Status of Claims
Claims 1, 4-5, 7-10, 13-14 and 16-26 are currently pending;
Claims 1-3, 6, 11-12, and 15 are canceled;
Claims 1, 5, 10, and 14 are currently amended;
Claims 21-26 are new.
Status of Objections and Rejections Pending Since the Office Action of 11/18/2025
The claim objection of claim 10 is withdrawn in view of Applicant’s amendment;
The 112(b) rejections of claims 1, 4-5, 7-10, 13-14, and 16-20 are withdrawn in view of Applicant’s amendment and argument;
The 112(d) rejection of claims 5 and 14 is withdrawn in view of Applicant’s amendment, but has been replaced with a new 112(b) rejection;
The 103 rejections of claims 1, 4-5, 7-10, 13-14 and 16-20 are withdrawn in view of Applicant’s amendment and argument.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed 12/22/2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1, 4-5, 7-10, 13-14 and 16-20 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Higuchi in view of Yu and Yamaguchi, and Higuchi in view of Yu, Yamaguchi, and Wang.
Claim Objections
Claims 22 and 25 objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 22 includes the limitation “the coating start time” in lines 1-2 that should be corrected to “the coating start time T1” for consistency with the antecedent basis in claim 1;
Claim 22 includes the limitation “the start point length L1” in line 2 and again in line 4 that should be corrected to “the coating start point length L1” for consistency with the antecedent basis in claim 1;
Claim 22 includes the limitation “the end point length L2” in line 5 that should be corrected to “the coating end point length L2” for consistency with the antecedent basis in claim 1;
Claim 25 includes the limitation “the coating start time” in lines 1-2 that should be corrected to “the coating start time T1” for consistency with the antecedent basis in claim 10;
Claim 25 includes the limitation “the start point length L1” in line 2 and again in line 4 that should be corrected to “the coating start point length L1” for consistency with the antecedent basis in claim 10;
Claim 25 includes the limitation “the end point length L2” in line 5 that should be corrected to “the coating end point length L2” for consistency with the antecedent basis in claim 10.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5, 14, 21, and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 21 recites the limitation "the farthest initial winding end of the cathode plate" in line 3 and again in line 7. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 21 recites the limitation "the same plane" in line 9. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 24 recites the limitation "the farthest initial winding end of the cathode plate" in lines 3-4 and again in line 7. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 24 recites the limitation "the same plane" in line 9. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
In regards to claim 5, it is unclear whether is one or both surfaces of all three of the cathode plate, anode plate, and separator, or is just one or more surfaces of one of the cathode plate, anode plate, and separator as the claim language lacks an “and” or an “or”. The Examiner notes if it is just one or more surfaces of one of the cathode plate, anode plate, and separator such that the claim language is missing an “or”, the claim will not further limit claim 1 upon which it depends.
In regards to claim 14, it is unclear whether is one or both surfaces of all three of the cathode plate, anode plate, and separator, or is just one or more surfaces of one of the cathode plate, anode plate, and separator as the claim language lacks an “and” or an “or”. The Examiner notes if it is just one or more surfaces of one of the cathode plate, anode plate, and separator such that the claim language is missing an “or”, the claim will not further limit claim 1 upon which it depends.
In regards to claim 1, the sequential steps of the processing method are still unclear, and as such it is unclear which “winding” the claim limitation “obtaining winding data” in line 21 is referring to. The two ‘winding” options being in reference to “winding the cathode plate, the anode plate, and the separator before an adhesive is coated” in line 7, temporarily denoted “first winding”, and “winding the cathode plate, the anode plate, and the separator coated with the adhesive” in line 26, temporarily denoted the “second winding”. The Examiner recognizes that the “obtaining winding data” is in reference to the first winding, but the claim language lacks any language denoting the process as sequential steps such as “first, next, lastly,” “step 1….step 2….etc”, or other similar language. Claims 4-5, 7-9, and 21-23 are rejected based on their dependency on claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4-5, 7-10, 13-14, 16, and 21-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Higuchi et al. (CN-107978782-A), hereinafter Higuchi, in view of Yu et al. (CN-212810367-U), hereinafter Yu, and in view of Yamaguchi et al. (JP-2021041372-A), hereinafter Yamaguchi.
