DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 06/05/2023 was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Amendment
Claims 1-20 were previously pending and subject to non-final action filed on 11/04/2025. In the response filed 02/04/2026, claims 1, 4, 9 and 15 were amended. Therefore, claims 1-20 are currently pending and subject to the final action below.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 7-16, filed 02/04/2026, with respect to claims 1-20 under 35 U.S.C. 101 abstract idea have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 101 rejection of claims 1-20 has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments filed 02/04/2026 with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to the new combination of references being used in the current rejection.
Examiner Notes
Multi-head attention (MHA) can be self-attention preformed in parallel. Attention (heads) computes in parallel. Focus on different information such as (queries, keys, and values) run in parallel. MHA implementation is for reducing the feature size for each individual head. This allows multiple, smaller attention to operate in parallel.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 9 are objected to because claims the limitation of “wherein each of the plurality of MHA outputs includes a different number of tokens from each other,”. For example, one MHA data/information could be focus on adjective-noun pairs and second MHA could be focus on subject-verb; Another example could be one MHA is large scale (size) adjective-noun pairs and second MHA is focus on small scale (size) of tokens of adjective-noun pairs. The difference could be the size or different type of data.
The terms “from each other” is left open to a broad interpretation in the concept regarding MHA.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abramson (US 20230178076 A1, Filed Date: Dec. 7, 2022) in view of SHRIVASTAVA (US 20210374338 A1, Filed Date: May. 3, 2021).
Regarding independent claim 1, Abramson teaches: A method for multimodal machine learning, comprising:
obtaining a prompt; (Abramson − [0062] In particular, at each time step the system 100 receives a multi-modal input, [0073] obtain additional information about how to perform the desired task from the other agents 107, e.g., by prompting the other agent(s) 107 to provide additional information. [0074] Processing input observations to generate action(s) Examiner NOTE: inputs, queries and responses are consider “a prompt”)
encoding the prompt using a multimodal encoder to obtain a prompt embedding, (Abramson − [0037] In some implementations, the perceptual encoder neural network includes the text embedding neural network, the image embedding neural network, and the multi-modal Transformer neural network of any of the methods described above, and the encoded representation is the aggregated embedding generated by the multi-modal Transformer neural network. [0164] FIG. 6 shows a specific example architecture of the neural networks used by the action selection system during inference and during training. In particular, in the example of FIG. 6, the perceptual encoder includes an image embedding neural network 610, a text embedding neural network 620, and a multi-modal Transformer 630.)
wherein the encoding comprises generating a plurality of multi-head attention (MHA) outputs (Abramson − [0122] can perform multi-head attention and therefore have multiple heads that each perform self-attention in parallel. The self-attention layer can then combine the outputs of the multiple heads to generate an output of the attention mechanism for the self-attention layer, e.g., by summing, averaging, or concatenating the outputs and then optionally applying a linear transformation to the result [0164] In particular, in the example of FIG. 6, the perceptual encoder includes an image embedding neural network 610, a text embedding neural network 620, and a multi-modal Transformer 630.) Examiner NOTE: MHA can be self-attention performed in parallel.
and combining the plurality of MHA outputs using a multi-scale aggregator; (Abramson − [0167-0168] Fig. 6, element 630; After the self-attention layers, the multi-modal Transformer 630 aggregates the resulting text embeddings and dedicated embeddings to generate the aggregated embedding (“encoded representation”).)
