DETAILED ACTION
Request of Continued Examination
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4-5, 8-9, 12, 15-16, 19-20, 23, 28, and 30-34 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Carcanague (US 2020/0348422 A1).
In regard to claims 1 and 30, Carcanague discloses:
obtaining measurement information regarding a first dual-band carrier phase measurement and measurement information regarding a second dual-band carrier phase measurement (¶87; ¶96-97; ¶145), wherein:
the first dual-band carrier phase measurement and the second dual-band carrier phase measurement are of radio frequency (RF) signals transmitted by a satellite using a first frequency band and a second frequency band (¶3; ¶87; ¶96-97; ¶145), and
the first dual-band carrier phase measurement is performed by a first device at a first epoch and the second dual-band carrier phase measurement is performed by the first device at a second epoch subsequent to the first epoch (Fig. 1B; Fig. 1C; ¶87; ¶96-97; ¶145);
responsive, at least in part, to a determination that there is no cycle slip between
the first dual-band carrier phase measurement and the second dual-band carrier phase
measurement, determining a change in an ionospheric error value from the first epoch to the second epoch based on a difference between the measurement information regarding the first dual-band carrier phase measurement and the measurement information regarding the second dual-band carrier phase measurement (1160 following 1155, Fig. 2; ¶87; ¶96-97; ¶145) [where ¶87 states that the cycle slip detector can discard an observation when there is a cycle slip, and thus the observation is only used responsive to a determination that there is no cycle slip between the two times]; and
outputting an indication of the change in the ionospheric error value (output of position from 1160, Fig. 2; Fig. 3-4; ¶57; ¶87; ¶145) [where the position that is output is the indication of the change in ionospheric error value in the GNSS measurements];
wherein outputting the indication of the change in the ionospheric error value comprises including the information indicative of the change in the ionospheric error value in a differential carrier phase (DCP) update (output of position and velocity, Fig. 2; Fig. 3-4; ¶57; ¶106-107) [where the position and velocity the indication of the change that is output. The output can be designated an differential carrier phase (DCP) update.].
In regard to claim 12, Carcanague discloses:
a GNSS receiver (1200, Fig. 1B-1C); one or more memories (¶263); and one or more processors (¶55; ¶263) communicatively coupled with the GNSS receiver and the one or more memories (¶263), wherein the one or more processors are configured to:
obtain measurement information regarding a first dual-band carrier phase measurement and measurement information regarding a second dual-band carrier phase measurement (¶87; ¶96-97; ¶145), wherein:
the first dual-band carrier phase measurement and the second dual-band carrier phase measurement are of radio frequency (RF) signals transmitted by a satellite using a first frequency band and a second frequency band (¶3; ¶87; ¶96-97; ¶145), and
the first dual-band carrier phase measurement is performed by a first device at a first epoch and the second dual-band carrier phase measurement is performed by the first device at a second epoch subsequent to the first epoch (Fig. 1B; Fig. 1C; ¶87; ¶96-97; ¶145);
responsive, at least in part, to a determination that there is no cycle slip between
the first dual-band carrier phase measurement and the second dual-band carrier phase measurement, determine a change in an ionospheric error value from the first epoch to the second epoch based on a difference between the measurement information regarding the first dual-band carrier phase measurement and the measurement information regarding the second dual-band carrier phase measurement (1160 following 1155, Fig. 2; ¶87; ¶96-97; ¶145) [where ¶87 states that the cycle slip detector can discard an observation when there is a cycle slip, and thus the observation is only used responsive to a determination that there is no cycle slip between the two times]; and
output an indication of the change in the ionospheric error value (output of position from 1160, Fig. 2; Fig. 3-4; ¶57; ¶87; ¶145) [where the position that is output is the indication of the change in ionospheric error value in the GNSS measurements] ;
wherein outputting the indication of the change in the ionospheric error value comprises including the information indicative of the change in the ionospheric error value in a differential carrier phase (DCP) update (output of position and velocity, Fig. 2; Fig. 3-4; ¶57; ¶106-107) [where the position and velocity the indication of the change that is output. The output can be designated an differential carrier phase (DCP) update.].
