DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: In FIG. 1 “112”, “108”, and “110” are not in the specification. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d), or amendment to the specification to add the reference character(s) in the description in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(b) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-14 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Horiuchi et al. (US 6410184 B1, “Horiuchi”) in view of Lanni (US 5949213 A, “Lanni”).
Regarding claim 1, Horiuchi discloses a power supply (see FIG. 2 describes “power module 1”) comprising: a first battery cell assembly (see FIG. 2 “6 rechargeable batteries”) including a first frame supporting a plurality of first battery cells (see FIG. 2 “cover-casings 2A” which reads on first frame), the first frame having a first outer side, the first outer side having a plurality of first openings at least partially exposing the plurality of first battery cells (see FIG. 2 & 13 describes plurality of openings). Horiuchi does not explicitly disclose portable power supply.
Lanni teaches portable (see abstract). Lanni teaches “the rechargeable battery and charging circuit are implemented in a portable electronic device, a power supply may simultaneously power an operational load of the portable appliance while providing current to charge the rechargeable battery” (see P30 col 4 par 1).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate portable into the power supply of Horiuchi because doing so allows for “simultaneously power[s] an operational load of the portable appliance while providing current to charge the rechargeable battery”, as suggested by Lanni (see P30 col 4 par 1).
Regarding the limitation a second battery cell assembly coupled to the first battery cell assembly, the second battery cell assembly including a second frame supporting a plurality of second battery cells, the second frame having a second outer side, the second outer side being opposite the first outer side, the second outer side having plurality of second openings at least partially exposing the plurality of second battery cells, Horiuchi discloses (see FIG. 2 “6 rechargeable batteries”; “intermediate-casing 2B” reads on second frame; & see FIG. 2 & 13 describes plurality of openings).
Horiuchi discloses a plurality of first thermistors disposed on a first subset of the plurality of first battery cells (see FIG. 23 & FIG. 24 & see P28 col 12 par 2 describes “2313 temperature sensors are disposed on the surfaces of power modules 231”), each first thermistor located on a first end face of a respective first battery cell of the first subset, the first end face of each respective first battery cell of the first subset being adjacent to the first outer side (see FIG. 24 describes location of 2313 & see P28 col 12 par 5 “temperature sensors 2313 shown in the figures use PTC devices as the temperature sensing devices 2313A. However, any device which can detect power module temperature can be used. For example, thermistors may be used in plate of PTC devices”).
Horiuchi discloses and a plurality of second thermistors disposed on a second subset of the plurality of second battery cells (see FIG. 23 describes “2313” and “2313” & see P28 col 12 par 4 “although these and other figures show temperature sensors 2313 mounted in only a portion of the holder-case 232 temperature sensors 2313 are attached at every location housing a power module 231”), each second thermistor located on a second end face of a respective second battery cell of the second subset, the second end face of each respective second battery cell of the second subset being adjacent to the second outer side (see FIG. 26 “temperature sensors 2313 are inserted into cut-outs 2317 in the holder ribs 2315, power modules 231 are inserted into retaining cavities 2315A, and temperature sensors 2313 and power modules 231 are sandwiched by the holder ribs 2315”).
Regarding claim 2, Horiuchi discloses the portable power supply of claim 1 and further discloses wherein the plurality of first battery cells includes at least twenty battery cells, and the plurality of second battery cells includes at least twenty battery cells (see FIG. 2 describes “rechargeable batteries 6” & P24 col 6 describes “FIG. 2 have six series connected rechargeable batteries 6 joined in a straight line”; see FIG. 2 describes 48 batteries on the first layer and the bottom layer also has 48 batteries).
Regarding claim 3, Horiuchi discloses the portable power supply of claim 2 and further discloses wherein the plurality of first battery cells includes at least fifty battery cells, and the plurality of second battery cells includes at least fifty battery cells (see P30 col 15 par 8 “the number of power modules housed can be changed” & see P30 col 16 par 1 “number of layers of intermediate-casing levels can be changed to change the number of power modules and temperature sensors” & “layering two levels of intermediate-casing allows an increased number of power modules with three levels of power modules”).
