DETAILED ACTION
1. This Office Action is responsive to claims filed for No. 18/328,736 on June 21, 2026. Please note Claims 1-22 are pending.
Priority
3. The later-filed application must be an application for a patent for an invention which is also disclosed in the prior application (the parent or original nonprovisional application or provisional application). The disclosure of the invention in the parent application and in the later-filed application must be sufficient to comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or the first paragraph of pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, except for the best mode requirement. See Transco Products, Inc. v. Performance Contracting, Inc., 38 F.3d 551, 32 USPQ2d 1077 (Fed. Cir. 1994).
The disclosure of the prior-filed application, Application No. 17/003,606, fails to provide adequate support or enablement in the manner provided by 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph for one or more claims of this application. The parent application does not reasonably provide possession of aspects of the clip-on corrective lens and in general, additional/supplemental (in addition to the primary lens) optics which can be compensated for. This child application is the first disclosure in this family to detail the corrective lens which can be clipped on to the primary lens and specific compensation parameters for the clip-on corrective lens themselves. Furthermore, aspects of offsets, etc, while directed to subpixel aspects, are not detailed to enough extent with regards to the corrective lenses. [0294] of the disclosure beings many of the new details and even so, this level of detail is not sufficient, let alone applicable to the parent application. This level of detail was not found in the parent application (or the provisional applications) and as such, Claims 1-20 are not accorded the priority date. The effective filed date for this application is June 3, 2023.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
5. Claims 1-15 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 1 recites therein of correcting for optical crosstalk when viewing through the primary lens and NOT viewed through the clip-on corrective lens as well as correcting for optical crosstalk when viewing through the primary lens and the clip-on corrective lens.
While Examiner can appreciate the crosstalk is designed to accommodate for the clip-on lens, such as what is shown in Figure 34, it is unclear where this correction is done when viewed through the primary lens and not the clip-on. While Figure 33 discloses a situation in which the clip-on is not provided, it does not detail how or why the optical crosstalk is corrected for. This level of detail, found particularly in Claim 11, is not seemingly disclosed. To clarify, it is not clear where support for correction is situations where only the primary lens is viewed through, without the clip-on. Similar issues exist in Claim 11 as well.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
8. Claims 1, 2, 6-10 and 16-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kurz et al. ( US 2022/0391608 A1 ) in view of Sztuk et al. ( US 2025/0130634 A1 ).
Kurz teaches in Claim 1:
An electronic device ( Figure 1, [0021]-[0022] disclose an HMD 100 housing various components ) comprising:
an electronic display comprising a display panel, a primary lens and a clip-on corrective lens ( Figure 1, [0023] discloses the HMD having a housing for a display 110. [0023] discloses one or more lenses 112 that refracts the light emitted by the display (read as a primary lens). [0026] discloses a clip-on corrective lens 200 which can be attached to the HMD housing as well ); and
image processing circuitry configured to process image data to correct for optical crosstalk of the electronic display based on actual viewing characteristic parameters corresponding to an actual eye position [when the display panel is viewed through the primary lens and not viewed through the clip-on corrective lens] and based on virtual viewing characteristic parameters corresponding to a virtual eye position when the display panel is viewed through the primary lens and the clip-on corrective lens ( [0005] discloses corrective processing by the HMD based on the specifics of the corrective lenses, such as prescription, colorblindness, etc, which are part of an identified code. Figure 7, [0055] details that based on the identified code, content can be adapted in the way it is rendered, i.e modifying a displayed image to compensate for lens distortion (based on the prescription in the identified code found on the transparent surface; please read this as crosstalk correction) For more details, [0028] discloses details on the markings which can encode prescription parameters, e.g. nearsighted, farsighted, etc (read as viewing characteristics). These parameters are then processed and the image content is adapted. [0044] further discloses minor displacements of the spatial positioning of the corrective lenses themselves, which can be corrected for, i.e. another example of viewing characteristics which are corrected for. Furthermore, please note the combination below as well ); but
Kurz may not explicitly teach of compensation “when the display panel is viewed through the primary lens and not viewed through the clip-on corrective lens” and in general, more detail about compensation will be provided below.