and generating a response to the prompt based on the prompt embedding. (Abramson − [0008] selecting, using the aggregated embedding, one or more actions to be performed by the agent in response to the observation image;)
Abramson does not explicitly teach: MHA outputs includes a different number of tokens from each other,
However, SHRIVASTAVA teaches: wherein each of the plurality of MHA outputs includes a different number of tokens from each other, (SHRIVASTAVA – [0079] the base decoder 304 is transformer decoder (output). The base decoder 304 include a masked multi-head attention layer pre-trained on large scale text corpora; the base decoder 304 generates the first set of words (tokens) distribution 308; [0080] the fine-tuned decoder 306 is a transformer decoder. The fine-tuned decoder 306 include a masked multi-head attention layer pre-trained on small scale text summaries; the fine-tuned decoder 306 generates a second set of words (tokens) distribution 310. The base decoder output different than the fine-tuned decoder.)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teaching of Abramson and SHRIVASTAVA. Abramson and SHRIVASTAVA are analogous art because they are from the same problem-solving area, generating an predicted output using machine learning model. The rationale for doing so would have been to improve readability and tone of generated predict outputs from the machine learning model. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Abramson and SHRIVASTAVA to obtain the invention as specified in the instant claim(s).
Regarding dependent claim 2, depends on claim 1, Abramson teaches: wherein: the prompt comprises a text prompt and the prompt embedding comprises a text embedding in a multimodal embedding space. (Abramson − [0122] can perform multi-head attention and therefore have multiple heads that each perform self-attention in parallel. The self-attention layer can then combine the outputs of the multiple heads to generate an output of the attention mechanism for the self-attention layer, e.g., by summing, averaging, or concatenating the outputs and then optionally applying a linear transformation to the result [0164] In particular, in the example of FIG. 6, the perceptual encoder includes an image embedding neural network 610, a text embedding neural network 620, and a multi-modal Transformer 630.)
Regarding dependent claim 3, depends on claim 1, Abramson teaches: wherein: the prompt comprises an image prompt and the prompt embedding comprises an image embedding in a multimodal embedding space. (Abramson − [0122] can perform multi-head attention and therefore have multiple heads that each perform self-attention in parallel. The self-attention layer can then combine the outputs of the multiple heads to generate an output of the attention mechanism for the self-attention layer, e.g., by summing, averaging, or concatenating the outputs and then optionally applying a linear transformation to the result [0164] In particular, in the example of FIG. 6, the perceptual encoder includes an image embedding neural network 610, a text embedding neural network 620, and a multi-modal Transformer 630.)
Regarding dependent claim 4, depends on claim 1, Abramson teaches: applying a plurality of masks to obtain the plurality of MHA outputs. (Abramson – [0024] [0033] [0109] For example, the Transformer can auto-regressively generate the output text tokens while cross-attending into the state representation) Examiner Note: auto-regressive is causal masking.
Regarding dependent claim 6, depends on claim 4, Abramson does not explicitly teach: indicates neighboring words around a central word
However, SHRIVASTAVA teaches wherein: each of the plurality of masks indicates neighboring words around a central word. (SHRIVASTAVA – [0097-0098] decoding process words Learn, from, history, Expert)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teaching of Abramson and SHRIVASTAVA. Abramson and SHRIVASTAVA are analogous art because they are from the same problem-solving area, generating an predicted output using machine learning model. The rationale for doing so would have been to improve readability and tone of generated predict outputs from the machine learning model. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Abramson and SHRIVASTAVA to obtain the invention as specified in the instant claim(s).
Regarding dependent claim 7, depends on claim 1, Abramson teaches: processing an output of the multi-scale aggregator using an adapter, wherein the prompt embedding is based on an output of the adapter. (Abramson − [0167-0168] Fig. 6, element 630; After the self-attention layers, the multi-modal Transformer 630 aggregates the resulting text embeddings and dedicated embeddings to generate the aggregated embedding (“encoded representation”).)
Regarding dependent claim 8, depends on claim 1, Abramson teaches: wherein: the multimodal encoder comprises a pre-trained encoder that is fine-tuned based on the multi-scale aggregator. (Abramson − [0078] In yet other implementations, the system 190 can first train the neural networks through imitation learning, and then fine-tune the neural networks through reinforcement learning.)
