DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
This office action is a response to the Request for Reconsideration filed on 07/12/2026. The amendments made are claims 1 – 12 are pending, no claims were added, claims 1, 4, 9 & 11 – 12 have been amended and claims 3 & 5 – 6 have been canceled.
Applicant’s arguments, see Page 1, filed 07/12/2026, with respect to claim objection have been fully considered and are persuasive. The objection of claim 8 has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see Page 1, filed 07/12/2026, with respect to 112 rejection have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 112(b) rejection of claims 9 & 10 has been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments filed 07/12/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The applicant argues Chang does not disclose wherein data obtained from the first pressure sensor and the second pressure sensor differentiate mechanically similar static positions, however, being that this is a new claims limitation not before considered it has been considered and modified with a new reference.
Applicant's arguments filed 07/12/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The applicant argues Kornbluh does not disclose using tubes to route twisted strings for a 2:1 or 3:1 purchase ratio is obvious, however, the examiner provided extensive citations of why that is not the case in the office action. This is based on how the claim limitation is worded and the broadest reasonable interpretation of the examiner.
Applicant's arguments filed 07/12/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The applicant argues claims 11 & 12 are allowable based on the improved claim limitation, however, the examiner has rejected said claims based on the prior art Chang with modifications disclosed in the office action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 2, 4 and 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang (US 20190283247 A1) in view of Witherspoon (US 20190283237 A1), Cromie (US 20180056104 A1), De Rossi (US 20170202724 A1), Kornbluh et al. (US 9266233 B2) & Ly et al. (US 2019/0224841 A1).
Regarding claim 1, An oversuit system comprising:
a fabric suit component 100 (Paragraph 0056) comprising an upper portion 112 constructed to be worn over an upper body region of a user (Paragraph 0077) and a lower portion 106, 108, 102 & 104 constructed to be worn over a lower body region of the user (Paragraph 0075),
wherein the upper portion comprises:
upper portion sensors (Paragraph 0096)
Chang discloses an inertial measurement unit (IMU) (Paragraph 0063)
Chang does not expressly disclose including first inertial measurement unit (IMU) and second IMU.
However, it does disclose a plurality of sensors. (Paragraph 0096 discloses many sensors that can provide any suitable data)
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to further modify Chang to include a first and second IMU as it would allow a plurality of sensors that can be put in various locations of the exoskeleton and is able to provide any suitable data such as IMU in the upper portion. The generality of the description allows the modification to be obvious. (Paragraph 0096)
Chang does not disclose a core support member comprising a core twisted string.
Witherspoon teaches a core support member comprising a core twisted string (Paragraph 0133)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the product of Chang to include a core support member with a core twisted string. The core support can provide better load distribution and support to the user’s core while wearing the exosuit (Paragraph 0108)
Chang does not disclose a trunk flexor tunnel comprising a trunk flexor twisted string; and a trunk extensor tunnel comprising a trunk extensor twisted string.
However, Cromie discloses a trunk flexor tunnel with a trunk flexor twisted string (Paragraph 0121 discloses "FLAs (206) configured as hip flexors attach at the waist and thighs. The FLAs may include a rounded, contoured housing (207) around the motor, transmission and spindle assembly for protection of the components and comfort of the wearer. The twisted strings of the FLAs are housed in braided tubing (208) that protects the strings from abrasion, tangling or snagging") and a trunk extensor tunnel comprising a trunk extensor twisted string (Paragraph 0122 discloses "Two FLAs (217) configured in parallel traverse the lumbar spine, mimicking spinal extensor muscles"; Paragraph 0154 discloses "The pre-twist action may tighten up any slack that may exist within the twisted strings associated with the FLAs that perform hip and spinal extensor movements”).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the product of Chang to include a trunk flexor tunnel with a trunk flexor twisted string and a trunk extensor tunnel with a trunk extensor twisted string. The trunk flexor and extensor will provide more central support in returning the user’s body to a standing position during movement or a seated position (Paragraph 0109 discloses “Moving to a second, seated position can stretch the hip extensor and spinal extensor elastic elements (112, 113). These stretched elastic elements (112, 113) can generate forces biased to move the wearer back into the first standing position”).
