DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed November 7, 2025 has been accepted and entered. Accordingly, claims 1, 5-7, 11, 12, 15, 16, 18-20, 24, and 25 have been amended.
Claims 1-25 are pending in this application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed November 7, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection relies on the reference not applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Regarding the Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 15 that “ZHU, PAN, and PHAM VAN do not disclose or suggest at least: configure a registration area for a user equipment (UE), wherein the registration area includes a tracking area supported by a source node, wherein the tracking area is associated with a cell served by a distributed node, wherein the distributed node is configured to migrate from the source node to a target node as recited in amended claim 15” (Response filed November 7, 2025, Pages 12-13), Examiner respectfully disagrees with the Applicant.
Zhu teaches that “When the UE registers with a network, a core network allocates one UE registration area to each UE. The UE registration area includes a tracking area identity (tracking area identity, TAI) list. When moving to a cell not belonging to the TAI list, the UE actively accesses the network (including the core network), and performs non-access stratum (NAS) registration update. The core network registers a location of the UE, updates the registration area of the UE, and reassigns a TAI list including a TAI to which a cell in which the UE is currently located belongs to the UE” (Zhu [Para. 0099]). According to Zhu, the core node configures a registration area for a UE. Reassigning the updated TAI to the UE after moving indicates the UE is configured with TAIs to which the cells in which the UE is currently located before and after moving. Since “the first cell belongs to a source donor node, and the second cell belongs to a target donor node” (Zhu [Para. 0015]), Zhu therefore teaches the registration area includes a tracking area supported by a node, the source node, before moving.
Zhu also teaches that “When receiving the TAC 1 broadcast by the IAB-DU, a UE located in a coverage area of a cell provided by the IAB-DU may add the TAC 1 to a TAI list of the UE, and notify the core network” (Zhu [Para. 0101]) and “when an IAB-DU is located in a first cell, the IAB-DU may obtain a first correspondence between a cell provided by the IAB-DU and tracking area information. The first correspondence is related to the first cell. If the cell provided by the IAB-DU includes a third cell, the first correspondence includes a correspondence between the third cell and the tracking area information. Tracking area information broadcast by the IAB-DU in the third cell is tracking area information that has the first correspondence with the third cell” (Zhu [Para. 0102]). According to Zhu, TAC 1 that the UE received from the broadcast by the IAB-DU is the third cell within the first cell that belongs to the source node. Again, “the first cell belongs to a source donor node, and the second cell belongs to a target donor node”. Therefore, Zhu teaches the tracking area is associated with a cell, the third cell, served by the IAB-DU before moving from the source node to the target node.
Zhu further teaches that “When migrating from the first cell to a second cell, the IAB-DU node may obtain a second correspondence between the cell provided by the IAB-DU and the tracking area information, where the second correspondence is related to tracking area information of the second cell. If the cell provided by the IAB-DU includes a fourth cell, the second correspondence includes a correspondence between the fourth cell and the tracking area information” (Zhu [Para. 0102]) and “the first cell belongs to a source donor node, and the second cell belongs to a target donor node” (Zhu [Para. 0015]). Based on Zhu, the IAB-DU node moves from the first cell belonging to the source node to the second cell belonging to the target node and the tracking area is related to the fourth cell within the second cell belonging to the target node. Zhu teaches the IAB-DU is configured to migrate from the source node to a target node.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5-6, 14, 20 and 24-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over 3GPP TS 38.401 (3GPP TS 38.401 version 17.0.0 Release 17, hereinafter TS38.401) and in view of Hong (WO2021187933A1, hereinafter Hong), 3GPP TS 23.501 (version 17.4.0 Release 17, hereinafter TS23.501) and Peng et al. (US20200008100A1, hereinafter Peng).
For claim 1, TS38.401 teaches A source node (source gNB-CU-UP page 61, Figure 8.9.5-1, page 25, Figure 8.1-1) for wireless communication, comprising: one or more memories (although not specifically disclosed, a memory is necessary for the node to perform the functions as noted below); and one or more processors (although not specifically disclosed, a processor is necessary for the node to perform the functions as noted below), coupled to the one or more memories, configured to: forward a first message between a user equipment (UE) and a core node via a distributed node ([Page 25, Section 8.1 UE Initial Access, and FIG. 8.1-1], Step 5. The UE sends the RRC CONNECTION SETUP COMPLETE message to the gNB-DU. Step 6. The gNB-DU encapsulates the RRC message in the UL RRC MESSAGE TRANSFER message and sends it to the gNB-CU. Step 7. The gNB-CU sends the INITIAL UE MESSAGE message to the AMF), wherein the first message is a non-access stratum message (Non-Access Stratum control protocols are used between UE and 5GC (page 13, Section 5.3, Figure 5.3-1).
Although teach transmitting non-access stratum massage from UE to the core via a distributed node, TS38.401 does not explicitly disclose and transmit, to a target node, a second message associated with a migration of the distributed node from the source node to the target node.
Hong is directed to providing method and device for controlling relay node. More specifically, Hong teaches a source node for wireless communication ([Para. 160], the source IAB donor CU may transmit information), comprising: a memory ([Para. 231], the software code may be stored in the memory unit and driven by the processor); and one or more processors ([Para. 230], the present embodiments may be implemented by a processor), coupled to the memory ([Para. 230], the memory unit may be located inside or outside the processor, and may transmit and receive data to and from the processor by various known means), configured to: and transmit, to a target node, a second message associated with a migration of the distributed node from the source node to the target node ([Para. 140] and [FIG. 13], 3. the source IAB donor CU transmits a handover request message to the target IAB donor CU. [Para. 161], The handover request message includes AMF's IP address of the SCTP association (Signaling TNL association address at source NG-C side)).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of TS38.401, so that the source node transmits handover request message to the target node, as taught by Hong. The modification would have allowed the system to allow an IAB node to perform an NR-based radio relay function to change/migration/modify a serving parent node (Hong [Para. 8]).
Although teach transmitting non-access stratum message from the UE and handover request message with AMF TNL address from the source node, TS38.401 and Hong do not explicitly disclose wherein the second message identifies the forwarding of the first message and includes an indication of an amount of elapsed time occurring since the forwarding of the first message.
