Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 1/16/2026 has been considered by the examiner and an initialed copy of the IDS is hereby attached.
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment filed on 1/16/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-2, 4, 9-10, 12, 17-18, 20, 24-25, and 27 have been amended, and no claims have been canceled, and no claims have been added.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1 under 35 USC 102(a)(1) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fine et al (US 20220018969 A1), hereinafter Fine in view of Cole et al (US 20230184956 A1), hereinafter Cole.
Regarding claim 1, Fine discloses:
a method of providing expanded state-space representation (SSR) data for global navigation satellite system (GNSS)-based positioning (Fine, para [0031], The GNSS corrections are preferably used to correct one or more satellite observations. The GNSS corrections can be associated with (e.g., correspond to) individual satellites, sets of satellites, satellite constellations, satellite frequencies, every satellite, reference stations, and/or to any data source. The GNSS corrections are preferably state space representations (SSR), but can be observation space representations (OSR), and/or in any representation. The GNSS corrections can include spatially variant corrections (e.g., local corrections, atmospheric corrections such as to correct for ionosphere delay, troposphere delays, ionosphere gradient, etc.), spatially invariant corrections (e.g., global corrections, satellite clock, satellite bias, satellite orbit, reference station clock, reference station bias, etc.), static corrections, and/or any corrections. The GNSS corrections can be associated with a validity period, wherein the corrections can be invalid outside of the validity period (e.g., and must be refreshed or updated), permanently valid, valid until an updated GNSS correction is generated, and/or otherwise valid) Examiner notes that expanded state space representation may include satellite clock errors, ionospheric delays, and tropospheric delays,
the method comprising (Fine, para [0046], The storage module preferably functions to store the GNSS corrections (or subsets thereof). The storage modules can correspond to long-term (e.g., permanent) memory or short-term (e.g., transient) memory. Examples of storage modules include caches 365, buffers, databases, look-up tables, RAM, ROM, and/or any type of memory. The storage modules preferably only store the most recently determined (e.g., updated) GNSS corrections, but can store one or more previous GNSS corrections and/or any GNSS corrections. In an illustrative example, GNSS corrections (and/or subsets thereof) can be transmitted to (e.g., routed to) the storage module after they have been updated. However, any GNSS corrections (or subsets thereof) can be transmitted to the storage module(s)) and (para [0084], In variants, the receiver position and/or protection level can be transmitted to an external system, stored (e.g., cached), used to operate and/or control an external system, can be used to determine operation instructions for an external system (e.g., at a processor of an external system), and/or used in any manner):
obtaining measurement information for an epoch (Fine, para [0036], The GNSS corrections can be updated (e.g., at a predetermined time such as based on the type of correction, the intended application, the external system, the target receiver position accuracy, target receiver position integrity, etc.) and/or fixed. The corrections can be updated at predetermined times (e.g., 1 s, 5 s, 10 s, 30 s, 60 s, 2 min, 5 min, 10 min, 20 min, 30 min, 60 min, 2 hr, 4 hr, 8 hr, 12 hr, 24 hr, etc.), responsive to a trigger (e.g., change in weather, change in temperature, change in receiver position, change in satellites in view of the receiver, etc.), manually (e.g., responsive to a user request for updated corrections), and/or with any suitable timing. Different GNSS correction types can be generated at or for the same or different time (e.g., a full correction set can be generated for an epoch, for different timeframes, at the same time, at different times, etc.)),
the measurement information indicative of a pseudo range measurement (Fine, para [0040], In variants, the metadata can include a correction region (e.g., location, area), a correction type (e.g., spatially invariant correction such as satellite orbit error, satellite clock error, satellite bias, code bias, phase bias, pseudo range bias, etc.; spatially variant corrections such as ionosphere delay, troposphere delay, ionosphere gradient, etc.; etc.), a correction format, a tag (e.g., an identifier such as for update time, most recent update, consistency set, timestamp, epoch identifier, serial identifier, version number, etc.), secure information, signatures (e.g., from the correction supplier), data integrity indicators, information relating how to interpret the corrections (or corrections data), and/or any suitable information. The tag is preferably serially incremented for each successive correction for a given correction region-correction type combination (e.g., indicating which correction for the given correction region-correction type combination is most recent), but can or be otherwise determined. In one example, different “clock” corrections for different correction regions can have the same tag value. In a second example, a “clock” and an “ionosphere” correction for the same correction region can have the same tag value),