Regarding claim 4, Horiuchi discloses the portable power supply of claim 1 and further discloses wherein the first subset includes three battery cells, and the second subset includes three battery cells (see P30 col 15 par 8 “the number of power modules housed can be changed” & see P30 col 16 par 1 “number of layers of intermediate-casing levels can be changed to change the number of power modules and temperature sensors” & “layering two levels of intermediate-casing allows an increased number of power modules with three levels of power modules”).
Regarding claim 5, Horiuchi discloses the portable power supply of claim 4 and further discloses wherein the first subset includes three battery cells, and the second subset includes four battery cells (see P30 col 15 par 8 “the number of power modules housed can be changed” & see P30 col 16 par 1 “number of layers of intermediate-casing levels can be changed to change the number of power modules and temperature sensors” & “layering two levels of intermediate-casing allows an increased number of power modules with three levels of power modules”).
Regarding claim 6, Horiuchi discloses the portable power supply of claim 1 and further discloses wherein the plurality of first battery cells and the plurality of second battery cells include cylindrical cells (see FIG. 2 and P24 col 4 “cylindrical rechargeable batteries 6”).
Regarding claim 7, Horiuchi discloses the portable power supply of claim 1 and further discloses wherein each first end face of the respective first battery cell and each second end face of the respective second battery cell are anode end faces (see P24 col 4 “positive and negative electrode terminals 5 are connected at the ends of a power module 1” & see P25 col 5 par 3 “cylindrical battery 6 is inserted into the dish-shaped connector 7 flange region 7B to connect the negative terminal of the circular cylindrical battery 6, which is its outer case 6A”; see P25 col 5 par 8 “FIGS. 9 and 10, power modules, which are connected in series, have the positive side of the batteries 6 connected to a positive terminal 5A and the negative side connected to a negative terminal 5B”).
Regarding claim 8, Horiuchi discloses the portable power supply of claim 1 and further discloses wherein each of the plurality of first battery cells and each of the plurality of second battery cells are connected by a wire to a bus bar positioned adjacent to the respective first or second battery cell (see P28 col 11 par 1 “lead wires set in lead wire grooves 21” & see FIGS. 16 & 17; see P26 col 8 “the end-plates 3 house pass bars 4 which connect the; power modules 1 of the holder-case 2 in series”).
Regarding claim 9, Horiuchi discloses the portable power supply of claim 1 and further discloses an electronic processor configured to receive an input signal, via the plurality of first thermistors, corresponding to a temperature of the respective first battery cell (see P27 col 10 par 2 describes “signal issued from that temperature sensor 13 is processed by an externally connected device such as a protection circuit”). Horiuchi does not explicitly disclose a controller.
Lanni teaches a controller (see P32 col 8 par 3 “controller 150”). Lanni teaches “in response to the feedback signal, the controller alters the relative phase between the two driver signals 152 and 154 to obtain the desired magnitude of the voltage and current” & “this will permit control of the secondary circuit 210 output voltage and current, thereby providing a readily controlled output voltage” & see abstract “by controlling the power supply, the charging circuitry can simultaneously apply power to the operational load to operate the device while charging the battery” (see P33 col 9 par 1).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a controller, as suggested by Lanni (see P32 col 9 par 3) into the portable power supply of Horiuchi because doing so allows for the battery to apply power while charging the battery as suggested by Lanni (see P33 col 9 par 1).
Regarding the limitations compare the input signal to a value corresponding to a maximum temperature threshold for the respective battery cell, and output an overtemperature signal when the input signal is greater than the maximum temperature threshold, Horiuchi does not explicitly disclose a temperature threshold.
Lanni teaches a temperature threshold (see P 34 col 11 par 3 “control signals” & see P32 col 7 par 3 “integrated circuit 15 monitors the temperature of the battery 18 and will cut off charging if the temperature exceeds the threshold. If thermistor 16 is coupled to the battery 18 to provide a voltage to pin 8 of the integrated circuit 15 which is representative of the temperature of the battery 18. This threshold temperature can be adjusted by selection of a resistor RT”). Lanni teaches “transistor pairs” & “better thermal control” (see P34 col 11 par 4).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate temperature threshold, as suggested by Lanni (see P32 col 7 par 3) into the power supply of Horiuchi because doing so allows for better thermal control, as suggested by Lanni (see P34 col 11 par 4).
