Claim Objections
Claim 8 objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 8 states “wherein the at least one re-routing structure”. This phrase contains a grammatical error. Examiner suggests rephrasing to “wherein at least one re-routing structure”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 9 recites the limitation "the processor is further operative" in the first line of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. A processor has not been introduced to be further operative. Further, it is unclear if the processor is the controller that is previously introduced or if the controller comprises the processor, or if the processor is a different structure or has additional function from the controller. For examination purposes, the limitation will be interpreted as if the processor and the controller are the same.
Claim 10 is rejected by virtue of its dependency on claim 9.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 and 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang (US 20190283247 A1) in view of Witherspoon (US 20190283237 A1), Cromie (US 20180056104 A1), and De Rossi (US 20170202724 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Chang teaches an oversuit system comprising: a fabric suit component (paragraph 0056 "Elastic elements of the stability layer may be integrated to parts of the base layer or be an integral part of the base layer. For example, elastic fabrics containing spandex or similar materials may serve as a combination base/stability layer") comprising an upper portion constructed to be worn over an upper body region of a user (paragraph 0077 "Upper torso LDM 112 may include a waist LDM 113, a back LDM 114, a shoulder LDM 115, and shoulder strap LDMs 116") and a lower portion constructed to be worn over a lower body region of the user (paragraph 0075 "In some embodiments, thigh LDMs 106 and 108 and calf LDMs 102 and 104, respectively, may be merged together to form leg LDMs that may cover the entirety of the legs and/or feet of the wearer"), wherein the upper portion comprises:
upper portion sensors (paragraph 0096 "These sensors may be located anywhere on base layer 210 and may be electrically coupled to power and communications lines [e.g., 233, 238, 243, 248, 253, 258, 263, 268, and/or other lines]");
and wherein the lower portion comprises:
lower portion sensors (paragraph 0096 "These sensors may be located anywhere on base layer 210 and may be electrically coupled to power and communications lines [e.g., 233, 238, 243, 248, 253, 258, 263, 268, and/or other lines]"); right knee load distribution member (LDM); left knee LDM (paragraph 0075 "In some embodiments, thigh LDMs 106 and 108 and calf LDMs 102 and 104, respectively, may be merged together to form leg LDMs that may cover the entirety of the legs and/or feet of the wearer"); right flexor tunnel comprising a right flexor twisted string that is connected to the right knee LDM; left flexor tunnel comprising a left flexor twisted string that is connected to the left knee LDM (paragraph 0093 "Exosuit 200 can include flexor PLSs 230 and 235 that may be secured to thigh LDMs 212 and 214 and upper torso LDM 220. Flexor PLSs 230 and 235 may provide leg muscle extensor movements. Flexor PLS 230 may include a flexdrive subsystem 231, a twisted string 232, and power/communication lines 233…Flexor PLS 235 may include a flexdrive subsystem 236, a twisted string 237, and power/communication lines 238. Twisted string 237 may be attached to flexdrive subsystem 236 and an attachment point 239”); right extensor tunnel comprising a right extensor twisted string that is connected to the right knee LDM; and left extensor tunnel comprising a left extensor twisted string that is connected to the left knee LDM (paragraph 0095 "Exosuit 200 can include extensor PLSs 260 and 265 that may be secured to thigh LDMs 212 and 214 and LDM 220. Extensor PLSs 260 and 265 may provide leg muscle flexor movements. Extensor PLS 260 may include a flexdrive subsystem 261, a twisted string 262, and power/communication lines 263... Flexor PLS 266 may include a flexdrive subsystem 266, a twisted string 267, and power/communication lines 268. Twisted string 267 may be attached to flexdrive subsystem 266 and an attachment point 269");
a plurality of flexible linear actuators (FLA) constructed (paragraph 0081 “As shown, the power layer can include power layer segments 140-158. One, some, or each power layer segment can include any number of flexible linear actuators”) to be removably connected to designated twisted strings (paragraph 0089 “The power layer segment can be, for example, either a FLA operating alone to apply the force and motion, or a FLA in series with an elastic element. In the latter case, the human biceps may be working against the elastic element, with the FLA adjusting the length and thereby the resistive force of the elastic element” where the elastic element can include the twisted string; One skilled in the art would reasonably expect that the actuator be removably connected to obtain access to the circuitry of the actuator and perform any necessary electrical maintenance) comprising the trunk flexor twisted string, the trunk extensor twisted string, the right flexor twisted string, the left flexor twisted string, the right extensor twisted string, and the left extensor twisted string