a carrier phase measurement (Fine, para [0024], The set of satellite observations can include orbital data, timestamp, code data, carrier phase data, pseudocode data, and/or any suitable data. The set of satellite observations can include and/or be associated with metadata (e.g., ephemeris data) and/or any suitable data or information. The set of satellite observations preferably includes satellite observations corresponding to satellites from a plurality of satellite constellations (e.g., Global Positioning System (GPS), GLObal Navigation Satellite System (GLONASS), BeiDou navigation satellite System (BDS), Galileo, Navigation with Indian Constellation (NavIC), Quasi-Zenith Satellite System (QZSS), etc.). However, the set of satellite observations can correspond to satellites from a single satellite constellation, can include data from an augmentation system (e.g., Satellite Based Augmentation System (SBAS) such as Wide Area Augmentation System (WAAS), European Geostationary Navigation Overlay Service (EGNOS), Multi-Functional Satellite Augmentation System (MSAS), Omnistar, StarFire, etc.; Ground Based Augmentation Systems (GBAS) such as Local Area Augmentation System (LAAS); etc.), and/or can include any suitable data),
obtaining initial SSR data comprising orbit correction (Fine, para [0073], The GNSS corrections can be transmitted in the same or different messages (e.g., a different message for each correction, a different message for each consistency set, a different message for each geographical region, etc.). The GNSS corrections can be transmitted in any order. For example, spatially invariant corrections can be provided before spatially variant corrections, spatially variant corrections can be transmitted before spatially invariant corrections, each correction can be transmitted in a predetermined order (e.g., clocks before orbits before atmospheric corrections; orbits before clocks before atmospheric corrections; clocks before atmospheric corrections before orbits; orbits before atmospheric corrections before clocks; atmospheric corrections before clocks before orbits; atmospheric corrections before orbits before clocks; etc.), and/or corrections can be provided in any order),,
clock correction (Fine, para [0073]),
and code bias information for the epoch (Fine, para [0040]);
computing ionospheric correction data for the epoch based on the measurement information and the initial SSR data (Fine, paras [0024], [0040] and [0054], The method preferably functions to generate and/or disseminate data (e.g., a set of corrections), where the corrections can be used to estimate (e.g., calculate, determine) the receiver position. Steps and/or substeps of the method can be performed iteratively (e.g., for different epochs, for the same epoch, etc.), sequentially, and/or in any suitable order. The steps and/or substeps of the method can be performed in series and/or in parallel. The steps and/or substeps are preferably performed by a system as described above, but can be performed by any system.) Examiner notes from cited paragraphs that calculation as computation, and examples of ionospheric correction per the epoch may include pseudo range and carrier phase;
and providing the expanded SSR data, wherein the expanded SSR data includes the computed ionospheric correction data and the computed tropospheric correction data (Fine, paras [0031] and [0040]).
Cole discloses:
and a doppler measurement performed by a reference GNSS receiver of radio frequency (RF) signals transmitted by a plurality of GNSS satellites (Cole, paras [0021], The system preferably uses a set of data collected by one or more data sources. Data sources can include: GNSS receivers 100, sensors 300 (e.g., located onboard the GNSS receiver, the external system, a reference station, etc.), databases, base stations 1000 (e.g., reference stations), satellites 15, and/or any other suitable data source. Examples of data that can be used include: satellite observations (e.g., satellite code, carrier phase, Doppler, etc.; derived information such as pseudorange; etc.), sensor data, and/or any other suitable data) and (para [0025], The set of satellite observations (e.g., measured by the GNSS receiver, measured by the base station, etc.) can include orbital data, timestamp, range rate data, carrier phase data, pseudorange data, doppler data, and/or any suitable data. The set of satellite observations can be associated with metadata (e.g., ephemeris), and/or any suitable data. The set of satellite observations preferably includes satellite observations corresponding to satellites from more than one satellite constellation (e.g., Global Positioning System (GPS), GLObal Navigation Satellite System (GLONASS), BeiDou positioning System (BDS), Galileo, Navigation with Indian Constellation (NavIC), Quasi-Zenith Satellite System (QZSS), GPS Aided Geo Augmented Navigation (GAGAN), etc.). However, the set of satellite observations can correspond to satellites from a single satellite constellation, can include data from an augmentation system (e.g., Satellite Based Augmentation System (SBAS) such as Wide Area Augmentation System (WAAS), European Geostationary Navigation Overlay Service (EGNOS), Multi-Functional Satellite Augmentation System (MSAS), Omnistar, StarFire, etc.; Ground Based Augmentation Systems (GBAS) such as Local Area Augmentation System (LAAS); etc.), and/or can include any suitable data. Each satellite observation from the set of satellite observations preferably corresponds to a common time window (e.g., epoch). However, each satellite observation can be associated with a timestamp (e.g., time of transmission, time of receipt, time of processing, etc.), and/or the satellite observations can have any suitable timing):
computing tropospheric correction data for the epoch based on the determined computed ionospheric correction data, (Cole, para [0033], The corrections generator functions to determine (e.g., model, filter, calculate, compute, estimate, etc.) the GNSS corrections. The corrections generator can generate corrections from reference station data (e.g., pseudorange and/or carrier phase from reference stations), global corrections data (e.g., satellite clock, satellite orbit, bias, etc.), and/or metadata (e.g., reference station positions, ocean tide loading, antenna type, receiver type, etc.), but may additionally or alternatively generate corrections using sensor data, satellite observations (e.g., as detected at a GNSS receiver), and/or any input data.