TS23.501 teaches wherein the second message identifies the forwarding of the first message and includes an indication of an amount of elapsed time occurring since the forwarding of the first message ([Page 288, Para. 5.21.1.1 TNL association], 5G-AN node shall have the capability to support multiple TNL associations per AMF. [Page 288, Para. 5.21.1.3 N2 TNL association selection], The 5G-AN node shall consider the following factors for selecting a TNL association for the AMF for the initial N2 message e.g. N2 INITIAL UE MESSAGE).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of TS38.401 and Hong, so that the handover message identifies initial UE message, as taught by TS23.501. The modification would have allowed the system to implement mobility within 5GS as specified by 3GPP Technical Specification (TS23.501 [Page 20, Scope]).
Although teaching identifying the first message to AMF in the second message, TS38.401, Hong and TS23.501 do not explicitly disclose wherein the second message identifies the forwarding of the first message and includes an indication of an amount of elapsed time occurring since the forwarding of the first message.
Peng is directed to providing communication methods and communications apparatuses. More specifically, Peng teaches wherein the second message identifies the forwarding of the first message and includes an indication of an amount of elapsed time occurring since the forwarding of the first message ([Para. 0019], the first message or the second message further includes timestamps, and the timestamps are used to indicate a start time and an end time for the data volume. [Para. 0118], the eNB 01 may send the first message to the core network C after receiving a request from the core network C to report the data volume of the SCG split bearer. the data volume M reported via the first message may be a data volume of the SCG split bearer that is transmitted via the eNB 01 in duration between a previous request of the core network C and the current request [Examiner’s Note: The report from eNB 01 in response to the previous request from the core is the previous message, and the message in response to the current request is the current message. Since the current message includes the timestamps for the start time and end time for the data volume, it indicates the duration between the two response messages, which is the time elapsed since the previous message]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of TS38.401, Hong and TS23.501, so that a message indicates the time elapsed since the previous message, as taught by TS23.501. The modification would have allowed more precise calculation of a data volume in case of bearer splitting (Peng [Para. 0009-0010]).
For claim 5, TS38.401, Hong, TS23.501 and Peng teach the apparatus of claim 1. The references further teach wherein the second message includes at least one of: an identifier of the distributed node, an indication of a handover request associated with the distributed node (Hong [Para. 104] and [FIG. 13], Step 3. the source IAB donor CU transmits a handover request message to the target IAB donor CU. Hong [Para. 160] and [FIG. 13], the source IAB donor CU may transmit information necessary for changing the parent IAB node of the migration target IAB node to the target IAB donor CU through a handover request message [Examiner’s Note: The migration target IAB node is the distributed node]), an indication of a tracking area of the cell served by the distributed node, or an indication of a cell identifier of a cell served by the distributed node.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of TS38.401, TS23.501 and Peng, so that the source node transmits handover request message associated with the distributed node, as taught by Hong. The modification would have allowed the system to allow an IAB node to perform an NR-based radio relay function to change/migration/modify a serving parent node (Hong [Para. 8]).
For claim 6, TS38.401, Hong, TS23.501 and Peng teach the apparatus of claim 1. The references further teach wherein the second message includes at least one of: an identifier of the core node (Hong [Para. 104] and [FIG. 13], Step 3. the source IAB donor CU transmits a handover request message to the target IAB donor CU. Hong [Para. 160] and [FIG. 13], the source IAB donor CU may transmit information necessary for changing the parent IAB node of the migration target IAB node to the target IAB donor CU through a handover request message. Hong [Para. 161], The handover request message includes AMF's IP address of the SCTP association (Signaling TNL association address at source NG-C side)), the indication of the amount of elapsed time occurring since the forwarding of the first message, an indication of an amount of elapsed time occurring since signaling associated with the core node, an indication of an occurrence of signaling associated with the core node or another core node, an indication of signaling associated with registration of the UE with the core node, or an indication of a redirection of signaling, associated with the core node, to another node.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of TS38.401, TS23.501 and Peng, so that the source node transmits handover request message including the identifier of the core node, as taught by Hong. The modification would have allowed the system to allow an IAB node to perform an NR-based radio relay function to change/migration/modify a serving parent node (Hong [Para. 8]).
For claim 14, Hong, TS38.401, TS23.501 and Peng teach the apparatus of claim 7. The references further teach wherein the one or more processors, to forward the second message, are configured to: forward the second message based at least in part on an amount of elapsed time since signaling with the core node occurred at the source node or the target node (Peng [Para. 0019], the first message or the second message further includes timestamps, and the timestamps are used to indicate a start time and an end time for the data volume. [Para. 0118], the eNB 01 may send the first message to the core network C after receiving a request from the core network C to report the data volume of the SCG split bearer. the data volume M reported via the first message may be a data volume of the SCG split bearer that is transmitted via the eNB 01 in duration between a previous request of the core network C and the current request [Examiner’s Note: The report from eNB 01 in response to the previous request from the core is the previous message, and the message in response to the current request is the current message. Since the current message includes the timestamps for the start time and end time for the data volume, it indicates the duration between the two response messages, which is the time elapsed since the previous message]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of TS38.401, Hong and TS23.501, so that a message indicates the time elapsed since the previous message, as taught by TS23.501. The modification would have allowed more precise calculation of a data volume in case of bearer splitting (Peng [Para. 0009-0010]).
For claim 20, TS38.401 teaches a method of wireless communication performed by a source node ([Page 24, Section 8 Overall procedures in gNB-CU and gNB-DU architecture. [Page 25, FIG 8.1-1] gNB-CU), comprising: comprising: forwarding a first message between a user equipment (UE) and a core node via a distributed node ([Page 25, Section 8.1 UE Initial Access, and FIG. 8.1-1], Step 5. The UE sends the RRC CONNECTION SETUP COMPLETE message to the gNB-DU. Step 6. The gNB-DU encapsulates the RRC message in the UL RRC MESSAGE TRANSFER message and sends it to the gNB-CU. Step 7. The gNB-CU sends the INITIAL UE MESSAGE to the AMF), wherein the first message is a non-access stratum message (Non-Access Stratum control protocols are used between UE and 5GC (page 13, Section 5.3, Figure 5.3-1).
Although teach transmitting non-access stratum massage from UE to the core via a distributed node, TS38.401 does not explicitly disclose and transmitting, to a target node, a second message associated with a migration of the distributed node from the source node to the target node.