In regards to claim 1, Higuchi teaches a processing method for an electrode assembly, the electrode assembly comprising a cathode plate, an anode plate, and a separator, wherein the separator is configured to separate the cathode plate from the anode plate ([0051]); the electrode assembly is formed by winding the cathode plate, the separator, and the anode plate (fig. 1; [0051]); and the cathode plate comprises a cathode active material layer, and the anode plate comprises an anode active material layer ([0053 active materials);
and wherein the processing method comprises: winding the cathode plate, the anode plate, and the separator before an adhesive is coated on one or more of the cathode plate, the anode plate, and the separator ([0028] initial teaching mode where the electrode assembly of the cathode plate, anode plate, and separators are wound to obtain data for a second winding mode), a bent region is formed after the cathode plate, the separator, and the anode plate are wound (see fig. 1):
obtaining winding data of the cathode plate, the separator, and the anode plate ([0028] teaching mode obtains data on the amount of rotation relative to the core, the amount of the sheet (electrode assembly) transported, and the transport speed); wherein the winding data comprises a winding linear velocity V of the member to be coated ([0030]; [0069];[0089] conveying/transport speed)
Higuchi fails to teach determining position information of a preset part of a surface of a member to be coated with the adhesive, based on a preset post-winding position, wherein the member to be coated comprises at least one of the cathode plate, the separator, and the anode plate, the preset post- winding position corresponds to a desired position of a barrier layer formed from the adhesive in the electrode assembly after winding the cathode plate, the separator, and the anode plate to form the electrode assembly, at least part of the preset post-winding position is provided on a surface of at least one of the cathode plate, the anode plate, and the separator in the bent region, the preset post-winding position is located between the cathode active material layer and the anode active material layer adjacent to each other, and the position information of the preset part comprises information for characterizing a coating start position and a coating end position of the barrier layer:
Yu is considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of wound batteries ([0014]) Yu taches determining position information of a preset part of a surface of a member to be coated with the adhesive, based on a preset post-winding position, wherein the member to be coated comprises at least one of the cathode plate, the separator, and the anode plate ([0010]-[0012] the bending region has a barrier layer attached to one or both surfaces of the positive electrode, negative electrode, or separator), the preset post- winding position corresponds to a desired position of a barrier layer formed from the adhesive in the electrode assembly after winding the cathode plate, the separator, and the anode plate to form the electrode assembly ([0010]; [0072] the barrier layer is in a bending region C, therefore the bending region C is the preset post winding position), at least part of the preset post-winding position is provided on a surface of at least one of the cathode plate, the anode plate, and the separator in the bent region ([0010]-[0011]), the preset post-winding position is located between the cathode active material layer and the anode active material layer adjacent to each other ([0010]-[0012]),
wherein the barrier layer is located between the cathode active material layer and the anode active material layer adjacent to each other after the winding, and the barrier layer is configured to block at least some ions de-intercalated from the cathode active material layer located on one side of the barrier layer from being intercalated into the anode active material layer located on the other side of the barrier layer ([0069]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Higuchi and added a barrier coating at a preset post-winding position in order to prevent a portion of ions from the positive electrode plate from embedding in the negative electrode plate at the bending region (Yu [0010]).
Modified Higuchi also teaches a winding mechanism configured to wind the cathode plate, the anode plate, and the separator coated with the adhesive to form the electrode assembly ([0024] winding pattern/mode after the teaching mode; [0026] the core rotating is the winding mechanism), and the position information of the preset part comprises information for characterizing a coating start position and a coating end position of the barrier layer, wherein the position information of the preset part comprises a coating start point length L1 and a coating end point length L2 of the barrier layer, and wherein the coating information comprises a coating start time T1 and a coating end time T2, the coating start time T1 is a time from the start of a winding action to the start of coating the member to be coated, and the coating end time T2 is determined based on the coating start point length and the coating end point length of the barrier layer and the winding linear velocity of the member to be coated;
(given the positional data (rotation information, amount of sheet/electrode assembly, conveying speed) obtained in Higuchi and the known preset post winding position of the barrier layer in Yu, the combination would supply the coating start and end positions and the coating start and end times).
