DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Applicant Arguments/Remarks, filed 05/27/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claims 1-20 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Zhao et al. (US 2021/0185547 A1 herein Zhao), and further in view of Myung et al. (US 2020/0344819 A1 herein Myung).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao et al. (US 2021/0185547 A1 herein Zhao), and further in view of Myung et al. (US 2020/0344819 A1 herein Myung).
Regarding claim 1, Zhao teaches a method of beam adaptation at a user equipment (UE) (read as user equipment (UE)) (Zhao – [0167]), comprising the steps of:
receiving, from a base station (BS) (read as base station) (Zhao – [0168]), Downlink (DL) signals in a wide beam (read as first beam feedback information includes information about a first wide beam to be used by the wide beam terminal and information about M wide beams whose signal quality meets a first condition) (Zhao – [0171]);
receiving, from the base station (BS), the Downlink (DL) signals in a narrow beam (read as second beam feedback information is received from a narrow beam terminal; the second beam feedback information includes information about a second wide beam determined by the narrow beam terminal and information about N wide beams whose signal quality meets a second condition) (Zhao – [0171]);
measuring the wide beam signal strength (read as wide beam terminal and the narrow beam terminal can separately measure, based on the orthogonal reference signal, signal strength of and strength of interference to a beam that is fed back by each of the wide beam terminal and the narrow beam termina, and feed back the separately measured signal strength and interference strength to the network device) (Zhao – [0166]);
measuring the narrow beam signal strength (read as wide beam terminal and the narrow beam terminal can separately measure, based on the orthogonal reference signal, signal strength of and strength of interference to a beam that is fed back by each of the wide beam terminal and the narrow beam termina, and feed back the separately measured signal strength and interference strength to the network device) (Zhao – [0166]).
However, Zhao fails to teach determining a receive beam direction that can be a best match to both the wide beam and the narrow beam; and adapting receive beam to the determined receive beam direction.
In the related art, Myung teaches determining a receive beam direction that can be a best match to both the wide beam and the narrow beam; and adapting receive beam to the determined receive beam direction (read as omni-direction is divided into four different beam directions (e.g., a beam direction 1, a beam direction 2, a beam direction 3, a beam direction 4)) (Myung – [0289], [0297]-[0300]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of Myung into the teachings of Zhao for the purpose of mapping a large number of antenna elements to one TXRU and controlling a beam direction using an analog phase shifter, wherein a case where a onmi-direction is divided into four different beam directions, and performing beam sweeping in a beam direction.
Regarding claim 2 as applied to claim 1, Zhao as modified by Myung further teaches wherein the wide beam indicates a Multicast Broadcast Service (MBS) transmission from the BS to a plurality of user equipments (UEs) (read as multicast or broadcast service) (Myung – [0062]-[0063]).
Regarding claim 3 as applied to claim 1, Zhao as modified by Myung further teaches wherein the narrow beam indicates a unicast service transmission from the BS to the user equipment (UE) (read as unicast data) (Myung – Table 6).
Regarding claim 4 as applied to claim 1, Zhao as modified by Myung further teaches wherein determining the receive beam direction includes: changing the receive beam direction to a new beam direction; and measuring received signal strength from the base station (BS) in both the wide beam and the narrow beam (read as wide beam terminal and the narrow beam terminal can separately measure, based on the orthogonal reference signal, signal strength of and strength of interference to a beam that is fed back by each of the wide beam terminal and the narrow beam termina, and feed back the separately measured signal strength and interference strength to the network device) (Zhao – [0166]).
Regarding claim 5 as applied to claim 1, Zhao as modified by Myung further teaches further comprising: measuring a plurality of downlink (DLs) beams transmitted from the base station (BS); and reporting the best beam direction in the plurality of DL beams that can be a match to the wide beam and the narrow beam to the BS (read as omni-direction is divided into four different beam directions (e.g., a beam direction 1, a beam direction 2, a beam direction 3, a beam direction 4)) (Myung – [0289], [0297]-[0300]).
Regarding claim 6 as applied to claim 1, Zhao as modified by Myung further teaches wherein measuring the wide beam signal strength or the narrow beam signal strength includes measuring Reference Signal Received Power (RSRP) and Reference Signal Received Quality (RSRQ) of the narrow beam or the wide beam (read as after the network device scans the candidate wide beam used for downlink sending, the wide beam terminal may perform RSRP measurement on each of the candidate wide beam, so as to select a wide beam with maximum RSRP form the candidate wide beam, and determine the wide beam with the maximum RSRP as the first wide beam to be used by the wide beam terminal) (Zhao – [0178]).