Regarding claim 10, Horiuchi discloses a power supply comprising: a housing having a plurality of sides defining an internal cavity (see FIG. 2 “power module 1” & “6 rechargeable batteries”; see FIG. 24 & P28 col 12 “holder-case 232” & FIG. 2 “2 holder-case 2” reads on housing and FIG. 24 describes plurality of sides defining an internal cavity). Horiuchi does not explicitly disclose portable.
Lanni teaches portable (see abstract). Lanni teaches “the rechargeable battery and charging circuit are implemented in a portable electronic device, a power supply may simultaneously power an operational load of the portable appliance while providing current to charge the rechargeable battery” (see P30 col 4 par 1).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate portable into the power supply of Horiuchi because doing so allows for “simultaneously power[s] an operational load of the portable appliance while providing current to charge the rechargeable battery”, as suggested by Lanni (see P30 col 4 par 1).
Horiuchi discloses and a battery cell assembly positioned in the internal cavity, the battery cell assembly including a frame, a plurality of battery cells arranged in the frame (see FIG. 24 describes battery cell assembly in the internal cavity; see FIG. 2 “cover-casings 2A” which reads on first frame; see FIG. 2 describes “6 rechargeable batteries” arranged in the frame “2A”), each of the plurality of battery cells including a cathode end, an anode end opposite the cathode end, and a body extending between the cathode end and the anode end (see P25 col 5 par 5 “positive and negative battery 76 terminals”; see FIG. 2 describes body extending between the cathode and anode end of cell “6”), and a thermistor disposed on a respective battery cell of the plurality of battery cells, the thermistor located nearer to the anode end than to the cathode end of the battery cell (see FIG. 23 & FIG. 24 & P28 col 12 par 2 describes “2313 temperature sensors are disposed on the surfaces of power modules 231”; FIG. 24 describes location of 2313 & see P28 col 12 par 5 “temperature sensors 2313 shown in the figures use PTC devices as the temperature sensing devices 2313A. However, any device which can detect power module temperature can be used. For example, thermistors may be used in plate of PTC devices”; see FIG. 23 & FIG. 24; see P 25 col 5 par 1 “power module 1 is electrically connected in series”; see P28 col 12 par 4 “although these and other figures show temperature sensors 2313 mounted in only a portion of the holder-case 232 temperature sensors 2313 are attached at every location housing a power module 231”).
Regarding claim 11, Horiuchi discloses the portable power supply of claim 10 and further discloses wherein the thermistor is located nearer to an anode end than to a halfway point between the anode end and the cathode end (see FIG. 23 describes “2313” located nearer to an anode end than to a halfway point between the anode end and the cathode end).
Regarding claim 12, Horiuchi discloses the portable power supply of claim 11 and further discloses wherein the cathode end includes a cathode face of a respective battery cell, the anode end includes an anode face of the respective battery cell, and the thermistor is located on the anode face (see FIG. 24 describes “231 power modules” & “2313 temperature sensors”; see P28 col 12 par 4 “although these and other figures show temperature sensors 2313 mounted in only a portion of the holder-case 232 temperature sensors 2313 are attached at every location housing a power module 231”).
Regarding claim 13, Horiuchi discloses the portable power supply of claim 10 and further discloses wherein the plurality of battery cells includes cylindrical cells, and the thermistor is disposed on a curved wall of the respective battery cell (see FIG. 2 and P24 col 4 “cylindrical rechargeable batteries 6”; see P28 col 12 par 2 “FIG. 24, temperature sensors 2313 are mounted on the holder-case 232, and disposed on the surfaces of the power modules 231”; see FIG. 24).
Regarding claim 14, Horiuchi discloses the portable power supply of claim 10 and further discloses including an electronic processor configured to receive an input signal, via the thermistor, corresponding to a temperature of the respective battery cell (see P27 col 10 par 2 describes “signal issued from that temperature sensor 13 is processed by an externally connected device such as a protection circuit”). Horiuchi does not explicitly disclose a controller.
