DETAILED ACTION
The action is responsive to the Application filed on 06/04/2023. Claims 1-36 are pending in the case. Claims 1, 35 and 36 are independent claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. The claim recites “one or more applications the electronic device accessed that are associated with the activity event. detecting relationships with people/phone calls you made.” which is grammatically incorrect therefore making the claim indefinite. For the purpose of examination, Examiner assumed the claim to recite “one or more applications the electronic device accessed that are associated with the activity event.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 11, 13, 15, 17-22, 28-30, 32 and 36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Eshelman et al. (US 20020078070 A1, hereinafter Eshelman).
As to claim 1, Eshelman discloses a method comprising:
at an electronic device in communication with a display generation component and one or more input devices (“Referring to FIG. 1, a system on which the diary/calendar application of the current invention may be run has, at its heart, a computer 100. The Computer 100 may receive input from various sources for example, an image processor 305 connected to cameras 135 and 136, conventional user interface devices 160 such as a remote control 150 and the keyboard 155… The computer 100 may directly output through a monitor 175,” Eshelman paragraph 0015):
detecting an activity event associated with a user of the electronic device, wherein the activity event corresponds to one or more operations performed by the electronic device ("Referring to FIG. 2, five basic methods of adding data to the diary/calendar application of the invention are presented for illustration. A first method 1 adds records solicited by the diary/calendar application in response to some triggering event. The solicitation may be, for example, in the form of a request for an explanation 65 for something whose occurrence was sensed and classified as noteworthy by the diary/calendar application system," Eshelman paragraph 0016); and
in response to detecting the activity event associated with the user:
in accordance with a determination that the activity event satisfies one or more criteria, displaying, via the display generation component, a prompt associated with a journaling application on the electronic device, wherein input directed to the prompt associated with the journaling application initiates a process to provide input for a journaling entry associated with the activity event in the journaling application ("The first method 1 is basically a request for diary entries. However, rather than simply make the request without prompting, the system attempts to make the request for information at expeditious times. For example, the diary/calendar application may provide a process that monitors other applications 9. A mood, state, event classifier 36 monitoring text and other data generated by the user interacting with such applications may classify the state of the user, his/her environment, activities, etc. Such a process may generate an indication that the user has been reading email for a period of time. This may trigger, upon exiting of the email client, or alternatively, after the client has been active for a threshold period of time, a solicitation for information regarding the email received or sent 65. The request may be designed for the particular application that prompted the request. In the example, a dialog box may appear asking if any noteworthy email letters arrived or if the user would like to attach any of them to today's diary record," Eshelman paragraph 0020, display solicitation notification based on trigger conditions for the event firing), and
in accordance with a determination that the activity event does not satisfy the one or more criteria, forgoing displaying, via the display generation component, the prompt associated with the journaling application ("The first method 1 is basically a request for diary entries. However, rather than simply make the request without prompting, the system attempts to make the request for information at expeditious times. For example, the diary/calendar application may provide a process that monitors other applications 9. A mood, state, event classifier 36 monitoring text and other data generated by the user interacting with such applications may classify the state of the user, his/her environment, activities, etc. Such a process may generate an indication that the user has been reading email for a period of time. This may trigger, upon exiting of the email client, or alternatively, after the client has been active for a threshold period of time, a solicitation for information regarding the email received or sent 65. The request may be designed for the particular application that prompted the request. In the example, a dialog box may appear asking if any noteworthy email letters arrived or if the user would like to attach any of them to today's diary record," Eshelman paragraph 0020, display solicitation notification based on trigger conditions for the event firing).
As to claim 2, Eshelman further discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the activity event does not satisfy the one or more criteria, the method further comprising:
after detecting the activity event, receiving, via the one or more input devices, a first user input corresponding to a request to manually create a respective journaling entry in the journaling application ("A sixth and final method (not shown) may be according to a deliberate diary-entry procedure as is done with current diary applications," Eshelman paragraph 0016; "In the example, a dialog box may appear asking if any noteworthy email letters arrived or if the user would like to attach any of them to today's diary record. Note that attaching files or other data objects to text diary entries is contemplated as included within the idea of creating or writing a diary entry. The user may respond by indicating or dragging and dropping attachments to an appropriate user interface object and/or writing a diary entry or simply dismiss the invitation to enter," Eshelman paragraph 0020); and
in response to receiving the first user input, initiating a process to manually create the respective journaling entry in the journaling application ("In the example, a dialog box may appear asking if any noteworthy email letters arrived or if the user would like to attach any of them to today's diary record. Note that attaching files or other data objects to text diary entries is contemplated as included within the idea of creating or writing a diary entry. The user may respond by indicating or dragging and dropping attachments to an appropriate user interface object and/or writing a diary entry or simply dismiss the invitation to enter," Eshelman paragraph 0020).
As to claim 3, Eshelman further discloses the method of claim 2, wherein the first user input is directed to a content item displayed in a first application different from the journaling application, and the process to manually create the respective journaling entry in the journaling application utilizes the content item as part of the journaling entry ("In the example, a dialog box may appear asking if any noteworthy email letters arrived or if the user would like to attach any of them to today's diary record. Note that attaching files or other data objects to text diary entries is contemplated as included within the idea of creating or writing a diary entry. The user may respond by indicating or dragging and dropping attachments to an appropriate user interface object and/or writing a diary entry or simply dismiss the invitation to enter," Eshelman paragraph 0020).
As to claim 11, Eshelman further discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the prompt includes one or more details related to the activity event ("The first method 1 is basically a request for diary entries. However, rather than simply make the request without prompting, the system attempts to make the request for information at expeditious times. For example, the diary/calendar application may provide a process that monitors other applications 9. A mood, state, event classifier 36 monitoring text and other data generated by the user interacting with such applications may classify the state of the user, his/her environment, activities, etc. Such a process may generate an indication that the user has been reading email for a period of time. This may trigger, upon exiting of the email client, or alternatively, after the client has been active for a threshold period of time, a solicitation for information regarding the email received or sent 65. The request may be designed for the particular application that prompted the request. In the example, a dialog box may appear asking if any noteworthy email letters arrived or if the user would like to attach any of them to today's diary record," Eshelman paragraph 0020, notification has a solicitation for information regarding the email recieved or sent (i.e., details about the activity that triggered the notification)).
As to claim 13, Eshelman further discloses the method of claim 1, the method further comprising:
receiving, via the one or more input devices, first user input corresponding to a request to create a respective journal entry associated with a content item ("The articles may be annotated by the user, cropped, added to with selected pictures, etc. Thus, the personal record of public events may be personalized by the user," Eshelman paragraph 0008; "Note that attaching files or other data objects to text diary entries is contemplated as included within the idea of creating or writing a diary entry. The user may respond by indicating or dragging and dropping attachments to an appropriate user interface object and/or writing a diary entry or simply dismiss the invitation to enter," Eshelman paragraph 0020); and
in response to receiving the first user input, creating the respective journal entry, including linking the respective journal entry to the content item ("The articles may be annotated by the user, cropped, added to with selected pictures, etc. Thus, the personal record of public events may be personalized by the user," Eshelman paragraph 0008; "Note that attaching files or other data objects to text diary entries is contemplated as included within the idea of creating or writing a diary entry. The user may respond by indicating or dragging and dropping attachments to an appropriate user interface object and/or writing a diary entry or simply dismiss the invitation to enter," Eshelman paragraph 0020).
