DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Examiner acknowledges the receipt of the Applicant’s amendment filed on 11/12/2025. Claim 9 has been amended. Claims 1-20 are currently pending in the present application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Applicant Arguments/Remarks, filed 11/12/2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-20 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Mehta et al. (US 2022/0045727 A1 herein Mehta) and So et al. (US 2008/0253322 A1 herein So).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-8, 10-12, 14-15, and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Mehta et al. (US 2022/0045727 A1 herein Mehta).
Regarding claim 1, Mehta teaches a method of beam adaptation at a user equipment (UE) (read as wireless communication device/user equipment (UEs) 120) (Mehta – Figure 1, [0020], and [0039]), comprising the steps of:
receiving, from a base station (BS) (read as base station (BS) 110) (Mehta – Figure 1, [0020], and [0033]), Downlink (DL) signals (read as downlink signal) (Mehta – [0033]) in a wide beam (read as beam may be a wide beam or a narrow beam) (Mehta – [0057]);
receiving, from the base station (BS), the Downlink (DL) signals (read as downlink signal) (Mehta – [0033]) in a narrow beam (read as at base station 110, the uplink signals from UE 120 and other UEs may be received by antennas 234, processed by demodulators 232, detected by a MIMO detector 236 and further processed by a receive processor 238 to obtain decoded data and control information sent by UE 120; as each signal of the multiple signals is radiated from a respective antenna element 320, the radiated signals interact, interfere (constructive and destructive interference) and amplify each other to form a resulting beam) (Mehta – [0037] and [0057]);
measuring the wide beam signal strength (read as determine reference signal received power (RSRP); received signal strength indicator (RSSI), reference signal received quality (RSRQ), channel quality indicator (CQI), and/or the like) (Mehta – [0034]);
measuring the narrow beam signal strength (read as determine reference signal received power (RSRP); received signal strength indicator (RSSI), reference signal received quality (RSRQ), channel quality indicator (CQI), and/or the like) (Mehta – [0034]);
determining a receive beam direction that can be a best match to both the wide beam and the narrow beam (read as estimator 406 may determine the estimated direction based at least in part on the output from the first model, such as the antenna beam numbers for the first coordinate plane and the second coordinate plane) (Mehta – [0039], and [0085]); and
adapting receive beam to the determined receive beam direction (read as the shape and the direction (read as the shape and direction such as an angle of the beam relative to a surface of the antenna array 318 can be dynamically controlled by modifying the phase shifts or phase offsets imparted by the phase shifters 314 and amplitudes imparted by the amplifiers of the multiple signals relative to each other) (Mehta – [0057]).
Regarding claim 3 as applied to claim 1, Mehta as modified So further teaches wherein the narrow beam indicates a unicast service transmission from the BS to the user equipment (UE) (read as WiMAX MCBCS network solutions can be based on design considerations related to optimal radio access network resource sharing among unicast, multicast and broadcast services; separate unicast sessions for all MSs who are entitled for receiving the MCBCS contents) (So – [0026], [0108], and [0113]).
Regarding claim 4 as applied to claim 1, Mehta as modified So further teaches wherein determining the receive beam direction includes: changing the receive beam direction to a new beam direction; and measuring received signal strength from the base station (BS) in both the wide beam and the narrow beam (read as determine reference signal received power (RSRP); received signal strength indicator (RSSI), reference signal received quality (RSRQ), channel quality indicator (CQI), and/or the like) (Mehta – [0034]).
Regarding claim 5 as applied to claim 1, Mehta as modified So further teaches further comprising: measuring a plurality of downlink (DLs) beams transmitted from the base station (BS); and reporting the best beam direction in the plurality of DL beams that can be a match to the wide beam and the narrow beam to the BS (read as determine reference signal received power (RSRP); received signal strength indicator (RSSI), reference signal received quality (RSRQ), channel quality indicator (CQI), and/or the like) (Mehta – [0034]).
Regarding claim 6 as applied to claim 1, Mehta as modified So further teaches wherein measuring the wide beam signal strength or the narrow beam signal strength includes measuring Reference Signal Received Power (RSRP) and Reference Signal Received Quality (RSRQ) of the narrow beam or the wide beam (read as determine reference signal received power (RSRP); received signal strength indicator (RSSI), reference signal received quality (RSRQ), channel quality indicator (CQI), and/or the like) (Mehta – [0034]).