Hong is directed to providing method and device for controlling relay node. More specifically, Hong teaches and transmitting, to a target node, a second message associated with a migration of the distributed node from the source node to the target node ([Para. 140] and [FIG. 13], 3. the source IAB donor CU transmits a handover request message to the target IAB donor CU. [Para. 161], The handover request message includes AMF's IP address of the SCTP association (Signaling TNL association address at source NG-C side)).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of TS38.401, so that the source node transmits handover request message to the target node, as taught by Hong. The modification would have allowed the system to allow an IAB node to perform an NR-based radio relay function to change/migration/modify a serving parent node (Hong [Para. 8]).
Although teach transmitting non-access stratum message from the UE and handover request message with AMF TNL address from the source node, TS38.401 and Hong do not explicitly disclose wherein the second message identifies the forwarding of the first message and includes an indication of an amount of elapsed time occurring since the forwarding of the first message.
TS23.501 teaches wherein the second message identifies the forwarding of the first message and includes an indication of an amount of elapsed time occurring since the forwarding of the first message ([Page 288, Para. 5.21.1.1 TNL association], 5G-AN node shall have the capability to support multiple TNL associations per AMF. [Page 288, Para. 5.21.1.3 N2 TNL association selection], The 5G-AN node shall consider the following factors for selecting a TNL association for the AMF for the initial N2 message e.g. N2 INITIAL UE MESSAGE).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of TS38.401 and Hong, so that the handover message identifies initial UE message, as taught by TS23.501. The modification would have allowed the system to implement mobility within 5GS as specified by 3GPP Technical Specification (TS23.501 [Page 20, Scope]).
Although teaching identifying the first message to AMF in the second message, TS38.401, Hong and TS23.501 do not explicitly disclose wherein the second message identifies the forwarding of the first message and includes an indication of an amount of elapsed time occurring since the forwarding of the first message.
Peng is directed to providing communication methods and communications apparatuses. More specifically, Peng teaches wherein the second message identifies the forwarding of the first message and includes an indication of an amount of elapsed time occurring since the forwarding of the first message ([Para. 0019], the first message or the second message further includes timestamps, and the timestamps are used to indicate a start time and an end time for the data volume. [Para. 0118], the eNB 01 may send the first message to the core network C after receiving a request from the core network C to report the data volume of the SCG split bearer. the data volume M reported via the first message may be a data volume of the SCG split bearer that is transmitted via the eNB 01 in duration between a previous request of the core network C and the current request [Examiner’s Note: The report from eNB 01 in response to the previous request from the core is the previous message, and the message in response to the current request is the current message. Since the current message includes the timestamps for the start time and end time for the data volume, it indicates the duration between the two response messages, which is the time elapsed since the previous message]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of TS38.401, Hong and TS23.501, so that a message indicates the time elapsed since the previous message, as taught by TS23.501. The modification would have allowed more precise calculation of a data volume in case of bearer splitting (Peng [Para. 0009-0010]).
For claims 24-25 are directed to method claims and they do not teach or further define over the limitations recited in claims 5-6. Therefore, claims 24-25 are also rejected for similar reasons set forth in claims 5-6.
Claims 2-4 and 21-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over 3GPP TS 38.401 (3GPP TS 38.401 version 17.0.0 Release 17, hereinafter TS38.401) and in view of Hong (WO2021187933A1, hereinafter Hong), 3GPP TS 23.501 (version 17.4.0 Release 17, hereinafter TS23.501) and Peng et al. (US20200008100A1, hereinafter Peng), and further in view of Teyeb et al. (US20230328604A1, hereinafter Teyeb).
For claim 2, TS38.401, Hong, TS23.501 and Peng teach the apparatus of claim 1. The references further teach release a connection between the UE and the distributed node in connection with transmitting the second message (TS38.401 [Page 49, Section 8.6.1 RRC connected to RRC inactive, and FIG 8.6.1-1], This section gives the RRC connected to RRC inactive state transition given that gNB consists of gNB-CU and gNBDU(s), as shown in Figure 8.6.1-1. Step 1. The gNB-CU generates RRCRelease message which includes suspend configuration towards UE. The RRC message is encapsulated in UE CONTEXT RELEASE COMMAND message to the gNB-DU. Step 2. The gNB-DU forwards RRCRelease message to UE. Step 3. The gNB-DU responds with UE CONTEXT RELEASE COMPLETE message).
Although teach releasing connection between DU and UE, TS38.401, Hong, TS23.501 and Peng do not explicitly disclose release a connection between the UE and the distributed node in connection with transmitting the second message.
Teyeb is directed to providing handling of buffered traffic during inter-cu migration of an ancestor integrated access backhaul (iab) node. More specifically, Teyeb teaches release a connection between the UE and the distributed node in connection with transmitting the second message ([Para. 0163] and [FIG. 13], in operation 1, the source gNB-CU-CP sends HANDOVER REQUEST message to the target gNB-CU-CP. [Para. 0165], in operation 16, the target gNB-CU-CP sends a UE CONTEXT RELEASE message to the source gNB-CU-CP. [Para. 0158] and [FIG. 11], in operation 6, an F1 UE context release procedure is performed to release the UE context in the gNB-DU [Examiner’s Note: According to TS38.401, gNB-DU forwards RRCRelease message to the UE]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of TS38.401, Hong, TS23.501 and Peng, so that the source CU transmits the UE Context Release to source DU, as taught by Teyeb. The modification would have reduced and/or minimized data packet losses before handover of a migrating IAB node is executed (Teyeb [Para. 0078]).
For claim 3, TS38.401, Hong, TS23.501, Peng and Teyeb teach the apparatus of claim 2. The references further teach wherein releasing the connection is associated with causing the UE to transition to an idle state or an inactive state (TS38.401 [Page 49, Section 8.6.1 RRC connected to RRC inactive, and FIG 8.6.1-1], This section gives the RRC connected to RRC inactive state transition given that gNB consists of gNB-CU and gNBDU(s), as shown in Figure 8.6.1-1. Step 0. the gNB-CU determines the UE to enter into RRC inactive mode from connected mode. Step 1. The gNB-CU generates RRCRelease message which includes suspend configuration towards UE. The RRC message is encapsulated in UE CONTEXT RELEASE COMMAND message to the gNB-DU. Step 2. The gNB-DU forwards RRCRelease message to UE. Step 3. The gNB-DU responds with UE CONTEXT RELEASE COMPLETE message [Examiner’s Note: Teyeb teaches gNB-DU receives from gNB-CU the UE CONTEXT RELEASE in claim 2. The steps 0-3 in this reference further teach that gNB-DU receives from gNB-CU the UE CONTEXT RELEASE, and then the gNB-DU forwards RRCRelease message to UE, resulting in UE transitioning to inactive state, as step 0 indicates]).
