DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: FIG. 5 & FIG. 6 describes “Z21a”, “Z22a”, “B21”, “B22” which are not in the specification. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d), or amendment to the specification to add the reference character(s) in the description in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(b) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Morrison (US 20200398992 A1, “Morrison”).
Regarding claim 1, Morrison discloses an aircraft comprising: a propulsion propeller configured to provide aerodynamic thrust to propel the aircraft in flight (see abstract “aircraft” & “propeller assemblies” & see [0080] “differential thrust from the electric motors operating propellers/rotors 29” & “guide the aircraft 1000 to its intended destination” reads on flight); an electrical propulsion system including at least one electrical propulsion motor including independent electrical windings, a first electrical winding and a second electrical winding independent of the first electrical winding, wherein the at least one electrical propulsion motor is mechanically coupled to the propulsion propeller and configured to drive the propulsion propeller (see [0013] “propulsion system” & see [0123] “multiple electric motors”), an electrical supply system comprising (see [0110] “electrical components needed to supply the motor and propeller combinations with power”): a first set of fuel cells electrically coupled to the first electrical winding and configured to supply electrical power to the first electrical winding (see [0110] “the fuel cell modules 18 (e.g., one or more hydrogen-powered fuel cells or hydrocarbon-fueled motors) create the electricity to power the six motor and propeller assemblies 29 (of multiple motors and propellers 29)”); a first compressor configured to supply compressed ambient air to the first set of fuel cells and the second set of fuel cells (see [0019] “one or more oxygen delivery mechanisms” & “configured to gather and compress ambient air into compressed air that is supplied to an air inlet and an inflow end of the oxygen flowfield plate of each hydrogen fuel cell of the plurality of hydrogen fuel cells” & “compressors”), wherein the compressed ambient air provides oxygen which reacts with hydrogen in the first and the second sets of fuel cells to generate the electrical power (see abstract “fuel cells working together to process gaseous oxygen from air compressed by turbochargers, superchargers, blowers or local oxygen supply and gaseous hydrogen from liquid hydrogen transformed by heat exchangers” & see [0010] “generating electrical power using a fuel cell”); and a first electric motor mechanically coupled to drive the first compressor, the first electric motor comprising a third electrical winding electrically coupled to the first set of fuel cells and a fourth electrical winding electrically coupled to the second set of fuel cells (see [0031] “compressor motors”; see [0110] “the fuel cell modules 18 (e.g., one or more hydrogen-powered fuel cells or hydrocarbon-fueled motors) create the electricity to power the six motor and propeller assemblies 29 (of multiple motors and propellers 29)”).
Regarding claim 2, Morrison discloses the aircraft of claim 1 and further discloses wherein the electrical supply system further comprises a cooling system configured to cool at least part of the first and the second sets of fuel cells, the cooling system comprising a first fan including a fifth electrical winding electrically coupled to the first set of fuel cells and a sixth electrical winding electrically coupled to the second set of fuel cells (see [0068] “cooling system 44” & see [0031] “fan motors”).
Regarding claim 3, Morrison discloses an electrical supply system for an electrical propulsion system of an aircraft (see abstract “an electrical circuit configured to collect electrons from the plurality of hydrogen fuel cells to supply voltage and current to motor controllers”; see [0110] “electrical components needed to supply the motor and propeller combinations with power”) the electrical supply system comprising: a first set of fuel cells configured to supply electrical power to at least one electric propulsion motor driving a propeller configured to provide aerodynamic thrust to the aircraft (see [0110] “the fuel cell modules 18 (e.g., one or more hydrogen-powered fuel cells or hydrocarbon-fueled motors) create the electricity to power the six motor and propeller assemblies 29 (of multiple motors and propellers 29)” & see abstract “aircraft” & “propeller assemblies” & see [0080] “differential thrust from the electric motors operating propellers/rotors 29”); a second set of fuel cells configured to supply electrical power to the at least one electric propulsion motor driving the propeller (see [0110] “the fuel cell modules 18 (e.g., one or more hydrogen-powered fuel cells or hydrocarbon-fueled motors) create the electricity to power the six motor and propeller assemblies 29 (of multiple motors and propellers 29)”); a first compressor configured to supply compressed ambient air to at least one of the first and second sets of fuel cells, wherein the compressed ambient air provides oxygen which reacts with hydrogen in the first sets of fuel cells to generate the electrical power (see [0019] “one or more oxygen delivery mechanisms” & “configured to gather and compress ambient air into compressed air that is supplied to an air inlet and an inflow end of the oxygen flowfield plate of each hydrogen fuel cell of the plurality of hydrogen fuel cells” & “compressors”) and a first electric motor configured to drive the first compressor, wherein the first electric motor includes a first electrical winding electrically coupled to the first set of fuel cells and a second electrical winding electrically coupled to the second set of fuel cells, wherein the first electrical winding is electrically isolated from the second electrical winding (see [0031] “compressor motors”; see [0110] “the fuel cell modules 18 (e.g., one or more hydrogen-powered fuel cells or hydrocarbon-fueled motors) create the electricity to power the six motor and propeller assemblies 29 (of multiple motors and propellers 29)”).