a power source (paragraph 0098 "Exosuit 200 can include any suitable communications circuitry, such as that which may be contained in power and communications modules 270 or 275, to communicate directly with a user device (e.g., a smartphone) or with the user device via a central sever");
and a controller operative to: process data received by the upper portion sensors and the lower portion sensors to identify one of a plurality of static positions being held by the user (paragraph 0104 "Body physiology estimator 330 may receive data inputs from one or more sensors 314, control processor 320, and/or any other components if desired. Estimator 330 may be operative to analyze the data to ascertain the physiology of the user. Estimator 330 may apply data analytics and statistics to the data to resolve physiological afflictions or conditions of the user's body. For example, estimator 330 can determine whether the user is sitting, standing, leaning, laying down, laying down on a side, walking, running, jumping, performing exercise movements, playing sports, reaching, holding an object or objects, or performing any other static or active physiological event. The results may be provided to control module(s) 350, for example, via control processor 320"); and activate a subset of the plurality of FLAs based on the identified static position such that the oversuit supports the user in maintaining the identified static position (paragraph 0164 “The one or more hardware and/or software controllers can then generate a control output that can be executed by actuators of the exosuit to affect a commanded state of the exosuit and/or to enable some other application at the suit and/or at a remote application or dashboard for the benefit of the wearer or any other suitable entity [e.g., caretaker, etc.]").
Chang is silent on a core support member comprising a core twisted string.
However, Witherspoon teaches a core support member comprising a core twisted string (paragraph 0133 "CSG 1900 can include front panels 1910 and 1920, back panel 1930, cross bands 1940a-d, shoulder straps 1950 and 1960, tension system 1970, and side stays 1980" where CSG is core support grip; paragraph 0135 " Tension system 1970 can include belt segments 1971 and 1972, motor 1973, twisted string 1974").
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the product of Chang to include a core support member with a core twisted string. The core support can provide better load distribution and support to the user’s core while wearing the exosuit (paragraph 0108 “The core support system can include several different stay members that are strategically positioned on the exosuit to provide load distribution support and core support”).
Chang is silent on a trunk flexor tunnel comprising a trunk flexor twisted string; and a trunk extensor tunnel comprising a trunk extensor twisted string.
However, Cromie teaches a trunk flexor tunnel with a trunk flexor twisted string (paragraph 0121 "FLAs (206) configured as hip flexors attach at the waist and thighs. The FLAs may include a rounded, contoured housing (207) around the motor, transmission and spindle assembly for protection of the components and comfort of the wearer. The twisted strings of the FLAs are housed in braided tubing (208) that protects the strings from abrasion, tangling or snagging") and a trunk extensor tunnel comprising a trunk extensor twisted string (paragraph 0122 "Two FLAs (217) configured in parallel traverse the lumbar spine, mimicking spinal extensor muscles"; paragraph 0154 "The pre-twist action may tighten up any slack that may exist within the twisted strings associated with the FLAs that perform hip and spinal extensor movements”).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the product of Chang to include a trunk flexor tunnel with a trunk flexor twisted string and a trunk extensor tunnel with a trunk extensor twisted string. The trunk flexor and extensor will provide more central support in returning the user’s body to a standing position during movement or a seated position (paragraph 0109 “Moving to a second, seated position can stretch the hip extensor and spinal extensor elastic elements (112, 113). These stretched elastic elements (112, 113) can generate forces biased to move the wearer back into the first standing position”).
Chang is silent on a belt member constructed to be worn over the fabric suit and around a hip region of the user.
