DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendments filed June 25th, 2026 have been entered. Claims 21-40 remain pending in the application. Applicant’s amendments to the claims have overcome each and every 103 Rejection previously set forth in the Final Office Action mailed April 1st, 2026 for claims 21-27 and are hereby withdrawn in light of their correction. However, claims 28-40 remain rejected as set forth in the pertinent sections.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 28-30, 33-40 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Williams et al. (EP3064183); hereafter “Williams” in view of Brulotte et al. (WIPO Pub. No. WO2016077923) and Galbraith (U.S Pat. No. 10039680); with Galbraith used as a teaching reference; and Hahn et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 20180303690).
Regarding claim 28, Williams discloses (FIGS. 1-8) a method of preparing a horizontally laying subject for rotation (as portrayed through FIGS. 2-4), the method comprising: determining (held as inherent in light of the fact the act to move the subject as portrayed and disclosed is to also determine the subject for movement, and notes “a caregiver or other individual that will rotate the individual 200 will fold the sling 100 and push the sling 100 between the individual 200 and the supporting surface 206” [0025]) that a rotation of the subject in a first direction (the rotation demonstrated in FIG. 4); arranging a lifting sheet (correspondent 120 and 122; FIG. 1) to extend in a lateral direction underneath the subject (As illustrated between FIGS. 2-4) such that a midline of the subject is aligned with a centerline (128; FIG. 1) of the lifting sheet, the lifting sheet comprising a first side edge (correspondent right side of 122; FIG. 1) extending laterally toward the first direction and a second side edge (correspondent left side of 122; FIG. 1) extending laterally toward the second direction, the first side edge comprising a plurality of first loops (right 120; FIG. 1) and the second side edge comprising a plurality of second loops (left 120; FIG. 1); connecting at least two of the plurality of first loops (right 124; FIG. 1) to couple to one or more overhead lifts ([0031]: ““The sling 100 is then coupled to the lift mechanism (not shown)”); and connecting at least two of the plurality of second loops (left 124; FIG. 1) {to the one or more overhead lifts}.
Under the principles of inherency, if a prior art device, in its normal and usual operation, would necessarily perform the method claimed, then the method claimed will be considered to be anticipated by the prior art device. When the prior art device is the same as a device described in the specification for carrying out the claimed method, it can be assumed the device will inherently perform the claimed process. In re King, 801 F.2d 1324, 231 USPQ 136 (Fed. Cir. 1986), Particularly: determining that patient to be moved when the patient is so moved as portrayed in Williams necessitates a determination that the subject must be moved/rotated as set forth in [0025] that places the determination and execution upon a nurse to facilitate.
However, although Williams does disclose connection to a lift ([0031]) Williams does not explicitly disclose wherein both first and second loops of the multi-use straps are particularly used in concert with one or more sling bars.
Regardless, Brulotte teaches (FIGS. 1, 2, 3, and 7) a variety of sling bar arrangements with lifts thereof (as illustrated in FIGS. 1, 2, 3, and 7) wherein the straps/loops of the support arrangement (straps or sheets), may be coupled to the at least one sling bar (20; FIGS. 1-3, and 130/132; FIG. 7) of the lift mechanism (16; FIG. 1 and 3; alongside 116 and 118; FIG. 7)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the application was effectively filed to have incorporated the known sling bar and lift coupling mechanisms of Brulotte into the arbitrary lift mechanisms of Williams by substitution. Where the results would have been predictable as both Williams and Brulotte are concerned with patient sling lift arrangements for addressing posture/rotational address from a bedding surface (Williams: FIG. 4, Brulotte: [8: 18-27]), and where Brulotte would continue to avail lifting the patient as Williams avails an equivalent slind, and likewise Williams will continue to avail lifting and adjusting the patient as Brulotte avails an equivalent repositioning of the patient. Where it is considered by Brulotte that “The input unit advantageously includes an input tilt command providing for a change in the operative lengths of the first and second strap elements relative to one another and thereby for a change in tilt, wherein the master unit adjusts the operative length of its associated strap element to produce the tilt. In an example embodiment, the slave unit does not change the operative length of its associated strap element during a tilt command. Thus, all control of tilt is carried out through a single one of the motor units” [4: 16-24], and that such control can offer further positional advantage with comfort and safety ensured [Abstract] “Patient comfort and safety are therefore ensured.”