[0034] The GNSS corrections are preferably SSR (state space representation) corrections (e.g., error estimates separate error source(s)). However, the GNSS corrections can additionally or alternatively include be OSR (observation space representation) corrections (e.g., a lump sum of errors resulting from one or more error source such as satellite clock, satellite orbit, satellite signal bias, ionospheric delay, ionospheric advance, tropospheric delay, etc. such as provided as a range correction for a combination of satellites, frequencies, and/or signals), and/or can be any suitable correction representation),
the measurement information (Cole, paras [0033-0034]) Examiner notes measurement information as carrier phase data, pseudocode, etc.,
and the initial SSR data (Cole, paras [0033-0034]).
It would have been obvious to someone in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Fine with Cole to incorporate the features of: and a doppler measurement performed by a reference GNSS receiver of radio frequency (RF) signals transmitted by a plurality of GNSS satellites; computing tropospheric correction data for the epoch based on the determined computed ionospheric correction data, the measurement information, and the initial SSR data. Both arts are considered analogous arts as they both disclose GNSS systems. The modification would render the predictable results of improved velocity estimation; reduced sensitivity to atmospheric residuals; improved atmospheric sensing capabilities; improved vertical accuracy; and improved meteorological applications.
Regarding claim 2, Fine discloses:
the method of claim 1, further comprising (Fine, paras [0031], [0046], and [0081]):
determining phase bias data based on the computed ionospheric correction data (Fine, para [0040]),
the computed tropospheric correction data (Fine, paras [0040], [0054] and [0061]),
the measurement information (Fine, para [0040]),
and the initial SSR data (Fine, para [0040]);
and including the determined phase bias data in the expanded SSR data (Fine, para [0040]).
Regarding claim 3, Fine discloses:
the method of claim 1, further comprising (Fine, paras [0031], [0046], and [0081]):
determining an SSR uncertainty value associated with the expanded SSR data (Fine, para [0070, col. 1, line 1- col. 2, line 2] Transmitting the GNSS corrections S400 functions to transmit the GNSS corrections to the GNSS receiver. S400 is preferably performed by a distribution module, but can be performed by any suitable module and/or system. Only the GNSS corrections corresponding to the receiver locality (e.g., an approximate receiver position such as accurate to within about 1 km, 10 km, 100 km, 1000 km, etc.) are preferably transmitted. For example, only corrections where an area associated with the corrections that matches (e.g., the receiver locality is within the area or geographic region as shown for example in FIG. 4; the receiver locality is within a threshold distance such as 100 m, 500 m, 1 km, 2 km, 5 km, 10 km, 50 km, 100 km, etc. of the area or geographic region; etc.) the receiver locality can be transmitted. However, additionally or alternatively, GNSS corrections corresponding to regions adjacent to the receiver locality can be transmitted (e.g., to act as a buffer such as in case connectivity between the receiver and computing system is lost, because a receiver locality uncertainty straddles two or more geographic regions, etc.) and/or any corrections can be transmitted) Examiner notes that receiver locality uncertainty as it relates to the edges of geographic SSR correction regions may lead to ambiguity when applying correction;
and including the SSR uncertainty value in the expanded SSR data (Fine, para [0073]) Examiner notes that expanded SSR data may include atmospheric corrections such as ionospheric delays, tropospheric delay as corrections changed depending on geographic location.