Higuchi in view of Yu fails to explicitly teach determining coating information based on the winding data and the position information of the preset part; applying the coating on the preset part of the surface of the member to be coated, by a coating mechanism, based on the coating information. However, it would be obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that given a preset post-winding position, that there would be coating start and stop times and lengths, as is exemplified by Yamaguchi below.
Yamaguchi is considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of wound electrode assemblies ([0023]). Yamaguchi teaches
determining coating information based on the winding data and the position information of the preset part ([0062]-[0063] the coating control unit using the rotation speed of the roller to determine coating timing);
applying the coating on the preset part of the surface of the member to be coated, by a coating mechanism, based on the coating information ([0062]-[0063] the coating control unit using the rotation speed of the roller to determine coating timing);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Higuchi such that the coating is applied by a mechanism based on the coating information such as in Yamaguchi. Doing so allows for more accurate coating.
In regards to claim 4, modified Higuchi teaches all of the limitations of claim 1. Modified Higuchi also teaches wherein the winding data comprises an overall winding angle θ of the cathode plate, the separator, and the anode plate (Higuchi [0028] cumulative value of the rotation angle),
Modified Higuchi does not explicitly teach the position information of the preset part comprises a coating start angle θ1 and a coating end angle θ2 of the barrier layer, and the coating information comprises a coating start signal and a coating end signal. However, given the preset post winding position, and the winding data of conveying speed, overall rotational angle, electrode assembly amount, and speed of rotation, it would be obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art that the start and stop coating angles and signals would also be present.
Regarding claim 5, modified Higuchi teaches all of the limitations of claim 1. Modified Higuchi also teaches wherein the preset post-winding position is one or both surfaces of the cathode plate, one or both surfaces of the anode plate, one or both surfaces of the separator (Yu [0010]-[0012] the bending region has a barrier layer attached to one or both surfaces of the positive electrode, negative electrode, or separator).
Regarding claim 7, modified Higuchi teaches all of the limitations of claim 1. Modified Higuchi also teaches wherein at least part of the preset post-winding position is provided at a first-bent part and/or a second-bent part of the cathode plate in the bent region, and/or at least part of the preset post-winding position is provided at a first-bent part and/or a second-bent part of the anode plate, and/or at least part of the preset post-winding position is provided at a bent part of the separator that is adjacent to the first-bent part of the cathode plate and/or a bent part of the separator that is adjacent to the second-bent part of the cathode plate, and/or at least part of the preset post-winding position is provided at a bent part of the separator that is adjacent to the first-bent part of the anode plate and/or a bent part of the separator that is adjacent to the second-bent part of the anode plate (Yu [0010]-[0012] the bending region has a barrier layer attached to one or both surfaces of the positive electrode, negative electrode, or separator).
Regarding claim 8, modified Higuchi teaches all of the limitations of claim 1. Modified Higuchi also teaches wherein the method for applying the adhesive on the preset part of the surface of the member to be coated comprises: a press coating method, a roll coating method, or a spraying method (Yu [0081] adhesion, coating, or spraying).
Regarding claim 9, modified Higuchi teaches all of the limitations of claim 9. Modified Higuchi also teaches wherein the adhesive comprises at least one of polyacrylic acid/acrylate, butyl benzene, phenylanine, ethylene-vinyl acetate copolymer, polypropylene, polyvinylidene fluoride, carboxymethyl cellulose, epoxy adhesive, silicone, polyurethane adhesive, styrene-isoprene-styrene copolymer adhesive, and modified materials thereof (Yu [0074]; [0076] polypropylene and polyacrylate).