In the same field of endeavor, calibration for eye tracking systems, Sztuk teaches of also using prescription lens 254, ( Sztuk, Figure 4, [0113] ). Notably, Sztuk teaches in [0114] and [0088]+ of obtaining a distortion map to adjust or change rendering content to account for distortion caused by prescription lens when the user is viewing through the lens (read as correcting for optical crosstalk). Please note the prescription lens can be in addition to other lens in the system 200, [0069]. [0069] also discloses of using a calibrator 132 here as well to adjust for depth and this also uses a distortion map, [0087]. To clarify, the key concept Stzuk is relied on here for is correcting for distortion/optical crosstalk caused by lens issues. One of ordinary skill in the art would realize that Stzuk uses distortion map/profiling to adjust for whatever lens setup the user is using, whether it is the primary lens or an added/inserted prescription lens, i.e. correcting when viewing through primary and not clip-on as well as viewing through primary as well as clip-on.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the effective filed date of the invention, to implement the distortion map correction for lenses, as taught by Stzuk, with the motivation for improved viewing quality, ( Stzuk, [0088] ).
Kurz teaches in Claim 2:
The electronic device of claim 1, wherein display panel comprises a color filter layer, wherein optical crosstalk is generated among a plurality of color components of image data when the image data is displayed on the display panel and viewed through the color filter layer. ( Respectfully, a color filter layer is well known in the art and color shift is a well known issue. Examiner asserts Official Notice to this concept, namely a color filter layer )
Kurz teaches in Claim 6:
The electronic device of claim 5, wherein the virtual viewing characteristic parameters comprise adjusted actual viewing characteristic parameters comprising measured viewing characteristics with one or more offsets based on one or more parameters of the corrective lens. ( [0044] discloses minor displacements, such as to the right, left, up or down (read as offsets) which impact the viewing characteristics. Another example includes the far and near sightedness of the corrective lenses, as detailed in [0028]. These are corrected for using rendering processes (read as adjusted viewing characteristics) )
Kurz teaches in Claim 7:
The electronic device of claim 6, wherein the one or more offsets comprise an eye relief offset, an x-offset, or a y-offset of a pupil measured by an eye tracker. ( [0044] discloses minor displacements which can be determined from an image sensor. Furthermore, the identified code can allow for proper rendering which can reduce or avoid pupil swim, which occurs when a user turns their head, resulting in a displacement/offset, as detailed in [0055]. [0002] discloses eye tracking image sensors which can detect position and movement of the user’s eyes and [0024] discloses the eye tracking characteristics determine the pupil center, which then allows for offsets to be determined, i.e. gaze information. Furthermore, pupil swim in which images appear wobbly, as detailed in [0044], is also corrected for, providing eye relief/offset correction )
Kurz teaches in Claim 8: The electronic device of claim 6, wherein the one or more parameters of the corrective lens comprises a power of the corrective lens. ( [0043] discloses power aspects of the prescription as part of the markings in the corrective lenses )
Kurz and Stzuk teach in Claim 9:
The electronic device of claim 6, wherein the image processing circuitry or other data processing circuitry of the electronic device is configured to determine the one or more offsets based on a relationship between a baseline eye relief indicating a first distance between the electronic display and an eye of a user without the corrective lens and a corrective lens eye relief indicating a second distance between the electronic display and the eye of the user with the corrective lens. ( [0044] discloses minor displacements which can be determined from an image sensor (read displacements as offset from a baseline). Furthermore, the identified code can allow for proper rendering which can reduce or avoid pupil swim, which occurs when a user turns their head, resulting in a displacement/offset, as detailed in [0055] (another example of from a baseline). [0002] discloses eye tracking image sensors which can detect position and movement of the user’s eyes and [0024] discloses the eye tracking characteristics determine the pupil center, which then allows for offsets to be determined, i.e. gaze information. Furthermore, pupil swim in which images appear wobbly, as detailed in [0044], is also corrected for, providing eye relief/offset correction. Furthermore, please note the combination with Stzuk who teaches of distortion map compensation for a prescription lens, i.e. an additional lens to the primary, necessarily meaning a second distance different from the first distance )
