DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 8,437,086 (Du) in view of US 2015/0293301 (Huang).
For claim 1, Du teaches an optical module (fig. 3A-3C), comprising:
a stepped structure that includes a plurality of steps (fig. 3A-3C, 10, col. 5, l.13-14);
a plurality of laser diodes (fig. 3A-3C, 20, col. 5, l. 9-12);
a plurality of fast axis collimators (FACs) (fig. 3A-3C, 14, col. 6, l. 5-6);
a transform lens (fig. 3A-3C, 88, col. 7, l. 49-50);
wherein:
each step, of the plurality of steps of the stepped structure, is associated with a particular distance, in a lateral direction, from the transform lens that is different than respective distances of other steps of the plurality of steps (fig. 3B,distance between lens 88 and lasers 20d, 20e and 20f in the x direction on the 3 stepped surfaces of 13 88, col. 7, l. 49-50),
each laser diode, of the plurality of laser diodes, is disposed on a particular step, of the plurality of steps, that is different than the other steps of the stepped structure on which other laser diodes are disposed (fig. 3A-3B; col. 5, l. 13-20; each laser diode 20 is disposed on one of the three stepped surfaces different from other stepped surfaces with other laser diodes),
each FAC, of the plurality of FACs, is disposed between a corresponding laser diode, of the plurality of laser diodes, and the transform lens (fig. 3B, a FAC 14 between each laser 20 and lens 83),
the plurality of laser diodes are configured to emit a plurality of laser beams to the plurality of FACs (fig. 3A, col. 6, l. 4-7),
the transform lens is configured to receive the plurality of laser beams from the plurality of FACs (fig. 3; combined beam 83 received lens 88; col. 7, l. 46-51).
Du does not teach a grating; and
an output coupler (OC), wherein
the transform lens is configured to direct the plurality of laser beams to the grating,
the grating is configured to receive the plurality of laser beams from the transform lens, to combine the plurality of laser beams into a single laser beam, and to direct the single laser beam to the OC, and
the OC is configured to receive the single laser beam from the grating and to direct a portion of the of the single laser beam out of the optical module.
However, Huang teaches an optical module (fig. 1C) comprising: broad area emitters (fig. 1C, 102) stacked in the fast axis direction (fig. 1C, 112[0041] and [0042]);
a transform lens (fig. 1C, 108, [0041]);
a grating (fig. 1C, 114, [0041]); and
an output coupler (OC) (fig. 1, 116, [0041]), wherein
the transform lens is configured to direct the plurality of laser beams to the grating (fig. 1C),
the grating is configured to receive the plurality of laser beams from the transform lens, to combine the plurality of laser beams into a single laser beam, and to direct the single laser beam to the OC (fig. 1C, [0041], [0044]), and
the OC is configured to receive the single laser beam from the grating and to direct a portion of the of the single laser beam out of the optical module (fig. 1C, 116, [0041]) in order to provide a high power and high brightness light source ([0038]) and stabilized wavelengths ([0004]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the transform lens, grating, and output coupler configuration of Huang with the device of Du in order to provide a high power and high brightness light source and stabilized wavelengths.
For claim 2, Du teaches the stepped structure is configured to thermally conduct heat away from the plurality of laser diodes (col. 5, l. 25).
For claim 3, Du teaches each step, of the plurality of steps of the stepped structure, is associated with a particular height that is different than respective heights of the other steps of the plurality of steps (fig. 3B).
For claim 4, Du teaches the plurality of laser diodes are broad area laser diodes (col. 5, l. 9-12, 46).
For claim 5, Du teaches each laser diode, of the plurality of laser diodes, is configured to emit a laser beam that is associated with a particular wavelength, which is different than respective wavelengths of laser beams emitted by other laser diodes of the plurality of laser diodes (col. 11, l. 31-32).
Huang also teaches each laser diode, of the plurality of laser diodes, is configured to emit a laser beam that is associated with a particular wavelength, which is different than respective wavelengths of laser beams emitted by other laser diodes of the plurality of laser diodes ([0039]).