However, De Rossi teaches a belt member constructed to be worn over the fabric suit and around a hip region of the user comprising actuators (Fig. 1c; paragraph 0112 “In at least some aspects, the power belt 125 comprises all actuators (e.g., motors, pulleys, etc.), electronics and power sources (e.g., batteries, etc.) necessary to power the assistive flexible suit 100”).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the product of Chang to include a belt member around a hip region of the user. The belt provides load-bearing support to the user, especially in the iliac crest and the user’s pelvis (paragraph 0128 “The waist belt 306 extends over the superolateral iliac crests of the pelvic girdle as load-bearing support members or anchor points for supporting reaction forces”). It would have been obvious to place actuators on the belt to support core movement via the exoskeleton and reduce the amount of mass being disposed on limbs of a user (paragraph 0108 “In at least some aspects of the present concepts, it is desired to minimize the distal mass that is added to the legs”).
Regarding claim 2, modified Chang teaches the system of claim 1.
Chang further teaches wherein the plurality of static positions comprise standing, sitting, leaning forward, leaning backward, squatting, stooping, and kneeling (paragraph 0104 "Body physiology estimator 330 may receive data inputs from one or more sensors 314, control processor 320, and/or any other components if desired. Estimator 330 may be operative to analyze the data to ascertain the physiology of the user. Estimator 330 may apply data analytics and statistics to the data to resolve physiological afflictions or conditions of the user's body. For example, estimator 330 can determine whether the user is sitting, standing, leaning, laying down, laying down on a side, walking, running, jumping, performing exercise movements, playing sports, reaching, holding an object or objects, or performing any other static or active physiological event”).
Regarding claim 3, modified Chang teaches the system of claim 1.
Chang further teaches wherein the upper portion sensors comprise first inertial measurement unit (IMU) and second IMU, and wherein the lower portion sensors comprise third IMU, fourth IMU, first pressure sensor, and second pressure sensor (paragraph 0096 "These sensors may be located anywhere on base layer 210 and may be electrically coupled to power and communications lines (e.g., 233, 238, 243, 248, 253, 258, 263, 268, and/or other lines). The sensors may provide absolute position data, relative position data, accelerometer data, gyroscopic data, inertial moment data, strain gauge data, resistance data, and/or any other suitable data"; paragraph 0046 “The dynamic size adjustment may be controlled by the sensor and controls layer, for example, by detecting pressures or forces in the base layer and actuating the power layer to consistently attain the desired force or pressure”).
Regarding claim 4, modified Chang teaches the system of claim 1.
Chang further teaches wherein the first IMU and the second IMU are positioned along a common axis with respect to each other (paragraph 0196 “As another example, sensor assembly 1114 may include one or more single-axis or two-axis acceleration motion sensors that may be operative to detect linear acceleration only along each of the x- or left/right direction and the y- or up/down direction, or along any other pair of directions”), wherein third IMU is mounted in a right thigh region of the lower portion, wherein the fourth IMU is mounted in a left thigh region of the lower portion, wherein the first pressure sensor is mounted in the right knee LDM, and wherein the second pressure sensor is mounted in the left knee LDM (paragraph 0105 "Sensors 314 may be integrated anywhere within the exosuit, though certain locations may be more preferred than others. For example, a sensor can be placed near the waist, upper body, shoes, thigh, arms, wrists, or head").
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the product of Chang to substitute the acceleration motion sensors for IMUs. IMUs and acceleration motion sensors both provide information about a user’s motion and kinematic movement and it would have therefore been obvious for the IMUs to be also be positioned along a common axis to provide data relative to different positions along the user’s body along a same line or axis.
Regarding claim 9, modified Chang teaches the system of claim 1.