As to claim 15, Eshelman further discloses the method of claim 1, the method further comprising:
while displaying the prompt associated with the journaling application, receiving, via the one or more input devices, a first user input directed to the prompt associated with the journaling application ("In the example, a dialog box may appear asking if any noteworthy email letters arrived or if the user would like to attach any of them to today's diary record. Note that attaching files or other data objects to text diary entries is contemplated as included within the idea of creating or writing a diary entry. The user may respond by indicating or dragging and dropping attachments to an appropriate user interface object and/or writing a diary entry or simply dismiss the invitation to enter," Eshelman paragraph 0020, interacting with the prompt to drag / drop photos of the object); and
receiving the first user input, displaying, via the display generation component, a user interface that includes one or more details related to the activity event (“This may trigger, upon exiting of the email client, or alternatively, after the client has been active for a threshold period of time, a solicitation for information regarding the email received or sent 65. The request may be designed for the particular application that prompted the request. In the example, a dialog box may appear asking if any noteworthy email letters arrived or if the user would like to attach any of them to today's diary record,” Eshelman paragraph 0020).
As to claim 17, Eshelman further discloses the method of claim 1, the method further comprising:
while displaying the prompt associated with the journaling application, receiving, via the one or more input devices, a first user input directed to the prompt associated with the journaling application (“The system may automatically, or conditionally, respond to the entry with a request 30 for further detail about the future event. For example, if the user's entry is cryptic and not fully recognized, the system may invite the user, via a dialog box, to embellish the entry so that it is more understandable," Eshelman paragraph 0029, user input with the prompt);
in response to receiving the first user input, displaying, via the display generation component, a first question related to the activity event (“The system may automatically, or conditionally, respond to the entry with a request 30 for further detail about the future event. For example, if the user's entry is cryptic and not fully recognized, the system may invite the user, via a dialog box, to embellish the entry so that it is more understandable. For example, if the entry identifies someone, the user may enter information that makes the reference more specific, for example by adding the person's last name. Preferably, the diary/calendar application assists 75 in the process of augmenting by identifying more detailed information that matches the incomplete data entered," Eshelman paragraph 0018; "Other examples of input from external applications that may be used to prompt the calendar/diary application to solicit information regarding their respective events 65 include:," Eshelman paragraph 0023; "6. The content of data 11 entered by the user into the calendar or diary parts of the calendar/diary application itself," Eshelman paragraph 0029, if the user’s input is cryptic / not fully recognized then ask the user to embellish with more information); and
while displaying the first question related to the activity event, receiving, via the one or more input devices, a second user input corresponding to a first response that indicates a response to the first question, wherein at least a portion of the first response is included in the journaling entry (“The system may automatically, or conditionally, respond to the entry with a request 30 for further detail about the future event. For example, if the user's entry is cryptic and not fully recognized, the system may invite the user, via a dialog box, to embellish the entry so that it is more understandable. For example, if the entry identifies someone, the user may enter information that makes the reference more specific, for example by adding the person's last name. Preferably, the diary/calendar application assists 75 in the process of augmenting by identifying more detailed information that matches the incomplete data entered," Eshelman paragraph 0018; "Other examples of input from external applications that may be used to prompt the calendar/diary application to solicit information regarding their respective events 65 include:," Eshelman paragraph 0023; "6. The content of data 11 entered by the user into the calendar or diary parts of the calendar/diary application itself," Eshelman paragraph 0029, user can provide additional information in response to the question).
As to claim 18, Eshelman further discloses the method of claim 17, the method further comprising:
after receiving the second user input, displaying, via the display generation component, a second question related to the activity event, wherein the second question is based on the first response ("The system may automatically, or conditionally, respond to the entry with a request 30 for further detail about the future event. For example, if the user's entry is cryptic and not fully recognized, the system may invite the user, via a dialog box, to embellish the entry so that it is more understandable. For example, if the entry identifies someone, the user may enter information that makes the reference more specific, for example by adding the person's last name. Preferably, the diary/calendar application assists 75 in the process of augmenting by identifying more detailed information that matches the incomplete data entered. This may be done with a correlation/template engine 40. The correlation/template engine 40 may run in the background looking for matches to what is entered. Among the data it would review are historical data 95, which is data that has been entered into the diary before in more complete detail. Other data that might be reviewed are email messages, the most recent ones first, contact lists, or any other records that might provide the details of the short form (or ambiguous form--e.g., a typo) that was entered in the calendar. This candidate data would be presented to the user as alternative options to allow the user to select from, say, a dropdown list without having to type in the person's last name," Eshelman paragraph 0018, prompting the user for further information based on previously entered diary data).
As to claim 19, Eshelman further discloses the method of claims 17, the method further comprising:
after receiving the second user input, displaying, via the display generation component, a second question related to the activity event, wherein the second question is based on information associated with the activity event ("The system may automatically, or conditionally, respond to the entry with a request 30 for further detail about the future event. For example, if the user's entry is cryptic and not fully recognized, the system may invite the user, via a dialog box, to embellish the entry so that it is more understandable. For example, if the entry identifies someone, the user may enter information that makes the reference more specific, for example by adding the person's last name. Preferably, the diary/calendar application assists 75 in the process of augmenting by identifying more detailed information that matches the incomplete data entered. This may be done with a correlation/template engine 40. The correlation/template engine 40 may run in the background looking for matches to what is entered. Among the data it would review are historical data 95, which is data that has been entered into the diary before in more complete detail. Other data that might be reviewed are email messages, the most recent ones first, contact lists, or any other records that might provide the details of the short form (or ambiguous form--e.g., a typo) that was entered in the calendar. This candidate data would be presented to the user as alternative options to allow the user to select from, say, a dropdown list without having to type in the person's last name," Eshelman paragraph 0018, the prompt is displayed in response to the event and thus any additional questions asked in the prompt are related to the event and its information).
As to claim 20, Eshelman further discloses the method of claim 17, the method further comprising:
after receiving the second user input, displaying, via the display generation component, a second question related to the activity event, wherein the second question is based on one or more prior journaling entries in the journaling application ("The system may automatically, or conditionally, respond to the entry with a request 30 for further detail about the future event. For example, if the user's entry is cryptic and not fully recognized, the system may invite the user, via a dialog box, to embellish the entry so that it is more understandable. For example, if the entry identifies someone, the user may enter information that makes the reference more specific, for example by adding the person's last name. Preferably, the diary/calendar application assists 75 in the process of augmenting by identifying more detailed information that matches the incomplete data entered. This may be done with a correlation/template engine 40. The correlation/template engine 40 may run in the background looking for matches to what is entered. Among the data it would review are historical data 95, which is data that has been entered into the diary before in more complete detail. Other data that might be reviewed are email messages, the most recent ones first, contact lists, or any other records that might provide the details of the short form (or ambiguous form--e.g., a typo) that was entered in the calendar. This candidate data would be presented to the user as alternative options to allow the user to select from, say, a dropdown list without having to type in the person's last name," Eshelman paragraph 0018, prompting the user for further information based on historical diary data).