Regarding claim 5, Fine discloses:
the method of claim 1 (Fine, paras [0031], [0046], and [0081]),
wherein providing the expanded SSR data comprises sending the expanded SSR data to a mobile device (Fine, para [0015], The system and method preferably function to generate and transmit GNSS corrections to one or more GNSS receivers. Embodiments of the system and/or method can be used, for example, in autonomous or semi-autonomous vehicle guidance (e.g., for unmanned aerial vehicles (UAVs), unmanned aerial systems (UAS), self-driving cars, agricultural equipment, robotics, rail transport/transit systems, autonomous trucking, last mile delivery, etc.), GPS/GNSS research, surveying systems, user devices, mobile applications, internet-of-things (IOT) devices, and/or may be used in any other suitable application. In specific examples, the system (and/or components) can be coupled to any suitable external system such as a vehicle (e.g., UAV, UAS, car, truck, etc.), robot, railcar, user device (e.g., cell phone), and/or any suitable system, and can provide positioning data, integrity data (e.g., protection level data), and/or other data to said system).
Regarding claim 6, Fine discloses:
the method of claim 5 (Fine, paras [0031], [0046], and [0081]),
wherein sending the expanded SSR data to a mobile device (Fine, para [0025], The receiver(s) 100 preferably functions to receive a set of satellite observations (e.g., satellite signals such as carrier phase and satellite code) from one or more satellites. In variants, the receiver can determine the location of the receiver (and/or external system) based on the satellite observations. The receiver is preferably in communication with the computing system. However, the receiver can be integrated with the computing system, and/or the receiver and computing system can be arranged in any suitable manner. The receiver is preferably a stand-alone device (e.g., a GNSS receiver, antenna). However, the receiver can be integrated into an external system (e.g., be a component of an automobile, aero vehicle, nautical vehicle, mobile device, etc.), can be a user device (e.g., smart phone, laptop, cell phone, smart watch, etc.), and/or can be configured in any suitable manner),
obtaining the measurement information, or both, is responsive to a request from the mobile device (Fine, paras [0025] and [0040]).
Regarding claim 7, Fine discloses:
the method of claim 5 (Fine, paras [0031], [0046], and [0013], As shown in FIG. 1, the system 10 can include a computing system 300, one or more receivers 100, and one or more reference stations 200. The computing system can include a correction generator 320, a gateway 340, a storage module 360, a distribution module 380, a positioning module 390, and/or any suitable modules or components. The distribution module preferably functions to distribute (e.g., transmit) GNSS corrections to the GNSS receiver) and (para [0081]),
further comprising selecting the reference GNSS receiver from a plurality of candidate reference GNSS receivers based at least in part on a location of the reference GNSS receiver and a location of the mobile device (Fine, paras [0025] and [0029], The location (e.g., position) of the reference station(s) is preferably known to a high degree of accuracy (e.g., less than 1 mm, 1 cm, 1 dm, 1 m, etc. of uncertainty in the location of the reference station). The location of the reference station(s) can be static and/or dynamic.
[0030] The computing system preferably functions to generate GNSS corrections, update the GNSS corrections, determine and/or associate metadata with the GNSS corrections, and transmit the GNSS corrections to the receiver(s). However, the computing system can generate and/or process any suitable data and/or perform any function. The computing system is preferably coupled to the receiver(s) and/or the reference station(s). The computing system can be local (e.g., to a receiver, to a reference station, etc.), remote (e.g., server, cloud, etc.), and/or distributed (e.g., between a local computing system and a remote computing system));
and wherein obtaining the measurement information comprises (Fine, para [0025]):
sending a request for the measurement information to the reference GNSS receiver (Fine, para [0026], In variants of the system including more than one receiver, each receiver can be configured to receive satellite observations corresponding to a satellite constellation, to a carrier frequency (e.g., the L1, L2, L5, E1, E5a, E5b, E5ab, E6, G1, G2, G3, B1, B2, B3, LEX, etc. frequencies), and/or corresponding to any suitable source.
[0027] The reference station(s) 200 preferably function to receive a set of satellite observations (e.g., reference station satellite observations) and transmit the reference station satellite observations to the computing system (and/or to the receiver). The satellite observations from the reference station(s) can be used to determine corrections (e.g., local and/or spatially invariant corrections such as to account for atmospheric effects, to account for clock errors, etc.) to the set of satellite observations corresponding to the receiver. Each reference station is preferably communicably coupled to the computing system. However, the reference station can include the computing system and/or be coupled to the computing system in any suitable manner. The reference stations can be in communication with the receiver. The reference station(s) are preferably located within about 500 km of the receiver(s), but the distance between the reference stations and the receiver(s) can be any distance);
and receiving the measurement information from the reference GNSS receiver (Fine, paras [0024] and [0026-0027]).