For claim 4, TS38.401, Hong, TS23.501, Peng and Teyeb teach the apparatus of claim 2. The references further teach wherein releasing the connection is associated with causing the distributed node to migrate to the target node (TS38.401 [Page 49, Section 8.6.1 RRC connected to RRC inactive, and FIG 8.6.1-1], This section gives the RRC connected to RRC inactive state transition given that gNB consists of gNB-CU and gNBDU(s), as shown in Figure 8.6.1-1. Step 1. The gNB-CU generates RRCRelease message which includes suspend configuration towards UE. The RRC message is encapsulated in UE CONTEXT RELEASE COMMAND message to the gNB-DU. Step 2. The gNB-DU forwards RRCRelease message to UE. Step 3. The gNB-DU responds with UE CONTEXT RELEASE COMPLETE message).
The references further teach wherein releasing the connection is associated with causing the distributed node to migrate to the target node (Teyeb [Para. 0163] and [FIG. 13], in operation 1, the source gNB-CU-CP sends HANDOVER REQUEST message to the target gNB-CU-CP. [Para. 0142] and [FIG. 8], Random Access procedure is performed at the target parent node gNB-DU. In operation 9, the migrating IAB-MT responds to the target parent node gNB-DU with an RRCReconfigurationComplete message [Examiner’s Note: FIG. 13 shows UE ATTACH via RACH not labeled as a step. FIG. 8, as a complement figure, shows steps of RACH, indicating the distributed node migrating to the target node]. [Para. 0165], in operations 13-15, a path switch procedure is performed to update the DL TNL address information for the NG-U towards the core network. In operation 16, the target gNB-CU-CP sends a UE CONTEXT RELEASE message to the source gNB-CU-CP. Operations 17-19 are substantially similar to operations 5-7 of FIG. 11. Teyeb [Para. 0158] and [FIG. 11], in operation 6, an F1 UE context release procedure is performed to release the UE context in the gNB-DU [Examiner’s Note: According to TS38.401, gNB-DU forwards RRCRelease message to the UE]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of TS38.401, Hong, TS38.501 and Peng, so that the source CU transmits the UE Context Release to source DU, as taught by Teyeb. The modification would have reduced and/or minimized data packet losses before handover of a migrating IAB node is executed (Teyeb [Para. 0078]).
For claims 21-23 are directed to method claims and they do not teach or further define over the limitations recited in claims 2-4. Therefore, claims 21-23 are also rejected for similar reasons set forth in claims 2-4.
Claims 7 and 9-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hong (WO2021187933A1, hereinafter Hong) in view of 3GPP TS 38.401 (3GPP TS 38.401 version 17.0.0 Release 17, hereinafter TS38.401), 3GPP TS 23.501 (version 17.4.0 Release 17, hereinafter TS23.501) and Peng et al. (US20200008100A1, hereinafter Peng).
For claim 7, Hong teaches a target node for wireless communication ([Para. 160], the source IAB donor CU may transmit information … to the target IAB donor CU), comprising: one or more memories ([Para. 231], the software code may be stored in the memory unit and driven by the processor); and one or more processors ([Para. 230], the present embodiments may be implemented by a processor), coupled to the one or more memories ([Para. 230], the memory unit may be located inside or outside the processor, and may transmit and receive data to and from the processor by various known means), configured to: receive a request, from a source node, to establish a connection with a distributed node connected to the source node ([Para. 140] and [FIG. 13], 3. the source IAB donor CU transmits a handover request message to the target IAB donor CU. [Para. 142], 4. Admission control may be performed by the target IAB donor CU. [Para. 144], 6. The target IAB donor CU prepares ... handover request confirmation message ... for handover configuration for the moving IAB node MT ... included in the handover request confirmation message or the RRC container (RRC reconfiguration message). [Para. 146], 8. The source parent IAB node DU forwards the received RRC reconfiguration message to the moving IAB node MT. [Para. 148], 10. The moving IAB node MT may perform a random access procedure with the target parent IAB node DU. [Para. 149], 11. The moving IAB node MT transmits an RRC reconfiguration complete message to the target parent IAB node DU. [Para. 158], through the above-described operation, the parent IAB node of the migration target IAB node may be changed to an IAB node controlled by another base station. [Examiner’s Note: Moving IAB node is the distributed node. Handover request to target IAB donor CU results in establishment of moving IAB node to the target parent IAB node DU]), and receive, from the source node and based at least in part on receiving the request, a second message associated with migration of the distributed node from the source node to the target node ([Para. 140] and [FIG. 13], 3. the source IAB donor CU transmits a handover request message to the target IAB donor CU. [Para. 159], an embodiment of transferring radio access cell/backhaul link information associated with an IAB node from a source base station (source IAB donor CU) to a target base station (target IAB donor CU). [Para. 160], the source IAB donor CU may transmit information necessary for changing the parent IAB node of the migration target IAB node to the target IAB donor CU through a handover request message. [Para. 161], The handover request message includes a GUAMI (Globally Unique AMF Identifier), AMF's IP address of the SCTP association (Signaling TNL association address at source NG-C side [Examiner’s Note: The necessary information is the second message. Receiving the second message is based on receiving the request because being in the control message for request, it can not be received if the control message for request is not received]).
Although teach the source node transmitting the second message, Hong does not explicitly disclose wherein the second message identifies forwarding of a first message between a core node and a user equipment (UE) via the distributed node, wherein the first message is a non-access stratum message.
TS38.401 teaches wherein the second message identifies forwarding of a first message between a core node and a user equipment (UE) via the distributed node ([Page 25, Section 8.1 UE Initial Access, and FIG. 8.1-1], Step 5. The UE sends the RRC CONNECTION SETUP COMPLETE message to the gNB-DU. Step 6. The gNB-DU encapsulates the RRC message in the UL RRC MESSAGE TRANSFER message and sends it to the gNB-CU. Step 7. The gNB-CU sends the INITIAL UE MESSAGE to the AMF [Examiner’s Note: The first message is the RRC CONNECTION SETUP COMPLETE message sent from UE, and forwarded to AMF via the distributed node gNB-DU]), wherein the first message is a non-access stratum message (Non-Access Stratum control protocols are used between UE and 5GC (page 13, Section 5.3, Figure 5.3-1).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Hong, so that the UE forwards non-access stratum message to AMF via the DU node, as taught by TS38.401. The modification would have allowed the system to implement overall architecture of the NG-RAN, including interfaces NG, Xn and F1 interfaces (TS38.401 [Page 7, Scope]).