Regarding claim 7 as applied to claim 5, Mehta as modified So further teaches further comprising: receiving, from the base station (BS), the downlink (DL) signals in the best beam direction reported by the user equipment (UE) (read as the first wireless communication device may use various models and a neural network to determine, generate, and/or configure a narrow beam such as the best narrow beam, an optimal narrow beam, and/or the like to enable efficient communication with the second wireless communication device) (Mehta – [0061]).
Regarding claim 8, Mehta teaches a method of interference management at a Base Station (BS) (read as base station (BS) 110) (Mehta – Figure 1, [0020], and [0033]), comprising the steps of:
transmitting, to a first User Equipment (UE) (read as wireless communication device/user equipment (UEs) 120) (Mehta – Figure 1, [0020], and [0039]), Downlink (DL) signals (read as downlink signal) (Mehta – [0033]) in a narrow beam in a first direction (read as means for transmitting the packet on the narrow beam to the second wireless communication device) (Mehta – [0039]);
transmitting, to a plurality UEs, Downlink (DL) signals (read as downlink signal) (Mehta – [0033]) in a wide beam (read as beam may be a wide beam or a narrow beam; beamforming manager 334 may determine to use a wide beam or a parent beam to transmit the packet 412 to the wireless communication device 404) (Mehta – [0057], and [0081]);
receiving, from the first UE, an Uplink signal indicating DL interference between the wide beam and the narrow beam (read as at base station 110, the uplink signals from UE 120 and other UEs may be received by antennas 234, processed by demodulators 232, detected by a MIMO detector 236 and further processed by a receive processor 238 to obtain decoded data and control information sent by UE 120; as each signal of the multiple signals is radiated from a respective antenna element 320, the radiated signals interact, interfere (constructive and destructive interference) and amplify each other to form a resulting beam) (Mehta – [0037] and [0057]); and
in response to receiving the UL signal, determining a second direction to transmit DL signals to the first UE (read as the shape and the direction such as an angle of the beam relative to a surface of the antenna array 318 can be dynamically controlled by modifying the phase shifts or phase offsets imparted by the phase shifters 314 and amplitudes imparted by the amplifiers of the multiple signals relative to each other) (Mehta – [0057]).
Regarding claim 10 as applied to claim 8, Mehta as modified So further teaches wherein the narrow beam indicates a unicast service transmitted from the BS to the first user equipment (UE) (read as WiMAX MCBCS network solutions can be based on design considerations related to optimal radio access network resource sharing among unicast, multicast and broadcast services; separate unicast sessions for all MSs who are entitled for receiving the MCBCS contents) (So – [0026], [0108], and [0113]).
Regarding claim 11 as applied to claim 8, Mehta as modified So further teaches wherein the determining the second direction includes determining the second direction such as transmitting the downlink (DL) signals in the second direction reduces the interference of the wide beam over the narrow beam (read as the first wireless communication device may use various models and a neural network to determine, generate, and/or configure a narrow beam such as the best narrow beam, an optimal narrow beam, and/or the like to enable efficient communication with the second wireless communication device) (Mehta – [0061]).
Regarding claim 12, Mehta teaches a method of beam management at a Base Station (BS) (read as base station (BS) 110) (Mehta – Figure 1, [0020], and [0033]), comprising the steps of:
transmitting, to a plurality user equipments (UEs) (read as wireless communication device/user equipment (UEs) 120) (Mehta – Figure 1, [0020], and [0039]), downlink (DL) signals (read as downlink signal) (Mehta – [0033]) in a wide beam (read as beamforming manager 334 may determine to use a wide beam or a parent beam to transmit the packet 412 to the wireless communication device 404) (Mehta – [0081]);
receiving, from each of the plurality of UEs, reports indicating link quality between the BS and the each of the plurality of UEs (read as on the uplink, at UE 120, a transmit processor 264 may receive and process data from a data source 262 and control information such as for reports that include RSRP, RSSI, RSRQ, CQI, and/or the like, from controller/processor 280) (Mehta – [0036]); and
transmitting DL signals to UEs in the plurality of UEs in narrow beams wherein their links qualities are lower than the link quality required for DL signals reception (read as means for transmitting the packet on the narrow beam to the second wireless communication device) (Mehta – [0039]).
