eNotice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. 18328920, filed on 06/07/2022.
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Objections
Claim 2 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 2 line 19 recites the typo “sample information at at least one”. Appropriate correction is required.
Double Patenting
Claim(s) 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim(s) 1-17 of U.S. Patent No. 20180364267. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because based on the various processing circuitry configuration limitation disclosed in Shinohara (US 20180364267A1) for acquiring sample information (e.g. expiration timing), manipulation, monitoring (e.g. calibration data), and identification within an automatic analyzer, would be anticipated and/or obvious to one with ordinary skills in the art.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-13, and 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Hashimoto et al. (US20220308079A1), herein referred to as Hashimoto et al. '0922.
The applied reference has a joint inventor and assignee with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2). This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B) if the same invention is not being claimed; or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed in the reference and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement.
Regarding Claim 1, Hashimoto et al. '0922 teaches an automatic analyzer configured to dispense a subject sample or a standard sample and a reagent into a reaction container and to subject a mixture liquid in the reaction container to measurement (See how the analyzing device 70 includes a sample disk 5 holding a plurality of specimen containers 11 in Fig. 2 in [0015]-[0033], the Abstract, and the Claim(s) 1-14), the automatic analyzer comprising:
control circuitry (See the circuitry 30 in Fig. 1-2 in [0017]-[0024]) configured to
acquire, from a standard sample container containing the standard sample, standard sample information comprising at least one of item information, identification information for identification as a calibrator or an accuracy management sample, or concentration information, and update, upon acquisition of the standard sample information, condition information on a condition of the standard sample (See how the data processing function 31 is configured to generate calibration data and analysis data of each of the test items, by processing the standard data and the tested data generated by the analyzing device 70 in Fig. 1-2 in [0017]-[0024]).
Regarding Claim(s) 2-3, Hashimoto et al. '0922 teaches the analyzer limitations of claim 1.
Hashimoto et al. '0922 further an automatic analyzer (See how the analyzing device 70 includes a sample disk 5 holding a plurality of specimen containers 11 in Fig. 2 in [0015]-[0033], the Abstract, and the Claim(s) 1-14), wherein the control circuitry is configured to acquire the standard sample information at least one of a timing where a user instruction is accepted or a timing where a preparation for measurement with the standard sample is started (See in [0051] and in Claim(s) 3-6; Also, see the input device 50 in [0017]-[0018] in Fig. 1-2);
wherein the condition information comprises information on at least one of an expiration timing of the standard sample or a remaining amount of the standard sample (See how the measurement unit 13 is configured to perform the measuring process on the liquid mixture of a specimen and the reagent 120 in the one or more of the reaction cuvettes in [0043] in Fig. 2);
Regarding Claim 5, Hashimoto et al. '0922 teaches the analyzer limitations of claim 3.
Hashimoto et al. '0922 further an automatic analyzer (See how the analyzing device 70 includes a sample disk 5 holding a plurality of specimen containers 11 in Fig. 2 in [0015]-[0033], the Abstract, and the Claim(s) 1-14), wherein the control circuitry (See the circuitry 30 in Fig. 1-2 in [0017]-[0024]) is further configured to
determine, based on the condition information, whether or not the standard sample is either in an insufficient remaining amount state or in a state of showing a sign of an insufficient remaining amount (See how the measurement unit 13 is configured to perform the measuring process on the liquid mixture of a specimen and the reagent 120 in the one or more of the reaction cuvettes in [0043] in Fig. 2 and in Claim(s) 14-17), and
output, based on a result of the determination, information on the insufficient remaining amount state or the state of showing a sign of an insufficient remaining amount (See the output interface 6 Fig. 1-2 in [0026]-[0031]).
Regarding Claim(s) 6-11, Hashimoto et al. '0922 teaches the analyzer limitations of claim(s) 1 and 3.
Hashimoto et al. '0922 further an automatic analyzer (See how the analyzing device 70 includes a sample disk 5 holding a plurality of specimen containers 11 in Fig. 2 in [0015]-[0033], the Abstract, and the Claim(s) 1-14), wherein the control circuitry is further configured to determine, based on the condition information, whether or not the standard sample is unusable, and if the standard sample is determined to be unusable, change the standard sample to an equivalent-type standard sample which is equivalent to the standard sample (See how the calibration data output from the processing circuitry 30 denotes data indicating a result of the measuring process such as the amount or the density of the substance derived from the tested data and the standard data. in Fig. 1-2 in [0017]-[0024]);
wherein the standard sample information corresponding to the equivalent-type standard sample comprises item information, identification information, and concentration information equivalent to those included in the standard sample information corresponding to the standard sample determined to be unusable, respectively (See in [0017]-[0025] in Fig. 1-5).