Chang further teaches wherein the processor is further operative to: process data received by the upper portion sensors and the lower portion sensors to identify one of a plurality of compound static positions being held by the user (paragraph 0104 "Body physiology estimator 330 may receive data inputs from one or more sensors 314, control processor 320, and/or any other components if desired. Estimator 330 may be operative to analyze the data to ascertain the physiology of the user. Estimator 330 may apply data analytics and statistics to the data to resolve physiological afflictions or conditions of the user's body. For example, estimator 330 can determine whether the user is sitting, standing, leaning, laying down, laying down on a side, walking, running, jumping, performing exercise movements, playing sports, reaching, holding an object or objects, or performing any other static or active physiological event. The results may be provided to control module(s) 350, for example, via control processor 320) and activate a subset of the plurality of FLAs based on the identified compound static position such that the oversuit supports the user in maintaining the identified compound static position (paragraph 0164 “The one or more hardware and/or software controllers can then generate a control output that can be executed by actuators of the exosuit to affect a commanded state of the exosuit and/or to enable some other application at the suit and/or at a remote application or dashboard for the benefit of the wearer or any other suitable entity [e.g., caretaker, etc.]").
Regarding claim 10, modified Chang teaches the system of claim 9.
Chang further teaches wherein the compound static positions comprise sitting with a forward lean, sitting with a backward lean, kneeling with a forward lean, and kneeling with a backward lean (paragraph 0104 “For example, estimator 330 can determine whether the user is sitting, standing, leaning, laying down, laying down on a side, walking, running, jumping, performing exercise movements, playing sports, reaching, holding an object or objects, or performing any other static or active physiological event. The results may be provided to control module(s) 350, for example, via control processor 320").
Claims 5-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang (US 20190283247 A1) in view of Witherspoon (US 20190283237 A1), Cromie (US 20180056104 A1), and De Rossi (US 20170202724 A1) as applied to claim 1 and in further view of Kornbluh (US 9266233 B2).
Regarding claim 5, modified Chang teaches the system of claim 1.
Modified Chang is silent wherein trunk flexor tunnel and the trunk extensor tunnel each have a line of action routing configuration that yields a 2:1 purchase ratio.
However, Kornbluh teaches a line of action routing configuration that yields a 2:1 purchase ratio (Fig. 10B shows 2 redirects of the twisted string; paragraph 221 "The twisted string 1037b is partially contained within and protected by flexible transmission tube 1035b").
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the product of Chang so that the trunk flexor tunnel and the trunk extensor tunnel each have a line of action routing configuration that yields a 2:1 purchase ratio. It would have been obvious to optimize the purchase ratio that best yields the appropriate force and tension for the specific trunk area of the body (paragraph 139 “Other configurations of TSAs, including alternate, additional, fewer, and/or differently configured components are anticipated. A TSA could include multiple twisted strings, different number(s) of strands, multiple motors, twisted strings actuated by two rotational actuators (i.e., a rotational actuator coupled to each end of the twisted string), more than one transmission tube, differently configured transmission tubes, different locations and/or means of attachment to actuated elements, or other configurations according to an application”; paragraph 221 “The STEM 1000b includes a motor 1030b rigidly coupled to a first end of a flexible transmission tube 1035b that is configured to transmit torques and/or forces along its length and to be flexible in directions perpendicular to its length [similar to the outer housing of a Bowden cable]”).
Regarding claim 6, modified Chang teaches the system of claim 1.
Modified Chang is silent wherein the right flexor tunnel, the left flexor tunnel, the right extensor tunnel, and the left extensor tunnel each have a line of action routing configuration that yields a 3:1 purchase ratio.
However, Kornbluh teaches a line of action routing configuration that yields a 3:1 purchase ratio (Fig. 5e shows where transmission tube 552e redirects the twisted string 530e thrice; paragraph 144 “The flexible transmission tube 552e is configured to transmit torques and/or forces along its length and to be flexible in directions perpendicular to its length [similar to the outer housing of a Bowden cable]”).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the product of Chang so that the right flexor tunnel, the left flexor tunnel, the right extensor tunnel, and the left extensor tunnel each have a line of action routing configuration that yields a 3:1 purchase ratio. It would have been obvious to optimize the purchase ratio that best yields the appropriate force and tension for the specific trunk area of the body (paragraph 139 “Other configurations of TSAs, including alternate, additional, fewer, and/or differently configured components are anticipated. A TSA could include multiple twisted strings, different number(s) of strands, multiple motors, twisted strings actuated by two rotational actuators (i.e., a rotational actuator coupled to each end of the twisted string), more than one transmission tube, differently configured transmission tubes, different locations and/or means of attachment to actuated elements, or other configurations according to an application”; paragraph 144 “The flexible transmission tube 552e is configured to transmit torques and/or forces along its length and to be flexible in directions perpendicular to its length [similar to the outer housing of a Bowden cable]”).