Although teaching sending the first message for UE to setup with AMF, Hong and TS38.401 do not explicitly disclose wherein the second message identifies forwarding of a first message between a core node and a user equipment (UE) via the distributed node.
TS23.501 teaches wherein the second message identifies forwarding of a first message between a core node and a user equipment (UE) via the distributed node ([Page 288, Para. 5.21.1.1 TNL association], 5G-AN node shall have the capability to support multiple TNL associations per AMF. [Page 288, Para. 5.21.1.3 N2 TNL association selection], The 5G-AN node shall consider the following factors for selecting a TNL association for the AMF for the initial N2 message e.g. N2 INITIAL UE MESSAGE).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of TS38.401 and Hong, so that the handover message identifies initial UE message, as taught by TS23.501. The modification would have allowed the system to implement mobility within 5GS as specified by 3GPP Technical Specification (TS23.501 [Page 20, Scope]).
Although teaching identifying the first message to AMF in the second message, TS38.401, Hong and TS23.501 do not explicitly disclose and wherein the second message includes an indication of an amount of elapsed time occurring since the forwarding of the first message.
Peng is directed to providing communication methods and communications apparatuses. More specifically, Peng teaches and wherein the second message includes an indication of an amount of elapsed time occurring since the forwarding of the first message ([Para. 0019], the first message or the second message further includes timestamps, and the timestamps are used to indicate a start time and an end time for the data volume. [Para. 0118], the eNB 01 may send the first message to the core network C after receiving a request from the core network C to report the data volume of the SCG split bearer. the data volume M reported via the first message may be a data volume of the SCG split bearer that is transmitted via the eNB 01 in duration between a previous request of the core network C and the current request [Examiner’s Note: The report from eNB 01 in response to the previous request from the core is the previous message, and the message in response to the current request is the current message. Since the current message includes the timestamps for the start time and end time for the data volume, it indicates the duration between the two response messages, which is the time elapsed since the previous message]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of TS38.401, Hong and TS23.501, so that a message indicates the time elapsed since the previous message, as taught by TS23.501. The modification would have allowed more precise calculation of a data volume in case of bearer splitting (Peng [Para. 0009-0010]).
For claim 9, Hong, TS38.401, TS23.501 and Peng teach the apparatus of Claim 7. The references further teach wherein the request is a handover request (Hong [Para. 104] and [FIG. 13], Step 3. the source IAB donor CU transmits a handover request message to the target IAB donor CU).
For claim 10, Hong, TS38.401, TS23.501 and Peng teach the apparatus of Claim 7. The references further teach wherein the request and the second message are conveyed in a single control message (Hong [Para. 104] and [FIG. 13], Step 3. the source IAB donor CU transmits a handover request message to the target IAB donor CU. Hong [Para. 160], the source IAB donor CU may transmit information necessary for changing the parent IAB node of the migration target IAB node to the target IAB donor CU through a handover request message. Hong [Para. 161], The handover request message includes AMF's IP address of the SCTP association (Signaling TNL association address at source NG-C side)).
For claim 11, Hong, TS38.401, TS23.501 and Peng teach the apparatus of Claim 7. The references further teach wherein the second message includes at least one of: an identifier of the distributed node, an indication of a handover request associated with the distributed node (Hong [Para. 140] and [FIG. 13], 3. the source IAB donor CU transmits a handover request message to the target IAB donor CU. Hong [Para. 148], 10. The moving IAB node MT may perform a random access procedure with the target parent IAB node DU. Hong [Para. 158], through the above-described operation, the parent IAB node of the migration target IAB node may be changed to an IAB node controlled by another base station. [Examiner’s Note: Moving IAB node is the distributed node. Handover request to target IAB donor CU results in establishment of moving IAB node to the target parent IAB node DU]), an indication of a tracking area of a cell served by the distributed node, or an indication of the cell identifier of the cell served by the distributed node.
For claim 12, Hong, TS38.401, TS23.501 and Peng teach the apparatus of Claim 7. The references further teach wherein the second message includes at least one of: an identifier of the core node (Hong [Para. 160], the source IAB donor CU may transmit information necessary for changing the parent IAB node of the migration target IAB node to the target IAB donor CU through a handover request message. Hong [Para. 161], The handover request message includes AMF's IP address of the SCTP association (Signaling TNL association address at source NG-C side), the indication of the amount of elapsed time occurring since the forwarding of the first message, an indication of an amount of elapsed time occurring since signaling associated with the core node, an indication of an occurrence of signaling associated with the core node or another core node, an indication of signaling associated with registration of the UE with the core node, or an indication of a redirection of signaling, associated with the core node, to another node.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hong (WO2021187933A1, hereinafter Hong) in view of 3GPP TS 38.401 (3GPP TS 38.401 version 17.0.0 Release 17, hereinafter TS38.401), 3GPP TS 23.501 (version 17.4.0 Release 17, hereinafter TS23.501) and Peng et al. (US20200008100A1, hereinafter Peng), and further in view of Chen et al. (US20150148062A1, hereinafter Chen).
For claim 8, Hong, TS38.401, TS23.501 and Peng teach the apparatus of claim 7. Although teaching handover of a DU from source donor CU to target donor CU, Hong, TS38.401, TS23.501 and Peng do not explicitly disclose wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: transmit, to the core node, a third message indicating a support for a tracking area associated with a cell of the distributed node.