Modified Chang does not disclose wherein trunk flexor tunnel and the trunk extensor tunnel each have a line of action routing configuration that yields a 2:1 purchase ratio.
However, Kornbluh discloses a line of action routing configuration that yields a 2:1 purchase ratio (Fig. 10B discloses 2 redirects of the twisted string; Paragraph 221 discloses "The twisted string 1037b is partially contained within and protected by flexible transmission tube 1035b").
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the product of Chang so that the trunk flexor tunnel and the trunk extensor tunnel each have a line of action routing configuration that yields a 2:1 purchase ratio. It would have been obvious to optimize the purchase ratio that best yields the appropriate force and tension for the specific trunk area of the body (Paragraph 139 discloses “Other configurations of TSAs, including alternate, additional, fewer, and/or differently configured components are anticipated. A TSA could include multiple twisted strings, different number(s) of strands, multiple motors, twisted strings actuated by two rotational actuators (i.e., a rotational actuator coupled to each end of the twisted string), more than one transmission tube, differently configured transmission tubes, different locations and/or means of attachment to actuated elements, or other configurations according to an application”; paragraph 221 “The STEM 1000b includes a motor 1030b rigidly coupled to a first end of a flexible transmission tube 1035b that is configured to transmit torques and/or forces along its length and to be flexible in directions perpendicular to its length [similar to the outer housing of a Bowden cable]”).
Modified Chang discloses wherein the lower portion comprises:
lower portion sensors (Paragraph 0096 discloses many sensors that can provide any suitable data)
Chang does not expressly disclose including third IMU, fourth IMU, first pressure sensor, and second pressure sensor.
However, it does disclose the sensos providing IMU data and detecting pressure. (Paragraph 0096 & 0046)
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to further modify including third IMU, fourth IMU, first pressure sensor, and second pressure sensor as it would allow a plurality of sensors that can be put in various locations of the exoskeleton and is able to provide any suitable data such as IMU in the upper portion. Also, including a pressure sensor can control the dynamic size adjustment. (Paragraph 0046) The generality of the description allows the modification to be obvious. (Paragraph 0096)
Modified Chang discloses right knee load distribution member (LDM) (Paragraph 0075), wherein the first pressure sensor is mounted in the right knee LDM (Paragraph 0095);
left knee LDM (Paragraph 0075), wherein the second pressure sensor is mounted in the left knee LDM (Paragraph 0105);
right flexor tunnel comprising a right flexor twisted string that is connected to the right knee LDM (Paragraph 0093);
left flexor tunnel comprising a left flexor twisted string that is connected to the left knee LDM (Paragraph 0093);
right extensor tunnel comprising a right extensor twisted string that is connected to the right knee LDM (Paragraph 0095); and
left extensor tunnel comprising a left extensor twisted string that is connected to the left knee LDM (Paragraph 0095).
Modified Chang does not disclose wherein the right flexor tunnel, the left flexor tunnel, the right extensor tunnel, and the left extensor tunnel each have a line of action routing configuration that yields a 3:1 purchase ratio.
However, Kornbluh discloses a line of action routing configuration that yields a 3:1 purchase ratio (Fig. 5e discloses where transmission tube 552e redirects the twisted string 530e thrice; Paragraph 144 discloses “The flexible transmission tube 552e is configured to transmit torques and/or forces along its length and to be flexible in directions perpendicular to its length [similar to the outer housing of a Bowden cable]”).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the product of Chang so that the right flexor tunnel, the left flexor tunnel, the right extensor tunnel, and the left extensor tunnel each have a line of action routing configuration that yields a 3:1 purchase ratio. It would have been obvious to optimize the purchase ratio that best yields the appropriate force and tension for the specific trunk area of the body (Paragraph 139 discloses “Other configurations of TSAs, including alternate, additional, fewer, and/or differently configured components are anticipated. A TSA could include multiple twisted strings, different number(s) of strands, multiple motors, twisted strings actuated by two rotational actuators (i.e., a rotational actuator coupled to each end of the twisted string), more than one transmission tube, differently configured transmission tubes, different locations and/or means of attachment to actuated elements, or other configurations according to an application”; Paragraph 144 discloses “The flexible transmission tube 552e is configured to transmit torques and/or forces along its length and to be flexible in directions perpendicular to its length [similar to the outer housing of a Bowden cable]”).