Regarding claim 7, modified Chang teaches the system of claim 1.
Modified Chang further teaches wherein the trunk flexor tunnel, the trunk extensor tunnel, the right flexor tunnel, the left flexor tunnel, the right extensor tunnel, and the left extensor tunnel each comprise an attachment point (paragraph 0080 “As explained above, the LDMs may serve as attachment points for components of a power layer… With LDMs strategically placed around the body, the power layer can also be strategically placed thereon to provide any number of muscle assistance movements”).
Modified Chang is silent wherein the tunnels comprise at least one re-routing structure.
However, Kornbluh teaches at least one re-routing structure (paragraph 121 “A transmission tube could be straight, curved, serpentine, or have some other shape according to an application. Additionally or alternatively, a transmission tube could be flexible in some way; in some examples, the transmission tube could withstand longitudinal forces while allowing the transmission tube to be bent, for example, around a joint that flexes during operation of the TSA. That is, the transmission tube and twisted string partially contained therein could be configured analogously to the outer housing and inner cable, respectively, of a Bowden cable”).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the product of Chang to include at least one re-routing structure. The re-routing structure can transmit the force from the actuator along its length to its attachment piece and can provide flexibility for the positioning of the tunnels and allow for the twisted string and actuator to operate along a curved surface within the exoskeleton (paragraph 143 “The flexible transmission tube 553d is configured to transmit torques and/or forces along its length and to be flexible in directions perpendicular to its length (similar to the outer housing of a Bowden cable)… The flexible transmission tube 553d could enable the TSA 500d to be operated conformably along a partially curved surface or other element (i.e., the flexible transmission tube 553d could conform to the curved aspect of the partially curved surface) and/or to be operated while the flexible transmission tube 553d is flexed).
Regarding claim 8, modified Chang teaches the system of claim 7.
Kornbluh further teaches wherein the at least one re-routing structure comprises a curved hollow tube (paragraph 121 “A transmission tube could be straight, curved, serpentine, or have some other shape according to an application. Additionally or alternatively, a transmission tube could be flexible in some way; in some examples, the transmission tube could withstand longitudinal forces while allowing the transmission tube to be bent, for example, around a joint that flexes during operation of the TSA. That is, the transmission tube and twisted string partially contained therein could be configured analogously to the outer housing and inner cable, respectively, of a Bowden cable”; the transmission tube must be hollow in order to house the twisted string).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang (US 20190283247 A1) in view of Witherspoon (US 20190283237 A1) and De Rossi (US 20170202724 A1).