However, Williams does not explicitly disclose wherein each of the plurality of first loops having first and second openings, the first openings of the plurality of first loops being spaced further from the lifting sheet than the second openings of the plurality of first loops and each of the plurality of second loops having first and second openings, the first openings of the plurality of second loops being spaced further from the lifting sheet than the second openings of the plurality of second loops; and connecting the first openings of at least two of the plurality of first loops and the second openings of at least two of the plurality of second loops to one or more sling bars coupled to one or more overhead lifts so that an effective centerline between the first openings of the at least two plurality of first loops and the second openings of the at least two of the plurality of second loops is located off center from the midline of the subject in the first direction.
Regardless, Galbraith teaches (FIGS. 2, 6, 7, and 9) a lifting article with a plurality of straps (the many element 20’s; FIG. 2) with a plurality of first loops (30A-30C and 36A-36C) and a plurality of second loops (40A-40C and 46A-46C); each of the plurality of first loops having a plurality of first openings (elements A-C of 30 and 36; FIG. 2) and each of the plurality of second loops having a plurality of second openings (elements A-C OR 40 and 46; FIG. 2); and connecting the first openings of at least two of the plurality of first loops and the second openings of at least two of the plurality of second loops to one or more sling bars coupled to one or more overhead lifts so that an effective centerline between the first openings of the at least two plurality of first loops and the second openings of the at least two of the plurality of second loops is located off center from the midline of the subject in the first direction. Where Galbraith expresses in [4:41-54] “The loops 30, 40 and 70, 80 of the handling sheets 10, 50 come in three sizes and orientations (A, B, C) relative to the sheets 10, 50 to providing a choice for the healthcare practitioner.”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the application was effectively filed to have incorporated the multiple loops of Galbraith (FIG. 2) into the straps of Williams (As illustrated in FIG. 1-5). Where the results would have been predictable as both Galbraith and Williams are concerned with patient orientation adjusting/tilting sheets and straps. Where as expressed in Galbraith explicitly, “loops 30, 40 and 70, 80 of the handling sheets 10, 50 come in three sizes and orientations (A, B, C) relative to the sheets 10, 50 to providing a choice for the healthcare practitioner” [4:41-54], which would improve choices availed to the practitioner in care.
Furthermore, under the principles of inherency, if a prior art device, in its normal and usual operation, would necessarily perform the method claimed, then the method claimed will be considered to be anticipated by the prior art device. When the prior art device is the same as a device described in the specification for carrying out the claimed method, it can be assumed the device will inherently perform the claimed process. In re King, 801 F.2d 1324, 231 USPQ 136 (Fed. Cir. 1986), Particularly: utilizing any particular loops for operation in Williams in view of Galbraith necessitates a selection of the particular loops where such in Williams would provide the location of being off center of the subject, as illustrated in both FIG. 4 of Williams and FIGS. 6, 7, and 9 in Galbraith; and wherein selection and execution is placed upon a nurse to facilitate.
It is considered in the interest of compact prosecution under an alternative consideration that although the offset/differentiated selection of different loops would appear in the ordinary and usual operation in securing different loops, it is considered however in the alternate Williams in view of Galbraith and Brulotte may not explicitly teach the method of connecting the specific loops to the lift; such that there is explicitly connecting the first openings of at least two of the plurality of first loops and the second openings of at least two of the plurality of second loops to one or more sling bars coupled to one or more overhead lifts so that an effective centerline between the first openings of the at least two plurality of first loops and the second openings of the at least two of the plurality of second loops is located off center from the midline of the subject in the first direction.
Regardless, Hahn eminently demonstrates this particular type of connection through FIGS. 6, 10, and 11, which demonstrate particularly in FIG. 11 the left side engaging the longest loop and the right side engaging the shortest loop; providing connecting the first openings of at least two of the plurality of first loops and the second openings of at least two of the plurality of second loops to one or more sling bars coupled to one or more overhead lifts so that an effective centerline between the first openings of the at least two plurality of first loops and the second openings of the at least two of the plurality of second loops is located off center from the midline of the subject in the first direction. Where Hahn further expresses “strap members 160 extending therefrom. The strap members can be configured to attach with a variety of different lifting devices, although some embodiments may be particularly configured to work with a particular lifting device. The strap members may all be of the same length, or they may be of a variety of different lengths that allows for the apparatus 100 to attach to a lifting device in different lifting configurations designed to lift the patient in certain lifting positions. For instance, in some examples, the strap members are configured to engage with a lifting device” [0031].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the application was effectively filed to have incorporated utilizing the different loop combinations as Hahn expresses into Williams or combinations thereof. Where the results would have been predictable as both Hahn, Galbraith, Williams, and Brulotte all concern lifting sling arrangements, where William’s particularly concerns turning operations. Where Hahn acknowledges that such strap variety and variety of use thereof facilitates that “each of which can engage with a lifting device at a different location, thereby allowing for flexibility in the manner that the lifting device raises the patient.”