Regarding independent claim 9, Abramson teaches: A method for multimodal machine learning, comprising:
obtaining training data comprising an image and text describing the image; (Abramson − [0076-0077] the system 190 trains the neural networks through imitation learning, e.g., on ground truth data generated by an expert agent. The ground truth data includes a set of ground truth trajectories that each include, at a sequence of time steps, an observation that includes an observation image and a natural language text sequence, and one or more of a ground truth action or a ground truth text output.)
encoding the text using a multimodal encoder to obtain a predicted text embedding, (Abramson − [0037] In some implementations, the perceptual encoder neural network includes the text embedding neural network, the image embedding neural network, and the multi-modal Transformer neural network of any of the methods described above, and the encoded representation is the aggregated embedding generated by the multi-modal Transformer neural network. [0164] FIG. 6 shows a specific example architecture of the neural networks used by the action selection system during inference and during training. In particular, in the example of FIG. 6, the perceptual encoder includes an image embedding neural network 610, a text embedding neural network 620, and a multi-modal Transformer 630.)
wherein encoding the text comprises generating a plurality of multi-head attention (MHA) text outputs (Abramson − [0164] FIG. 6 shows a specific example architecture of the neural networks used by the action selection system during inference and during training. In particular, in the example of FIG. 6, the perceptual encoder includes an image embedding neural network 610, a text embedding neural network 620, and a multi-modal Transformer 630. Moreover, at each time step, the system can generate both a sequence of multiple (8) actions and an output text sequence.)
and combining the plurality of MHA text outputs using a text multi-scale aggregator; (Abramson − [0164-0167] [0167] the multi-modal Transformer 630 aggregates the resulting text embeddings and dedicated embeddings to generate the aggregated embedding (“encoded representation”).)
encoding the image using the multimodal encoder to obtain a predicted image embedding, (Abramson − [0037] In some implementations, the perceptual encoder neural network includes the text embedding neural network, the image embedding neural network, and the multi-modal Transformer neural network of any of the methods described above, and the encoded representation is the aggregated embedding generated by the multi-modal Transformer neural network. [0164] FIG. 6 shows a specific example architecture of the neural networks used by the action selection system during inference and during training. In particular, in the example of FIG. 6, the perceptual encoder includes an image embedding neural network 610, a text embedding neural network 620, and a multi-modal Transformer 630.)
wherein encoding the image comprises generating a plurality of MHA image outputs, (Abramson − [0122] can perform multi-head attention and therefore have multiple heads that each perform self-attention in parallel. The self-attention layer can then combine the outputs of the multiple heads to generate an output of the attention mechanism for the self-attention layer, e.g., by summing, averaging, or concatenating the outputs and then optionally applying a linear transformation to the result [0164] In particular, in the example of FIG. 6, the perceptual encoder includes an image embedding neural network 610, a text embedding neural network 620, and a multi-modal Transformer 630.) Examiner NOTE: MHA can be self-attention performed in parallel.
and combining the plurality of MHA image outputs using an image multi-scale aggregator; (Abramson − [0167-0168] Fig. 6, element 630; After the self-attention layers, the multi-modal Transformer 630 aggregates the resulting text embeddings and dedicated embeddings to generate the aggregated embedding (“encoded representation”).)
and training the multimodal encoder based on the predicted image embedding and the predicted text embedding. ([0076-0078] [0076] In some implementations, the system 190 trains the neural networks through imitation learning, e.g., on ground truth data generated by an expert agent. The ground truth data includes a set of ground truth trajectories that each include, at a sequence of time steps, an observation that includes an observation image and a natural language text sequence, and one or more of a ground truth action or a ground truth text output. A “ground truth” action is a target action that should be performed by the agent at a given time step (or a given position in an action sequence). Similarly, a “ground truth” text output is a target text output that should be generated by the system at a given time step. For example, the ground truth actions and text outputs can be the actual actions and text outputs (respectively) performed or generated (e.g., spoken) by the expert agent at a given time step. The expert agent can be, e.g., an agent that is controlled by a human user, an agent that is controlled by an already-learned policy, or an agent that is controlled by a hard-coded, heuristic-based policy.)