Kurz teaches in Claim 10:
The electronic device of claim 6, wherein the image processing circuitry or other data processing circuitry of the electronic device is configured to determine the one or more offsets based on a relationship between a baseline x- or y-offset and a corrective lens x- or y-offset. ( The same reasoning in Claim 9 is also applicable here as well: [0044] discloses minor displacements which can be determined from an image sensor (read displacements as offset from a baseline). Furthermore, the identified code can allow for proper rendering which can reduce or avoid pupil swim, which occurs when a user turns their head, resulting in a displacement/offset, as detailed in [0055] (another example of from a baseline). [0002] discloses eye tracking image sensors which can detect position and movement of the user’s eyes and [0024] discloses the eye tracking characteristics determine the pupil center, which then allows for offsets to be determined, i.e. gaze information. Furthermore, pupil swim in which images appear wobbly, as detailed in [0044], is also corrected for, providing eye relief/offset correction )
Kurz teaches in Claim 16:
One or more tangible, non-transitory, machine-readable media comprising instructions that, when executed ( [0052] discloses a non-transitory computer-readable medium using a processor to execute a method ), cause at least the following operations to be performed:
obtaining actual viewing characteristics of an eye viewing an electronic display through a corrective lens ( Figure 1, [0023] discloses the HMD having a housing for a display 110. [0026] discloses a corrective lens 200 which can be attached to the HMD housing as well. [0028] discloses details on markings on the corrective lens which can encode prescription parameters, e.g. nearsighted, farsighted, etc (read as viewing characteristics). These parameters are then processed and the image content is adapted. [0044] further discloses minor displacements of the spatial positioning of the corrective lenses themselves, which can be corrected for, i.e. another example of viewing characteristics which are corrected for );
performing a color shift compensation based on supplying the virtual viewing characteristics to image processing circuitry ( [0005] discloses an issue of colorblindness and the corrective processing here includes increasing contrast or modify selective colors (read as a color shift compensation) ); but
Kurz may not explicitly teach “adjusting the actual viewing characteristics based on a parameter of the corrective lens to obtain virtual viewing characteristics”.
In the same field of endeavor, calibration for eye tracking systems, Sztuk teaches of also using prescription lens 254, ( Sztuk, Figure 4, [0113] ). Notably, Sztuk teaches in [0114] and [0088]+ of obtaining a distortion map to adjust or change rendering content to account for distortion caused by prescription lens when the user is viewing through the lens (read the correction as obtaining virtual viewing characteristics as this is adjusted from the actual viewing characteristics for the prescription lens. To clarify, the adjustment is made to adjust the content displayed to the user, i.e. virtual content). Please note the prescription lens can be in addition to other lens in the system 200, [0069]. [0069] also discloses of using a calibrator 132 here as well to adjust for depth and this also uses a distortion map, [0087]. To clarify, the key concept Stzuk is relied on here for is correcting for distortion/optical crosstalk caused by lens issues.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the effective filed date of the invention, to implement the distortion map correction for lenses, as taught by Stzuk, with the motivation for improved viewing quality, ( Stzuk, [0088] ).