As to claim 21, Eshelman further discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the one or more criteria include a criterion that is satisfied based on a relationship between a current time of day at the electronic device and information associated with the user of the electronic device ("The diary/calendar application may attempt to build a classification engine to determine what times are the most favorable for obtaining diary records. For example, it may employ a neural network with inputs such as time of day, type of software activity (e.g., working with graphic, video, or text files, working with email, video-conferencing, checking stocks, etc.), type of physical activity (quiet or in and out of the house/office), number of visitors, etc. These and other inputs may be used with the positive and negative feedback of the user's response to the request for diary entries to build a smart system that requests entries at optimal times," Eshelman paragraph 0022).
As to claim 22, Eshelman further discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the one or more criteria include a criterion that is satisfied based on one or more of:
a frequency with which the user of the electronic device contacts a contact associated with the activity event;
a movement of the electronic device from a first location to a second location that is associated with the activity event ("The diary/calendar application may attempt to build a classification engine to determine what times are the most favorable for obtaining diary records. For example, it may employ a neural network with inputs such as time of day, type of software activity (e.g., working with graphic, video, or text files, working with email, video-conferencing, checking stocks, etc.), type of physical activity (quiet or in and out of the house/office), number of visitors, etc. These and other inputs may be used with the positive and negative feedback of the user's response to the request for diary entries to build a smart system that requests entries at optimal times," Eshelman paragraph 0022);
a photo taken by the electronic device that is associated with the activity event;
operations performed by a second electronic device associated with the user of the electronic device, wherein the operations are associated with the activity event ("The diary/calendar application may attempt to build a classification engine to determine what times are the most favorable for obtaining diary records. For example, it may employ a neural network with inputs such as time of day, type of software activity (e.g., working with graphic, video, or text files, working with email, video-conferencing, checking stocks, etc.), type of physical activity (quiet or in and out of the house/office), number of visitors, etc. These and other inputs may be used with the positive and negative feedback of the user's response to the request for diary entries to build a smart system that requests entries at optimal times," Eshelman paragraph 0022);
content accessed by the electronic device that is associated with the activity event ("The diary/calendar application may attempt to build a classification engine to determine what times are the most favorable for obtaining diary records. For example, it may employ a neural network with inputs such as time of day, type of software activity (e.g., working with graphic, video, or text files, working with email, video-conferencing, checking stocks, etc.), type of physical activity (quiet or in and out of the house/office), number of visitors, etc. These and other inputs may be used with the positive and negative feedback of the user's response to the request for diary entries to build a smart system that requests entries at optimal times," Eshelman paragraph 0022; "The first method 1 is basically a request for diary entries. However, rather than simply make the request without prompting, the system attempts to make the request for information at expeditious times. For example, the diary/calendar application may provide a process that monitors other applications 9. A mood, state, event classifier 36 monitoring text and other data generated by the user interacting with such applications may classify the state of the user, his/her environment, activities, etc. Such a process may generate an indication that the user has been reading email for a period of time. This may trigger, upon exiting of the email client, or alternatively, after the client has been active for a threshold period of time, a solicitation for information regarding the email received or sent 65. The request may be designed for the particular application that prompted the request. In the example, a dialog box may appear asking if any noteworthy email letters arrived or if the user would like to attach any of them to today's diary record," Eshelman paragraph 0020); or
one or more applications the electronic device accessed that are associated with the activity event ("The diary/calendar application may attempt to build a classification engine to determine what times are the most favorable for obtaining diary records. For example, it may employ a neural network with inputs such as time of day, type of software activity (e.g., working with graphic, video, or text files, working with email, video-conferencing, checking stocks, etc.), type of physical activity (quiet or in and out of the house/office), number of visitors, etc. These and other inputs may be used with the positive and negative feedback of the user's response to the request for diary entries to build a smart system that requests entries at optimal times," Eshelman paragraph 0022; "The first method 1 is basically a request for diary entries. However, rather than simply make the request without prompting, the system attempts to make the request for information at expeditious times. For example, the diary/calendar application may provide a process that monitors other applications 9. A mood, state, event classifier 36 monitoring text and other data generated by the user interacting with such applications may classify the state of the user, his/her environment, activities, etc. Such a process may generate an indication that the user has been reading email for a period of time. This may trigger, upon exiting of the email client, or alternatively, after the client has been active for a threshold period of time, a solicitation for information regarding the email received or sent 65. The request may be designed for the particular application that prompted the request. In the example, a dialog box may appear asking if any noteworthy email letters arrived or if the user would like to attach any of them to today's diary record," Eshelman paragraph 0020).
As to claim 28, Eshelman further discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the prompt is displayed, via the display generation component, in a widget displayed in a system user interface of the electronic device ("The first method 1 is basically a request for diary entries. However, rather than simply make the request without prompting, the system attempts to make the request for information at expeditious times. For example, the diary/calendar application may provide a process that monitors other applications 9. A mood, state, event classifier 36 monitoring text and other data generated by the user interacting with such applications may classify the state of the user, his/her environment, activities, etc. Such a process may generate an indication that the user has been reading email for a period of time. This may trigger, upon exiting of the email client, or alternatively, after the client has been active for a threshold period of time, a solicitation for information regarding the email received or sent 65. The request may be designed for the particular application that prompted the request. In the example, a dialog box may appear asking if any noteworthy email letters arrived or if the user would like to attach any of them to today's diary record," Eshelman paragraph 0020).
As to claim 29, Eshelman further discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the prompt is displayed in a first application other than the journaling application ("For example, the diary/calendar application may provide a process that monitors other applications 9. A mood, state, event classifier 36 monitoring text and other data generated by the user interacting with such applications may classify the state of the user, his/her environment, activities, etc. Such a process may generate an indication that the user has been reading email for a period of time. This may trigger, upon exiting of the email client, or alternatively, after the client has been active for a threshold period of time, a solicitation for information regarding the email received or sent 65. The request may be designed for the particular application that prompted the request," Eshelman paragraph 0020).
As to claim 30, Eshelman further discloses the method of claim 29, the method further comprising:
receiving, via the one or more input devices, a first user input directed to the prompt (“This may trigger, upon exiting of the email client, or alternatively, after the client has been active for a threshold period of time, a solicitation for information regarding the email received or sent 65. The request may be designed for the particular application that prompted the request. In the example, a dialog box may appear asking if any noteworthy email letters arrived or if the user would like to attach any of them to today's diary record,” Eshelman paragraph 0020); and
in response to receiving the first user input, displaying, via the display generation component, information related to the activity event without ceasing display of the first application (“This may trigger, upon exiting of the email client, or alternatively, after the client has been active for a threshold period of time, a solicitation for information regarding the email received or sent 65. The request may be designed for the particular application that prompted the request. In the example, a dialog box may appear asking if any noteworthy email letters arrived or if the user would like to attach any of them to today's diary record,” Eshelman paragraph 0020, displaying the user’s entered information into the dialog box and in a situation where the dialog box is displayed in response to the email client being active the dialog box is displayed over the email client).