wherein the control circuitry is configured so that, if the standard sample determined to be unusable is an accuracy management sample, and if there is no equivalent-type standard sample but a calibrator having same item information as that of the standard sample determined to be unusable, the control circuitry changes the standard sample determined to be unusable to the calibrator (See in [0017]-[0025] in Fig. 1-5);
wherein the control circuitry is further configured to compare a result of measurement performed with the calibrator with a result of previous calibration measurement using the calibrator, and if a difference between the results falls outside a predetermined range, output an indication of an error (See in [0017]-[0025] in Fig. 1-5);
further comprising a memory configured to store one or more sets of the standard sample information and the condition information for a predetermined placement quantity or a predetermined period (See how the storage circuit 60 is, for example, a semiconductor memory element such as a Random Access Memory (RAM) or a flash memory, or a storage device such as a hard disk or an optical disk in [0017]-[0025] in Fig. 1-5);
wherein the control circuitry is further configured to output the condition information together with a measurement result (See the processing device 90 includes an input device 50, an output device 40, processing circuitry 30, and a storage circuit 60 in [0017]-[0025] in Fig. 1-5).
Regarding Claim 12, Hashimoto et al. '0922 teaches an automatic analyzer configured to dispense a subject sample or a standard sample and a reagent into a reaction container and to subject a mixture liquid in the reaction container to measurement (See how the analyzing device 70 includes a sample disk 5 holding a plurality of specimen containers 11 in Fig. 2 in [0015]-[0033], the Abstract, and the Claim(s) 1-14), the automatic analyzer comprising:
control circuitry (See the circuitry 30 in Fig. 1-2 in [0017]-[0024]) configured to
acquire standard sample information comprising item information, identification information for identification as a calibrator or an accuracy management sample, and concentration information, by accepting an input of the standard sample information given according to a user operation, and update, upon acquisition of the standard sample information, condition information on a condition of the standard sample (See how the data processing function 31 is configured to generate calibration data and analysis data of each of the test items, by processing the standard data and the tested data generated by the analyzing device 70 in Fig. 1-2 in [0017]-[0024]).
Regarding Claim 13, Hashimoto et al. '0922 teaches the analyzer limitations of claim 12.
Hashimoto et al. '0922 further an automatic analyzer (See how the analyzing device 70 includes a sample disk 5 holding a plurality of specimen containers 11 in Fig. 2 in [0015]-[0033], the Abstract, and the Claim(s) 1-14), wherein the condition information comprises information on at least one of an expiration timing of the standard sample or a remaining amount of the standard sample (See how the measurement unit 13 is configured to perform the measuring process on the liquid mixture of a specimen and the reagent 120 in the one or more of the reaction cuvettes in [0043] in Fig. 2).
Regarding Claim 15, Hashimoto et al. '0922 teaches the analyzer limitations of claim 13.
Hashimoto et al. '0922 further an automatic analyzer (See how the analyzing device 70 includes a sample disk 5 holding a plurality of specimen containers 11 in Fig. 2 in [0015]-[0033], the Abstract, and the Claim(s) 1-14), wherein the control circuitry (See the circuitry 30 in Fig. 1-2 in [0017]-[0024]) is further configured to
determine, based on the condition information, whether or not the standard sample is either in an insufficient remaining amount state or in a state of showing a sign of an insufficient remaining amount (See how the measurement unit 13 is configured to perform the measuring process on the liquid mixture of a specimen and the reagent 120 in the one or more of the reaction cuvettes in [0043] in Fig. 2 and in Claim(s) 14-17), and
output, based on a result of the determination, information on the insufficient remaining amount state or the state of showing a sign of an insufficient remaining amount (See the output interface 6 Fig. 1-2 in [0026]-[0031]).
Regarding Claim(s) 16-19, Hashimoto et al. '0922 teaches the analyzer limitations of claim(s) 12 and 13.
Hashimoto et al. '0922 further an automatic analyzer (See how the analyzing device 70 includes a sample disk 5 holding a plurality of specimen containers 11 in Fig. 2 in [0015]-[0033], the Abstract, and the Claim(s) 1-14), wherein the control circuitry is further configured to determine, based on the condition information, whether or not the standard sample is unusable, and if the standard sample is determined to be unusable, change the standard sample to an equivalent-type standard sample which is equivalent to the standard sample (See how the calibration data output from the processing circuitry 30 denotes data indicating a result of the measuring process such as the amount or the density of the substance derived from the tested data and the standard data. in Fig. 1-2 in [0017]-[0024]);
wherein the standard sample information corresponding to the equivalent-type standard sample comprises item information, identification information, and concentration information equivalent to those included in the standard sample information corresponding to the standard sample determined to be unusable, respectively (See in [0017]-[0025] in Fig. 1-5).
further comprising a memory configured to store one or more sets of the standard sample information and the condition information for a predetermined placement quantity or a predetermined period (See how the storage circuit 60 is, for example, a semiconductor memory element such as a Random Access Memory (RAM) or a flash memory, or a storage device such as a hard disk or an optical disk in [0017]-[0025] in Fig. 1-5);
wherein the control circuitry is further configured to output the condition information together with a measurement result (See the processing device 90 includes an input device 50, an output device 40, processing circuitry 30, and a storage circuit 60 in [0017]-[0025] in Fig. 1-5).