Chen is directed to providing method and apparatus for configuring mobile relay node tracking area and location update. More specifically, Chen teaches wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: transmit, to the core node, a third message indicating a support for a tracking area associated with a cell of the distributed node ([Para. 0103], the MME of the RN allocates the TAI list to the RN according to the location of the DeNB cell accessed by the RN currently. [Para. 0107], In step 504, when the RN performs handover from the source DeNB to the target DeNB in the process of the RN moving, a handover request message that the source DeNB can send to the target DeNB [Examiner’s Note: Handover request is the second message]. [Para. 0108], In step 505, if the tracking area configured for each cell of the target DeNB does not include the dedicated tracking area configured for a certain cell of the RN, then the DeNB needs to send an S1 signaling, such as, an eNB Configuration Update message, to all MMEs associated with the DeNB, to update the tracking area information configured to the target DeNB [Examiner’s Note: Handover request is the second message. The Configuration Update message from the target DeNB, including dedicated tracking area for RN, is the third message. RN is the distributed node]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Hong, TS38.401, TS23.501 and Peng, so that the target node transmits the message to MME including the tracking area of RN, as taught by Chen. The modification would have allowed the system to avoid that numerous UEs served by the RN trigger the location update simultaneously in the process of the RN moving (Chen [Para. 0008]).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hong (WO2021187933A1, hereinafter Hong) in view of 3GPP TS 38.401 (3GPP TS 38.401 version 17.0.0 Release 17, hereinafter TS38.401), 3GPP TS 23.501 (version 17.4.0 Release 17, hereinafter TS23.501) and Peng et al. (US20200008100A1, hereinafter Peng), and further in view of Diao et al. (US20240381223A1, hereinafter Diao).
For claim 13, Hong, TS38.401, TS23.501 and Peng teach the apparatus of claim 7. The references further teach wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: forward the second message to another target node in connection with a migration of the distributed node and the UE to the other target node (Hong [Para. 161], The handover request message includes a GUAMI (Globally Unique AMF Identifier) and AMF's IP address of the SCTP association (Signaling TNL association address at source NG-C side) [Examiner’s Note: In case the second IAB donor CU accesses the same AMF, the GUAMI and AMF’s IP address on the source side are also the GUAMI and AMF’s IP address for the first target side]).
Although teaching forwarding the second message including AMF’s IP address, Hong, TS38.401, TS23.501 and Peng do not explicitly disclose wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: forward the second message to another target node in connection with a migration of the distributed node and the UE to the other target node.
Diao is directed to providing systems and methods for mobile node inter-cu migration. More specifically, Diao teaches wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: forward the second message to another target node in connection with a migration of the distributed node and the UE to the other target node ([Para. 0073] and [FIG. 5 and 7], a mobile node may migrate to a second donor (e.g., donor-CU 2, IAB-node 2), such as from a first donor (e.g., donor-CU 1, IAB-node 1). Subsequent to the move/migration, the mobile node may further migrate to donor-CU 3 (e.g., IAB-node 3, third donor). The donor-CU 2 may determine/decide to handover/transfer the mobile IAB-MT, [Para. 0074], as described in conjunction with FIG. 7. [Para. 0075], at Step 3, IAB-donor-CU 2 can send an XnAP message to the IAB-donor-CU 3 [Examiner’s Note: The message is the request message for handover]. [Para. 0078], Steps 10-11 may include one or more features or operations similar to Steps 10-11 as described in conjunction with FIG. 7 (random access and RRCReconfigurationComplete). [Examiner’s Note: Based on the teaching by Hong, the handover request may include the GUAMI and AMF's IP address. If CU1 and CU2 are connected to the same AMF, and the handover request includes AMF ID, then the same second message is forwarded to CU3]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Hong, TS38.401, TS23.501 and Peng, so that an IAB node can move from the first target CU to the second target CU, as taught by Diao. The modification would have provided features, functionalities, operations, and/or mechanisms to enable mobile-IAB migration between donor-centralized units (CUs) (Diao [Para. 0048]).
Claims 15 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu et al. (US20250024419A1, hereinafter Zhu) in view of Pan (WO2023131158A1, hereinafter Pan), and further in view of Pham Van et al. (US20220132616A1, hereinafter Pham Van).
For claim 15, Zhu teaches A core node (AMF (see FIG. 5)) for wireless communication, comprising: one or more memories (Memory 1370 (see FIG. 17)); and one or more processors (Processor 1710 (see FIG. 17)), coupled to the one or more memories (see FIG. 17), configured to: configure a registration area for a user equipment (UE) ([Para. 0099], When the UE registers with a network, a core network allocates one UE registration area to each UE. The UE registration area includes a tracking area identity (tracking area identity, TAI) list. When moving to a cell not belonging to the TAI list, the UE actively accesses the network (including the core network), and performs non-access stratum (NAS) registration update. The core network registers a location of the UE, updates the registration area of the UE, and reassigns a TAI list including a TAI to which a cell in which the UE is currently located belongs to the UE [Examiner’s Note: Both registration and registration update configure registration area]), wherein the registration area includes a tracking area supported by a source node ([Para. 0099], When the UE registers with a network, a core network allocates one UE registration area to each UE. The UE registration area includes a tracking area identity (tracking area identity, TAI) list. When moving to a cell not belonging to the TAI list, the UE actively accesses the network (including the core network), and performs non-access stratum (NAS) registration update. The core network registers a location of the UE, updates the registration area of the UE, and reassigns a TAI list including a TAI to which a cell in which the UE is currently located belongs to the UE [Examiners’ note: Reassigning the updated TAI to the UE indicates the UE is configured with a TAI to which a cell in which the UE is currently located before and after moving]. [Para. 0015], the first cell belongs to a source donor node, and the second cell belongs to a target donor node), wherein the tracking area is associated with a cell served by a distributed node ([Para. 0101], When receiving the TAC 1 broadcast by the IAB-DU, a UE located in a coverage area of a cell provided by the IAB-DU may add the TAC 1 to a TAI list of the UE, and notify the core network. [Para. 0102], when an IAB-DU is located in a first cell, the IAB-DU may obtain a first correspondence between a cell provided by the IAB-DU and tracking area information. The first correspondence is related to the first cell. If the cell provided by the IAB-DU includes a third cell, the first correspondence includes a correspondence between the third cell and the tracking area information. Tracking area information broadcast by the IAB-DU in the third cell is tracking area information that has the first correspondence with the third cell [Examiner’s Note: The third cell is within the first cell. The third cell is provided by the DU to which the UE is connected] When migrating from the first cell to a second cell, the IAB-DU node may obtain a second correspondence between the cell provided by the IAB-DU and the tracking area information, where the second correspondence is related to tracking area information of the second cell), wherein the distributed node is configured to migrate from the source node to a target node ([0015], the first cell belongs to a source donor node, and the second cell belongs to a target donor node. [0102], When migrating from the first cell to a second cell, the IAB-DU node may obtain a second correspondence between the cell provided by the IAB-DU and the tracking area information, where the second correspondence is related to tracking area information of the second cell. If the cell provided by the IAB-DU includes a fourth cell, the second correspondence includes a correspondence between the fourth cell and the tracking area information [Examiner’s Note: The second cell belongs to the target node. The fourth cell is within the second cell and provided by the DU after moving]), receive, from a target node, an indication of support for the tracking area ([Para. 0015], the first cell belongs to a source donor node, and the second cell belongs to a target donor node. [Para. 0278] and [FIG. 14], Step 1403: The target donor node sends a handover request acknowledgment (handover request acknowledgement) to the AMF. [Para. 0279], the handover request acknowledgment in step 1403 may directly carry the tracking area code (TAC) corresponding to the second cell, the indication information of the second correspondence [Examiner’s Note: The second cell is associated with the target donor node]. [Para. 0281], the AMF may determine whether the TAC of the cell provided by the IAB-DU needs to be updated. The AMF may compare whether the TAC corresponding to the second cell received in step 1403 is the same as the TAC corresponding to the first cell in step 1401 [Examiner’s Note: TAC corresponding to the second cell is the tracking area supported by the target node. TAC corresponding to the first cell is the tracking area supported by the source node. The TACs are the same indicates that the target supports the tracking area supported by the source node]), and transmit a request that the target node page the UE using the tracking area ([Para. 0102], When paging the UE, the core network may determine the second cell based on the tracking area information that is related to the second cell and that is included in the TAI list of the UE, and page the UE in the second cell, to ensure a success rate of paging the UE).