As to claim 32, Eshelman further discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the prompt is displayed as a notification on the electronic device ("The first method 1 is basically a request for diary entries. However, rather than simply make the request without prompting, the system attempts to make the request for information at expeditious times. For example, the diary/calendar application may provide a process that monitors other applications 9. A mood, state, event classifier 36 monitoring text and other data generated by the user interacting with such applications may classify the state of the user, his/her environment, activities, etc. Such a process may generate an indication that the user has been reading email for a period of time. This may trigger, upon exiting of the email client, or alternatively, after the client has been active for a threshold period of time, a solicitation for information regarding the email received or sent 65. The request may be designed for the particular application that prompted the request. In the example, a dialog box may appear asking if any noteworthy email letters arrived or if the user would like to attach any of them to today's diary record," Eshelman paragraph 0020).
As to claim 36, Eshelman discloses a non-transitory computer readable storage medium storing one or more programs, the one or more programs comprising instructions, which when executed by one or more processors of an electronic device, cause the electronic device to perform a method (“Referring to FIG. 1, a system on which the diary/calendar application of the current invention may be run has, at its heart, a computer 100,” Eshelman paragraph 0015) comprising:
detecting an activity event associated with a user of the electronic device, wherein the activity event corresponds to one or more operations performed by the electronic device ("Referring to FIG. 2, five basic methods of adding data to the diary/calendar application of the invention are presented for illustration. A first method 1 adds records solicited by the diary/calendar application in response to some triggering event. The solicitation may be, for example, in the form of a request for an explanation 65 for something whose occurrence was sensed and classified as noteworthy by the diary/calendar application system," Eshelman paragraph 0016); and
in response to detecting the activity event associated with the user:
in accordance with a determination that the activity event satisfies one or more criteria, displaying, via the display generation component, a prompt associated with a journaling application on the electronic device, wherein input directed to the prompt associated with the journaling application initiates a process to provide input for a journaling entry associated with the activity event in the journaling application ("The first method 1 is basically a request for diary entries. However, rather than simply make the request without prompting, the system attempts to make the request for information at expeditious times. For example, the diary/calendar application may provide a process that monitors other applications 9. A mood, state, event classifier 36 monitoring text and other data generated by the user interacting with such applications may classify the state of the user, his/her environment, activities, etc. Such a process may generate an indication that the user has been reading email for a period of time. This may trigger, upon exiting of the email client, or alternatively, after the client has been active for a threshold period of time, a solicitation for information regarding the email received or sent 65. The request may be designed for the particular application that prompted the request. In the example, a dialog box may appear asking if any noteworthy email letters arrived or if the user would like to attach any of them to today's diary record," Eshelman paragraph 0020, display solicitation notification based on trigger conditions for the event firing), and
in accordance with a determination that the activity event does not satisfy the one or more criteria, forgoing displaying, via the display generation component, the prompt associated with the journaling application ("The first method 1 is basically a request for diary entries. However, rather than simply make the request without prompting, the system attempts to make the request for information at expeditious times. For example, the diary/calendar application may provide a process that monitors other applications 9. A mood, state, event classifier 36 monitoring text and other data generated by the user interacting with such applications may classify the state of the user, his/her environment, activities, etc. Such a process may generate an indication that the user has been reading email for a period of time. This may trigger, upon exiting of the email client, or alternatively, after the client has been active for a threshold period of time, a solicitation for information regarding the email received or sent 65. The request may be designed for the particular application that prompted the request. In the example, a dialog box may appear asking if any noteworthy email letters arrived or if the user would like to attach any of them to today's diary record," Eshelman paragraph 0020, display solicitation notification based on trigger conditions for the event firing).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4, 7-10, 14, 31 and 35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eshelman et al. (US 20020078070 A1, hereinafter Eshelman) in view of Shapiro et al. (US 20080021920 A1, hereinafter Shapiro).
As to claim 4, Eshelman discloses the method of claim 2, however Eshelman does not appear to explicitly disclose a limitation wherein the first user input is directed to a user interface displayed in the journaling application.
Shapiro teaches a limitation wherein the first user input is directed to a user interface displayed in the journaling application ("FIG. 13 shows another exemplary graphical user interface environment 1300. As is shown in FIG. 13, exemplary graphical user interface environment 1300 comprises display/navigation pane 1305 having various navigation/menu commands 1310 for use in creating, viewing/editing, and sharing generated memory content," Shapiro paragraph 0069; Shapiro Figure 13 "Create New Memories" link).
Accordingly it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Eshelman to manually create journaling entries by user input to a UI element in the journalling application as taught by Shapiro. One would have been motivated to make such a combination so that the user would have an obvious pathway to creating the manual entry, thus resulting in greater ease of use.
As to claim 7, Eshelman discloses the method of claim 1, however Eshelman does not appear to explicitly disclose a limitation further comprising:
after creating the journaling entry in the journaling application, displaying, via the display generation component, a user interface of the journaling application including a plurality of journaling entries, including the journaling entry, wherein the journaling entry is displayed within the user interface of the journaling application as a page of a book.
Shapiro teaches a limitation further comprising:
after creating the journaling entry in the journaling application, displaying, via the display generation component, a user interface of the journaling application including a plurality of journaling entries, including the journaling entry, wherein the journaling entry is displayed within the user interface of the journaling application as a page of a book ("As is shown in FIG. 11, exemplary graphical user interface environment 1100 comprises display/navigation pane 1110 having display portion 1105, navigation/menu commands 1115, and graphical representations of memory content 1120 having various information about the memory content. In an illustrative implementation, the memory viewer tool allows participating users to view generated memory content in a concise and efficient manner. In the illustrative implementation, memory content can be displayed with their title, date, and when available a photo (or other additional content)," Shapiro paragraph 0066; Shapiro Figure 11 each memory appears as a rectangle page).
Accordingly it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Eshelman to display previously created journal entries as taught by Shapiro. One would have been motivated to make such a combination so that the user could see previous journal entries thus allowing the journal entries to actually function as a reminder of previous events and thus enhancing the utility of the finished product.
As to claim 8, Eshelman discloses the method of claim 1, however Eshelman does not appear to explicitly disclose a limitation further comprising:
after creating the journaling entry in the journaling application, displaying, via the display generation component, a user interface of the journaling application including a plurality of journaling entries, including the journaling entry, wherein the plurality of journaling entries are displayed chronologically within the user interface of the journaling application.