Chang is silent on a belt member constructed to be worn over the fabric suit and around a hip region of the user that comprise actuators.
However, De Rossi teaches a belt member constructed to be worn over the fabric suit and around a hip region of the user comprising actuators (Fig. 1c; Paragraph 0112)
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the product of Chang to include a belt member around a hip region of the user. The belt provides load-bearing support to the user, especially in the iliac crest and the user’s pelvis (Paragraph 0128). It would have been obvious to place actuators on the belt to support core movement via the exoskeleton and reduce the amount of mass being disposed on limbs of a user (Paragraph 0108)
Modified Chang discloses the belt member comprising:
a plurality of flexible linear actuators (FLA) constructed (Paragraph 0081) to be removably connected to designated twisted strings (Paragraph 0089) comprising the trunk flexor twisted string, the trunk extensor twisted string, the right flexor twisted string, the left flexor twisted string, the right extensor twisted string, and the left extensor twisted string;
a power source (Paragraph 0098); and
a controller operative to:
process data received by the upper portion sensors and the lower portion sensors to identify one of a plurality of static positions being held by the user (Paragraph 0104),
Modified Chang does not expressly disclose wherein data obtained from the first pressure sensor and the second pressure sensor differentiate mechanically similar static positions.
However, Ly discloses sensor in the exosuit being able to have the movement data be analyzed to obtain real-time movement factors of the user and the real-time movement factors can be time averaged across a static or dynamic window of sample sizes. (Paragraph 0130) It also determines the sensor can be a pressure sensor. (Paragraph 0039)
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to further modify Chang to include wherein data obtained from the first pressure sensor and the second pressure sensor differentiate mechanically similar static positions as a determination is made as to whether any real-time movement factors differ from corresponding baseline movement factors. (Paragraph 0130)
Modified Chang discloses activate a subset of the plurality of FLAs based on the identified static position such that the oversuit supports the user in maintaining the identified static position (Paragraph 0164).
Regarding claim 2, Modified Chang discloses the system as claimed in claim 1.
Modified Chang discloses wherein the plurality of static positions comprise standing, sitting, leaning forward, leaning backward, squatting, stooping, and kneeling (Paragraph 0104).
Regarding claim 4, Modified Chang discloses the system as claimed in claim 1.
Modified Chang discloses wherein the first IMU and the second IMU are positioned along a common axis with respect to each other (Paragraph 0196), wherein third IMU is mounted in a right thigh region of the lower portion 106, 108, 102 & 104, wherein the fourth IMU is mounted in a left thigh region of the lower portion 106, 108, 102 & 104 (Paragraph 0105 discloses the sensors may be integrated anywhere in the exosuit).
Regarding claim 7, Modified Chang discloses the system as claimed in claim 1.
Modified Chang discloses wherein the trunk flexor tunnel, the trunk extensor tunnel, the right flexor tunnel, the left flexor tunnel, the right extensor tunnel, and the left extensor tunnel each comprise an attachment point (Paragraph 0080) and at least one re-routing structure.
Modified Chang does not disclose at least one re-routing structure.
Kornbluh discloses at least one re-routing structure (Paragraph 121)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the product of Chang to include at least one re-routing structure. The re-routing structure can transmit the force from the actuator along its length to its attachment piece and can provide flexibility for the positioning of the tunnels and allow for the twisted string and actuator to operate along a curved surface within the exoskeleton (Paragraph 143)
Regarding claim 8, Modified Chang discloses the system as claimed in claim 7.
Kornbluh further discloses wherein at least one re-routing structure comprises a curved hollow tube. (Paragraph 121)
Regarding claim 9, Modified Chang discloses the system as claimed in claim 1.
Modified Chang discloses wherein the controller is further operative to:
process data received by the upper portion sensors and the lower portion sensors to identify one of a plurality of compound static positions being held by the user (Paragraph 0104); and
activate a subset of the plurality of FLAs based on the identified compound static position such that the oversuit supports the user in maintaining the identified compound static position (Paragraph 0164).
Regarding claim 10, Modified Chang discloses the system as claimed in claim 9.