For claim 6, Huang teaches the transform lens is a Fourier transform lens that is configured to converge the plurality of laser beams on the grating (fig. 1C, lens 108 converges beams at grating 114, [0041], [0044]).
For claim 7, the transform lens of the combination inherently has a focal length. Huang teaches the lens and grating are configured such that beams overlap at the grating (fig. 1C, lens 108 converges beams at grating 114, [0041], [0044]) but does not explicitly state the grating is positioned at a distance from the transform lens that is equal to the focal length.
However, the examiner takes official notice that using a lens to focus, i.e. overlap, beams at the focal length of the lens was well-known in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to position the grating at the focal length of the lens in the previous combination in order to overlap the beams as was well-known in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
For claim 8, Huang teaches the OC is configured to reflect another portion of the single laser beam back to the plurality of laser diodes to cause the plurality of laser diodes to be wavelength-locked ([0004] and [00041]).
For claim 9, Huang teaches each laser diode, of the plurality of laser diodes, is wavelength-locked at a particular wavelength that is different than respective wavelengths at which other laser diodes, of the plurality of laser diodes, are wavelength-locked ([0039]).
For claim 10, Du teaches the plurality of laser diodes are configured as multiple columns (fig. 3A, columns of diodes 20 in the z direction).
For claim 11, Du teaches an optical module (fig. 3A-3C), comprising:
a stepped structure that includes a plurality of steps (fig. 3A-3C, 10, col. 5, l.13-14);
a plurality of laser diodes (fig. 3A-3C, 20, col. 5, l. 9-12);
a transform lens (fig. 3A-3C, 88, col. 7, l. 49-50);
wherein:
at least one laser diode, of the plurality of laser diodes, is disposed on each step of the plurality of steps of the stepped structure (fig. 3B; 20a,d on top step, 20b,e on middle step, 20c,f on bottom step; col 5, l. 13-20),
the transform lens is configured to receive a plurality of laser beams emitted by the plurality of laser diodes (fig. 3; combined beam 83 received lens 88; col. 7, l. 46-51).
Du does not teach a grating; and
an output coupler (OC), wherein
the transform lens is configured to direct the plurality of laser beams to the grating,
the grating is configured to receive the plurality of laser beams from the transform lens, to combine the plurality of laser beams into a single laser beam, and to direct the single laser beam to the OC, and
the OC is configured to receive the single laser beam from the grating and to direct a portion of the of the single laser beam out of the optical module.
However, Huang teaches an optical module (fig. 1C) comprising: broad area emitters (fig. 1C, 102) stacked in the fast axis direction (fig. 1C, 112[0041] and [0042]);
a transform lens (fig. 1C, 108, [0041]);
a grating (fig. 1C, 114, [0041]); and
an output coupler (OC) (fig. 1, 116, [0041]), wherein
the transform lens is configured to direct the plurality of laser beams to the grating (fig. 1C),
the grating is configured to receive the plurality of laser beams from the transform lens, to combine the plurality of laser beams into a single laser beam, and to direct the single laser beam to the OC (fig. 1C, [0041], [0044]), and
the OC is configured to receive the single laser beam from the grating and to direct a portion of the of the single laser beam out of the optical module (fig. 1C, 116, [0041]) in order to provide a high power and high brightness light source ([0038]) and stabilized wavelengths ([0004]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the transform lens, grating, and output coupler configuration of Huang with the device of Du in order to provide a high power and high brightness light source and stabilized wavelengths.
For claim 12, Du teaches the stepped structure is a heatsink (col. 5, l. 25).
For claim 13, Du teaches each step, of the plurality of steps of the stepped structure, is associated with a particular distance, in a lateral direction, from the transform lens that is different than respective distances of other steps of the plurality of steps (fig. 3A and 3B, x direction).
For claim 14, Du teaches the plurality of laser diodes are broad area laser diodes (col. 5, l. 9-12, 46).
