DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Application
Claims 1-31 are pending. During a telephone conversation with Mr. Eric Balicky on 9/16/25 a provisional election was made without traverse to prosecute the invention of Group II, drawn to a method of treating depression by administering a dopamine D4 and 5-HT2A receptor antagonist, reverse agonist, or partial agonist, and the species, pipamperone. Affirmation of this election must be made by applicant in replying to this Office action. Claims 5-6, 22 have withdrawn from further consideration by the examiner, 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a non-elected invention. Claims 1-4, 7-21, 23-31 are examined herein insofar as it reads on the elected invention and species.
Claim Objections
Claim 19 is objected to because of the following informalities: In the phrase “with a an effective amount of a dopamine D4 and 5-HT2A receptor antagonist” please delete the unnecessary “a”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3, 8-10, 30-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 112, second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which applicant regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 3, 8-10, 30-31, the phrases "preferably" and “e.g.” renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrases are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 7-12, 15-19, 23-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Buntinx (EP 1 541 197, of record).
Buntinx teaches the use of the D4 and 5-HT2A receptor antagonist, pipamperone, (paragraphs 0010-0011) for treating a mood or anxiety disorder, wherein 5-15 mg of pipamperone is administered simultaneously, separate, or sequentially to augment the therapeutic effect with a second active agent selected from an SNDRI, SNRI, or SSRI (paragraph 0012), for example the SSRI, citalopram or escitalopram (paragraphs 0031-0034). For example, pipamperone can be administered 1-12 months before administration of the second active agent (paragraph 0085). An example of a mood disorder is depression, which are commonly treated with SSRIs. However, these compounds can give rise to side effects. Moreover, a substantial problem is the non-response to SSRIs or delayed therapeutic effect (paragraph 0048). It was found that this non-response to SSRIs in depression may be declared by partial inhibition of the 5-HT2A stimulation, therefore 5-HT2A antagonism appears to be the answer (paragraph 0050). Examples 2-3, 6 and Figures 3-11 shows the effect of pipamperon as an add-on treatment in comparison to using SSRIs or SNRI in treating major depression for 8 weeks. Some side effects include central and peripheral nervous system, gastrointestinal, musculoskeletal, psychiatric, respiratory, skin and appendages, vascular, and urinary in nature (paragraph 0157). Specifically, Figures 3 and 6 show remission rates form the combo treatment for major depression (paragraph 0129). The term “treatment” or “treating” encompasses prevention or recurrence or relapse-prevention of the disease or symptoms associated therewith (paragraph 0074). In Example 6, the Hamilton Depression Rating Scale score was reduced by at least 20% more than reached with conventional known antidepressants as well as preventing significantly more relapses during 48 weeks following treatment (paragraphs 0184). Tables 3 and 4 show an active controlled randomized relapse prevention study for 36 weeks, where the active mono and combo therapy was continued (paragraph 0185).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 13-14, 20-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Buntinx (EP 1 541 197, of record), as applied to claims 1-4, 7-12, 15-19, 23-31, in view of Papaetropoulos et al. (“The effect of depression on motor function and disease severity of Parkinson’s disease,” Clinical Neurology and Neurosurgery, 2006, 108, 465-469) and Pan et al. (“Bidirectional Association Between Depression and Metabolic Syndrome,” Diabetes Care, 2012, 35, 1171-1180).
The instant claims are directed to a method for treating a subject with depression by administering a dopamine D4 and 5HT2A receptor antagonist, reverse agonist, or partial agonist, wherein the subject is partially responsive to antidepressant therapy.
Buntinx teaches as discussed above, however, fail to disclose wherein the side effects comprise motor symptoms or metabolic syndrome.
Papaetropoulos et al. teach that depression can have a profound negative impact on a patient’s motor functioning (abstract).
Pan et al. teach the bidirectional association between depression and metabolic syndrome (abstract).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have selected a subject with the side effects, motor symptoms and metabolic syndrome, as taught by Papaetropoulos and Pan et al., in the method of treating depression by administering pipamperone, as taught by Buntinx.
A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to select a subject having the side effects, motor symptoms and metabolic syndrome, because Papaetropoulos and Pan et al. teach that subjects suffering from depression have a high likelihood of also having motor symptoms and metabolic syndrome. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in treating depression in a subject with motor symptoms and metabolic syndrome by administering pipamperone.
Conclusion
/Yong S. Chong/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1623