Lanni teaches a controller (see P32 col 8 par 3 “controller 150”). Lanni teaches “in response to the feedback signal, the controller alters the relative phase between the two driver signals 152 and 154 to obtain the desired magnitude of the voltage and current” & “this will permit control of the secondary circuit 210 output voltage and current, thereby providing a readily controlled output voltage” & see abstract “by controlling the power supply, the charging circuitry can simultaneously apply power to the operational load to operate the device while charging the battery” (see P33 col 9 par 1).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a controller, as suggested by Lanni (see P32 col 9 par 3) into the portable power supply of Horiuchi because doing so allows for the battery to apply power while charging the battery as suggested by Lanni (see P33 col 9 par 1).
Regarding the limitations compare the input signal to a value corresponding to a maximum temperature threshold for the respective battery cell, and output an overtemperature signal when the input signal is greater than the maximum temperature threshold, Horiuchi does not explicitly disclose a temperature threshold.
Lanni teaches a temperature threshold (see P 34 col 11 par 3 “control signals” & see P32 col 7 par 3 “integrated circuit 15 monitors the temperature of the battery 18 and will cut off charging if the temperature exceeds the threshold. If thermistor 16 is coupled to the battery 18 to provide a voltage to pin 8 of the integrated circuit 15 which is representative of the temperature of the battery 18. This threshold temperature can be adjusted by selection of a resistor RT”). Lanni teaches “transistor pairs” & “better thermal control” (see P34 col 11 par 4).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate temperature threshold, as suggested by Lanni (see P32 col 7 par 3) into the power supply of Horiuchi because doing so allows for better thermal control, as suggested by Lanni (see P34 col 11 par 4).
Regarding claim 17, Horiuchi discloses the portable power supply of claim 10 and further discloses wherein each of the plurality of battery cells is connected by a wire to a bus bar positioned adjacent to the respective battery cell (see P28 col 11 par 1 “lead wires set in lead wire grooves 21” & see FIGS. 16 & 17; see P26 col 8 “the end-plates 3 house pass bars 4; power modules 1 of the holder-case 2 in series”).
Regarding claim 18, Horiuchi discloses the portable power supply of claim 10 and further discloses wherein the battery cell assembly includes three thermistors (see FIG. 23 describes “2313” and “2313” & see P28 col 12 par 4 “although these and other figures show temperature sensors 2313 mounted in only a portion of the holder-case 232 temperature sensors 2313 are attached at every location housing a power module 231” & see FIG. 26 “temperature sensors 2313 are inserted into cut-outs 2317 in the holder ribs 2315, power modules 231 are inserted into retaining cavities 2315A, and temperature sensors 2313 and power modules 231 are sandwiched by the holder ribs 2315”; see P 29 col 13 “thermistors” & see P28 col 12 par 5 “thermistors may be used in place of PTC devices”). Horiuchi does not explicitly disclose coupling thermistors.
Lanni teaches coupling thermistors (see P32 col 7 “thermistor 16 is coupled to the battery 18 to provide a voltage to pin 8 of the integrated circuit 15 which is representative of the temperature of the battery 18. This threshold temperature can be adjusted by selection of a resistor RT”). Lanni teaches “transistor pairs” & “better thermal control” (see P34 col 11 par 4).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate coupling thermistors, as suggested by Lanni into the power supply of Horiuchi because doing so allows for better thermal control, as suggested by Lanni (see P34 col 11 par 4).
Regarding claim 19, Horiuchi discloses the portable power supply of claim 18 and further discloses wherein the battery cell assembly includes four thermistors (see FIG. 23 describes “2313” and “2313” & see P28 col 12 par 4 “although these and other figures show temperature sensors 2313 mounted in only a portion of the holder-case 232 temperature sensors 2313 are attached at every location housing a power module 231” & see FIG. 26 “temperature sensors 2313 are inserted into cut-outs 2317 in the holder ribs 2315, power modules 231 are inserted into retaining cavities 2315A, and temperature sensors 2313 and power modules 231 are sandwiched by the holder ribs 2315”; see P 29 col 13 “thermistors” & see P28 col 12 par 5 “thermistors may be used in place of PTC devices”). Horiuchi does not explicitly disclose coupling thermistors.