Modified Chang discloses wherein the compound static positions comprise sitting with a forward lean, sitting with a backward lean, kneeling with a forward lean, and kneeling with a backward lean (Paragraph 0104).
Claims 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang (US 20190283247 A1) in view of Witherspoon (US 20190283237 A1), De Rossi (US 20170202724 A1), Kornbluh et al. (US 9266233 B2) & Ly et al. (US 2019/0224841 A1).
Regarding claim 11, An oversuit system comprising:
a fabric suit component 100 (Paragraph 0056) constructed to be worn over a body of a use (Paragraph 0077),
wherein the fabric suit component 100 comprises:
Chang does not expressly disclose a plurality of inertial measurement sensors (IMUs) and a plurality of pressure sensors.
However, it does disclose a plurality of sensors. (Paragraph 0096 discloses many sensors that can provide any suitable data)
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to further modify Chang to include a first and second IMU as it would allow a plurality of sensors that can be put in various locations of the exoskeleton and is able to provide any suitable data such as IMU in the upper portion. Also, including a pressure sensor can control the dynamic size adjustment. (Paragraph 0046) The generality of the description allows the modification to be obvious. (Paragraph 0096)
Modified Chang does not disclose a core support member comprising a core twisted string.
Witherspoon teaches a core support member comprising a core twisted string (Paragraph 0133)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the product of Chang to include a core support member with a core twisted string. The core support can provide better load distribution and support to the user’s core while wearing the exosuit (Paragraph 0108)
Modified Chang discloses a left knee load distribution member (LDM) (Paragraph 0075); a right knee LDM (Paragraph 0075);
Modified Chang discloses the use of the Flexor PLS 230 (i.e. the tunnel) to include the twisted string. (Paragraph 0093)
Modified Chang does not expressly disclose a plurality of internally embedded tunnels constructed within the fabric suit component.
However, Chang discloses sensor assemblies or other components may be embedded in any suitable layer. (Paragraph 0201)
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to further modify Chang to include a plurality of internally embedded tunnels constructed within the fabric suit component as it permits the components to be able to be positioned at any desirable location that can allow contact with the user is needed. Even though it does not discloses the tunnels specifically, it does disclose components being embedded into the body meaning the tunnels can be modified in the same way. (Paragraph 0201)
Modified Chang does not disclose to route twisted strings through a plurality of line of action routing configurations each having a respective purchase ratio.
However, Kornbluh discloses a line of action routing configuration that yields a 2:1 purchase ratio (Fig. 10B discloses 2 redirects of the twisted string; Paragraph 221 discloses "The twisted string 1037b is partially contained within and protected by flexible transmission tube 1035b").
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the product of Chang so that the trunk flexor tunnel and the trunk extensor tunnel each have a line of action routing configuration that yields a 2:1 purchase ratio. It would have been obvious to optimize the purchase ratio that best yields the appropriate force and tension for the specific trunk area of the body (Paragraph 139 & Paragraph 221)
Chang is silent on a belt member constructed to be worn over the fabric suit and around a hip region of the user that comprise actuators.
However, De Rossi teaches a belt member constructed to be worn over the fabric suit and around a hip region of the user comprising actuators (Fig. 1c / Paragraph 0112).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the product of Chang to include a belt member around a hip region of the user. The belt provides load-bearing support to the user, especially in the iliac crest and the user’s pelvis (Paragraph 0128 discloses “The waist belt 306 extends over the superolateral iliac crests of the pelvic girdle as load-bearing support members or anchor points for supporting reaction forces”). It would have been obvious to place actuators on the belt to support core movement via the exoskeleton and reduce the amount of mass being disposed on limbs of a user (Paragraph 0108 discloses “In at least some aspects of the present concepts, it is desired to minimize the distal mass that is added to the legs”).
Modified Chang discloses the belt member comprising:
a plurality of flexible linear actuators (FLA) constructed to be removably connected to designated twisted strings comprising twisted strings being routed through the plurality of tunnels and the core twisted string (Paragraph 0081 & Paragraph 0089);
a power source (Paragraph 0098); and
a controller operative to:
process data received by the sensors to identify one of a plurality of static positions being held by the user (Paragraph 0104),
Modified Chang does not expressly disclose wherein data received by the plurality of pressure sensors differentiate mechanically similar static positions.