Regarding claim 14 as applied to claim 12, Mehta as modified So further teaches wherein the step of transmitting downlink (DL) signals to the user equipments (UEs) in the plurality of UEs in the narrow beams wherein their links qualities are lower than the link quality required for DL signals reception includes transmitting DL signals to the UEs in unicast services (read as WiMAX MCBCS network solutions can be based on design considerations related to optimal radio access network resource sharing among unicast, multicast and broadcast services; separate unicast sessions for all MSs who are entitled for receiving the MCBCS contents) (So – [0026], [0108], and [0113]).
Regarding claim 15, Mehta teaches a user equipment (UE) (read as wireless communication device/user equipment (UEs) 120) (Mehta – Figure 1, [0020], and [0039]), comprising:
a transceiver (Mehta – [0036]) configured to:
receive, from a base station (BS) (read as base station (BS) 110) (Mehta – Figure 1, [0020], and [0033]), Downlink (DL) signals (read as downlink signal) (Mehta – [0033]) in a wide beam (read as beamforming manager 334 may determine to use a wide beam or a parent beam to transmit the packet 412 to the wireless communication device 404) (Mehta – [0081]);
receive, from the base station (BS), the Downlink (DL) signals in a narrow beam (read as at base station 110, the uplink signals from UE 120 and other UEs may be received by antennas 234, processed by demodulators 232, detected by a MIMO detector 236 and further processed by a receive processor 238 to obtain decoded data and control information sent by UE 120; as each signal of the multiple signals is radiated from a respective antenna element 320, the radiated signals interact, interfere (constructive and destructive interference) and amplify each other to form a resulting beam) (Mehta – [0037] and [0057]);
measure the wide beam signal strength (read as determine reference signal received power (RSRP); received signal strength indicator (RSSI), reference signal received quality (RSRQ), channel quality indicator (CQI), and/or the like) (Mehta – [0034]); and
measure the narrow beam signal strength (read as determine reference signal received power (RSRP); received signal strength indicator (RSSI), reference signal received quality (RSRQ), channel quality indicator (CQI), and/or the like) (Mehta – [0034]); and
a processor in communication with the transceiver (read as transceiver may be used by a processor such as controller/processor 280) (Mehta – [0036]) and configured to:
determine a receive beam direction that can be a best match to both the wide beam and the narrow beam (read as estimator 406 may determine the estimated direction based at least in part on the output from the first model, such as the antenna beam numbers for the first coordinate plane and the second coordinate plane) (Mehta – [0039], and [0085]); and
adapt receive beam to the determined receive beam direction (read as the shape and direction such as an angle of the beam relative to a surface of the antenna array 318 can be dynamically controlled by modifying the phase shifts or phase offsets imparted by the phase shifters 314 and amplitudes imparted by the amplifiers of the multiple signals relative to each other) (Mehta – [0057]).
Regarding claim 17 as applied to claim 15, Mehta as modified So further teaches wherein the transceiver is further configured to receive unicast service from the base station (BS) in the narrow beam (read as WiMAX MCBCS network solutions can be based on design considerations related to optimal radio access network resource sharing among unicast, multicast and broadcast services; separate unicast sessions for all MSs who are entitled for receiving the MCBCS contents) (So – [0026], [0108], and [0113]).
Regarding claim 18 as applied to claim 15, Mehta as modified So further teaches wherein the processor is further configured to: change the receive beam to a new beam direction; and measure received signal strength from the base station (BS) in both the wide beam and the narrow beam (read as determine reference signal received power (RSRP); received signal strength indicator (RSSI), reference signal received quality (RSRQ), channel quality indicator (CQI), and/or the like) (Mehta – [0034]).
Regarding claim 19 as applied to claim 15, Mehta as modified So further teaches wherein the processor is further configured to: measure a plurality of downlink (DL) beams transmitted from the base station (BS); and report a best beam direction in the plurality of DL beams that can be a match to the wide beam and the narrow beam to the BS (read as determine reference signal received power (RSRP); received signal strength indicator (RSSI), reference signal received quality (RSRQ), channel quality indicator (CQI), and/or the like) (Mehta – [0034]).
