DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 5, 6, 10-14, 16, and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Murashige et al. (US 20100280634 A1) in view of Sato et al. (US 20200156569 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Murashige et al. disclose a monolithic integrated circuit for providing diverse sensor measurement, the monolithic integrated circuit comprising: an analog interface coupled to a first sensor measurement path (fig. 2 and paragraph [0082]; PWM receiver couple to PWM signal line 62 for analog communication), the analog interface being configured to transmit an analog signal indicative of a value that corresponds to a physical quantity, which is based upon sensor measurement data received from a sensor (paragraphs [0081-0082]; detection signal output from a sensor (current, voltage, temperature, state amount) is input to ECU 21 of the redundant communication system to transmit PWM signal for analog communication); and a digital interface coupled to a second sensor measurement path (fig. 2 and paragraph [0082]; CAN driver couple to CAN communication line 61 for digital communication), the digital interface being configured to transmit a digital signal indicative of a digital value that corresponds to the physical quantity (paragraphs [0081-0082]; detection signal output from a sensor (current, voltage, temperature, state amount) is input to ECU 21 of the redundant communication system to transmit CANBUS data for digital communication). However, Murashige et al. may not explicitly suggest wherein both interfaces are formed on a single die. Sato et al. from the same or similar field of endeavor suggest interfaces are formed on a single die (paragraph [0022] and fig. 1; sensors are coupled to terminals (interfaces) 41 and 51 of receiver electronic circuits 34 and 35 respectively. The circuits are integrated into a single IC chip/die). Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate in Murashige et al.’s method/system the step of forming first interface and second interface on a single die as suggested by Sato et al. The motivation would have been to achieve redundancy while suppressing the increase in size of the interface circuit/chip area (paragraph [0006]).
Regarding claim 2, Murashige et al. further suggest wherein the analog interface and the digital interface are physically segregated from one another within the monolithic integrated circuit (fig. 2; both CAM driver and PWM receiver are separated within the ECU 22). Sato et al. also disclose this limitation (paragraph [0022] and fig. 1; sensors are coupled to terminals (interfaces) 41 and 51 of receiver electronic circuits 34 and 35 respectively. The circuits are integrated into a single IC chip/die).
Regarding claim 5, Murashige et al. further suggest wherein the sensor comprise a sensor element configured to sense the physical quantity, the sensor element being coupled to the first sensor measurement path and to the second sensor measurement path (paragraph [0081] and fig. 2; signal output from the sensor is input to control ECU 21 and transmitted to the CAN bus and PWM signal communication link).
Regarding claim 6, Murashige et al. further suggest wherein the analog interface is configured to transmit the analog signal such that at least a portion of the analog signal is transmitted while at least a portion of the digital signal is also transmitted (paragraph [0081-0082]; PWM receiver transmits PWM signal (analog communication) while the control unit also transmits digital communication).
Regarding claim 10, Murashige et al. further suggest wherein the analog interface comprises a single-ended analog interface (fig. 2; CAN driver 81 and PWM receiver 83 each comprises single interface coupled to respective output of ECU 21).
Regarding claim 11, Murashige et al. further suggest wherein the first sensor measurement path and the second sensor measurement path are coupled to one another and receive the sensor measurement data from the sensor via at least one component that is common to the first sensor measurement path and the second sensor measurement path (paragraph [0081] and fig. 2; signal output from the sensor is input to control ECU 21 (common) and transmitted to the CAN bus (CAN driver) and PWM signal communication link (PWM receiver). CAN driver and PWM receiver are coupled to one another in ECU 22 ).
Regarding claim 12, Murashige et al. further suggest wherein the at least one component that is common to the first sensor measurement path and the second sensor measurement path includes one or more of an analog-to-digital converter and a digital signal processor (fig. 2 and paragraph [0089]; PWM signal receiver 83 converts the PWM signal as the command signal input from the integration (corporation) control ECU 21 into the A/P rotation number command (PWM signal) and outputs the A/P rotation number command (PWM signal) to the PWM signal input processor 84. CAN processor 82 is a digital processor).