Kurz and Stzuk teach in Claim 17:
The tangible, non-transitory, machine-readable media of claim 16, wherein the actual viewing characteristics comprise an actual viewing angle, an actual viewing location, or an actual viewing aperture size, or any combination thereof. ( [0044] discloses minor displacements, such as to the right, left, up or down (read as offsets) which impact the viewing characteristics. Another example includes the far and near sightedness of the corrective lenses, as detailed in [0028]. These are corrected for using rendering processes and the issues represent a viewing location issue as well as viewing angle (considering the distortion between the two lenses impacts the viewing angles). Also, please note the combination with regards the distortion compensation, resulting in a change from actual to virtual characteristics )
Kurz teaches in Claim 18:
The tangible, non-transitory, machine-readable media of claim 17, wherein adjusting the actual viewing characteristics comprise adjusting the actual viewing location based at least in part on a power of the corrective lens. ( [0043] discloses power aspects of the prescription as part of the markings in the corrective lenses. This is corrected for )
Kurz teaches in Claim 19:
The tangible, non-transitory, machine-readable media of claim 17, wherein the actual viewing location comprises an actual ye relief, an actual x-offset, or an actual y-offset of a pupil of the eye viewing the electronic display. ( [0044] discloses minor displacements which can be determined from an image sensor. Furthermore, the identified code can allow for proper rendering which can reduce or avoid pupil swim, which occurs when a user turns their head, resulting in a displacement/offset, as detailed in [0055]. [0002] discloses eye tracking image sensors which can detect position and movement of the user’s eyes and [0024] discloses the eye tracking characteristics determine the pupil center, which then allows for offsets to be determined, i.e. gaze information. Furthermore, pupil swim in which images appear wobbly, as detailed in [0044], is also corrected for, providing eye relief/offset correction )
Kurz teaches in Claim 20:
The tangible, non-transitory, machine-readable media of claim 19, wherein adjusting the actual viewing characteristics comprise applying a correction offset to the actual eye relief, the actual x-offset, or the actual y-offset, wherein the correction offset is based at least in part on a power of the corrective lens. ( [0043] discloses power aspects of the prescription as part of the markings in the corrective lenses. This is corrected for and [0044] discloses the minor displacements )
Kurz and Stzuk teach in Claim 21:
The system of claim 11, wherein the display panel comprises a color filter layer, wherein optical crosstalk is generated among a plurality of color components of image data when the image data is displayed on the display panel and viewed through the color filter layer. ( Respectfully, a color filter layer is well known in the art and color shift is a well known issue. Examiner asserts Official Notice to this concept, namely a color filter layer )
Kurz and Stzuk teach in Claim 22:
The tangible, non-transitory, machine-readable media of claim 16, wherein the electronic display comprises a color filter layer, wherein optical crosstalk resulting in color shift is generated among a plurality of color components of image data when the image data is displayed on the electronic display and viewed through the color filter layer. ( Respectfully, a color filter layer is well known in the art and color shift is a well known issue. Examiner asserts Official Notice to this concept, namely a color filter layer )
9. Claim 3 and 11-15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kurz et al.
( US 2022/0391608 A1 ) and Sztuk et al. ( US 2025/0130634 A1 ), as applied to Claim 1, further in view of Medeiros ( US 2023/0258961 A1 ).
As per Claim 3:
Kurz does not explicitly teach “wherein the clip-on corrective lens comprises a convex-concave lens, a biconvex lens, a biconcave lens, a plano- convex lens, a plano-concave lens, or any combination thereof.”
However, in the same field of endeavor, eyewear, Medeiros teaches of an eyeglass lens which can utilize a sticker/label 100, ( Medeiros, Figure 2A, [0040] ). Notably, the sticker can enable any eyeglass into a pair of prescription eyeglass. Medeiros teaches in [0036] that the sticker can function as a corrective lens given its optical film to provide optical corrective power. As Figure 2A shows, the corrective lens attaches to the lens 200 and takes on the concave surface of the lens 200. As shown, the shape of the corrective lens is naturally also concave as well. Furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would realize to design lens in a plurality of ways and concave and convex are two of the most popular such designs.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the effective filed date of the invention, to implement the corrective lens in a concave shape, as taught by Medeiros, with the motivation that it can easily adhere to the already concave shape of the lens 200. Furthermore, a design is well known in the art as well.