Regarding claim 8, Fine discloses:
the method of claim 5 (Fine, paras [0013], [0031], [0046], and [0081]),
wherein sending the expanded SSR data to a mobile device comprises broadcasting the expanded SSR data (Fine, para [0020], Third, variants of the technology resolve SSR issues. First, tagging corrections with a tag (e.g., serial identifier) identifies the most recent correction (of a given type) to use, resolving issues stemming from asynchronous correction type updates. The tagging can also resolve receiver connectivity issues, and identify lost or dropped corrections. Second, this allows the corrections to be broadcast instead of retrieved by the receiver, which resolves corrections versioning issues arising from SSR's one-directional nature).
Claim 9 is rejected under the same analysis as claim 1.
Claim 10 is rejected under the same analysis as claim 2.
Claim 11 is rejected under the same analysis as claim 3.
Claim 17 is rejected under the same analysis as claim 1.
Claim 18 is rejected under the same analysis as claim 2.
Claim 19 is rejected under the same analysis as claim 3.
Claim 21 is rejected under the same analysis as claim 5.
Claim 22 is rejected under the same analysis as claim 7.
Claim 23 is rejected under the same analysis as claim 8.
Claim 24 is rejected under the same analysis as claim 1.
Claim 25 is rejected under the same analysis as claim 2.
Claim 26 is rejected under the same analysis as claim 3.
Claim 28 is rejected under the same analysis as claim 5.
Claim 29 is rejected under the same analysis as claim 7.
Claim 30 is rejected under the same analysis as claim 8.
Claims 4, 12, 20, and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over unpatentable over Fine et al (US 20220018969 A1), hereinafter Fine in view of Cole et al (US 20230184956 A1), hereinafter Cole and further in view of Thomas (US 20250048327 A1).
Regarding claim 4, Fine discloses:
the method of claim 1 (Fine, paras [0031], [0046], and [0081]),
Cole discloses:
The combination of Fine and Cole fail to disclose: wherein computing the ionospheric correction data comprises estimating a slant total electron content (STEC) value from the pseudo range measurement and the carrier phase measurement using a geometry-free measurement.
Thomas US 20250048327 A1 discloses:
Wherein computing the ionospheric correction data comprises estimating a slant total electron content (STEC) value from the pseudo range measurement and the carrier phase measurement using a geometry-free measurement (Thomas, pg. 14, Table 7: #20-22 seen below)
It would have been obvious to someone in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination Fine and Cole with Thomas to incorporate the features of: Wherein computing the ionospheric correction data comprises estimating a slant total electron content (STEC) value from the pseudo range measurement and the carrier phase measurement using a geometry-free measurement. Fine does not disclose computing the ionospheric correction data comprises estimating a slant total electron content (STEC) value from the pseudo range measurement and the carrier phase measurement using a geometry-free measurement. Cole discloses computing of ionospheric correction data using geometry-free measurement. The combination of Fine and Cole fail to disclose: wherein computing the ionospheric correction data comprises estimating a slant total electron content (STEC) value from the pseudo range measurement and the carrier phase measurement using a geometry-free measurements as discloses by Thomas. The modification would render the predictable results of cleaner isolation from more accurate Slant Total Electron Content (STEC) values; improved bias handling; and improved precision via carrier phase.
Claim 12 is rejected under the same analysis as claim 4.
Claim 20 is rejected under the same analysis as claim 4.
Claim 27 is rejected under the same analysis as claim 4.
References Cited But Not Relied Upon
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure as thus:
Rautalin et al US 20240345256 A1 discloses a dynamic augmentation of ionospheric correction data represented by slant total electron content (STEC)
Kuismanen et al US 20230393282 A1 discloses as method and apparatus to facilitate positional corrections for atmospheric delay and/or advance that includes GNSS-SSR-STEC correction messaging
He et al US 20220317310 A1 discloses a system and method for converting state space representation information to observation space representation and the utilization of STEC after inter-satellite single difference
Segal et al US 20220011446 A1 discloses a system and method for determining GNSS positioning corrections and ionospheric delay such as STEC
Morrison et al US 20230384412 A1 discloses a position-grid based machine learning for GNSS warm-start position accuracy wherein the GNSS device computes/calculates quantities associated with positioning (paras [0085-0086]), and the computation of ionospheric data (paras [0091], [0112], and [0115])
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KIMBERLY JENKINS/Examiner, Art Unit 3648
/VLADIMIR MAGLOIRE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3648