Regarding claim 10, Higuchi teaches A processing apparatus for an electrode assembly, the electrode assembly comprising a cathode plate, an anode plate, and a separator, wherein the separator is configured to separate the cathode plate from the anode plate ([0051]); the electrode assembly is formed by winding the cathode plate, the separator, and the anode plate (fig. 1; [0051]); and the cathode plate comprises a cathode active material layer, and the anode plate comprises an anode active material layer ([0053 active materials); and wherein the processing apparatus comprises: a winding control unit configured to control the winding mechanism to wind the cathode plate, the anode plate, and the separator before the adhesive is applied by the coating mechanism ([0019] rotation control mechanism; [0056] control device 81) configured to determine position information of the preset part based on a preset post-winding position before applying the adhesive by the coating mechanism ([0028] teaching mode obtains data on the amount of rotation relative to the core, the amount of the sheet (electrode assembly) transported, and the transport speed; therefore obtaining positional data of the assembly as it is wound); an obtaining unit configured to obtain winding data of the cathode plate, the separator, and the anode plate ([0069] transport information detection mechanism), wherein the winding data comprises a winding linear velocity V of the member to be coated ([0028]-[0030] teaching mode obtains data on the amount of rotation relative to the core, the amount of the sheet (electrode assembly) transported, and the transport/conveying speed, that is then sent to control device 81 [0056]).
Higuchi fails to teach wherein the processing apparatus comprises: a coating mechanism configured to apply an adhesive on a preset part of a surface of a member to be coated, the adhesive forming a barrier layer, and the member to be coated comprising at least one of the cathode plate, the separator, and the anode plate; a winding mechanism configured to wind the cathode plate, the anode plate, and the separator coated with the adhesive to form the electrode assembly, the coating mechanism is located upstream of the winding mechanism, at least part of the preset post-winding position is provided on a surface of at least one of the cathode plate, the anode plate, and the separator in a bent region formed after the cathode plate, the separator, and the anode plate are wound, and the preset post-winding position is located between the cathode active material layer and the anode active material layer adjacent to each other, wherein the preset post-winding position corresponds to a desired position of the barrier layer in the electrode assembly after winding the cathode plate, the anode plate, and the separator to form the electrode assembly and the position information of the preset part comprises information for characterizing a coating start position and a coating end position of the barrier layer; wherein the barrier layer is located between the cathode active material layer and the anode active material layer adjacent to each other after winding the cathode plate, the separator, and the anode plate coated with the adhesive, and the barrier layer is configured to: after the winding, block at least some ions de-intercalated from the cathode active material layer located on one side of the barrier layer from being intercalated into the anode active material layer located on the other side of the barrier layer.
Yu is considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of wound electrode assemblies ([0014]). Yu teaches wherein the processing apparatus comprises: a coating mechanism configured to apply an adhesive on a preset part of a surface of a member to be coated ([0219] providing device 233 that provides the barrier layer), the adhesive forming a barrier layer, and the member to be coated comprising at least one of the cathode plate, the separator, and the anode plate ([0010]-[0012]); the coating mechanism is located upstream of the winding mechanism ([0210] barrier layer applied before winding), at least part of the preset post-winding position is provided on a surface of at least one of the cathode plate, the anode plate, and the separator in a bent region formed after the cathode plate, the separator, and the anode plate are wound ([0010]-[0012]), and the preset post-winding position is located between the cathode active material layer and the anode active material layer adjacent to each other ([0010]-[0012]), wherein the preset post-winding position corresponds to a desired position of the barrier layer in the electrode assembly after winding the cathode plate, the anode plate, and the separator to form the electrode assembly ([0010]; [0072] the barrier layer is in a bending region C, therefore the bending region C is the preset post winding position); wherein the barrier layer is located between the cathode active material layer and the anode active material layer adjacent to each other after winding the cathode plate, the separator, and the anode plate coated with the adhesive ([0010]-[0012]), and the barrier layer is configured to: after the winding, block at least some ions de-intercalated from the cathode active material layer located on one side of the barrier layer from being intercalated into the anode active material layer located on the other side of the barrier layer ([0069]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Higuchi and added a coating mechanism supplying a barrier coating at a preset post-winding position in order to prevent a portion of ions from the positive electrode plate from embedding in the negative electrode plate at the bending region (Yu [0010]).