Kurz teaches in Claim 11:
A system ( Figure 1, [0021]-[0022] disclose an HMD 100 housing various components ) comprising:
an electronic display panel; a primary lens coupled to the electronic display panel ( Figure 1, [0023] discloses the HMD having a housing for a display 110. Figure 1, [0023] discloses one or more lenses 112 (read as a primary lens) );
a first clip-on corrective lens configured to apply a first vision correction [when attached to the primary lens] ( [0026] discloses a corrective lens 200 which can be attached to the HMD housing as well. [0026] discloses details on the clip-on nature of these corrective lens );
a second clip-on corrective lens configured to apply a second vision correction different from the first correction [when attached to the primary lens] ( [0005] discloses right and left corrective lenses (read as two clip-on corrective lenses). Each lens mimics the functionality described in [0026] and naturally has its own corrective aspects ); but
Kurz does not explicitly teach the first and second clip-on corrective lenses are “attached to the primary lens”. While Kurz teaches of multiple clip-on lens, the focus here is on the actual attachment to the primary lens.
As shown, it is arranged at a distance. However, one of ordinary skill in the art would be able to design a corrective lens to be attached to the primary lens if need be.
To emphasize, in the same field of endeavor, eyewear, Medeiros teaches of an eyeglass lens which can utilize a sticker/label 100, ( Medeiros, Figure 2A, [0040] ). Notably, the sticker can enable any eyeglass into a pair of prescription eyeglass. Medeiros teaches in [0036] that the sticker can function as a corrective lens given its optical film to provide optical corrective power. As Figure 2A shows, the corrective lens attaches to the lens 200 and takes on the concave surface of the lens 200. As shown, the shape of the corrective lens is naturally also concave as well. Furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would realize to design lens in a plurality of ways and concave and convex are two of the most popular such designs.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the effective filed date of the invention, to implement the corrective lens as an attachment to the primary lens, as taught by Medeiros, with the motivation that it can easily adhere to the already concave shape of the lens 200. Furthermore, a design is well known in the art as well and can minimize the design of the eyewear.
Kurz may not explicitly teach to “apply a first optical crosstalk compensation to image data for display on the electronic display panel when only the primary lens is coupled to the electronic display panel, wherein the first optical crosstalk compensation is determined according to one or more actual viewing characteristics of an eye viewing the electronic display panel through the primary lens and an optical crosstalk compensation factor map; apply a second optical crosstalk compensation to the image data for display on the electronic display panel when the first clip-on corrective lens and the primary lens are coupled to the electronic display panel, wherein the second optical crosstalk compensation is determined according to one more first virtual viewing characteristics of the eye viewing the electronic display panel through the primary lens and the first clip-on corrective lens and the optical crosstalk compensation factor map; and apply a third optical crosstalk compensation to the image data for display on the electronic display panel when the second clip-on corrective lens and the primary lens are coupled to the electronic display panel, wherein the third optical crosstalk compensation is determined according to one more second virtual viewing characteristics of the eye viewing the electronic display panel through the primary lens and the second clip-on corrective lens and the optical crosstalk compensation factor map”
Initially for compensation, Kurz teaches: [0005] discloses corrective processing by the HMD based on the specifics of the corrective lenses, such as prescription, colorblindness, etc, which are part of an identified code. Figure 7, [0055] details that based on the identified code, content can be adapted in the way it is rendered, i.e modifying a displayed image to compensate for lens distortion (based on the prescription in the identified code found on the transparent surface; please read this as crosstalk correction). In light of [0005], the functionality is applied to both corrective lenses. For more details, [0028] discloses details on the markings which can encode prescription parameters, e.g. nearsighted, farsighted, etc (read as viewing characteristics). These parameters are then processed and the image content is adapted. [0044] further discloses minor displacements of the spatial positioning of the corrective lenses themselves, which can be corrected for, i.e. another example of viewing characteristics which are corrected for. Furthermore, please note the combination below as well.