Regarding claim 4, Morrison discloses the electrical supply system of claim 3 and further discloses wherein the first compressor is configured to supply compressed ambient air to the first and the second sets of fuel cells (see [0019] “one or more oxygen delivery mechanisms” & “configured to gather and compress ambient air into compressed air that is supplied to an air inlet and an inflow end of the oxygen flowfield plate of each hydrogen fuel cell of the plurality of hydrogen fuel cells” & “compressors”).
Regarding claim 5, Morrison discloses the electrical supply system of claim 3 and further discloses further comprising a third set of fuel cells configured to supply electrical power to the at least one electrical propulsion motor (see [0110] “the fuel cell modules 18 (e.g., one or more hydrogen-powered fuel cells or hydrocarbon-fueled motors) create the electricity to power the six motor and propeller assemblies 29 (of multiple motors and propellers 29)”), wherein the first compressor is configured to supply compressed air to the first, the second and the third sets of fuel cells (see [0019] “one or more oxygen delivery mechanisms” & “configured to gather and compress ambient air into compressed air that is supplied to an air inlet and an inflow end of the oxygen flowfield plate of each hydrogen fuel cell of the plurality of hydrogen fuel cells” & “compressors”) and the first electric motor includes a third electrical winding electrically coupled to the third set of fuel cells (see [0080] “electric motors operating propellers/rotors 29”).
Regarding claim 6, Morrison discloses the electrical supply system of claim 3 and further discloses further comprising: a third set of fuel cells configured to provide electrical power to the at least one electrical propulsion motor (see [0110] “the fuel cell modules 18 (e.g., one or more hydrogen-powered fuel cells or hydrocarbon-fueled motors) create the electricity to power the six motor and propeller assemblies 29 (of multiple motors and propellers 29)”); a fourth set of fuel cells configured to supply electrical power to the at least one electric propulsion motor (see [0110] “the fuel cell modules 18 (e.g., one or more hydrogen-powered fuel cells or hydrocarbon-fueled motors) create the electricity to power the six motor and propeller assemblies 29 (of multiple motors and propellers 29)”); a second compressor configured to supply compressed ambient air to at least one of the third and the fourth sets of fuel cells (see [0019] “one or more oxygen delivery mechanisms” & “configured to gather and compress ambient air into compressed air that is supplied to an air inlet and an inflow end of the oxygen flowfield plate of each hydrogen fuel cell of the plurality of hydrogen fuel cells” & “compressors”); and a second electric motor configured to mechanically drive the second compressor, wherein the second electric motor includes a third electrical winding electrically coupled to the third set of fuel cells and a fourth electrical winding electrically coupled to the fourth set of fuel cells (see [0080] “electric motors operating propellers/rotors 29”).
Regarding claim 7, Morrison discloses the electrical supply system of claim 3 and further discloses wherein the compressor includes a turbo-compressor (see [0019] “turbocharger” & “compressors”).
Regarding claim 8, Morrison discloses the electrical supply system of claim 3 and further discloses further comprising: a cooling system configured to cool at least the first and the second, sets of the fuel cells, the cooling system comprising a first fan with a fifth electrical winding electrically coupled to the first set of the fuel cells, and a sixth electrical winding electrically coupled to the second set of the fuel cells (see [0068] “cooling system 44” & see [0031] “fan motors”; see [0080] “electric motors operating propellers/rotors 29”).
