, Newman discloses a method of changing the Amplitude or Power of a broadcasted Electromagnetic Wave (EMW) (par.069 “RF or radio-frequency refers to electromagnetic waves”, par.086 “increase, decrease, or leave the transmission power unchanged”, par.090 “using a broadcast message”) is based on information provided to the electronic device that transmitted the EMW from the electronic device that received the EMW (par.090 “a power feedback indicator…….evaluate the amplitude……or other measure of the received signal quality….”).
Regarding claim 2, Newman discloses the electronic device that receives an EMW determines a quality value of that EMW (par.090 “a power feedback indicator…….evaluate the amplitude……or other measure of the received signal quality….experienced by the user device”).
Regarding claim 3, Newman discloses the quality value of an EMW is categorized into one of the following categories:
The quality is very good and the Amplitude or Power can be reduced (par.090 “-3 to reduce the power by a predetermined increment”);
b. The quality is sufficient and the Amplitude or Power does not need to be changed (par.090 “0 to keep the power unchanged”);
c. The quality is too low and the Amplitude or Power should be increased (par.090 “If the signal quality is below the lower threshold, the receiver can request an incrementally higher transmission power”).
Regarding claim 4, Newman discloses the electronic device that receives an EMW communicates to the electronic device that transmitted the EMW information about one of the following:
a. The quality value that it determined and the category of quality of the EMW (par.090 “SNR or SINR or RSRP or other measured of the received signal quality”, “below the lower threshold”, “the signal quality is above the upper threshold”);
b. The quality value that it determined of the EMW (par.0134 “input values related to the signal quality…..SNR or SINR”);
c. The category of the quality of the EMW (par.090 “below the lower threshold”, “the signal quality is above the upper threshold”).
Regarding claim 5, Newman discloses the electronic device changes the Amplitude or Power of transmitted EMWs in response to information that it receives about the quality of its broadcast EMWs (par.059 “In response to the feedback request, the base station may adjust the transmission parameter incrementally…..the base station can change the transmitted power”).
Conclusion
Commissioner for Patents
P.O. Box 1450
Alexandria, VA 22313-1450
Hand-delivered responses should be brought to
Customer Service Window
Randolph Building
401 Delany Street
Alexandria, VA 22314
/TU X NGUYEN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2642