Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Species 2 without traverse of in the reply filed on 12/03/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 7- 15 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected embodiment, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 12/03/2026.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 2, 3, 5 and 16 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 3, 10 and 13 of U.S. Patent No 12,151,449. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the narrower claim 19 contains all claimed element of the instant claims. For example, the claims contain, vertically adjustable minor flap suppressors arranged opposite side having angled forward section and horizontal rearward section.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a) (1) as being anticipated by Vinh Le US 7,278,248.
Regarding claim 1 - Le ‘248 discloses A case-handling system comprising:
a conveyor 22; a vertically movable longitudinally extending first flap-suppressor 108 (floating head 108 comprises 106/110/58/60 mounted on towers 134, figs 2, 5 &7); and a controller 178 configured to cause the first flap-suppressor to vertically move to a first position to engage and hold upper minor flaps of a case in closed positions as the conveyor 22 moves the case under the first flap-suppressor 106/110/58/60 (Figs 2, 5 & 7), wherein the first position is determined by the controller based on a height of the case (P. 36 “…When the top horizontal edge of the box hits sensor bar 110, this causes a controller to actuate another pneumatic cylinder 112 and raise floating head 108 upwardly at a speed such that top horizontal edge of the box remains in contact with entry ramp 106. As the top flap of the box is folded downwardly and the top of the box passes under sensor bar 110…”.
Regarding claim 2 – Le ‘248 discloses the case-handling system of claim 1, wherein the first position is also determined by the controller based on a width of the case (P. 44 “…the lateral conveyors 58 and 60 may await positioning information regarding the width of the next box…”, the first suppressor module engages and hold upper minor flaps of a case in closed positions while the lateral conveyors 58/60 adjust the operating width of the conveyors to move the box under the flap suppressor 106/10, Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 3 - Le ‘248 discloses the case-handling system of claim 1, which comprises a vertically movable longitudinally extending second flap-suppressor 138/140/164/166, and wherein the controller is configured to cause the second flap-suppressor to vertically move to a second position to engage and hold the upper minor flaps of the case in the closed positions as the conveyor moves the case under the second flap-suppressor, wherein the second position is determined by the controller based on the height of the case (Figs 2, 6 & 7, P. 40 “…floating head 142 is raised sufficiently to allow the box to pass under ramps 138, 140…”).
Regarding claim 4 - Le ‘248 discloses the case-handling system of claim 3, wherein the first and second positions are also determined by the controller based on a width of the case (the width of the case controls operational actuation of the lateral conveyors of the first and second flap suppressors 58/60 and 164/166, Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 5 - Le ‘248 discloses the case-handling system of claim 3, wherein the first and second positions are at a same vertical height and are transversely spaced apart (Fig.2 & 7).
Regarding claim 6 - Le ‘248 discloses the case-handling system of claim 1, wherein the first flap suppressor 108 is transversely movable (floating head 108 with laterally movable members 58 & 60), and wherein the controller is configured to cause the first flap suppressor to transversely move to the first position, wherein the first position is determined by the controller based on a width of the case ((P. 44 “…the lateral conveyors 58 and 60 may await positioning information regarding the width of the next box…”, the first suppressor module engages and hold upper minor flaps of a case in closed positions while the lateral conveyors 58/60 adjust the operating width of the conveyors to move the box under the flap suppressor 106/10, Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 16 - Le ‘248 discloses the case-handling system of claim 1, wherein the first minor-flap suppressor comprises an upwardly extending angled forward section and a flat rearward section extending downstream from the forward section (Fig. 7, angled 106 section and flat tail end).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Goodman US 4,524,560 discloses minor flap folding assembly having vertical and lateral adjustment for different box sizes.
/KHOI H TRAN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3656