Regarding claim 7 as applied to claim 5, Zhao as modified by Myung further teaches further comprising: receiving, from the base station (BS), the downlink (DL) signals in the best beam direction reported by the user equipment (UE) (read as omni-direction is divided into four different beam directions (e.g., a beam direction 1, a beam direction 2, a beam direction 3, a beam direction 4)) (Myung – [0289], [0297]-[0300]).
Regarding claim 8, Zhao teaches a method of interference management at a Base Station (BS) (read as base station) (Zhao – [0168]), comprising the steps of:
transmitting, to a first User Equipment (UE) (read as user equipment (UE)) (Zhao – [0167]), Downlink (DL) signals in a narrow beam in a first direction (read as second beam feedback information is received from a narrow beam terminal; the second beam feedback information includes information about a second wide beam determined by the narrow beam terminal and information about N wide beams whose signal quality meets a second condition) (Zhao – [0171]);
transmitting, to a plurality UEs, Downlink (DL) signals in a wide beam (read as first beam feedback information includes information about a first wide beam to be used by the wide beam terminal and information about M wide beams whose signal quality meets a first condition) (Zhao – [0171]).
However, Zhao fails to teach receiving, from the first UE, an Uplink signal indicating DL interference between the wide beam and the narrow beam; and in response to receiving the UL signal, determining a second direction to transmit DL signals to the first UE.
In the related art, Myung teaches receiving, from the first UE, an Uplink signal indicating DL interference between the wide beam and the narrow beam (read as frequency domain inter-cell interference cancellation between adjacent cells; prevent interference; interference may occur due to the signal transmission of another node) (Myung – [0108], [0277], [0308]); and in response to receiving the UL signal, determining a second direction to transmit DL signals to the first UE (read as omni-direction is divided into four different beam directions (e.g., a beam direction 1, a beam direction 2, a beam direction 3, a beam direction 4)) (Myung – [0289], [0297]-[0300]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of Myung into the teachings of Zhao for the purpose of mapping a large number of antenna elements to one TXRU and controlling a beam direction using an analog phase shifter, wherein a case where a onmi-direction is divided into four different beam directions, and performing beam sweeping in a beam direction.
Regarding claim 9 as applied to claim 8, Zhao as modified by Myung further teaches wherein the wide beam indicates a Multicast Broadcast Service (MBS) transmitted from the BS to a plurality of user equipments (UEs) (read as multicast or broadcast service) (Myung – [0062]-[0063]).
Regarding claim 10 as applied to claim 8, Zhao as modified by Myung further teaches wherein the narrow beam indicates a unicast service transmitted from the BS to the first user equipment (UE) (read as unicast data) (Myung – Table 6).
Regarding claim 11 as applied to claim 8, Zhao as modified by Myung further teaches wherein the determining the second direction includes determining the second direction such as transmitting the downlink (DL) signals in the second direction reduces the interference of the wide beam over the narrow beam (read as prevent interference) (Myung – [0277]).
Regarding claim 12, Zhao teaches a method of beam management at a Base Station (BS) (read as base station) (Zhao – [0168]), comprising the steps of:
transmitting, to a plurality user equipments (UEs) (read as user equipment (UE)) (Zhao – [0167]), downlink (DL) signals in a wide beam (read as first beam feedback information includes information about a first wide beam to be used by the wide beam terminal and information about M wide beams whose signal quality meets a first condition) (Zhao – [0171]);
receiving, from each of the plurality of UEs, reports indicating link quality between the BS and the each of the plurality of UEs (read as signal quality meets a first and second condition) (Zhao – [0171]); and
transmitting DL signals to UEs in the plurality of UEs in narrow beams (read as second beam feedback information is received from a narrow beam terminal; the second beam feedback information includes information about a second wide beam determined by the narrow beam terminal and information about N wide beams whose signal quality meets a second condition) (Zhao – [0171]).
However, Zhao fails to teach wherein their links qualities are lower than the link quality required for DL signals reception.
In the related art, Myung teaches wherein their links qualities are lower than the link quality required for DL signals reception (Myung – [0057]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of Myung into the teachings of Zhao for the purpose of mapping a large number of antenna elements to one TXRU and controlling a beam direction using an analog phase shifter, wherein a case where a onmi-direction is divided into four different beam directions, and performing beam sweeping in a beam direction.
Regarding claim 13 as applied to claim 12, Zhao as modified by Myung further teaches wherein the wide beam indicates a Multicast Broadcast Service (MBS) transmitted from the base station (BS) to the plurality of user equipments (UEs) (read as multicast or broadcast service) (Myung – [0062]-[0063]).