Regarding claim 11, Chang teaches an oversuit system comprising: a fabric suit component (paragraph 0056 "Elastic elements of the stability layer may be integrated to parts of the base layer or be an integral part of the base layer. For example, elastic fabrics containing spandex or similar materials may serve as a combination base/stability layer) constructed to be worn over a body of a use (Fig. 2a), wherein the fabric suit component comprises: sensors (paragraph 0096 "These sensors may be located anywhere on base layer 210 and may be electrically coupled to power and communications lines [e.g., 233, 238, 243, 248, 253, 258, 263, 268, and/or other lines]"); a left knee load distribution member (LDM); a right knee LDM (paragraph 0075 "In some embodiments, thigh LDMs 106 and 108 and calf LDMs 102 and 104, respectively, may be merged together to form leg LDMs that may cover the entirety of the legs and/or feet of the wearer");
a plurality of tunnels constructed to route twisted strings (Flexor PLSs 230 and 235 may provide leg muscle extensor movements. Flexor PLS 230 may include a flexdrive subsystem 231, a twisted string 232, and power/communication lines 233…Flexor PLS 235 may include a flexdrive subsystem 236, a twisted string 237, and power/communication lines 238. Twisted string 237 may be attached to flexdrive subsystem 236 and an attachment point 239”);
a plurality of flexible linear actuators (FLA) constructed (paragraph 0081 “As shown, the power layer can include power layer segments 140-158. One, some, or each power layer segment can include any number of flexible linear actuators”) to be removably connected to designated twisted strings comprising twisted strings being routed through the plurality of tunnels (paragraph 0089 “The power layer segment can be, for example, either a FLA operating alone to apply the force and motion, or a FLA in series with an elastic element. In the latter case, the human biceps may be working against the elastic element, with the FLA adjusting the length and thereby the resistive force of the elastic element” where the elastic element can include the twisted string; One skilled in the art would reasonably expect that for the actuator to be removably connected to obtain access to the circuitry of the actuator and perform any necessary electrical maintenance);
a power source (paragraph 0098 "Exosuit 200 can include any suitable communications circuitry, such as that which may be contained in power and communications modules 270 or 275, to communicate directly with a user device (e.g., a smartphone) or with the user device via a central sever");
and a controller operative to: process data received by the sensors to identify one of a plurality of static positions being held by the user (paragraph 0104 "Body physiology estimator 330 may receive data inputs from one or more sensors 314, control processor 320, and/or any other components if desired. Estimator 330 may be operative to analyze the data to ascertain the physiology of the user. Estimator 330 may apply data analytics and statistics to the data to resolve physiological afflictions or conditions of the user's body. For example, estimator 330 can determine whether the user is sitting, standing, leaning, laying down, laying down on a side, walking, running, jumping, performing exercise movements, playing sports, reaching, holding an object or objects, or performing any other static or active physiological event. The results may be provided to control module(s) 350, for example, via control processor 320”); and activate a subset of the plurality of FLAs based on the identified static position such that the oversuit supports the user in maintaining the identified static position (paragraph 0164 “The one or more hardware and/or software controllers can then generate a control output that can be executed by actuators of the exosuit to affect a commanded state of the exosuit and/or to enable some other application at the suit and/or at a remote application or dashboard for the benefit of the wearer or any other suitable entity [e.g., caretaker, etc.]").
Chang is silent on a core support member comprising a core twisted string.
However, Witherspoon teaches a core support member comprising a core twisted string (paragraph 0133 "CSG 1900 can include front panels 1910 and 1920, back panel 1930, cross bands 1940a-d, shoulder straps 1950 and 1960, tension system 1970, and side stays 1980" where CSG is core support grip; paragraph 0135 " Tension system 1970 can include belt segments 1971 and 1972, motor 1973, twisted string 1974").
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the product of Chang to include a core support member with a core twisted string. The core support can provide better load distribution and support to the user’s core while wearing the exosuit (paragraph 0108 “The core support system can include several different stay members that are strategically positioned on the exosuit to provide load distribution support and core support”).
Chang is silent on a belt member constructed to be worn over the fabric suit and around a hip region of the user that comprise actuators.
However, De Rossi teaches a belt member constructed to be worn over the fabric suit and around a hip region of the user comprising actuators (Fig. 1c; paragraph 0112 “In at least some aspects, the power belt 125 comprises all actuators (e.g., motors, pulleys, etc.), electronics and power sources (e.g., batteries, etc.) necessary to power the assistive flexible suit 100”).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the product of Chang to include a belt member around a hip region of the user. The belt provides load-bearing support to the user, especially in the iliac crest and the user’s pelvis (paragraph 0128 “The waist belt 306 extends over the superolateral iliac crests of the pelvic girdle as load-bearing support members or anchor points for supporting reaction forces”). It would have been obvious to place actuators on the belt to support core movement via the exoskeleton and reduce the amount of mass being disposed on limbs of a user (paragraph 0108 “In at least some aspects of the present concepts, it is desired to minimize the distal mass that is added to the legs”).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang (US 20190283247 A1) in view of De Rossi (US 20170202724 A1).
