DETAILED ACTION
Examiner’s Note: This case has been inherited by Examiner Fernandez
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Objections
Claim 8 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 8, in line 14, --- and --- should be inserted before “a frame rate…”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-16 and 22-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
With regards to claim 1, in the last three lines, the claim recites “the processing circuitry sets the frame rate of the ultrasonic waves for imaging to be lower and sets the repetition frequency of the ultrasonic waves for motion detection to be higher”. It is unclear as to respect to what value the frame rate is set to be “lower” than and to what value the repetition frequency for motion detection is set to be “higher” than. For examination purposes, it is assumed that the frame rate is set to be lower than the previously set frame rate and the repetition frequency is set to be higher than the previously set repetition frequency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter.
With regards to claim 10, the broadest reasonable interpretation of the phrase “A computer-readable recording medium" includes non-transitory embodiments, such as memory elements (ROM, RAM) and memory media (CDs) as well as transitory embodiments, such as carrier waves encoded with the computer program steps. However, transitory forms of signals are not statutory (In re Nuijten, 84 USPQ2d 1495). A claim that covers both statutory and non-statutory embodiments embraces subject matter that is improperly directed to non-statutory subject matter. The Examiner suggests amending the “A computer-readable recording medium" limitation to include the term "non-transitory" in order for the claims to be statutory subject matter, as long as the specification supports a non-transitory embodiment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sheng et al. (“Quantitative assessment of changes in muscle contractility due to fatigue during NMES: An ultrasound imaging approach” 2019), hereinafter “Sheng,” in further view of AlMohimeed et al. (“Ultrasound measurement of skeletal muscle contractile parameters using flexible and wearable single-element ultrasonic sensor” June 2020), hereinafter “AlMohimeed,” in further view of Dieterich et al. (“M-mode ultrasound used to detect the onset of dep muscle activity” 2015), hereinafter “Dieterich.”
Regarding claim 8, Sheng discloses an analysis method (NMES and ultrasound analysis methodology, P.832, ¶1), comprising:
applying an electric stimulus formed by short pulses to a muscle (stimulator and electrodes apply an electrical stimulus formed by short pulses to a muscle, P.835, ¶4-5, Figs.1 and 2),
transmitting ultrasonic waves to the muscle to receive reflected ultrasonic waves (ultrasonic transducer transmits ultrasonic waves to the muscle and receives reflected ultrasonic waves, P.835, ¶4, Figs. 1 and 2), and
based on the reflected ultrasonic waves, analyzing a contraction characteristic of the muscle at a time of a single contraction response of the muscle in response to one short pulse of the electric stimulus (personal computer analyzes the strain/deformation/displacement of the muscle at a time of a single contraction response of the muscle to the electric stimulus based on the reflected ultrasonic waves, P.833, ¶4 – P.835, ¶1, P.836, ¶3, Figs. 2 and 4-7; the electric stimulus is formed by the short pulse with a particular pulse frequency, P.835, ¶4-5, Fig. 2), and
designating an analysis region of the reflected ultrasonic waves (locate a region of interest (ROI) in the acquired ultrasound image, P.833, ¶2, P.835, ¶2-4, P.837, ¶1, Figs. 1-2, 4-7) and analyzing the contraction characteristic of the analysis region (analyze the strain/deformation/displacement of the muscle at a time of a single contraction response of the muscle to the electric stimulus based on the reflected ultrasonic waves, P.833, ¶4 – P.835, ¶1, P.836, ¶3, Figs. 2 and 4-7).
Further, Sheng discloses the ultrasonic waves that is transmitted comprises ultrasonic waves for imaging (B-mode ultrasound images from transmitted and reflected ultrasound waves, P.834, ¶3, P. 835, ¶4, Figs. 1-2, 4-7), and the processing circuitry sets a frame rate of the ultrasonic waves for imaging (B-mode ultrasound image frame rate, P.834, ¶3, P.835, ¶4, P.836, ¶2).
However, Sheng does not appear to disclose the contraction characteristic of the muscle comprises a time response of the muscle from contraction to relaxation.
Additionally, Shen does not does not appear to disclose the ultrasonic waves that is transmitted comprises ultrasonic waves for motion detection, and the processing circuitry sets a repetition frequency of the ultrasonic waves for motion detection.
However, in the same field of endeavor of combined electrical muscle stimulation and ultrasound analysis, AlMohimeed teaches based on the acquired ultrasonic waves, analyzing a contraction characteristic of the muscle at a time of a single contraction response of the muscle in response to one short pulse of the electric stimulus, wherein the contraction characteristic of the muscle comprises a time response of the muscle from contraction to relaxation (contraction characteristic of the muscle comprises a time response of the muscle from contraction to complete relaxation in response to electrical muscle stimulation at 2 or 4 Hz based on acquired ultrasonic waves, Abstract, P.6, ¶3 – P.8, ¶1, P.8, ¶3 -P.10, P.10, ¶2 – P.12, ¶3; see also Figs. 2-6 and 8-9 and Table 1; analysis is performed using a digital acquisition system and a personal computer, P. 7, ¶1 – P.8, ¶2).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have applied AlMohimeed’s known technique of using an electrical stimulus pulse frequency of 2 or 4 Hz to evaluate the contraction characteristic of the muscle including contraction and relaxation to Sheng’s known process of using an electrical stimulus pulse frequency to evaluate the contraction characteristic of the muscle to achieve the predictable result that evaluating multiple frequencies along the FI-EMS frequency curve between 2 Hz and 10 Hz, including 2 Hz and 4Hz, that correspond to different levels of contraction from non-tetanic to partially fused tetanic contraction allows for assessment of the degree of muscle fatigue and/or the evaluation of muscle fiber type and fiber composition ratio. See, e.g., AlMohimeed, P.12, ¶3-4.