Modified Higuchi also teaches a winding mechanism configured to wind the cathode plate, the anode plate, and the separator coated with the adhesive to form the electrode assembly ([0024] winding pattern/mode after the teaching mode; [0026] the core rotating is the winding mechanism), and the position information of the preset part comprises information for characterizing a coating start position and a coating end position of the barrier layer, wherein the position information of the preset part comprises a coating start point length L1 and a coating end point length L2 of the barrier layer, and wherein the coating information comprises a coating start time T1 and a coating end time T2, the coating start time T1 is a time from the start of a winding action to the start of coating the member to be coated, and the coating end time T2 is determined based on the coating start point length and the coating end point length of the barrier layer and the winding linear velocity of the member to be coated;
(given the positional data obtained in Higuchi and the known preset post winding position of the barrier layer in Yu, the combination would supply the coating start and end positions and the coating start and end times).
Modified Higuchi fails to explicitly teach a coating information determination unit configured to receive the position information sent from the position information determination unit and determine coating information based on the winding data and the position information of the preset part; and a coating control unit configured to control, based on the coating information, the coating mechanism to apply the adhesive on the preset part of the surface of the member to be coated.
Yamaguchi is considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of wound electrode assemblies ([0023]). Yamaguchi teaches
a coating information determination unit configured to receive the position information sent from the position information determination unit and determine coating information based on the winding data and the position information of the preset part ([0062]-[0063] the coating control unit using the rotation speed of the roller to determine coating timing and positioning); and a coating control unit configured to control, based on the coating information, the coating mechanism to apply the adhesive on the preset part of the surface of the member to be coated ([0062]-[0063] the coating control unit using the rotation speed of the roller to determine coating timing).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Higuchi such that the coating is applied by a mechanism based on the coating information such as in Yamaguchi. Doing so allows for more accurate coating.
Regarding claim 13, modified Higuchi teaches all of the limitations of claim 10. Modified Higuchi also teaches also teaches wherein the winding data comprises an overall winding angle θ of the cathode plate, the separator, and the anode plate (Higuchi [0028] cumulative value of the rotation angle). Modified Higuchi does not explicitly teach the position information of the preset part comprises a coating start angle θ1 and a coating end angle θ2 of the barrier layer, and the coating information comprises a coating start signal and a coating end signal. However, given the preset post winding position, and the winding data of conveying speed, overall rotational angle, electrode assembly amount, and speed of rotation, it would be obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art that the start and stop coating angles and signals would also be present.
Regarding claim 14, modified Higuchi teaches all of the limitations of claim 10. Modified Higuchi also teaches wherein the preset post-winding position is one or both surfaces of the cathode plate, one or both surfaces of the anode plate, one or both surfaces of the separator (Yu [0010]-[0012] the bending region has a barrier layer attached to one or both surfaces of the positive electrode, negative electrode, or separator).
Regarding claim 16, modified Higuchi teaches all of the limitations of claim 10. Modified Higuchi also teaches wherein at least part of the preset post-winding position is provided at a first-bent part and/or a second-bent part of the cathode plate in the bent region, and/or at least part of the preset post-winding position is provided at a first-bent part and/or a second-bent part of the anode plate, and/or at least part of the preset post-winding position is provided at a bent part of the separator that is adjacent to the first-bent part of the cathode plate and/or a bent part of the separator that is adjacent to the second-bent part of the cathode plate, and/or at least part of the preset post-winding position is provided at a bent part of the separator that is adjacent to the first-bent part of the anode plate and/or a bent part of the separator that is adjacent to the second-bent part of the anode plate (Yu [0010]-[0012] the bending region has a barrier layer attached to one or both surfaces of the positive electrode, negative electrode, or separator).
Regarding claim 21, modified Higuchi teaches all of the limitations of claim 1. Modified Higuchi does not explicitly teach wherein the coating start point length L1 of the barrier layer is a distance between a start point of the barrier layer in a length direction of the member to be coated and the farthest initial winding end of the cathode plate, the anode plate, the separator, assuming that the cathode plate, the anode plate, the separator that are wound are unwound as a whole to a planar state, the coating end point length L2 of the barrier layer is a distance between an end point of the barrier layer in the length direction of the member to be coated and the farthest initial winding end of the cathode plate, the anode plate, the separator, assuming that the cathode plate, the anode plate, the separator that are wound are unwound onto the same plane.
However, given the combination of the winding data obtained in Higuchi and the known preset post winding position in the bending region of Yu, the combination would supply the coating end point length L2 and the coating start point length L1 in such a manner, particularly when the electrode assembly is unwound after the teaching mode prior to the winding mode.