In the same field of endeavor, calibration for eye tracking systems, Sztuk teaches of also using prescription lens 254, ( Sztuk, Figure 4, [0113] ). Notably, Sztuk teaches in [0114] and [0088]+ of obtaining a distortion map to adjust or change rendering content to account for distortion caused by prescription lens when the user is viewing through the lens (read as correcting for optical crosstalk). Please note the prescription lens can be in addition to other lens in the system 200, [0069]. [0069] also discloses of using a calibrator 132 here as well to adjust for depth and this also uses a distortion map, [0087]. Stzuk also teaches of different prescription lenses which can be attached (read as a second clip-on lens) and the claim does not specify the two clip-on lens are used at the same time. As such, the compensation done for one clip-on is also provided to the other clip-on, i.e. the claimed second and third optical crosstalk compensation. To clarify, the key concept Stzuk is relied on here for is correcting for distortion/optical crosstalk caused by lens issues. One of ordinary skill in the art would realize that Stzuk uses distortion map/profiling to adjust for whatever lens setup the user is using, whether it is the primary lens or an added/inserted prescription lens, i.e. correcting when viewing through primary and not clip-on as well as viewing through primary as well as clip-on.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the effective filed date of the invention, to implement the distortion map correction for lenses, as taught by Stzuk, with the motivation for improved viewing quality, ( Stzuk, [0088] ).
Kurz teaches in Claim 12:
The system of claim 11, comprising an eye tracker configured to obtain the one mor more actual viewing characteristics of a pupil viewing the electronic display panel, wherein the image processing circuitry is configured to apply the optical crosstalk compensation to the image data based on an adjusted form of the one more actual viewing characteristics ( [0044] discloses minor displacements which can be determined from an image sensor. Furthermore, the identified code can allow for proper rendering which can reduce or avoid pupil swim, which occurs when a user turns their head, resulting in a displacement/offset, as detailed in [0055]. [0002] discloses eye tracking image sensors which can detect position and movement of the user’s eyes and [0024] discloses the eye tracking characteristics determine the pupil center, which then allows for offsets to be determined, i.e. gaze information. Furthermore, pupil swim in which images appear wobbly, as detailed in [0044], is also corrected for, providing eye relief/offset correction ) corresponding to the one or more first virtual viewing characteristics or the one or more second virtual viewing characteristics. ( [0005] discloses each corrective lens can be corrected for using the above rendering details )
Kurz teaches in Claim 13:
The system of claim 12, wherein the adjusted form of the one or more actual viewing characteristics comprises an offset that differs based on the first correction or the second correction. ( [0005] discloses each corrective lens has its own correction, i.e. the first and second corrections differ )
Kurz teaches in Claim 14:
The system of claim 13, wherein the offset is based on a relationship between an actual baseline eye relief without the first correction or the second correction and a virtual clip-on eye relief with the first correction or the second correction. ( [0044] discloses minor displacements which can be determined from an image sensor (read displacements as offset from a baseline). Furthermore, the identified code can allow for proper rendering which can reduce or avoid pupil swim, which occurs when a user turns their head, resulting in a displacement/offset, as detailed in [0055] (another example of from a baseline). [0002] discloses eye tracking image sensors which can detect position and movement of the user’s eyes and [0024] discloses the eye tracking characteristics determine the pupil center, which then allows for offsets to be determined, i.e. gaze information. Furthermore, pupil swim in which images appear wobbly, as detailed in [0044], is also corrected for, providing eye relief/offset correction )
Kurz teaches in Claim 15:
The system of claim 13, wherein the offset is based on a relationship between a baseline x- or y-offset without the first correction or the second correction and a clip- on x- or y-offset with the first correction or the second correction. ( The same reasoning in Claim 9 is also applicable here as well: [0044] discloses minor displacements which can be determined from an image sensor (read displacements as offset from a baseline). Furthermore, the identified code can allow for proper rendering which can reduce or avoid pupil swim, which occurs when a user turns their head, resulting in a displacement/offset, as detailed in [0055] (another example of from a baseline). [0002] discloses eye tracking image sensors which can detect position and movement of the user’s eyes and [0024] discloses the eye tracking characteristics determine the pupil center, which then allows for offsets to be determined, i.e. gaze information. Furthermore, pupil swim in which images appear wobbly, as detailed in [0044], is also corrected for, providing eye relief/offset correction )
Response to Arguments
10. Applicant’s arguments considered, but are respectfully moot in view of new grounds of rejection(s).
Please note the updated rejection in light of the claim amendments. As a result, Applicant’s arguments are moot at this time.
Conclusion
/DENNIS P JOSEPH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2621