Regarding claim 29, Williams in view of Brulotte, Galbraith and Hahn discloses (Williams: FIG. 1-4; Brulotte: FIGS. 1-3, and 7) the method of claim 28, wherein the horizontally laying subject is laying in a prone position (As clarified in Williams [0033]: “where the individual 200 is being rotated in a counterclockwise direction from a supine to a prone position”, providing both laying in a supine and a prone position by transition therebetween).
Regarding claim 30, Williams in view of Brulotte, Galbraith and Hahn discloses (Williams: FIG. 1-4; Brulotte: FIGS. 1-3, and 7) the method of claim 28, wherein the horizontally laying subject is laying in a supine position (As clarified in Williams [0033]: “where the individual 200 is being rotated in a counterclockwise direction from a supine to a prone position”, providing both laying in a supine and a prone position by transition therebetween).
Regarding claim 33, Williams in view of Brulotte, Galbraith and Hahn discloses (Williams: FIG. 1-4; Brulotte: FIGS. 1-3, and 7) the method of claim 28, wherein connecting the selected ones of the plurality of first openings of the at least two of the plurality of first loops to the one or more sling bars and connecting the selected ones of the plurality of second openings of the at least two of the plurality of second loops to the one or more sling bars comprises connecting the selected ones ofthe plurality of first openings of the at least two of the plurality of first loops to a first retention component of the one or more sling bars (Brulotte: as portrayed in FIG. 7’s embodiment correspondent the right half retention component section of the whole sling arm; correspondent combinate unitary (right half) 132/134/130) and connecting the selected ones of the plurality of second openings of the at least two of the plurality of second loops to a second retention component of the one or more sling bars (Brulotte: as portrayed in FIG. 7’s embodiment correspondent the left half retention component section of the whole sling arm; correspondent combinate unitary (left half) 132/134/130).
Regarding claim 34, Williams in view of Brulotte, Galbraith and Hahn discloses (Williams: FIG. 1-4; Brulotte: FIGS. 1-3, and 7) the method of claim 28, wherein the one or more sling bars are a first sling bar (Brulotte: correspondent 130; FIG. 7) and a second sling bar (Brulotte: 132; FIG. 7), the first sling bar coupled to a first overhead lift (116; FIG. 7) of the one or more overhead lifts and the second sling bar coupled to a second overhead lift (118; FIG. 7) of the one or more overhead lifts.
Regarding claim 35, Williams in view of Brulotte, Galbraith and Hahn discloses (Williams: FIG. 1-4; Brulotte: FIGS. 1-3, and 7) the method of claim 28, wherein arranging the lifting sheet comprises arranging the lifting sheet such that a first loop of the plurality of first loops and a second loop of the plurality of second loops are positioned longitudinally at a location between a shoulder and an armpit of the subject. Where as set forth in [0010], the arrangements establish the straps 104 to be within the range of the top of the shoulder and the bottom of the scapula (effectively the bottom of the armpit anatomically) and is between (amongst) them.
Regarding claim 36, Williams in view of Brulotte, Galbraith and Hahn discloses (Williams: FIG. 1-4; Brulotte: FIGS. 1-3, and 7) the method of claim 28, wherein arranging the lifting sheet comprises arranging the lifting sheet such that a first loop of the plurality of first loops and a second loop of the plurality of second loops are longitudinally positioned at a location that is from 1 cm to 15 cm in an inferior direction from a top of a shoulder of the subject. Where [0010] establishes: “the first height H1 is approximately equal to an average distance between the bottom of the scapula and the top of the shoulder of an individual. For example, in embodiments, the superior support section 104 may extend from the first side 106 of the central support section 102 to a first height H1 from about 10 cm to about 30 cm” wherein the distance is considered to be identified within the range of applicant’s claimed range (10 cm); where it has been previously held In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976) (MPEP 2144.05(I) is relevant.