Regarding Claim 20, Hashimoto et al. '0922 teaches an automatic analyzing method for dispensing a subject sample or a standard sample and a reagent into a reaction container and subjecting a mixture liquid in the reaction container to measurement (See how the analyzing device 70 includes a sample disk 5 holding a plurality of specimen containers 11 in Fig. 2 in [0015]-[0033], the Abstract, and the Claim(s) 1-14), the automatic analyzing method comprising:
acquiring, from a standard sample container containing the standard sample, standard sample information comprising at least one of item information, identification information for identification as a calibrator or an accuracy management sample, or concentration information; and updating, upon acquisition of the standard sample information, condition information on a condition of the standard sample (See how the data processing function 31 is configured to generate calibration data and analysis data of each of the test items, by processing the standard data and the tested data generated by the analyzing device 70 in Fig. 1-2 in [0017]-[0024]; Also, see the circuitry 30 in Fig. 1-2 in [0017]-[0024]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hashimoto et al. '0922 (US20220308079A1) as applied to claim(s) 3 and 13 above, and further in view of Hashimoto et al. (US20220244285A1), herein referred to as Hashimoto et al. '0822.
Regarding Claim 4, Hashimoto et al. '0922 teaches the analyzer limitations of claim 1.
Hashimoto et al. '0922 fails to explicitly teach an automatic analyzer according to claim 3, wherein the control circuitry is further configured to determine, based on the condition information, whether or not the standard sample is either in an expired state or in a state of showing a sign of expiration, and output, based on a result of the determination, information on the expired state or the state of showing a sign of expiration.
Yet, in the analogous art of automatic analyzers and standard sample containers, Hashimoto et al. '0822 teaches an automatic analyzer (See how the analyzing device 70 includes a sample disk 5 holding a plurality of specimen containers 11 in Fig. 2 in [0026]-[0038], the Abstract, and the Claim(s) 1-14), wherein the control circuitry (See the circuitry 9 Fig. 1-2 and 19 in [0026]-[0038]) is further configured to
determine, based on the condition information, whether or not the standard sample is either in an expired state or in a state of showing a sign of expiration (See in [0146]-[0163], [0196] in Fig. 19)
output, based on a result of the determination, information on the expired state or the state of showing a sign of expiration (See the output interface 6 Fig. 1-2 and 19 in [0026]-[0038]).
Thus, it would be obvious to one with ordinary skills in the arts to modify the invention of Hashimoto et al. '0922 by incorporating a control circuitry that can determine the expiration state and an output to express the expired state (as taught by Hashimoto et al. '0822 for the benefit of using effective standard samples in an automatic analyzer.
Regarding Claim 14, Hashimoto et al. '0922 teaches the analyzer limitations of claim 13.
Hashimoto et al. '0922 fails to explicitly teach an automatic analyzer according to claim 3, wherein the control circuitry is further configured to determine, based on the condition information, whether or not the standard sample is either in an expired state or in a state of showing a sign of expiration, and output, based on a result of the determination, information on the expired state or the state of showing a sign of expiration.
Yet, in the analogous art of automatic analyzers and standard sample containers, Hashimoto et al. '0822 teaches an automatic analyzer (See how the analyzing device 70 includes a sample disk 5 holding a plurality of specimen containers 11 in Fig. 2 in [0026]-[0038], the Abstract, and the Claim(s) 1-14), wherein the control circuitry (See the circuitry 9 Fig. 1-2 and 19 in [0026]-[0038]) is further configured to
determine, based on the condition information, whether or not the standard sample is either in an expired state or in a state of showing a sign of expiration (See in [0146]-[0163], [0196] in Fig. 19)
output, based on a result of the determination, information on the expired state or the state of showing a sign of expiration (See the output interface 6 Fig. 1-2 and 19 in [0026]-[0038]).
Thus, it would be obvious to one with ordinary skills in the arts to modify the invention of Hashimoto et al. '0922 by incorporating a control circuitry that can determine the expiration state and an output to express the expired state (as taught by Hashimoto et al. '0822 for the benefit of using effective standard samples in an automatic analyzer.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The following prior art teaches analyzers and methods: Shinohara (US 20180364267A1), Nakasawa et al. (US20150369833A1), Kanayama (US9046504B2), and Wakamiya et al. (US20080241937A1).
/BRITNEY N. WASHINGTON/Examiner, Art Unit 1797
/JENNIFER WECKER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1797