Shapiro teaches a limitation further comprising:
after creating the journaling entry in the journaling application, displaying, via the display generation component, a user interface of the journaling application including a plurality of journaling entries, including the journaling entry, wherein the plurality of journaling entries are displayed chronologically within the user interface of the journaling application.
Accordingly it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Eshelman to display previously created journal entries as taught by Shapiro. One would have been motivated to make such a combination so that the user could see previous journal entries thus allowing the journal entries to actually function as a reminder of previous events and thus enhancing the utility of the finished product.
As to claim 9, Eshelman discloses the method of claim 1, however Eshelman does not appear to explicitly disclose a limitation wherein the journaling application, including the journaling entry, is accessible via a second electronic device that is associated with the electronic device.
Shapiro teaches a limitation wherein the journaling application, including the journaling entry, is accessible via a second electronic device that is associated with the electronic device ("Each client computing environment 100, 210, 215, 220, and 225 can be equipped with operating system 180 operable to support one or more computing applications, such as a web browser (not shown), or other graphical user interface (not shown), or a mobile desktop environment (not shown) to gain access to server computing environment 205," Shapiro paragraph 0030, can access the journal from any device capable of browsing the web).
Accordingly it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Eshelman to allow the user to access the journal from multiple devices as taught by Shapiro. One would have been motivated to make such a combination so that the user could have more choice in how and when they access the journal, enabling access to the journal in situations where the user does not have access to a particular device and thus enhancing the accessibility of the journal application.
As to claim 10, Eshelman discloses the method of claim 1, wherein wherein the activity event does not satisfy the one or more criteria, the method further comprising:
detecting the activity event associated with the user and forgoing displaying, via the display generation component, the prompt associated with the journaling application ("The first method 1 is basically a request for diary entries. However, rather than simply make the request without prompting, the system attempts to make the request for information at expeditious times. For example, the diary/calendar application may provide a process that monitors other applications 9. A mood, state, event classifier 36 monitoring text and other data generated by the user interacting with such applications may classify the state of the user, his/her environment, activities, etc. Such a process may generate an indication that the user has been reading email for a period of time. This may trigger, upon exiting of the email client, or alternatively, after the client has been active for a threshold period of time, a solicitation for information regarding the email received or sent 65. The request may be designed for the particular application that prompted the request. In the example, a dialog box may appear asking if any noteworthy email letters arrived or if the user would like to attach any of them to today's diary record," Eshelman paragraph 0020, display solicitation notification based on trigger conditions for the event firing)
However Eshelman does not appear to explicitly disclose:
receiving, via the one or more input devices, a first user input directed to the journaling application corresponding to a request for a respective prompt associated with the journaling application, wherein the respective prompt is associated with the activity event; and
in response to receiving the first user input, displaying, via the display generation component, the respective prompt, wherein input directed to the respective prompt initiates a process to provide input for a respective journaling entry associated with the activity event in the journaling application.
Shapiro teaches:
receiving, via the one or more input devices, a first user input directed to the journaling application corresponding to a request for a respective prompt associated with the journaling application, wherein the respective prompt is associated with the activity event (Shapiro Figure 5 "Memory Creator" where the user can specify an event in 510 and then enter a journal entry about the event in 515); and
in response to receiving the first user input, displaying, via the display generation component, the respective prompt, wherein input directed to the respective prompt initiates a process to provide input for a respective journaling entry associated with the activity event in the journaling application (Shapiro Figure 5 "Memory Creator" where the user can specify an event in 510 and then enter a journal entry about the event in 515).
Accordingly it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Eshelman to allow the user to manually create diary entries related to events as taught by Shapiro. One would have been motivated to make such a combination so that the user could still create entries for events in a situation where the user accidentally or erroneously declined to create an entry for the event when the trigger fired, thus allowing the user to correct his/her mistakes and resulting in greater ease of use for the user and less user frustration.
As to claim 14, Eshelman discloses the method of claim 13, however Eshelman does not appear to explicitly disclose the method further comprising:
after receiving the first user input and creating the respective journal entry, receiving, via the one or more input devices, a second user input corresponding to a request to access the content item; and
in response to receiving the second user input to access the content item, accessing the content item and displaying, via the display generation component, a representation of the respective journal entry.
Shapiro teaches the method further comprising:
after receiving the first user input and creating the respective journal entry, receiving, via the one or more input devices, a second user input corresponding to a request to access the content item (Shapiro Figure 10 “Memory Viewer Tool” link); and
in response to receiving the second user input to access the content item, accessing the content item and displaying, via the display generation component, a representation of the respective journal entry (“As is shown in FIG. 11, exemplary graphical user interface environment 1100 comprises display/navigation pane 1110 having display portion 1105, navigation/menu commands 1115, and graphical representations of memory content 1120 having various information about the memory content. In an illustrative implementation, the memory viewer tool allows participating users to view generated memory content in a concise and efficient manner. In the illustrative implementation, memory content can be displayed with their title, date, and when available a photo (or other additional content),” Shapiro paragraph 0066).
Accordingly it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Eshelman to display previously created journal entries as taught by Shapiro. One would have been motivated to make such a combination so that the user could see previous journal entries thus allowing the journal entries to actually function as a reminder of previous events and thus enhancing the utility of the finished product.
As to claim 31, Eshelman discloses the method of claim 1, however Eshelman does not appear to explicitly disclose a limitation wherein the journaling entry is accessible via the journaling application.
Shapiro teaches a limitation wherein the journaling entry is accessible via the journaling application ("In an illustrative implementation, the memory viewer tool allows participating users to view generated memory content in a concise and efficient manner. In the illustrative implementation, memory content can be displayed with their title, date, and when available a photo (or other additional content)," Shapiro paragraph 0066).
Accordingly it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Eshelman to display previously created journal entries as taught by Shapiro. One would have been motivated to make such a combination so that the user could see previous journal entries thus allowing the journal entries to actually function as a reminder of previous events and thus enhancing the utility of the finished product.