In regard to claim 23, Carcanague discloses:
means for obtaining measurement information regarding a first dual-band carrier phase measurement and measurement information regarding a second dual-band carrier phase measurement (¶87; ¶96-97; ¶145), wherein:
the first dual-band carrier phase measurement and the second dual-band carrier phase measurement are of radio frequency (RF) signals transmitted by a satellite using a first frequency band and a second frequency band (¶87; ¶96; ¶145),
the first dual-band carrier phase measurement is performed by a first device at a first epoch and the second dual-band carrier phase measurement is performed by the first device at a second epoch subsequent to the first epoch (Fig. 1B; Fig. 1C; ¶87; ¶96-97; ¶145); and
the first dual-band carrier phase measurement is performed by a first device at a first epoch and the second dual-band carrier phase measurement is performed by the first device at a second epoch subsequent to the first epoch (Fig. 1B; Fig. 1C; ¶87; ¶96-97; ¶145);
means for, responsive, at least in part, to a determination that there is no cycle slip between the first dual-band carrier phase measurement and the second dual-band carrier phase measurement, determining a change in an ionospheric error value from the first epoch to the second epoch based on a difference between the measurement information regarding the first dual-band carrier phase measurement and the measurement information regarding the second dual-band carrier phase measurement (1160 following 1155, Fig. 2; ¶87; ¶96-97; ¶145) [where ¶87 states that the cycle slip detector can discard an observation when there is a cycle slip, and thus the observation is only used responsive to a determination that there is no cycle slip between the two times]; and
means for outputting an indication of the change in the ionospheric error value (output of position from 1160, Fig. 2; Fig. 3-4; ¶57; ¶87; ¶145) [where the position that is output is the indication of the change in ionospheric error value in the GNSS measurements];
wherein outputting the indication of the change in the ionospheric error value comprises including the information indicative of the change in the ionospheric error value in a differential carrier phase (DCP) update (output of position and velocity, Fig. 2; Fig. 3-4; ¶57; ¶106-107) [where the position and velocity the indication of the change that is output. The output can be designated an differential carrier phase (DCP) update.].
In regard to claims 8, 19, and 28, Carcanague further discloses outputting the indication of the change in the ionospheric error value comprises providing
a determined position of the first device based at least in part on the change in the ionospheric error value (Position output from 1160, Fig. 2; Fig. 3-4; ¶145), to:
a positioning engine of the first device (1160 to 1180, Fig. 2; ¶8) [where 1180, Fig. 2 is part of the positioning engine],
a processor of the first device,
an application executed by the first device,
a user interface of the first device,
a second device, or
any combination thereof.
In regard to claims 9 and 20, the limitation recited is not required to be part of the claimed invention. Parent claims 8 and 19 teaches alternative limitations, i.e., "a positioning engine of the first device, ... or any combination thereof". If a parent claim includes alternative limitations, and the reference teaches one of them, further limitations to the other alternatives in dependent claims are not required limitations. See Ex parte Werner, Appeal 2019-001448, Application No. 15/109,888, March 23, 2020, 15 pages. Here, Carcanague teaches a user interface of the first device, as detailed in the rejection of claims 8 and 19, above. Claims 9 and 21 are based on another alternative/other alternatives, i.e., a second device.
In regard to claims 4-5, 15-16, and 31-34, the limitations recited are not required to be part of the claimed invention. Parent claims 1, 12, 23, and 30 teaches alternative limitations, i.e., "outputting a differential carrier phase (DCP) update or a State Space Representation (SSR) precise positioning engine (PPE) solution". If a parent claim includes alternative limitations, and the reference teaches one of them, further limitations to the other alternatives in dependent claims are not required limitations. See Ex parte Werner, Appeal 2019-001448, Application No. 15/109,888, March 23, 2020, 15 pages. Here, Carcanague teaches outputting a differential carrier phase (DCP) update, as detailed in the rejections of claims 1, 12, 23, and 30, above. Claims 4-5, 15-16, and 31-34 are based on another alternative/other alternatives, i.e., the SSR PPE solution.