Regarding claim 22, modified Higuchi teaches all of the limitations of claim 1. Modified Higuchi fails to explicitly teach wherein the coating start time is equal to a ratio of the start point length L1, in the coating information, of the barrier layer on the surface of the member to be coated to the winding linear velocity V, according to T1=L1/V, the coating end time T2 is determined based on a difference between the start point length L1 and the end point length L2, the winding linear velocity V of the member to be coated, and a coating length H of the coating mechanism, according to T2=T1+(L2-L1-H)/V. However, given the combination of the winding data obtained in Higuchi and the known preset post winding position in the bending region of Yu, the combination would supply the coating end point length L2 and the coating start point length L1 in such a manner in relation to the winding farthest initial winding end of the electrode plate, particularly when the electrode assembly is unwound after the teaching mode prior to the winding mode. In this case, the two equations for T1 and T2 above would inherently be true.
Regarding claim 23, modified Higuchi teaches all of the limitations of claim 4. Modified Higuchi also teaches wherein the coating start angle θ1 is equal to an angle by which a winding mechanism rotates when a start point of the barrier layer reaches the coating mechanism, the coating end angle θ2 is equal to an angle by which the winding mechanism rotates when an end point of the barrier layer reaches the coating mechanism(Higuchi [0028] cumulative value of the rotation angle) Given the preset post winding position, and the winding data of conveying speed, overall rotational angle, electrode assembly amount, and speed of rotation, it would be obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art that the start and stop coating angles and signals would also be inherently present.
Regarding claim 24, modified Higuchi teaches all of the limitations of claim 10. Modified Higuchi does not explicitly teach wherein the coating start point length L1 of the barrier layer is a distance between a start point of the barrier layer in a length direction of the member to be coated and the farthest initial winding end of the cathode plate, the anode plate, the separator, assuming that the cathode plate, the anode plate, the separator that are wound are unwound as a whole to a planar state, the coating end point length L2 of the barrier layer is a distance between an end point of the barrier layer in the length direction of the member to be coated and the farthest initial winding end of the cathode plate, the anode plate, the separator, assuming that the cathode plate, the anode plate, the separator that are wound are unwound onto the same plane.
However, given the combination of the winding data obtained in Higuchi and the known preset post winding position in the bending region of Yu, the combination would supply the coating end point length L2 and the coating start point length L1 in such as manner, particularly when the electrode assembly is unwound after the teaching mode prior to the winding mode.
Higuchi fails to explicitly teach wherein the coating start time is equal to a ratio of the start point length L1, in the coating information, of the barrier layer on the surface of the member to be coated to the winding linear velocity V, according to T1=L1/V, the coating end time T2 is determined based on a difference between the start point length L1 and the end point length L2, the winding linear velocity V of the member to be coated, and a coating length H of the coating mechanism, according to T2=T1+(L2-L1-H)/V. However, given the combination of the winding data obtained in Higuchi and the known preset post winding position in the bending region of Yu, the combination would supply the coating end point length L2 and the coating start point length L1 in such a manner in relation to the winding farthest initial winding end of the electrode plate, particularly when the electrode assembly is unwound after the teaching mode prior to the winding mode. In this case, the two equations for T1 and T2 above would inherently be true.
Regarding claim 26, modified Higuchi teaches all of the limitations of claim 13. Modified Higuchi also teaches wherein the coating start angle θ1 is equal to an angle by which a winding mechanism rotates when a start point of the barrier layer reaches the coating mechanism, the coating end angle θ2 is equal to an angle by which the winding mechanism rotates when an end point of the barrier layer reaches the coating mechanism (Higuchi [0028] cumulative value of the rotation angle) Given the preset post winding position, and the winding data of conveying speed, overall rotational angle, electrode assembly amount, and speed of rotation, it would be obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art that the start and stop coating angles and signals would also be inherently present.
Claims 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Higuchi in view of Yu and Yamaguchi, further in view of Wang et al. (CN-110739426-A), hereinafter Wang.