As to claim 35, Eshelman discloses an electronic device, comprising:
a computer (“Referring to FIG. 1, a system on which the diary/calendar application of the current invention may be run has, at its heart, a computer 100. The Computer 100 may receive input from various sources for example, an image processor 305 connected to cameras 135 and 136, conventional user interface devices 160 such as a remote control 150 and the keyboard 155… The computer 100 may directly output through a monitor 175,” Eshelman paragraph 0015);
one or more programs, wherein the one or more programs are stored in the memory and configured to be executed by the one or more processors, the one or more programs including instructions (“Referring to FIG. 1, a system on which the diary/calendar application of the current invention may be run has, at its heart, a computer 100,” Eshelman paragraph 0015) for:
detecting an activity event associated with a user of the electronic device, wherein the activity event corresponds to one or more operations performed by the electronic device ("Referring to FIG. 2, five basic methods of adding data to the diary/calendar application of the invention are presented for illustration. A first method 1 adds records solicited by the diary/calendar application in response to some triggering event. The solicitation may be, for example, in the form of a request for an explanation 65 for something whose occurrence was sensed and classified as noteworthy by the diary/calendar application system," Eshelman paragraph 0016); and
in response to detecting the activity event associated with the user:
in accordance with a determination that the activity event satisfies one or more criteria, displaying, via a display generation component, a prompt associated with a journaling application on the electronic device, wherein input directed to the prompt associated with the journaling application initiates a process to provide input for a journaling entry associated with the activity event in the journaling application ("The first method 1 is basically a request for diary entries. However, rather than simply make the request without prompting, the system attempts to make the request for information at expeditious times. For example, the diary/calendar application may provide a process that monitors other applications 9. A mood, state, event classifier 36 monitoring text and other data generated by the user interacting with such applications may classify the state of the user, his/her environment, activities, etc. Such a process may generate an indication that the user has been reading email for a period of time. This may trigger, upon exiting of the email client, or alternatively, after the client has been active for a threshold period of time, a solicitation for information regarding the email received or sent 65. The request may be designed for the particular application that prompted the request. In the example, a dialog box may appear asking if any noteworthy email letters arrived or if the user would like to attach any of them to today's diary record," Eshelman paragraph 0020, display solicitation notification based on trigger conditions for the event firing), and
in accordance with a determination that the activity event does not satisfy the one or more criteria, forgoing displaying, via the display generation component, the prompt associated with the journaling application ("The first method 1 is basically a request for diary entries. However, rather than simply make the request without prompting, the system attempts to make the request for information at expeditious times. For example, the diary/calendar application may provide a process that monitors other applications 9. A mood, state, event classifier 36 monitoring text and other data generated by the user interacting with such applications may classify the state of the user, his/her environment, activities, etc. Such a process may generate an indication that the user has been reading email for a period of time. This may trigger, upon exiting of the email client, or alternatively, after the client has been active for a threshold period of time, a solicitation for information regarding the email received or sent 65. The request may be designed for the particular application that prompted the request. In the example, a dialog box may appear asking if any noteworthy email letters arrived or if the user would like to attach any of them to today's diary record," Eshelman paragraph 0020, display solicitation notification based on trigger conditions for the event firing).
However Eshelman does not appear to explicitly disclose:
one or more processors; and
memory.
Shapiro teaches:
one or more processors (“Preferably, the techniques are implemented in computing environments maintaining programmable computers that include a computer network, processor, servers, a storage medium readable by the processor (including volatile and non-volatile memory and/or storage elements),” Shapiro paragraph 0084); and
memory (“Preferably, the techniques are implemented in computing environments maintaining programmable computers that include a computer network, processor, servers, a storage medium readable by the processor (including volatile and non-volatile memory and/or storage elements),” Shapiro paragraph 0084).
Accordingly it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Eshelman to use memory and processors to implement the finished product as taught by Shapiro. One would have been motivated to make such a combination so that the finished product could support more kinds of devices.
Claims 5 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eshelman et al. (US 20020078070 A1, hereinafter Eshelman) in view of Shapiro et al. (US 20080021920 A1, hereinafter Shapiro) in further view of Kang et al. (US 20160042166 A1, hereinafter Kang).
As to claim 5, Eshelman as modified by Shapiro discloses the method of claim 4, however neither Eshelman nor Shapiro appear to explicitly disclose a limitation further comprising:
before displaying the user interface in the journaling application, receiving, via the one or more input devices, a second user input corresponding to a request to display the journaling application; and in response to receiving the second user input, requiring user authentication before displaying the journaling application.
Kang teaches a limitation further comprising:
before displaying the user interface in the journaling application, receiving, via the one or more input devices, a second user input corresponding to a request to display the journaling application; and in response to receiving the second user input, requiring user authentication before displaying the journaling application ("Referring to 1500-1 shown in FIG. 15, the device 100 may display a list of applications installed in the device 100 on a setting window. The device 100 may receive an input that selects a bank application 1510, a photo album application 1520, and a diary application 1530 from the list of the applications. In this case, the device 100 may receive the input that selects “move to private” 1500 from the setting window. In this case, the device 100 may set the bank application 1510, the photo album application 1520, and the diary application 1530 as security applications that require authentication," Kang paragraph 0214; "According to an exemplary embodiment, only when a user succeeds in authenticating a fingerprint, the device 100 may execute the bank application 1510, the photo album application 1520, and the diary application 1530 in an authentication mode," Kang paragraph 0216).
Accordingly it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Eshelman to require user authentication before displaying the journal application as taught by Kang. One would have been motivated to make such a combination so that the user’s private journal data could be protected from unwanted access.
As to claim 6, Eshelman as modified by Shapiro and Kang discloses the method of claim 5, wherein the user authentication includes one or more of a facial identification, a fingerprint identification, or a passcode identification ("Referring to 1500-1 shown in FIG. 15, the device 100 may display a list of applications installed in the device 100 on a setting window. The device 100 may receive an input that selects a bank application 1510, a photo album application 1520, and a diary application 1530 from the list of the applications. In this case, the device 100 may receive the input that selects “move to private” 1500 from the setting window. In this case, the device 100 may set the bank application 1510, the photo album application 1520, and the diary application 1530 as security applications that require authentication," Kang paragraph 0214; "According to an exemplary embodiment, only when a user succeeds in authenticating a fingerprint, the device 100 may execute the bank application 1510, the photo album application 1520, and the diary application 1530 in an authentication mode," Kang paragraph 0216).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eshelman et al. (US 20020078070 A1, hereinafter Eshelman) in view of Dascola et al. (US 20170046025 A1, hereinafter Dascola).
As to claim 12, Eshelman discloses the method of claim 1, however Eshelman does not appear to explicitly disclose the method further comprising:
while displaying the prompt associated with the journaling application, receiving, via the one or more input devices, a first user input directed to the prompt; and
in response to receiving the first user input:
in accordance with a determination that the first user input includes speech input, incorporating the speech input into the journaling entry; and in accordance with a determination that the first user input includes emoji input, incorporating the emoji input into the journaling entry.
Dascola teaches the method further comprising:
while displaying the prompt, receiving, via the one or more input devices, a first user input directed to the prompt (“As shown in FIG. 5F4, the expanded version of the notification (e.g., notification 5078) includes content (e.g., message text (e.g., text of message 5062), sender name “Alice”) from the initially displayed version of the notification (e.g., notification 5038) and additional functions (e.g., selectable options for performing actions with respect to the notification or the application) and/or content that is not included in the initially displayed version of the notification. For example, notification 5078 includes “Reply” button 5082 for launching a “Reply” user interface for composing a reply to the message represented in the notification,” Dascola paragraph 0284; “FIG. 5F7 illustrates that, upon lift-off of contact 5076, Reply affordance 5082 is activated, and a reply user interface (e.g., reply user interface 5090) is displayed. In some embodiments, the reply user interface (e.g., reply user interface 5090) is displayed over the blurred and darkened notification screen 5036. In some embodiments, the reply user interface is updated in real-time (e.g., message bubble 5088 indicates that Alice is composing a message). The reply user interface includes soft keyboard 5092 and message input field for displaying a draft message entered by the user (e.g., “Oh?”),” Dascola paragraph 0287); and
in response to receiving the first user input:
in accordance with a determination that the first user input includes speech input, incorporating the speech input into the entry (Dascola Figure 5F7 5092 microphone icon); and
in accordance with a determination that the first user input includes emoji input, incorporating the emoji input into the entry (“For example, as shown in FIG. 7Q, menu 744 is displayed in response to a menu-display input at a location indicated by focus selector 742. The device detects (2052) a selection input (e.g., a continuation of the menu-display input or a separate input) at a location on the touch-sensitive surface that corresponds to the menu. In accordance with a determination that the selection input moves to a location that corresponds to a respective menu item of the one or more menu items, the device outputs (2054), with the one or more tactile output generators, a tactile output. For example, in FIG. 7R, a contact moves to a location indicated by focus selector 742 that corresponds to menu item 746 (“Emoji”),” Dascola paragraph 0725).