Regarding claim 14 as applied to claim 12, Zhao as modified by Myung further teaches wherein the step of transmitting downlink (DL) signals to the user equipments (UEs) in the plurality of UEs in the narrow beams wherein their links qualities are lower than the link quality required for DL signals reception includes transmitting DL signals to the UEs in unicast services (read as unicast data) (Myung – Table 6).
Regarding claim 15, Zhao teaches a user equipment (UE) (read as user equipment (UE)) (Zhao – [0167]), comprising:
a transceiver (read as transceiver) (Zhao – [0168]) configured to:
receive, from a base station (BS) (read as base station) (Zhao – [0168]), Downlink (DL) signals in a wide beam (read as first beam feedback information includes information about a first wide beam to be used by the wide beam terminal and information about M wide beams whose signal quality meets a first condition) (Zhao – [0171]);
receive, from the base station (BS), the Downlink (DL) signals in a narrow beam (read as second beam feedback information is received from a narrow beam terminal; the second beam feedback information includes information about a second wide beam determined by the narrow beam terminal and information about N wide beams whose signal quality meets a second condition) (Zhao – [0171]);
measure the wide beam signal strength (read as wide beam terminal and the narrow beam terminal can separately measure, based on the orthogonal reference signal, signal strength of and strength of interference to a beam that is fed back by each of the wide beam terminal and the narrow beam termina, and feed back the separately measured signal strength and interference strength to the network device) (Zhao – [0166]); and
measure the narrow beam signal strength (read as wide beam terminal and the narrow beam terminal can separately measure, based on the orthogonal reference signal, signal strength of and strength of interference to a beam that is fed back by each of the wide beam terminal and the narrow beam termina, and feed back the separately measured signal strength and interference strength to the network device) (Zhao – [0166]); and a processor in communication with the transceiver (read as processor) (Zhao – [0092], [0108]).
However, Zhao fails to teach determine a receive beam direction that can be a best match to both the wide beam and the narrow beam; and adapt receive beam to the determined receive beam direction.
In the related art, Myung teaches determine a receive beam direction that can be a best match to both the wide beam and the narrow beam; and adapt receive beam to the determined receive beam direction (read as omni-direction is divided into four different beam directions (e.g., a beam direction 1, a beam direction 2, a beam direction 3, a beam direction 4)) (Myung – [0289]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of Myung into the teachings of Zhao for the purpose of mapping a large number of antenna elements to one TXRU and controlling a beam direction using an analog phase shifter, wherein a case where a onmi-direction is divided into four different beam directions, and performing beam sweeping in a beam direction.
Regarding claim 16 as applied to claim 15, Zhao as modified by Myung further teaches wherein the transceiver is further configured to receive Multicast Broadcast Service (MBS) from the base station (BS) in the wide beam (read as multicast or broadcast service) (Myung – [0062]-[0063]).
Regarding claim 17 as applied to claim 15, Zhao as modified by Myung further teaches wherein the transceiver is further configured to receive unicast service from the base station (BS) in the narrow beam (read as unicast data) (Myung – Table 6).
Regarding claim 18 as applied to claim 15, Zhao as modified by Myung further teaches wherein the processor is further configured to: change the receive beam to a new beam direction; and measure received signal strength from the base station (BS) in both the wide beam and the narrow beam (read as wide beam terminal and the narrow beam terminal can separately measure, based on the orthogonal reference signal, signal strength of and strength of interference to a beam that is fed back by each of the wide beam terminal and the narrow beam termina, and feed back the separately measured signal strength and interference strength to the network device) (Zhao – [0166]).
Regarding claim 19 as applied to claim 15, Zhao as modified by Myung further teaches wherein the processor is further configured to: measure a plurality of downlink (DL) beams transmitted from the base station (BS); and report a best beam direction in the plurality of DL beams that can be a match to the wide beam and the narrow beam to the BS (read as omni-direction is divided into four different beam directions (e.g., a beam direction 1, a beam direction 2, a beam direction 3, a beam direction 4)) (Myung – [0289], [0297]-[0300]).
Regarding claim 20 as applied to claim 19, Zhao as modified by Myung further teaches wherein the processor is further configured to: receive from the base station (BS), the downlink (DL) signals in the best beam direction reported by the user equipment (UE) (read as omni-direction is divided into four different beam directions (e.g., a beam direction 1, a beam direction 2, a beam direction 3, a beam direction 4)) (Myung – [0289], [0297]-[0300]).
Conclusion
/APRIL G GONZALES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2648