Regarding claim 17, modified Higuchi teaches all of the limitations of claim 10. Modified Higuchi also teaches that the coating mechanism is configured to apply the adhesive on the preset part of the surface of the member to be coated, to form the barrier layer (Yu [0215] third providing device 233), and the coating mechanism comprises: an adhesive application portion configured to apply the adhesive on the preset part of the surface of the member to be coated ( Yu [0215] third providing device 233 applied the barrier layer);
Modified Higuchi fails to explicitly teach an adhesive supply mechanism configured to supply the adhesive to the adhesive application; and a driving mechanism configured to drive the adhesive application portion to press onto or leave the surface of the member to be coated, wherein the driving mechanism is communicatively connected to the coating control unit.
Wang is considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of coatings ([0047] for batteries [0002]). Wang teaches a spraying device 9 (interpreted as the third providing device 233 of Yu) that includes a spray nozzle (adhesive application portion), control valve portion 9-6 (driving mechanism) that controls the material input pipes 9-5-1 and 9-4-1 (adhesive supply mechanism) to the spray nozzle (fig. 4; fig. 1 [0047]). Therefore, it would be obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify Higuchi such that the third providing device of Yu would include an adhesive application portion, an adhesive supply mechanism, and a driving mechanism and be in communication with the control device to open and close the driving mechanism and supply the adhesive/barrier layer on the preset post-winding position.
Regarding claim 18, modified Higuchi teaches all of the limitations of claim 17. Modified Higuchi also teaches that the adhesive application portion is arranged on one side of the member to be coated, or there are a plurality of adhesive application portions, which are respectively arranged on two sides of the member to be coated (Yu [0011] the adhesive is attaches to one or both surface of the positive electrode, negative electrode, and/or separator; [0215] it would be obvious that the third providing device 233 would be arranged on one or both sides of the member to be coated).
Regarding claim 19, modified Higuchi teaches all of the limitations of claim 17. Modified Higuchi fails to explicitly teach that an adsorption layer is provided on a side of the adhesive application portion facing the member to be coated, and the adsorption layer is in communication with the adhesive supply mechanism (Yu teaches that the adhesive can be polypropylene [0076], which is known to inherently have adsorption properties; given a spraying application as Yu teaches [0081], it would be obvious that the nozzle, which is the adhesive application portion facing the member to be coated, would also constitute an adsorption layer or film of the adhesive it is spraying on the member, and the nozzle including the adsorption material would be in communication with the supply mechanism); or the adhesive application portion comprises an adhesive roller, an adsorption layer covers in a circumferential direction of the adhesive roller, and the adsorption layer is in communication with the adhesive supply mechanism; and the adhesive roller is rotatably connected to the driving mechanism.
For example, Wang teaches that the nozzle is in communication with the material input pipes 9-5-1 and 9-4-1 (fig. 4, fig. 1 [0047]) that supplies the adhesive material with adsorption properties for the barrier layer.
Regarding claim 20, modified Higuchi teaches all of the limitations of claim 10. Modified Higuchi also teaches that the coating mechanism is configured to apply the adhesive on the preset part of the surface of the member to be coated, to form the barrier layer, and the coating mechanism comprises: a spray nozzle configured to apply the adhesive on the preset part of the surface of the member to be coated (Yu [0081] attachment can refer to spraying); an adhesive supply mechanism configured to supply the adhesive to the spray nozzle (Yu [0215] third providing device 233 applying the barrier layer would obvious constitute both the application portion, in this case sprayer, and the adhesive supply mechanism to the sprayer to spray);
Modified Higuchi fails to explicitly teach a control valve configured to connect the adhesive supply mechanism and the spray nozzle, wherein the control valve is communicatively connected to the coating control unit. However, the use of control valves to control flow, such as with a spraying unit, is known in the art. For example, Wang teaches a spraying device 9 that includes a control valve portion 9-6 that controls the material input pipe 9-5-1 or 9-4-1 to the spray nozzle (fig. 4; fig. 1 [0047]). Therefore, it would be obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the third providing device of Yu would include a control valve such as in Wang to control the material input to the spray nozzle.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/M.L.K./Examiner, Art Unit 1722 /NIKI BAKHTIARI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1722