Abramson does not explicitly teach: MHA outputs includes a different number of tokens from each other,
However, SHRIVASTAVA teaches: wherein each of the plurality of MHA text outputs includes a different number of text tokens from each other, (SHRIVASTAVA – [0079] the base decoder 304 is transformer decoder (output). The base decoder 304 include a masked multi-head attention layer pre-trained on large scale text corpora; the base decoder 304 generates the first set of words (tokens) distribution 308; [0080] the fine-tuned decoder 306 is a transformer decoder. The fine-tuned decoder 306 include a masked multi-head attention layer pre-trained on small scale text summaries; the fine-tuned decoder 306 generates a second set of words (tokens) distribution 310. The base decoder output different than the fine-tuned decoder.)
wherein each of the plurality of MHA image outputs includes a different number of image tokens from each other, (SHRIVASTAVA – [0120] capable of capturing still picture images and/or video images; [0079] the base decoder 304 is transformer decoder (output). The base decoder 304 include a masked multi-head attention layer pre-trained on large scale text corpora; the base decoder 304 generates the first set of words (tokens) distribution 308; [0080] the fine-tuned decoder 306 is a transformer decoder. The fine-tuned decoder 306 include a masked multi-head attention layer pre-trained on small scale text summaries; the fine-tuned decoder 306 generates a second set of words (tokens) distribution 310. The base decoder output different than the fine-tuned decoder.)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teaching of Abramson and SHRIVASTAVA. Abramson and SHRIVASTAVA are analogous art because they are from the same problem-solving area, generating an predicted output using machine learning model. The rationale for doing so would have been to improve readability and tone of generated predict outputs from the machine learning model. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Abramson and SHRIVASTAVA to obtain the invention as specified in the instant claim(s).
Regarding dependent claim 10, depends on claim 9, Abramson teaches: further comprising: obtaining a pre-trained encoder; and inserting the image multi-scale aggregator and the text multi-scale aggregator to obtain the multimodal encoder. (Abramson − [0122] can perform multi-head attention and therefore have multiple heads that each perform self-attention in parallel. The self-attention layer can then combine the outputs of the multiple heads to generate an output of the attention mechanism for the self-attention layer, e.g., by summing, averaging, or concatenating the outputs and then optionally applying a linear transformation to the result [0164] In particular, in the example of FIG. 6, the perceptual encoder includes an image embedding neural network 610, a text embedding neural network 620, and a multi-modal Transformer 630.)
Regarding dependent claim 11, depends on claim 10, Abramson teaches: wherein: the pre-trained encoder is trained using pre-training data in a first domain and the training data is in a second domain different from the first domain. (Abramson − [0164] Fig. 6 The perceptual encoder includes an image embedding neural network 610, a text embedding neural network 620, and a multi-modal Transformer 630)
Regarding dependent claim 12, depends on claim 10, Abramson teaches: further comprising: inserting a text adapter following the text multi-scale aggregator; and inserting an image adapter following the image multi-scale aggregator. (Abramson − [0164] Fig. 6 The perceptual encoder includes an image embedding neural network 610, a text embedding neural network 620, and a multi-modal Transformer 630)
Regarding dependent claim 13, depends on claim 12, Abramson teaches: further comprising: updating parameters of the text adapter, wherein the multimodal encoder is trained based on the updated parameters of the text adapter. (Abramson − [0077-0078] the system 190 trains the neural networks through reinforcement learning; fine-tune the neural networks through reinforcement learning. [0088] In some cases, the system can be used to control the interactions of the agent with a simulated environment, and the system can train the parameters of the neural networks (e.g., the perceptual encoder neural network 122, the policy neural network 126, and, when used, the language generation neural network) used to control the agent based on the interactions of the agent with the simulated environment. Neural network contains a text encoder and image encoder)
Regarding dependent claim 14, depends on claim 12, Abramson teaches: further comprising: updating parameters of the image adapter, wherein the multimodal encoder is trained based on the updated parameters of the image adapter. (Abramson − [0077-0078] the system 190 trains the neural networks through reinforcement learning; fine-tune the neural networks through reinforcement learning. [0088] In some cases, the system can be used to control the interactions of the agent with a simulated environment, and the system can train the parameters of the neural networks (e.g., the perceptual encoder neural network 122, the policy neural network 126, and, when used, the language generation neural network) used to control the agent based on the interactions of the agent with the simulated environment. Neural network contains a text encoder and image encoder)
Regarding independent claim 15, is directed to an apparatus. Claim 15 have similar/same technical features/limitation as claim 1 and the claims are rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding dependent claim 16, depends on claim 15, Abramson teaches: further comprising: a training component configured to train the multimodal encoder. (Abramson − [0037] In some implementations, the perceptual encoder neural network includes the text embedding neural network, the image embedding neural network, and the multi-modal Transformer neural network of any of the methods described above, and the encoded representation is the aggregated embedding generated by the multi-modal Transformer neural network. [0164] FIG. 6 shows a specific example architecture of the neural networks used by the action selection system during inference and during training. In particular, in the example of FIG. 6, the perceptual encoder includes an image embedding neural network 610, a text embedding neural network 620, and a multi-modal Transformer 630.)