Although teaching page the UE using the tracking area as noted above, Zhu does not explicitly disclose and transmit a request that the target node page the UE using the tracking area.
Pan is directed to providing communication method, apparatus and system. More specifically, and transmit a request that the target node page the UE using the tracking area. ([Para. 377] and [FIG11], the IAB node registers through the connection established in step S1110, the IAB node sends a registration request message to the IAB AMF, the indication information of the IAB node is used to indicate that the currently registered UE is an IAB node. [Para. 246], It should also be noted that the first TAI set of the IAB node can be understood as the registration area allocated by the network for the IAB node [Examiner’s Note: The registration area for UE is the TAI of the donor IAB1]. [Para. 415], S1220, the donor IAB1 decides to switch the IAB node to the target parent node donor IAB2. [Para. 430], S12100, the donor IAB2 sends the TA location update information to the UE AMF. [Para. 319] and [FIG. 9], S9170, the UE AMF will, according to the corresponding relationship between the UE and the IAB node, clarify that the UE is still in the cell corresponding to the IAB node at this time, and page the UE in the current TA List (TAI set) area of the IAB node. [Para. 320], the UE AMF can obtain the location information of the IAB node. The location information of the IAB node can be the TA List of the IAB node, and page the UE in the corresponding location area. [Para. 322], S9190. The UE AMF sends an N2 paging message to the donor IAB1 corresponding to the IAB node. The N2 paging message is used to page the UE [Examiner’s Note: In the case of FIG. 11, the donor IAB is IAB2 after handover]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Zhu, so that AMF sends message to the target donor IAB to page UE, as taught by Pan. The modification would have prevented UEs from collectively performing TAU under the first device, alleviate signaling storms, reduce signaling overhead, and ensure service continuity of UEs (Pan [Para. 11]).
Although teaching paging the UE using the tracking area, Zhu and Pan do not explicitly disclose and transmit a request that the target node page the UE using the tracking area.
Pham Van is directed to providing methods for handling context information for mobile-terminated early data transmission. More specifically, Pham Van teaches and transmit a request that the target node page the UE using the tracking area ([Para. 0061], the embodiments provide a method for a target (paging) eNB to perform the context fetch procedure directly from a source eNB, after a UE has suspended the connection with the source eNB, [Para. 0074] and [FIG. 2], Step 102: the UE and the source eNB (s_eNB) perform the RRC suspend procedure. [Para. 0075], Step 104. The MME can determine that the paging is suitable for MT EDT and uses the paging message to trigger MT-EDT. [Para. 0076], Step 108: upon receiving the S1 paging message from the MME, the target eNB (t_eNB) sends a paging message to the UE).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Zhu and Pan, so that the MME transmits request message to the target node, and the target node pages the UE, as taught by Van. The modification would have allowed secure and reliable transmissions of MT-EDT DL data with reduced/minimal signaling required between the UE and the network (Pham Van [Para. 0034]).
For claim 19, Zhu, Pan and Pham Van teach the apparatus of claim 15. The references further teach wherein the tracking area is associated with the distributed node providing communication services for the UE or the cell served by the distributed node providing communication services for the UE (Zhu [Para. 0281] and [FIG. 14], the AMF may determine whether the TAC of the cell provided by the IAB-DU needs to be updated. The AMF may compare whether the TAC corresponding to the second cell received in step 1403 is the same as the TAC corresponding to the first cell in step 1401. Zhu [Para. 0279], if the AMF does not perform the process of determining whether the TAC of the cell provided by the IAB-DU needs to be updated, the handover request acknowledgment in step 1403 may directly carry the TAC corresponding to the second cell [Examiner’s Note: In FIG. 14, UE is served by IAB-DU]. Zhu [Para. 0094] and [FIG. 2], The IAB-node may provide a wireless access service for the UE. Zhu [Para. 0121], the cell provided by the IAB-DU may be accessed by an IAB child node, a UE).
Claims 16 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu et al. (US20250024419A1, hereinafter Zhu) in view of Pan (WO2023131158A1, hereinafter Pan), Pham Van et al. (US20220132616A1, hereinafter Pham Van), and further in view of Chen et al. (US20150148062A1, hereinafter Chen).
For claim 16, Zhu, Pan, and Pham Van teach the apparatus of claim 15. Although teaching the tracking area from the target node associated with the source node and paging the UE using the tracking area, the references do not explicitly disclose receive, from the source node and based at least in part on the distributed node migrating to the target node from the source node, an indication that the source node does not support the tracking area.