Regarding claim 13, Murashige et al. further suggest wherein the first sensor measurement path comprises a first digital signal processor and the second sensor measurement path comprises a second digital signal processor (fig. 2 and paragraphs [0088] [0100]; path 61 comprises CAN processor 82 and path 62 comprises PWM processor which converts signal from pulse/rectangular phase signal to continuous signal via filters).
Regarding claim 14, Murashige et al. further suggest wherein the first sensor measurement path comprises an analog path and the second sensor measurement path comprises an analog-to-digital converter and a digital signal processor (fig. 2 and paragraph [0089]; PWM signal receiver 83 converts the PWM signal as the command signal input from the integration (corporation) control ECU 21 into the A/P rotation number command (PWM signal) and outputs the A/P rotation number command (PWM signal) to the PWM signal input processor 84. CAN processor 82 is a digital processor).
Regarding claim 16, Murashige et al. further suggest wherein the digital interface is configured to transmit the digital signal in accordance with a data protocol that includes a Single Edge Nibble a Universal Asynchronous Receiver/Transmitter (UART)Transmission, a (SENT) protocol, a SENT Short Pulse Width Modulation Code (SPC) protocol, a Peripheral Sensor Interface 5 (PSIS), or a Pulse Width Modulation (PWM) protocol (fig. 2 and paragraph [0084]; PWM signal is of PWM).
Regarding claim 17, Murashige et al. further suggest wherein the digital interface is configured to transmit the digital signal in accordance with a data protocol that includes a Serial Peripheral Interface (SPI) protocol, an Inter-Integrated Circuit (I2C) Protocol, a Controller Area Network (CAN) protocol, or an incremental interface protocol (fig. 2 and paragraph [0084]; CAN driver is for CAN protocol).
Claims 3, 4, 8, 10-12, 14, 18, 19, and 21-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Murashige et al. (US 20100280634 A1) in view of Sato et al. (US 20200156569 A1), and further in view of Gourari et al. (US 20210309167 A1).
Regarding claim 3, Murashige et al. and Sato et al. disclose all the subject matter of the claimed invention as recited in claim 1 above without explicitly suggest wherein: the sensor comprises a first sensor element configured to sense the physical quantity and a second sensor element configured to sense the physical quantity, the first sensor element is coupled to the first sensor measurement path, and the second sensor element is coupled to the second sensor measurement path. However, Gourari et al. from the same or similar field of endeavor suggest wherein: the sensor comprises a first sensor element configured to sense the physical quantity and a second sensor element configured to sense the physical quantity, the first sensor element is coupled to the first sensor measurement path, and the second sensor element is coupled to the second sensor measurement path (fig. 2; sensor interface 201 of 106 coupled to first path E2. The sensor interface configured to transmit sensor data received from sensor S1 coupled to the first path E2. Sensor interface 215 coupled to second path E3) (paragraph [0026]; sensors are of the same type and measure overlapping areas or components). Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate in Murashige et al. and Sato et al.’s method/system where the sensor comprises a first sensor element configured to sense the physical quantity and a second sensor element configured to sense the physical quantity, the first sensor element is coupled to the first sensor measurement path, and the second sensor element is coupled to the second sensor measurement path as suggested by Gourari et al. The motivation to utilize the sensor elements’ data would have been to improve reliability and to reduce processing load (abstract).
Regarding claim 4, Murashige et al. wherein the first sensor element and/or the second sensor element is external to the monolithic integrated circuit (paragraph [0081]; sensor’s data is input to control ECU 21, thus it is external to the ECU 22).
Regarding claim 8, Gourari et al. further suggest wherein the sensor comprises a magnetic sensor or an inductive sensor (paragraph [0025]).
Regarding claim 10, Gourari et al. further suggest wherein the analog interface comprises a single-ended analog interface (fig. 2; each sensor interface comprises single interface coupled to respective sensor).
Regarding claim 11, Gourari et al. further suggest wherein the first sensor measurement path and the second sensor measurement path are coupled to one another and receive the sensor measurement data from the sensor via at least one component that is common to the first sensor measurement path and the second sensor measurement path (fig. 3; any switch is common to both paths from sensor interfaces 106 and 107).