Regarding dependent claim 17, depends on claim 15, Abramson teaches: wherein: the multimodal encoder comprises an image multi-scale aggregator in an image encoder and a text multi-scale aggregator in a text encoder. (Abramson − [0077-0078] the system 190 trains the neural networks through reinforcement learning; fine-tune the neural networks through reinforcement learning. [0088] In some cases, the system can be used to control the interactions of the agent with a simulated environment, and the system can train the parameters of the neural networks (e.g., the perceptual encoder neural network 122, the policy neural network 126, and, when used, the language generation neural network) used to control the agent based on the interactions of the agent with the simulated environment. Neural network contains a text encoder and image encoder)
Regarding dependent claim 18, depends on claim 15, Abramson teaches: wherein: the multimodal encoder comprises an adapter following the multi-scale aggregator. (Abramson − [0167-0168] Fig. 6, element 630; After the self-attention layers, the multi-modal Transformer 630 aggregates the resulting text embeddings and dedicated embeddings to generate the aggregated embedding (“encoded representation”).)
Regarding dependent claim 19, depends on claim 18, Abramson teaches: wherein: the multimodal encoder is pretrained without the multi-scale aggregator and fine-tuned with the multi-scale aggregator. (Abramson − [0078] In yet other implementations, the system 190 can first train the neural networks through imitation learning, and then fine-tune the neural networks through reinforcement learning.)
Regarding dependent claim 20, depends on claim 15, Abramson teaches: further comprising: a response component configured to generate a response to the prompt based on the prompt embedding. (Abramson − [0008] selecting, using the aggregated embedding, one or more actions to be performed by the agent in response to the observation image;)
Claim(s) 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abramson, SHRIVASTAVA as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of YU (US 20240013504 A1, Filed Date: Oct. 31, 2022).
Regarding dependent claim 5, depends on claim 4, Abramson does not explicitly teach: wherein: each of the plurality of masks indicates neighboring pixels around a central pixel.
However, YU teaches: wherein: each of the plurality of masks indicates neighboring pixels around a central pixel. (YU − [0019] Embodiments of the present disclosure provide techniques for training and using a machine learning model to perform referring image segmentation. In the referring image segmentation, the machine learning model determines object(s) or region(s) within an image being referenced by a natural language expression. (8) a mask decoder that takes the refined feature tokens and the location-aware queries as inputs and outputs a mask, and (9) a convolution module that applies a convolution layer to the mask,… thereby generating a segmentation mask that indicates pixels within the image that are associated with the object(s) referenced by the natural language expression. Map each pixel in the image to location and position in the segmentation map.)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teaching of Abramson and SHRIVASTAVA. Abramson, SHRIVASTAVA and Yu are analogous art because they are from the same problem-solving area, generating an predicted output using machine learning model. It would have been obvious to combine Abramson, SHRIVASTAVA and Yu to obtain the invention as specified in the instant claim(s).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CARL E BARNES JR/Examiner, Art Unit 2178
/STEPHEN S HONG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2178