Regarding claim 37, Williams in view of Brulotte, Galbraith and Hahn discloses (Williams: FIG. 1-4; Brulotte: FIGS. 1-3, and 7) the method of claim 28, wherein arranging the lifting sheet comprises arranging the lifting sheet such that a first loop of the plurality of first loops and a second loop of the plurality of second loops are positioned longitudinally at a location between a waist and a knee of the subject. Where Williams establishes in [0013], “height H2 of the inferior support section 108 can vary depending on the particular embodiment, and can extend from approximately below a hip or a gluteal sulcus of an individual positioned on the central portion 102 of the sling 100 to an area near the middle of a thigh, a knee…”.
Regarding claim 38, Williams in view of Brulotte, Galbraith and Hahn discloses (Williams: FIG. 1-4; Brulotte: FIGS. 1-3, and 7) the method of claim 28, wherein arranging the lifting sheet comprises arranging the lifting sheet such that a first loop of the plurality of first loops and a second loop of the plurality of second loops are longitudinally positioned at a location that corresponds to a greater trochanter of the subject. Where Williams establishes in [0010] that the top of one such strap is arranged originating at the gluteal sulcus. A body that corresponds to a location of the greater trochanter of a person (the gluteal sulcus is contoured to be approximately tangent the greater trochanter).
Regarding claim 39, Williams in view of Brulotte, Galbraith and Hahn discloses (Williams: FIG. 1-4; Brulotte: FIGS. 1-3, and 7) the method of claim 28, further comprising lowering the one or more sling bars to a connection height. Where Brulotte establishes in [8: 18-27] “For instance, the straps 18 can be lengthened to lower the spreader bars 20 towards a patient reclining on a bed and then wound into the motor units 16 to raise the spreader bars 20” While Williams establishes in [0025] that the device is first slid under the patient, then attached, and thus the lift would necessitate lowering (per Brulotte: [8:18-27] to reach a connection height to thereafter be lifted in the operation as Williams necessitates [0025] and [0031] “The sling 100 is then coupled to the lift mechanism (not shown)” in order to be lifted the lift itself must be in some form lowered due to the construction of William’s loop attachments and reliance on the lift mechanism, a lift mechanism that is completely retracted would be incapable of further retraction and thus lifting as Williams and Brulotte require, particularly of the type incorporated by Brulotte.
Regarding claim 40, Williams in view of Brulotte, Galbraith and Hahn discloses (Williams: FIG. 1-4; Brulotte: FIGS. 1-3, and 7) the method of claim 28, wherein the one or more sling bars is a single sling bar (Brulotte: the integral centerline bar of 134; FIG. 7) having a length, the method further comprising aligning the single sling bar such that the length of the single sling bar is substantially parallel to a sagittal plane of the subject (As illustrated in FIG. 7 of Brulotte, the center sling bar (134) is arranged in a centerline that would be substantially parallel to a sagittal plane of the subject).
Claim(s) 31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Williams in view of Brulotte, Galbraith and Hahn in further view of Blevins (U.S. Pub. No. 20050193488).
Regarding claim 31, Williams in view of Brulotte, Galbraith and Hahn discloses (Williams: FIG. 1-4; Brulotte: FIGS. 1-3, and 7) the method of claim 28.
However, Williams does not explicitly disclose further comprising: raising a support surface upon which the subject is laying to a working height; and lowering one or more side rails prior to arranging.
Regardless, Blevins teaches (FIGS. 43-45) a patient bed that can both raise the platform and lower the side rail in the pursuit of moving and repositioning the individual (as illustrated in FIGS. 43-45).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the application was effectively filed to have incorporated the procedure of raising the support surface and lowering the side rails as Blevins considers as both Blevins and Williams (and Brulotte) are concerned with patient repositioning devices and bedding assemblies thereof. Where advantageously it’s considered that raising the platform and lowering the side rail avails the caretakers better access and ability to assess the individual’s present array of adjoint equipment (tubes, intravenous, etc), and reduces the torque and fatigue of the caretakers by increasing the distance from the ground that such caretakers needn’t stoop or bend or put toque into their backs, thereby improving ease of use and improving capability to assess the patient prior reposition or transition.
Claim(s) 32 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Williams in view of Brulotte, Galbraith and Hahn in further view of itself and Kalafut et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 20040171923)l; hereafter “Kalafut”, with Kalafut used as a teaching reference.
Regarding claim 32, Williams in view of Brulotte, Galbraith and Hahn discloses (Williams: FIG. 1-4; Brulotte: FIGS. 1-3, and 7) the method of claim 28.