However, Ly discloses sensor in the exosuit being able to have the movement data be analyzed to obtain real-time movement factors of the user and the real-time movement factors can be time averaged across a static or dynamic window of sample sizes. (Paragraph 0130) It also determines the sensor can be a pressure sensor. (Paragraph 0039)
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to further modify Chang to include wherein data received by the plurality of pressure sensors differentiate mechanically similar static positions.as a determination is made as to whether any real-time movement factors differ from corresponding baseline movement factors. (Paragraph 0130)
activate a subset of the plurality of FLAs based on the identified static position such that the oversuit supports the user in maintaining the identified static position (Paragraph 0164).
Claims 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang (US 20190283247 A1) in view of De Rossi (US 20170202724 A1), Kornbluh et al. (US 9266233 B2) & Ly et al. (US 2019/0224841 A1).
Regarding claim 12, A method for using an oversuit comprising a fabric suit component 100, wherein the fabric suit comprises load distribution members (Paragraph 0075) and twisted stings (Paragraph 0093) connected to the load distribution members (Paragraph 0093), the method comprising:
detecting a static position of a user of the oversuit (Paragraph 0104),
selectively activating a subset of the flexible linear actuators based on the detected static position such that the oversuit supports the user in maintaining the determined static position (Paragraph 1064).
Chang does not disclose routed through a plurality of internally embedded tunnels constructed within the fabric suit component.
However, Chang discloses sensor assemblies or other components may be embedded in any suitable layer. (Paragraph 0201)
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to further modify Chang to include routed through a plurality of internally embedded tunnels constructed within the fabric suit component as it permits the components to be able to be positioned at any desirable location that can allow contact with the user is needed. Even though it does not discloses the tunnels specifically, it does disclose components being embedded into the body meaning the tunnels can be modified in the same way. (Paragraph 0201)
Chang does not expressly disclose wherein detecting the static position comprises evaluating data received by the plurality of pressure sensors to differentiate mechanically similar static positions.
However, Ly discloses sensor in the exosuit being able to have the movement data be analyzed to obtain real-time movement factors of the user and the real-time movement factors can be time averaged across a static or dynamic window of sample sizes. (Paragraph 0130) It also determines the sensor can be a pressure sensor. (Paragraph 0039)
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to further modify Chang to include wherein data received by the plurality of pressure sensors differentiate mechanically similar static positions.as a determination is made as to whether any real-time movement factors differ from corresponding baseline movement factors. (Paragraph 0130)
Chang is silent on the oversuit comprising a belt that comprises actuators.
However, De Rossi teaches a belt member comprising actuators (Figure. 1c / Paragraph 0112)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the product of Chang to include a belt member with actuators. The belt provides load-bearing support to the user, especially in the iliac crest and the user’s pelvis (Paragraph 0128). It would have been obvious to place actuators on the belt to support core movement via the exoskeleton and reduce the amount of mass being disposed on limbs of a user (Paragraph 0108).
Modified Chang does not expressly disclose a plurality of inertial measurement sensors (IMUs) and a plurality of pressure sensors.
However, it does disclose a plurality of sensors. (Paragraph 0096 discloses many sensors that can provide any suitable data)
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to further modify Chang to include a first and second IMU as it would allow a plurality of sensors that can be put in various locations of the exoskeleton and is able to provide any suitable data such as IMU in the upper portion. Also, including a pressure sensor can control the dynamic size adjustment. (Paragraph 0046) The generality of the description allows the modification to be obvious. (Paragraph 0096)
Modified Chang does not disclose each tunnel having a respective purchase ratio.
However, Kornbluh discloses a line of action routing configuration that yields a 2:1 purchase ratio (Fig. 10B / Paragraph 221)
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the product of Chang so that the trunk flexor tunnel and the trunk extensor tunnel each have a line of action routing configuration that yields a 2:1 purchase ratio. It would have been obvious to optimize the purchase ratio that best yields the appropriate force and tension for the specific trunk area of the body (Paragraph 139).
Conclusion
/GRACIELA NATALIA LEBRON DE JESUS/Examiner, Art Unit 3785
/KENDRA D CARTER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3785