Accordingly it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Eshelman to allow the user to use emoji or voice input as taught by Dascola. One would have been motivated to make such a combination so that the finished product could be made more accessible for users with limited ability to use keyboard input.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eshelman et al. (US 20020078070 A1, hereinafter Eshelman) in view of Nhiayi et al. (US 20140257791 A1, hereinafter Nhiayi).
As to claim 16, Eshelman discloses the method of claim 15, further comprising one or more photos (“The articles may be annotated by the user, cropped, added to with selected pictures, etc. Thus, the personal record of public events may be personalized by the user,” Eshelman paragraph 0008; “The user may respond by indicating or dragging and dropping attachments to an appropriate user interface object and/or writing a diary entry or simply dismiss the invitation to enter,” Eshelman paragraph 0020).
However Eshelman does not appear explicitly disclose a limitation wherein the one or more details include one or more indications of one or more people associated with one or more photos taken by the electronic device during the activity event.
Nhiayi teaches a limitation wherein the one or more details include one or more indications of one or more people associated with one or more photos taken by the electronic device during the activity event (“FIG. 4A is a block diagram illustrating a sentence generating apparatus associated with a journal unit and sources of information, in accordance with an embodiment of the disclosure. FIG. 4A is explained in conjunction with elements from FIG. 1. With reference to FIG. 4A, there is shown the sentence generating apparatus 106, a journal unit 408, and one or more sources of information 410, 412, 414, and 416. The sentence generating apparatus 106 may comprise an information collecting unit 402, an intelligent information analysis unit 404, and a sentence/journal formation unit 406. The sentence generating apparatus 106 may receive information and/or metadata, such as weather information 410, location data 412, pictures taken and friends tagged 414, and/or information from social networks (such as a social network 416),” Nhiayi paragraph 0029; “In an embodiment, the information collecting unit 402 may collect information, such as pictures taken by a camera (such as user device 104d) in the user devices 104, a list of friends tagged to a picture and/or identifying the friends along with the user. In an embodiment, the list of friends tagged to a picture may be obtained from the social media websites (such as social network 416). In an embodiment, friends may be identified by comparing the location of the user and the friends, a voice recognition application in the user device (such as user device 104b), and/or a face identification application in the user device (such as user device 104f),” Nhiayi paragraph 0030, creating sentences for a diary entry based on the identity of people in an attached photograph).
Accordingly it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Eshelman to identify people with attached photographs and include that information in the diary entry as taught by Nhiayi. One would have been motivated to make such a combination so that the user could have more information and more context attached to a given journal entry, thus enhancing the utility of the journal entries.
Claims 23, 25 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eshelman et al. (US 20020078070 A1, hereinafter Eshelman) in view of Scanlan et al. (WO 2010065984 A1, hereinafter Scanlan).
As to claim 23, Eshelman discloses the method of claim 1, however Eshelman does not appear to explicitly disclose the method further comprising:
after detecting the activity event and after creating the journaling entry associated with the activity event in the journaling application, displaying, via the display generation component, a selectable option that is associated with the activity event;
while displaying the selectable option that is associated with the activity event, receiving, via the one or more input devices, a first input corresponding to selection of the selectable option; and
in response to receiving the first input, displaying, via the display generation component, an animated video presentation associated with journaling entry, wherein the animated video presentation associated with the journaling entry includes one or more entries of the journaling entry and one or more content items associated with the activity event.
Scanlan teaches the method further comprising:
after creating the journaling entry in the journaling application, displaying, via the display generation component, a selectable option that is associated with the journaling entry (Scanlan Figure 5 546 option to view daily diary as slideshow);
while displaying the selectable option that is associated with the journaling entry, receiving, via the one or more input devices, a first input corresponding to selection of the selectable option (“Clicking Open Daily Diary Slideshow 546 shown in FIGURE 5a opens the Daily Diary Slideshow which allows all Daily Diary entries to be viewed as part of a slideshow as shown in FIGURE 19,” Scanlan page 23 lines 2-4); and
in response to receiving the first input, displaying, via the display generation component, an animated video presentation associated with journaling entry, wherein the animated video presentation associated with the journaling entry includes one or more entries of the journaling entry and one or more content items associated with the activity event (“With GELS a Daily Diary may be created which may contain one or more of a photograph,” Scanlan page 14 line 11-12; “Clicking Open Daily Diary Slideshow 546 shown in FIGURE 5a opens the Daily Diary Slideshow which allows all Daily Diary entries to be viewed as part of a slideshow as shown in FIGURE 19,” Scanlan page 23 lines 2-4; “One or more Daily Diary may be viewed as a slideshow,” Scanlan page 9 line 5; Scanlan Figure 19 content items and diary text content, option to display the daily diary and it’s components as a slideshow (i.e., an animated presentation)).
Accordingly it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Eshelman to display journaling entries in an animated format as taught by Scanlan. One would have been motivated to make such a combination so that the user could have more ways to view and display the journal entry, thus enhancing user choice and utility for the finished product.
As to claim 25, Eshelman as modified by Scanlan further discloses the method of claim 23, wherein the selectable option is displayed:
on a user interface of the electronic device outside of the journaling application; or
on a user interface of the journaling application (Scanlan Figure 5 546 option to view daily diary as slideshow).
As to claim 26, Eshelman as modified by Scanlan further discloses the method of claim 23, wherein the animated video presentation associated with the journaling entry includes first party content, third party content, or both ("In the example, a dialog box may appear asking if any noteworthy email letters arrived or if the user would like to attach any of them to today's diary record. Note that attaching files or other data objects to text diary entries is contemplated as included within the idea of creating or writing a diary entry. The user may respond by indicating or dragging and dropping attachments to an appropriate user interface object and/or writing a diary entry or simply dismiss the invitation to enter," Eshelman paragraph 0020; “With GELS a Daily Diary may be created which may contain one or more of a photograph,” Scanlan page 14 line 11-12; Scanlan Figure 19 content items and diary text content).
Claim 27 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eshelman et al. (US 20020078070 A1, hereinafter Eshelman) in view of Scanlan et al. (WO 2010065984 A1, hereinafter Scanlan) in further view of Op Den Buijs et al. (US 20200402641 A1, hereinafter Op Den Buijs).