Regarding claim 9, Morrison discloses the electrical supply system of claim 6 and further discloses further comprising a cooling system including: a first fan with a fifth electrical winding electrically coupled to the first set of the fuel cells, and a sixth electrical winding electrically coupled to the second set of the fuel cells, wherein the first fan is configured to cool the first and the second sets of the fuel cells; and a second fan configured to cool the third and the fourth sets of the fuel cells, and the second fan includes a seventh electrical winding electrically coupled to the third set of the fuel cells, and an eighth electrical winding electrically coupled to the fourth set of the fuel cells (see [0068] “cooling system 44” & see [0031] “fan motors” & see [0080] “electric motors operating propellers/rotors 29”).
Regarding claim 10, Morrison discloses the electrical supply system of claim 5 and further discloses further comprising a first fan configured to cool the first, the second and the third sets of the fuel cells, and the first fan includes an electrical motor with a fourth winding electrically powered by the first set of the fuel cells, a fifth winding electrically powered by the second set of fuel cells, and a sixth winding electrically coupled to the third set of fuel cells (see [0068] “cooling system 44” & see [0031] “fan motors”; see [0080] “electric motors operating propellers/rotors 29”).
Regarding claim 11, Morrison discloses the electrical supply system of claim 10 and further discloses further comprising: a second fan configured to cool at least one of the first, the second and the third sets of the fuel cells, the second fan comprising a seventh winding electrically coupled to the third set of the fuel cells (see [0068] “cooling system 44” & see [0031] “fan motors”; see [0080] “electric motors operating propellers/rotors 29”).
Regarding claim 12, Morrison discloses an electrical propulsion system of an aircraft comprising: an electric propulsion motor configured to drive a propeller configured to provide aerodynamic thrust to the aircraft (see [0013] “propulsion system”; see [0123] “multiple electric motors”; see [0080] “differential thrust from the electric motors operating propellers/rotors 29”), wherein the electric propulsion motor includes a first winding and a second winding electrically isolated from the first winding (see [0013] “propulsion system”; see [0123] “multiple electric motors”); a first set of fuel cells configured to supply electrical power to the first winding (see [0110] “the fuel cell modules 18 (e.g., one or more hydrogen-powered fuel cells or hydrocarbon-fueled motors) create the electricity to power the six motor and propeller assemblies 29 (of multiple motors and propellers 29)”); a second set of fuel cells configured to supply electrical power to the second winding (see [0110] “the fuel cell modules 18 (e.g., one or more hydrogen-powered fuel cells or hydrocarbon-fueled motors) create the electricity to power the six motor and propeller assemblies 29 (of multiple motors and propellers 29)”); a first compressor configured to supply compressed ambient air to the first set of fuel cells and the second set of fuel cells, wherein the compressed ambient air provides oxygen which reacts with hydrogen in the first and the second sets of fuel cells to generate the electrical power (see [0019] “one or more oxygen delivery mechanisms” & “configured to gather and compress ambient air into compressed air that is supplied to an air inlet and an inflow end of the oxygen flowfield plate of each hydrogen fuel cell of the plurality of hydrogen fuel cells” & “compressors”); and a first electric motor configured to drive the first compressor, wherein the first electric motor includes a third electrical winding electrically coupled to the first set of fuel cells and a fourth electrical winding electrically coupled to the second set of fuel cells, wherein the fourth electrical winding is electrically isolated from the third electrical winding (see [0080] “electric motors operating propellers/rotors 29”).
Regarding claim 13, Morrison discloses the electrical propulsion system of claim 12 and further discloses further comprising: a first controller configured to control application of the electrical power from the first set of the fuel cells to the first winding, and a second controller configured to control application of the electrical power from the second set of the fuel cells to the second winding (see abstract “controllers” & [0017] “plurality of motor controllers configured to control a plurality of motor and propeller assemblies; zero, one or more battery arrays; one or more circuit boards; one or more processors; one or more memory; one or more electronic components, electrical connections, electrical wires”).
Regarding claim 14, Morrison discloses the electrical propulsion system of claim 13 and further discloses further comprising: a first fan with a fifth electrical winding electrically coupled to the first set of the fuel cells, and a sixth electrical winding electrically coupled to the second set of the fuel cells, wherein the first fan is configured to cool the first and the second sets of fuel cells (see [0068] “cooling system 44” & see [0031] “fan motors”;
see [0080] “electric motors operating propellers/rotors 29”).
Conclusion
/S.A.A./Examiner, Art Unit 1725
/JAMES M ERWIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1725 01/20/2026