However, Williams does not explicitly disclose further comprising moving one or more of tubing, leads, lines, and braces prior to arranging.
Regardless, Williams (in view of Brulotte) discloses the claimed invention except for moving one or more of tubing, leads, lines, and braces prior to arranging. It would have been an obvious matter of design and practice to have moved one or more of tubing, leads, lines, and braces prior to arranging, Where it is considered that the matter would be of common sense to move and adjust lines, tubes, and leads prior to arranging (the act of lifting or moving or rotating the individual) to preventing them from tangling up with the loops and sling bodies that would otherwise impair the orientational intentions of the sling lift in operation. Where it is additionally considered in Kalafut that “Gaining access to the vessel of a patient is often a necessary part of a medical diagnosis or treatment” and that “When patients are significantly ill, obese, or have veins damaged by cancer drugs or repeated accesses, it can take tens of minutes and multiple attempts by several hospital personnel to successfully place the IV needle or catheter. This increases the morbidity for the patient and cost to the medical institution” [0003]. Therefore. it would be of reasonably common sense to a person of ordinary skill in the art in a medical setting as the art prescribes to move the tubing, leads, lines and such prior arranging and moving the patient to better prevent morbidity to the patient, improve efficiency of time by not inadvertently impugning or having to redo the lines, leads, or tubes which can damage and impair further attempts as Kalafut considers possible.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks (pages 7-10), filed December 15th, 2025, with respect to 103 Rejections have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 103 Rejections of April 1st, 2026 with regards to claims 21-27 are withdrawn and the claims are in condition for allowance.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 28-40 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Particularly, the Rejection now relies upon Williams in view of Brulotte, Galbraith and Hahn (And itself among others) to anticipate or make obvious the claimed features of applicant’s invention.
Therefore, the claims remain rejected under 103 grounds but newly under Williams in view of Brulotte and Galbraith and Hahn (And itself among others) where Hahn is particularly considered to address the use of different loops for different configurations while considering Williams already is provided to rotate a patient, and Galbraith already provides a plurality of loops within the first and second loops of either side.
Allowable Subject Matter
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The claims necessitate among other features a method of preparing a horizontally laying subject for rotation, the method comprising: determining a rotation of the subject in a first direction; arranging a plurality of multi-use straps to extend in a lateral direction underneath the subject such that a midline of the subject is located off center from a centerline of the plurality of multi-use straps in a second direction opposite the first direction, each one of the plurality of multi-use straps being free of connection to each of a remainder of the plurality of multi-use straps such that each one of the plurality of multi-use straps is independently removable from underneath the subject, each of the plurality of multi-use straps being spaced in a longitudinal direction from each of the remainder of the plurality of multi-use straps, the longitudinal direction being perpendicular to the lateral direction; connecting a first loop located at a first end of each one of the plurality of multi-use straps to one or more sling bars coupled to one or more overhead lifts; and connecting a second loop located at a second end of each one of the plurality of multi-use straps to the one or more sling bars, the second end opposite the first end, wherein the first end of each one of the plurality of multi-use straps extends in the first direction and the second end of the plurality of multi-use straps extends in the second direction.
Wherein the claims effectively necessitate a plurality of discrete, wholly separate straps with a plurality of offset-orientation producing loops at end thereof that may modulate the position/engagement with the subject, while the prior art primarily necessitates a centralized element to secure the individual in the ordinary uses of the invention (Galbraith, Hahn, Williams, and Brulotte) and do not appear to be used with a lift. While art such as Perry (U.S. Pub. No. 20060185078), Taylor (U.S. Pub. No. 20050055769), and Walker (U.S. Pat. No. 6560793) and Butterfield (U.S. Pat. No. 5263495) all provide straps for patient realignment, they’re designed for both hand-held operations, and lack multiple loops that particularly engage the overhead lift, and would likely necessitate a considerable degree of impermissible hindsight bias to either omit the lifting sheet of the first cited prior art, and otherwise a degree of impermissible hindsight bias to modify how the device is methodically used, the configuration of the holds/clasps necessary for that method. Therefore, claims 21-27 are considered to be of allowable condition, however, the application must stand rejected due to the present claims 28-40 that are respectfully rejected under Williams, Brulotte, Galbraith, and Hahn.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/LUKE HALL/Examiner, Art Unit 3673
/JUSTIN C MIKOWSKI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3673