While not required, it is noted that Carcanague teaches the extended Kalman filter (EKF) claimed in claims 31-34 in ¶68, where the EKF does not use an ionosphere error state.
Claim(s) 11 and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Carcanague, as applied to claims 1 and 12, above, and further in view of Robbins (US 2002/0198657 A1) and Dai (US 2010/0141510 A1).
Carcanague fails to disclose using the change in the ionospheric error value and a sum of delta geometry and delta clock values to determine a change in an ionospheric error value with respect to a single GNSS frequency band.
Robbins teaches using a change in a [dual frequency] ionospheric error value to determine a change in an ionospheric error value with respect to a single GNSS frequency band [in order to determine a corrected ionospheric error value with respect to a single GNSS frequency band to provide to a device with a single frequency receiver so the device with the single frequency receiver can correct for ionosphere error] (1240, 1245, Fig. 12; ¶106).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include this feature into the combination with a reasonable expectation of success in order to allow devices with single frequency receivers to correct for ionosphere error.
Additionally, this is a combining of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, the predictable result being that allow devices with single frequency receivers can correct for ionosphere error.
Dai teaches [a first device that provides assistance data to a second device] using a sum of delta geometry and delta clock values [to send the second device the sum of delta geometry and delta clock values as assistance information] (¶40-41).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include this feature into the combination with a reasonable expectation of success in order to provide assistance information to a second device that can used assistance information to aid it in determining its position.
Additionally, this is a combining of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, the predictable result being that the second device can determine its position using the sum of delta geometry and delta clock values.
The following reference(s) is/are also found relevant:
Cole (US 2023/0184956 A1), which teaches using a State Space Representation (SSR) precise positioning engine (PPE) solution (¶34-35; ¶43; ¶51; ¶53) in GNSS correcting and positioning in a dual-frequency positioning method/system (¶23) in order to increase the accuracy of the determined position (¶17).
Parkinson (Global Positioning System: Theory and Applications), which teaches that the ionosphere delay/error varies over time (p. 49-51).
Fine (US 2022/0018969 A1), which teaches that an SSR ionosphere delay/error can be updated after a validity period (¶31).
Kleeman (US 2022/0107427 A1), incorporated-by-reference into Cole via its application number 17/554397 (Cole: ¶49), which teaches using an extended Kalman filter state that also estimates an ambiguity term (Kleeman: ¶48 and ¶50).
Applicant is encouraged to consider these documents in formulating their response (if one is required) to this Office Action, in order to expedite prosecution of this application.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 10, 21, and 29 is/are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Reasons for Allowance/Allowable Subject Matter
The following is an examiner's statement of reasons for allowance/allowable subject matter:
The references cited, alone or in combination, do not teach or make obvious the following limitation(s):
quoted from claim 10, in combination with the claim as a whole:
"sending the change in the ionospheric error value and a sum of delta geometry and delta clock values to a second device for determination of a change in the ionospheric error value with respect to a single GNSS frequency band".
quoted from claim 21, in combination with the claim as a whole:
"the one or more processors are configured to send the change in the ionospheric error value and a sum of delta geometry and delta clock values to a second device for determination of a change in an ionospheric error value with respect to a single GNSS frequency band".
quoted from claim 29, in combination with the claim as a whole:
"means for sending the change in the ionospheric error value and a sum of delta geometry and delta clock values to a second device for determination of a change in an ionospheric error value with respect to a single GNSS frequency band".
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments on p. 10-12, with respect to the prior art rejection(s) have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
Applicant adds a limitation to claim 1 that is equivalent to adding the features of previous claims 2 and 3 as alternatives. However, applicant simply argues that Carcanague does not teach these features without addressing the rationale by which claims 2 and 3 were previously rejected. Since applicant has been unable to refute the rationale provided in the previous rejection of claims 2 and 3, corresponding to the new language now in claim 1, the rejection is maintained.
Fred H. Mull
Examiner
Art Unit 3645
/F. H. M./
Examiner, Art Unit 3645
/ROBERT W HODGE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3645