Chen is directed to providing method and apparatus for configuring mobile relay node tracking area and location update. More specifically, Chen teaches receive, from the source node and based at least in part on the distributed node migrating to the target node from the source node, an indication that the source node does not support the tracking area ([Para. 0107] and [FIG. 10], In step 504, when the RN performs handover from the source DeNB to the target DeNB in the process of the RN moving, a handover request message that the source DeNB can send to the target DeNB carries the tracking area information configured for the RN acting as the base station. [Para. 0108], after the RN finishes the handover, if the tracking area configured to each cell of the source DeNB does not include the dedicated tracking area configured to a certain cell of the RN, then the source DeNB needs to send the eNB Configuration Update message to all MMEs associated with the DeNB, to update the tracking area information configured for the source DeNB recorded by the MME).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Zhu, Pan, and Pham Van, so that source node indicates to MME that the tracking area is no longer supported after handover, as taught by Chen. The modification would have allowed the system to avoid that numerous UEs served by the RN trigger the location update simultaneously in the process of the RN moving (Chen [Para. 0008]).
For claim 18, Zhu, Pan, and Pham Van teach the apparatus of claim 15. The references further teach wherein the one or more processors, to transmit the request that the target node page the UE (Zhu [Para. 0102], When paging the UE, the core network may determine the second cell based on the tracking area information that is related to the second cell and that is included in the TAI list of the UE, and page the UE in the second cell, to ensure a success rate of paging the UE. Pan [Para. 322], S9190. The UE AMF sends an N2 paging message to the donor IAB1 corresponding to the IAB node. The N2 paging message is used to page the UE. Pham Van [Para. 0061], the embodiments provide a method for a target (paging) eNB to perform the context fetch procedure directly from a source eNB, after a UE has suspended the connection with the source eNB, [Para. 0074] and [FIG. 2], Step 102: the UE and the source eNB (s_eNB) perform the RRC suspend procedure. [Para. 0075], Step 104. The MME can determine that the paging is suitable for MT EDT and uses the paging message to trigger MT-EDT. [Para. 0076], Step 108: upon receiving the S1 paging message from the MME (the S1 messaging indicating a MT-EDT), the target eNB (t_eNB) sends a paging message to the UE), are configured to: transmit the request that the target node page the UE based at least in part on receiving an indication from the source node that the source node no longer supports the tracking area (Zhu [Para. 0102], When paging the UE, the core network may determine the second cell based on the tracking area information that is related to the second cell and that is included in the TAI list of the UE, and page the UE in the second cell, to ensure a success rate of paging the UE. Pan [Para. 322], S9190. The UE AMF sends an N2 paging message to the donor IAB1 corresponding to the IAB node. The N2 paging message is used to page the UE. Pham Van [Para. 0061], the embodiments provide a method for a target (paging) eNB to perform the context fetch procedure directly from a source eNB, after a UE has suspended the connection with the source eNB, [Para. 0074] and [FIG. 2], Step 102: the UE and the source eNB (s_eNB) perform the RRC suspend procedure. [Para. 0075], Step 104. The MME can determine that the paging is suitable for MT EDT and uses the paging message to trigger MT-EDT. [Para. 0076], Step 108: upon receiving the S1 paging message from the MME (the S1 messaging indicating a MT-EDT), the target eNB (t_eNB) sends a paging message to the UE).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Zhu and Pham Van, so that AMF sends message to the target donor IAB to page UE, as taught by Pan. The modification would have prevented UEs from collectively performing TAU under the first device, alleviate signaling storms, reduce signaling overhead, and ensure service continuity of UEs (Pan [Para. 11]).
Although teaching receiving the tracking area from the target node associated with the source node and transmitting request that the target node page the UE using the tracking area, Zhu, Pan, and Pham Van do not explicitly disclose are configured to: transmit the request that the target node page the UE based at least in part on receiving an indication from the source node that the source node no longer supports the tracking area.
Chen is directed to providing method and apparatus for configuring mobile relay node tracking area and location update. More specifically, Chen teaches are configured to: transmit the request that the target node page the UE based at least in part on receiving an indication from the source node that the source node no longer supports the tracking area ([Para. 0107] and [FIG. 10], In step 504, when the RN performs handover from the source DeNB to the target DeNB in the process of the RN moving, a handover request message that the source DeNB can send to the target DeNB carries the tracking area information configured for the RN acting as the base station. [Para. 0108], after the RN finishes the handover, if the tracking area configured to each cell of the source DeNB does not include the dedicated tracking area configured to a certain cell of the RN, then the source DeNB needs to send the eNB Configuration Update message to all MMEs associated with the DeNB, to update the tracking area information configured for the source DeNB recorded by the MME, thereby avoiding that the source DeNB receives an unnecessary paging message. [Para. 0113], By this way, later the paging message for paging the UE served by the RN can be routed to the DeNB and the RN).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Zhu, Pan, and Pham Van, so that source node indicates to MME that the tracking area is no longer supported after handover and MME pages the UE based on the indication, as taught by Chen. The modification would have allowed the system to avoid that numerous UEs served by the RN trigger the location update simultaneously in the process of the RN moving (Chen [Para. 0008]).
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu et al. (US20250024419A1, hereinafter Zhu) in view of Pan (WO2023131158A1, hereinafter Pan), Pham Van et al. (US20220132616A1, hereinafter Pham Van), and further in view of Totadamane Ramappa et al. (US20240080790A1, hereinafter Totadamane Ramappa).
For claim 17, Zhu, Pan, and Pham Van teach the apparatus of claim 15. Although teaching receiving the tracking area from the target node associated with the source node and paging the UE using the tracking area, Zhu and Pan do not explicitly disclose wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: release a non-access-stratum connection of the UE based on configuring the registration area for the UE.
Totadamane Ramappa is directed to providing service access restriction enhancements for 5g new radio (nr). More specifically, Totadamane Ramappa teaches wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: release a non-access-stratum connection of the UE based on configuring the registration area for the UE ([Para. 0093], receiving from a network a registration accept message indicating a current registration area is provided as part of non-allowed area; and upon evaluation that pending signaling procedures or data sessions cannot be initiated due to service area restrictions, releasing an N1 NAS signaling connection after the registration procedure is complete).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Zhu, Pan, and Pham Van, so that the NAS connection is released when registration area includes restricted area for the service, as taught by Totadamane Ramappa. The modification would have addressed the ambiguity in substate selection and related issues in 5GMM protocol (Totadamane Ramappa [Para. 0049]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/S.L./Examiner, Art Unit 2417
/REBECCA E SONG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2417