Lanni teaches coupling thermistors (see P32 col 7 “thermistor 16 is coupled to the battery 18 to provide a voltage to pin 8 of the integrated circuit 15 which is representative of the temperature of the battery 18. This threshold temperature can be adjusted by selection of a resistor RT”). Lanni teaches “transistor pairs” & “better thermal control” (see P34 col 11 par 4).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate coupling thermistors, as suggested by Lanni into the power supply of Horiuchi because doing so allows for better thermal control, as suggested by Lanni (see P34 col 11 par 4).
Regarding claim 20, Horiuchi discloses a method of manufacturing a portable power supply, the method comprising: securing a plurality of battery cells in corresponding openings of a frame (see col 2 par 7 “produced in quantity with molds of simple structure” reads on method of manufacturing & “holder-ribs on the cover-casings and intermediate-casings allow power modules to be lined up in fixed positions” which reads on securing a plurality of battery cells; see FIG. 2 “power module 1” & “6 rechargeable batteries” & “cover-casings 2A” which reads on first frame), thermistors to a subset of the plurality of battery cells after securing the plurality of battery cells, each thermistor located on an end face of a respective battery cell (see P29 col 13 “Temperature sensing devices such as thermistors, which decrease resistance with temperature, can detect abnormal power module temperature rise by parallel connection of a plurality of devices. Temperature sensors with a plurality of temperature sensing devices connected in series or parallel can determine if a plurality of temperature sensing devices has detected an abnormally high temperature via a single pair of leads” & “each sensor lead can be routed external to the holder-case to detect power module temperature”). Horiuchi does not explicitly disclose coupling thermistors.
Lanni teaches coupling thermistors (see P32 col 7 “thermistor 16 is coupled to the battery 18 to provide a voltage to pin 8 of the integrated circuit 15 which is representative of the temperature of the battery 18. This threshold temperature can be adjusted by selection of a resistor RT”). Lanni teaches “transistor pairs” & “better thermal control” (see P34 col 11 par 4).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate coupling thermistors, as suggested by Lanni into the power supply of Horiuchi because doing so allows for better thermal control, as suggested by Lanni (see P34 col 11 par 4).
Claims 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Horiuchi et al. (US 6410184 B1, “Horiuchi”) in view of Lanni (US 5949213 A, “Lanni”) as applied to claim 14 above, and further in view of Drozdz et al. (US 20080280192 A1, “Drozdz”).
Regarding claim 15, Horiuchi discloses the portable power supply of claim 14 and further discloses receive the overtemperature signal, in response to receiving the overtemperature signal, provide an indication that the battery cell assembly is overtemperature (see P29 col 13 par 2 “Temperature sensing devices, can detect abnormal power module temperature rise by series connection of a plurality of devices”). Horiuchi does not explicitly disclose display.
Drozdz teaches display (see [0072] “displayed 138”) & teaches “when the counter value for a given module 14 exceeds a prescribed limit, in this case 100 (step 136), then a warning is displayed 138. The warning indicates that the module 14 is consistently warmer or colder than expected and the pack should be inspected for potential cooling or charge balancing problems” (see [0072]).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate display, as suggested by Drozdz into the power supply of Horiuchi because doing so allows for the “potential cooling or charge balancing problems” to be inspected, as suggested by Drozdz (see [0072]).
Regarding claim 16, Horiuchi discloses the portable power supply of claim 14 and further discloses wherein the controller is further configured to in response to a determination that the respective battery cell is overtemperature, disable the portable power supply (see P29 col 13 par 2 “Temperature sensing devices, can detect abnormal power module temperature rise by series connection of a plurality of devices”; see P27 col 10 par 2 “detects that battery temperature has risen abnormally high, a signal issued from that temperature sensor 13 is processed by an externally connected device such as a protection circuit. For example, an external protection circuit limits, or cuts-off battery 6 charge-discharge current to protect the batteries 6”).
Conclusion
/S.A.A./Examiner, Art Unit 1725
/JAMES M ERWIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1725 01/26/2026