As to claim 27, Eshelman as modified by Scanlan discloses the method of claim 23, however neither Eshelman nor Scanlan appear to explicitly disclose a limitation wherein the displaying of the animated video presentation associated with the journaling entry includes presenting music.
Op Den Buijs teaches a limitation wherein the displaying of the animated video presentation associated with the journaling entry includes presenting music (“At an operation 418, aggregate post-processed multimedia content into key event(s) information on the life moment timeline. In some embodiments, post-processing of multimedia content may include aggregating content from external data source(s) such as web search, mapping services, social networking sites, personal calendar and e-mail, and/or other data sources. By way of non-limiting example, the timeline may include a slideshow of pictures with background music, merged video footage, news and/or weather information, and/or other life moment information. In some embodiments, the life moment timeline is a life story book or diary of subject activities displayed on a graphical user interface,” Op Den Buijs paragraph 0067).
Accordingly it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Eshelman to play music while presenting a slideshow as taught by Op Den Buijs. One would have been motivated to make such a combination to accentuate the emotional moments of the picture content (Op Den Buijs paragraphs 0043 and 0056).
Claims 33 and 34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eshelman et al. (US 20020078070 A1, hereinafter Eshelman) in view of Chang et al. (US 20170289087 A1, hereinafter Chang).
As to claim 33, Eshelman further discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising:
in response to detecting the activity event associated with the user, and in accordance with the determination that the activity event satisfies the one or more criteria, initiating a process to display a prompt associated with the journaling application on the electronic device ("The first method 1 is basically a request for diary entries. However, rather than simply make the request without prompting, the system attempts to make the request for information at expeditious times. For example, the diary/calendar application may provide a process that monitors other applications 9. A mood, state, event classifier 36 monitoring text and other data generated by the user interacting with such applications may classify the state of the user, his/her environment, activities, etc. Such a process may generate an indication that the user has been reading email for a period of time. This may trigger, upon exiting of the email client, or alternatively, after the client has been active for a threshold period of time, a solicitation for information regarding the email received or sent 65. The request may be designed for the particular application that prompted the request. In the example, a dialog box may appear asking if any noteworthy email letters arrived or if the user would like to attach any of them to today's diary record," Eshelman paragraph 0020, display solicitation notification based on trigger conditions for the event firing).
However Eshelman does not appear to explicitly disclose a limitation further comprising:
initiating a process to display a second prompt associated with the journaling application on a second electronic device associated with the electronic device, wherein input directed to the second prompt initiates a process to provide input for the journaling entry associated with the activity event in the journaling application.
Chang teaches a limitation further comprising:
initiating a process to display a second prompt associated with the journaling application on a second electronic device associated with the electronic device, wherein input directed to the second prompt initiates a process to provide input for the journaling entry associated with the activity event in the journaling application (“At 706, the system can determine an account associated with each recipient. Based on the account information, the system can determine one or more devices associated with each account. Attributes for each device can be obtained from the account and/or from the devices. The attributes can include, but are not limited to, screen size, screen orientation, screen resolution, screen density, device type and device operating system. Processing continues to 708,” Chang paragraph 0071; “At 708, notification messages are tailored to each device based on the corresponding device attributes. The tailoring can include message format and/or content. Processing continues to 710,” Chang paragraph 0072; “At 710, the tailored notification messages are delivered to each device. The tailoring can be performed at the notification platform and/or at each device. If the tailoring was performed on each device, then at 710 the notification can be caused to be displayed,” Chang paragraph 0073; “The optimization of notifications to different devices can also include tailoring based on device input capabilities. A notification can include one or more actionable user interface elements (e.g., screen buttons, audio prompts or the like). For example, a response to a notification received at a desktop or laptop computing platform can be based on keyboard input, a response from a touch screen device can be based on gesture input and a response from a wearable device (e.g., glasses and/or watches) may be based on voice input,” Chang paragraph 0066).
Accordingly it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Eshelman to deliver the notification to multiple devices as taught by Chang. One would have been motivated to make such a combination so that the notification could be delivered to a device that is currently being used by the user, thus increasing the chances that the user will see the notification (Chang paragraph 0079).
As to claim 34, Eshelman as modified by Chang further discloses the method of claim 33, wherein:
the prompt displayed by the electronic device is configured to accept input of a first type and a second type, and the second prompt displayed by the second electronic device is configured to accept input of the first type but not the second type (“The optimization of notifications to different devices can also include tailoring based on device input capabilities. A notification can include one or more actionable user interface elements (e.g., screen buttons, audio prompts or the like). For example, a response to a notification received at a desktop or laptop computing platform can be based on keyboard input, a response from a touch screen device can be based on gesture input and a response from a wearable device (e.g., glasses and/or watches) may be based on voice input,” Chang paragraph 0066).
Accordingly it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Eshelman to use different input types for notifications displayed on different devices as taught by Chang. One would have been motivated to make such a combination so that the notification input method is optimized to the particular device’s input capabilities (Chang paragraph 0066).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 24 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The features of a selectable option that is associated with the activity event, a first input corresponding to selection of the selectable option; and in response to receiving the first input, displaying, via the display generation component, an animated video presentation associated with journaling entry and in accordance with a determination that a current time of day at the electronic device satisfies one or more display criteria, displaying the selectable option; and in accordance with a determination that the current time of day at the electronic device does not satisfy the one or more display criteria, forgoing displaying the selectable option when taken in the context of the claims as a whole, were not found in the prior art teachings..
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
GB 2352846 A to Bunyan et al. discloses an electronic diary with additional event functionality where follow-up questions to a diary entry are asked to solicit more information from the user;
US 20020169769 A1 to Jackson discloses a system and method of using manually triggered memory cues for delayed journal entry where a notification can be sent to a user to complete a journal entry for a particular event;
US 20070124673 A1 to Trotto et al. discloses an interactive multimedia diary where a user is prompted with a question about daily events at a particular time of day in order to facilitate creation of a diary entry;
US 20080132252 A1 to Altman et al. discloses a network-manager system for location-aware mobile communication devices where a journal for a user can be created with journal entries and photographs that are displayed in chronological order;
US 20090088962 A1 to Jones discloses an apparatus for and method of providing data to an external application where user-created journal entries are correlated with photographs for display in a journal view;
US 20100082237 A1 to Black discloses a journal service where in response to a triggering event the user is prompted to input contextual information for the event and the inputted contextual information and event is used to create a journal entry;
US 20110034760 A1 to Brynelsen et al. discloses feedback systems and methods to enhance obstructive and other obesity treatments where the user can be alerted to create a diary entry in response to a triggering event;
US 20120124125 A1 to Smith et al. discloses automatic journal creation where a user is prompted to update a journal entry; and
US 20190213465 A1 to Avrahami et al. discloses systems and methods for a context aware conversational agent based on machine-learning where a user is reminded via a prompt to create a reflection or journal entry.
/DANIEL SAMWEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2171