Regarding claim 12, Gourari et al. further suggest wherein the at least one component that is common to the first sensor measurement path and the second sensor measurement path includes one or more of an analog-to-digital converter and a digital signal processor (paragraph [0036]; processing components can be used including DSP, microcomputer etc.).
Regarding claim 14, Gourari et al. further suggest wherein the first sensor measurement path comprises an analog path and the second sensor measurement path comprises an analog-to-digital converter and a digital signal processor (paragraph [0036]; processing components can be used including DSP, microcomputer etc.).
Regarding claim 18, Murashige et al. disclose a monolithic integrated circuit for providing diverse sensor measurement, comprising: a first sensor measurement path configured to transmit an analog signal indicative of an analog value that corresponds to a physical quantity, which is based upon sensor measurement data received from a sensor (fig. 2 and paragraph [0082]; PWM receiver couple to PWM signal line 62 for analog communication) (paragraphs [0081-0082]; detection signal output from a sensor (current, voltage, temperature, state amount) is input to ECU 21 of the redundant communication system to transmit PWM signal for analog communication); and a second sensor measurement path configured to transmit a digital signal indicative of a digital value that corresponds to the physical quantity, which is based upon sensor measurement data received from a sensor (fig. 2 and paragraph [0082]; CAN driver couple to CAN communication line 61 for digital communication) (paragraphs [0081-0082]; detection signal output from a sensor (current, voltage, temperature, state amount) is input to ECU 21 of the redundant communication system to transmit CANBUS data for digital communication); and wherein the first sensor measurement path and the second sensor measurement path are configured to receive redundant sensor measurement data via the sensor (paragraphs [0081-0082]; detection signal output from a sensor (current, voltage, temperature, state amount) is input to ECU 21 of the redundant communication system to transmit CANBUS data for digital communication and PWM signal for analog communication). However, Murashige et al. may not explicitly suggest wherein the first sensor measurement path and the second sensor measurement path are formed on a single die. Sato et al. from the same or similar field of endeavor suggest wherein the first sensor measurement path and the second sensor measurement path are formed on a single die (paragraph [0022] and fig. 1; sensors are coupled to terminals (interfaces) 41 and 51 of receiver electronic circuits 34 and 35 respectively. The circuits are integrated into a single IC chip/die). Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate in Murashige et al.’s method/system the step of forming the first sensor measurement path and the second sensor measurement path on a single die as suggested by Sato et al. The motivation would have been to achieve redundancy while suppressing the increase in size of the interface circuit/chip area (paragraph [0006]). However, Murashige et al. and Sato may not explicitly suggest wherein the first sensor measurement path and the second sensor measurement path are configured to receive redundant sensor measurement data via the first sensor and the second sensor, respectively. Gourari et al. from the same or similar field of endeavor suggest wherein the first sensor measurement path and the second sensor measurement path are configured to receive redundant sensor measurement data via the first sensor and the second sensor, respectively (fig. 2; sensor interface 201 of 106 coupled to first path E2. The sensor interface configured to transmit sensor data received from sensor S1 coupled to the first path E2. Sensor interface 215 coupled to second path E3) (paragraph [0026]; sensors are of the same type and measure overlapping areas or components). Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate in Murashige et al. and Sato et al.’s method/system where the first sensor measurement path and the second sensor measurement path are configured to receive redundant sensor measurement data via the first sensor and the second sensor, respectively as suggested by Gourari et al. The motivation to utilize the sensor elements’ data would have been to improve reliability and to reduce processing load (abstract).
Regarding claim 19, Murashige et al. further suggest wherein the first sensor measurement path is configured to transmit the analog signal such that at least a portion the analog signal is transmitted while at least a portion of the digital signal is also transmitted (paragraph [0081-0082]; PWM receiver transmits PWM signal (analog communication) while the control unit also transmits digital communication).
Regarding claim 21, Gourari et al. further suggest wherein each of the first sensor and the second sensor comprises a magnetic sensor or an indictive sensor (paragraph [0025]).
Regarding claim 22, Murashige et al. further suggest wherein the first sensor measurement path is configured to transmit the analog signal in accordance a differential analog interface or a single- ended analog interface (fig. 2; CAN driver 81 and PWM receiver 83 each comprises single interface coupled to respective output of ECU 21).