Regarding claim 12, Chang teaches a method for using an oversuit (Fig. 2a exosuit 200) comprising a fabric suit component (paragraph 0056 "Elastic elements of the stability layer may be integrated to parts of the base layer or be an integral part of the base layer. For example, elastic fabrics containing spandex or similar materials may serve as a combination base/stability layer"), wherein the fabric suit comprises load distribution members (paragraph 0075 "In some embodiments, thigh LDMs 106 and 108 and calf LDMs 102 and 104, respectively, may be merged together to form leg LDMs that may cover the entirety of the legs and/or feet of the wearer") and twisted stings that are connected to the load distribution members (paragraph 0093 "Exosuit 200 can include flexor PLSs 230 and 235 that may be secured to thigh LDMs 212 and 214 and upper torso LDM 220. Flexor PLSs 230 and 235 may provide leg muscle extensor movements. Flexor PLS 230 may include a flexdrive subsystem 231, a twisted string 232, and power/communication lines 233…Flexor PLS 235 may include a flexdrive subsystem 236, a twisted string 237, and power/communication lines 238. Twisted string 237 may be attached to flexdrive subsystem 236 and an attachment point 239”), and flexible linear actuators that are connected to the twisted strings (paragraph 0081 “As shown, the power layer can include power layer segments 140-158. One, some, or each power layer segment can include any number of flexible linear actuators”; paragraph 0089 “The power layer segment can be, for example, either a FLA operating alone to apply the force and motion, or a FLA in series with an elastic element. In the latter case, the human biceps may be working against the elastic element, with the FLA adjusting the length and thereby the resistive force of the elastic element” where the elastic element can include the twisted string), the method comprising:
detecting a static position of a user of the oversuit (paragraph 0104 "Body physiology estimator 330 may receive data inputs from one or more sensors 314, control processor 320, and/or any other components if desired. Estimator 330 may be operative to analyze the data to ascertain the physiology of the user. Estimator 330 may apply data analytics and statistics to the data to resolve physiological afflictions or conditions of the user's body. For example, estimator 330 can determine whether the user is sitting, standing, leaning, laying down, laying down on a side, walking, running, jumping, performing exercise movements, playing sports, reaching, holding an object or objects, or performing any other static or active physiological event. The results may be provided to control module(s) 350, for example, via control processor 320”); and selectively activating a subset of the flexible linear actuators based on the detected static position such that the oversuit supports the user in maintaining the determined static position (paragraph 0164 “The one or more hardware and/or software controllers can then generate a control output that can be executed by actuators of the exosuit to affect a commanded state of the exosuit and/or to enable some other application at the suit and/or at a remote application or dashboard for the benefit of the wearer or any other suitable entity [e.g., caretaker, etc.]").
Chang is silent on the oversuit comprising a belt that comprises actuators.
However, De Rossi teaches a belt member comprising actuators (Fig. 1c; paragraph 0112 “In at least some aspects, the power belt 125 comprises all actuators (e.g., motors, pulleys, etc.), electronics and power sources (e.g., batteries, etc.) necessary to power the assistive flexible suit 100”).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the product of Chang to include a belt member with actuators. The belt provides load-bearing support to the user, especially in the iliac crest and the user’s pelvis (paragraph 0128 “The waist belt 306 extends over the superolateral iliac crests of the pelvic girdle as load-bearing support members or anchor points for supporting reaction forces”). It would have been obvious to place actuators on the belt to support core movement via the exoskeleton and reduce the amount of mass being disposed on limbs of a user (paragraph 0108 “In at least some aspects of the present concepts, it is desired to minimize the distal mass that is added to the legs”).
Conclusion
/AKHIL ADAI JAYAN/
Examiner, Art Unit 3785
/KENDRA D CARTER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3785