Regarding claim 20 as applied to claim 19, Mehta as modified So further teaches wherein the processor is further configured to: receive from the base station (BS), the downlink (DL) signals in the best beam direction reported by the user equipment (UE) (read as the first wireless communication device may use various models and a neural network to determine, generate, and/or configure a narrow beam such as the best narrow beam, an optimal narrow beam, and/or the like to enable efficient communication with the second wireless communication device) (Mehta – [0061]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2, 9, 13, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mehta et al. (US 2022/0045727 A1 herein Mehta), and further in view of So et al. (US 2008/0253322 A1 herein So).
Regarding claim 2 as applied to claim 1, Mehta teaches the wide beam and the BS.
However, Mehta fails to teach wherein the wide beam indicates a Multicast Broadcast Service (MBS) transmission from the BS to a plurality of user equipments (UEs).
In the related art, teaches wherein the wide beam indicates a Multicast Broadcast Service (MBS) transmission from the BS to a plurality of user equipments (UEs) (read as ) (So – [0024]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary still in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of So into the teachings of Mehta for the purpose of allowing users to dynamically join and leave a Multicast IP session, the system may monitor the number of users at each multicast broadcast service zone to decide on data transmission and its mode, and wherein content is always transmitted through broadcast channels by the access network without considering the number of mobile subscriber stations that receive the broadcast content from the base stations.
Regarding claim 9 as applied to claim 8, Mehta teaches the wide beam and the BS.
However, Mehta fails to teach wherein the wide beam indicates a Multicast Broadcast Service (MBS) transmitted from the BS to a plurality of user equipments.
In the related art, So teaches wherein the wide beam indicates a Multicast Broadcast Service (MBS) transmitted from the BS to a plurality of user equipments (read as wireless WiMAX network design that provides Multicast and Broadcast Services (MCBCSs)) (So – Figure 1A, and [0028]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary still in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of So into the teachings of Mehta for the purpose of allowing users to dynamically join and leave a Multicast IP session, the system may monitor the number of users at each multicast broadcast service zone to decide on data transmission and its mode, and wherein content is always transmitted through broadcast channels by the access network without considering the number of mobile subscriber stations that receive the broadcast content from the base stations.
Regarding claim 13 as applied to claim 12, Mehta teaches the wide beam and the BS.
However, Mehta fails to teach wherein the wide beam indicates a Multicast Broadcast Service (MBS) transmitted from the base station (BS) to the plurality of user equipments (UEs).
In the related art, So teaches wherein the wide beam indicates a Multicast Broadcast Service (MBS) transmitted from the base station (BS) to the plurality of user equipments (UEs) (read as wireless WiMAX network design that provides Multicast and Broadcast Services (MCBCSs)) (So – Figure 1A, and [0028]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary still in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of So into the teachings of Mehta for the purpose of allowing users to dynamically join and leave a Multicast IP session, the system may monitor the number of users at each multicast broadcast service zone to decide on data transmission and its mode, and wherein content is always transmitted through broadcast channels by the access network without considering the number of mobile subscriber stations that receive the broadcast content from the base stations.
Regarding claim 16 as applied to claim 15, Mehta teaches the transceiver and the base station.
However, Mehta fails to teach wherein the transceiver is further configured to receive Multicast Broadcast Service (MBS) from the base station (BS) in the wide beam.
In the related art, So teaches wherein the transceiver is further configured to receive Multicast Broadcast Service (MBS) from the base station (BS) in the wide beam (read as wireless WiMAX network design that provides Multicast and Broadcast Services (MCBCSs)) (So – Figure 1A, and [0028]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary still in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of So into the teachings of Mehta for the purpose of allowing users to dynamically join and leave a Multicast IP session, the system may monitor the number of users at each multicast broadcast service zone to decide on data transmission and its mode, and wherein content is always transmitted through broadcast channels by the access network without considering the number of mobile subscriber stations that receive the broadcast content from the base stations.
Conclusion
/APRIL G GONZALES/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2648