Regarding claim 23, Murashige et al. further suggest wherein the first sensor and the second sensor are the same sensor (paragraph [0081] and fig. 2; signal output from the sensor is input to control ECU 21 and transmitted to the CAN bus and PWM signal communication link).
Regarding claim 24, Murashige et al. further suggest wherein the first sensor measurement path and the second sensor measurement path are coupled to one another and receive the sensor measurement data from the same sensor via at least one component that is common to the first sensor measurement path and the second sensor measurement path (paragraph [0081] and fig. 2; signal output from the sensor is input to control ECU 21 (common) and transmitted to the CAN bus (CAN driver) and PWM signal communication link (PWM receiver). CAN driver and PWM receiver are coupled to one another in ECU 22 ).
Regarding claim 25, Murashige et al. further suggest wherein the at least one component that is common to the first sensor measurement path and the second sensor measurement path includes one or more of an analog-to-digital converter and a digital signal processor (fig. 2 and paragraph [0089]; PWM signal receiver 83 converts the PWM signal as the command signal input from the integration (corporation) control ECU 21 into the A/P rotation number command (PWM signal) and outputs the A/P rotation number command (PWM signal) to the PWM signal input processor 84. CAN processor 82 is a digital processor).
Regarding claim 26, Murashige et al. further suggest wherein the first sensor measurement path comprises a first digital signal processor and the second sensor measurement path comprises a second digital signal processor (fig. 2 and paragraphs [0088] [0100]; path 61 comprises CAN processor 82 and path 62 comprises PWM processor which converts signal from pulse/rectangular phase signal to continuous signal via filters).
Regarding claim 27, Murashige et al. further suggest wherein the first sensor measurement path is an analog path and the second sensor measurement path comprises an analog-to-digital converter and a digital signal processor (fig. 2 and paragraph [0089]; PWM signal receiver 83 converts the PWM signal as the command signal input from the integration (corporation) control ECU 21 into the A/P rotation number command (PWM signal) and outputs the A/P rotation number command (PWM signal) to the PWM signal input processor 84. CAN processor 82 is a digital processor).
Regarding claim 28, Murashige et al. further suggest wherein the second sensor measurement path is configured to transmit the digital signal in accordance with a data protocol that includes a Universal Asynchronous Receiver/Transmitter (UART), a Single Edge Nibble Transmission (SENT) protocol, a SENT Short Pulse Width Modulation Code (SPC) protocol, a Peripheral Sensor Interface 5 (PSIS), or a Pulse Width Modulation (PWM) protocol (fig. 2 and paragraph [0084]; PWM signal is of PWM).
Regarding claim 29, Murashige et al. further suggest wherein the second sensor measurement path is configured to transmit the digital signal in accordance with a data protocol that includes a Serial Peripheral Interface (SPI) protocol, an Inter-Integrated Circuit (I2C) Protocol, a Controller Area Network (CAN) protocol, or an incremental interface protocol (fig. 2 and paragraph [0084]; CAN driver is for CAN protocol).
Regarding claim 30, Murashige et al. further suggest wherein the first sensor and/or the second sensor is external to the monolithic integrated circuit (paragraph [0081]; sensor’s data is input to control ECU 21, thus it is external to the ECU 22).
Claim 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Murashige et al. (US 20100280634 A1) in view of Sato et al. (US 20200156569 A1), and further in view of Aichriedler et al. (US 20190199451 A1).
Regarding claim 9, Murashige et al. and Sato et al. disclose all the subject matter of the claimed invention as recited in claim 1 above without explicitly suggest wherein the analog interface comprises a differential analog interface. However, Aichriedler et al. from the same or similar field of endeavor suggest wherein the analog interface comprises a differential analog interface (paragraph [0012]; a sensor-to-ECU connection employing a differential sensor interface to facilitate communications between the sensor and ECU). Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate in Murashige et al. and Sato et al.’s method/system where the analog interface comprises a differential analog interface as suggested by Aichriedler et al. The motivation would have been to provide improved speed and robustness with reduced wiring requirement (paragraph [0001]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7, 15, and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
HOANG-CHUONG Q. VU
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2476
/HOANG-CHUONG Q VU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2476