However, Sheng in further view of AlMohimeed does not appear to teach the reflected ultrasonic waves comprise reflection of a boundary surface of the muscle, and the analysis region comprising an M-mode image showing a range of a motion of the boundary surface of the muscle is designated according to the motion of the boundary surface of the muscle.
Additionally, Shen does not does not appear to disclose the ultrasonic waves that is transmitted comprises ultrasonic waves for motion detection, and the processing circuitry sets a repetition frequency of the ultrasonic waves for motion detection.
However, in the same field of endeavor of M-mode muscle motion analysis, Dieterich teaches the reflected ultrasonic waves comprise reflection of a boundary surface of the muscle (M-mode ultrasound waves are reflected from an interface surface of the muscle, P.225, ¶2, P.225, ¶4 – P.226, ¶1, P.226, ¶6 – P.227, ¶1, Figs. 1, 2b, and 4), and the analysis region comprising an M-mode image showing a range of a motion of the boundary surface of the muscle is designated according to the motion of the boundary surface of the muscle (LabView software application executed by a processor to determine a zone/region/depth of analysis from an M-mode image showing a motion/displacement of the interface surface of the muscle, P.225, ¶2, P.225, ¶4 – P.226, ¶1, P.226, ¶6 – P.227, ¶1, Figs. 1, 2b, and 4). Further, in the same field of endeavor of M-mode muscle motion analysis, Dieterich teaches the ultrasonic waves that is transmitted comprises ultrasonic waves for motion detection (M-mode ultrasound is transmitted into the tissue for reflection from an interface surface of the muscle and the M-mode image shows a motion/displacement of the interface surface of the muscle, P.225, ¶2, P.225, ¶4 – P.226, ¶1, P.226, ¶6 – P.227, ¶1, Figs. 1, 2b, and 4), and the processing circuitry sets a repetition frequency of the ultrasonic waves for motion detection (custom-programmed application executed by a processor sets a repetition frequency of the ultrasonic waves for M-mode imaging of motion/displacement, P.226, ¶2).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have applied Dieterich’s known technique of using M-mode imaging to determine a zone/region/depth of analysis showing a motion/displacement of the interface surface of the muscle to Sheng in further view of AlMohimeed’s known process using ultrasound imaging to analyze the displacement/motion of the muscle layer using reflected ultrasound waves to achieve the predictable result that using M-mode imaging to analyze muscle displacement/motion provides for non-invasive assessment of deep muscle activity. See, e.g., Dieterich, Abstract.
Additionally, It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have applied Dieterich’s known technique of using M-mode imaging to determine a zone/region/depth of analysis showing a motion/displacement of the interface surface of the muscle to Sheng in further view of AlMohimeed’s known apparatus using ultrasound imaging to analyze the displacement/motion of the muscle layer using reflected ultrasound waves to achieve the predictable result that using M-mode imaging to analyze muscle displacement/motion provides for non-invasive assessment of deep muscle activity. See, e.g., Dieterich, Abstract.
With regards to the limitation concerning “when a repetition frequency sufficient for observing the contraction characteristic of the muscle cannot be obtained, the frame rate of the ultrasonic waves for imaging is set to be lower and the repetition frequency of the ultrasonic waves for motion detection is set to be higher”, the limitation is a contingent limitation. The broadest reasonable interpretation of a method (or process) claim having contingent limitations requires only those steps that must be performed and does not include steps that are not required to be performed because the condition(s) precedent are not met. See MPEP 2111.04. As such, the broadest reasonable interpretation of the method of claim 8 having the above contingent limitation does not include the above steps of the frame rate of the ultrasonic waves for imaging being set to be lower and the repetition frequency of the ultrasonic waves for motion detection being set to be higher “when a repetition frequency sufficient for observing the contraction characteristic of the muscle cannot be obtained”.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1 and 9 would be allowable if rewritten or amended to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and claim 10 would be allowable if rewritten or amended to overcome the 35 USC 112(b) and 35 USC 101 rejections.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
With regards to claims 1, 9 and 10, the prior art does not teach or suggest that when a repetition frequency sufficient for observing the contraction characteristic of the muscle cannot be obtained, the processing circuitry/computer sets the frame rate of the ultrasonic waves for imaging to be lower [than the previously set frame rate] and sets the repetition frequency of the ultrasonic waves for motion detection to be higher [than the previously set repetition frequency], in combination with the other claimed elements.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pgs. 9-11, filed May 7, 2026, with respect to the rejections of claims 1, 9 and 10 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The prior art rejections of claims 1, 9 and 10 have been withdrawn.
However, claim 8 is directed to a method, wherein the limitation directed to the allowable subject matter for the apparatus/product claims 1, 9 and 10 concerning “when a repetition frequency sufficient for observing the contraction characteristic of the muscle cannot be obtained, the frame rate of the ultrasonic waves for imaging is set to be lower and the repetition frequency of the ultrasonic waves for motion detection is set to be higher” is considered to correspond to a contingent limitation. The broadest reasonable interpretation of a method (or process) claim having contingent limitations requires only those steps that must be performed and does not include steps that are not required to be performed because the condition(s) precedent are not met. See MPEP 2111.04. As such, the broadest reasonable interpretation of the method of claim 8 having the above contingent limitation does not include the above steps of the frame rate of the ultrasonic waves for imaging being set to be lower and the repetition frequency of the ultrasonic waves for motion detection being set to be higher “when a repetition frequency sufficient for observing the contraction characteristic of the muscle cannot be obtained”.
Claim 8 therefore remains rejected under the previously applied prior art.
Conclusion
/KATHERINE L FERNANDEZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3798