For claim 15, the transform lens of the combination inherently has a focal length. Huang teaches the lens and grating are configured such that beams overlap at the grating (fig. 1C, lens 108 converges beams at grating 114, [0041], [0044]) but does not explicitly state the grating is positioned at a distance from the transform lens that is equal to the focal length.
However, the examiner takes official notice that using a lens to focus, i.e. overlap, beams at the focal length of the lens was well-known in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to position the grating at the focal length of the lens in the previous combination in order to overlap the beams as was well-known in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
For claim 16, Du teaches an optical module (fig. 3A-3C), comprising:
a stepped structure that includes a plurality of steps (fig. 3A-3C, 10, col. 5, l.13-14);
a plurality of broad area laser diodes (BALs) (fig. 3A-3C, 20, col. 5, l. 9-12, 46);
a transform lens (fig. 3A-3C, 88, col. 7, l. 49-50); and
wherein:
each step, of the plurality of steps of the stepped structure, is associated with a particular distance, in a lateral direction, from the transform lens that is different than respective distances of other steps of the plurality of steps (fig. 3B,distance between lens 88 and lasers 20d, 20e and 20f in the x direction on the 3 stepped surfaces of 13 88, col. 7, l. 49-50),
each BAL, of the plurality of BALs, is disposed on a particular step, of the plurality of steps, that is different than other steps of the stepped structure on which other laser diodes are disposed (fig. 3A-3B; col. 5, l. 13-20; each laser diode 20 is disposed on one of the three stepped surfaces different from other stepped surfaces with other laser diodes),
the transform lens is configured to receive a plurality of laser beams emitted from the plurality of BALs (fig. 3; combined beam 83 received lens 88; col. 7, l. 46-51).
Du does not teach a grating;
wherein
the transform lens is configured to direct the plurality of laser beams to the grating,
the grating is configured to receive the plurality of laser beams from the transform lens, to combine the plurality of laser beams into a single laser beam.
However, Huang teaches an optical module (fig. 1C) comprising: broad area emitters (fig. 1C, 102) stacked in the fast axis direction (fig. 1C, 112[0041] and [0042]);
a transform lens (fig. 1C, 108, [0041]);
a grating (fig. 1C, 114, [0041]); and
wherein
the transform lens is configured to direct the plurality of laser beams to the grating (fig. 1C),
the grating is configured to receive the plurality of laser beams from the transform lens, to combine the plurality of laser beams into a single laser beam, (fig. 1C, [0041], [0044]), in order to provide a high power and high brightness light source ([0038], [0041]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the transform lens and grating configuration of Huang with the device of Du in order to provide a high power and high brightness light source.
For claim 17, the transform lens of the combination inherently has a focal length. Huang teaches the lens and grating are configured such that beams overlap at the grating (fig. 1C, lens 108 converges beams at grating 114, [0041], [0044]) but does not explicitly state the grating is positioned at a distance from the transform lens that is equal to the focal length.
However, the examiner takes official notice that using a lens to focus, i.e. overlap, beams at the focal length of the lens was well-known in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to position the grating at the focal length of the lens in the previous combination in order to overlap the beams as was well-known in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
For claim 18, Du teaches the plurality of BALs are configured as multiple columns (fig. 3A, columns of diodes 20 in the z direction).
For claim 19, Du teaches the plurality BALs are configured to emit the plurality of laser beams to the transform lens and hence the grating of the combination, wherein a length of an optical path of each laser beam, of the plurality of laser beams, to the transform lens and hence the grating of the combination is different than optical path lengths to the transform lens and hence the grating of the combination of other laser beams of the plurality of laser beams (fig. 3A).
For claim 20, Du teaches the stepped structure is configured to thermally conduct heat away from the plurality of BALs (col. 5, l. 25).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 2009/02455315 teaches lasers on a stepped structure. US 2010/0110556 teaches WBC along the fast axis.
/Michael Carter/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2828