DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This Office Action is in response to the remarks and amendments filed on 8/22/2025. Claims 1-20 are pending for consideration in this Office Action.
Response to Amendment
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 5/23/2025 was filed after the mailing date of the application. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claim 20, the recitation of “…A non-transitory, computer-readable medium comprising instructions that, when executed by one or more processors of a system for reducing virus transmission in a space, cause the one or more processors to: provide a minimum humidity ratio threshold at which transmission of a particular virus is decreased; determine a humidity ratio of an enclosed space suitable for receiving a living being; and in response to determining that the humidity ratio is less than the minimum humidity ratio threshold, increase the humidity ratio until the humidity ratio in the enclosed space is at least equal to the minimum humidity ratio threshold,” renders the claim unclear.
For example, the claim purports to have a system for reducing virus transmission. However, pursuant to MPEP 2173.05(g), the use of functional language in a claim may fail "to provide a clear-cut indication of the scope of the subject matter embraced by the claim" and thus be indefinite.
In this instance, the claim recites minimal structure, none of which can reduce virus transmission.
For example, when claims merely recite a description of a problem to be solved or a function or result achieved by the invention, the boundaries of the claim scope may be unclear without reciting the particular structure, materials or steps that accomplish the function or achieve the result
In this instance, the claim does not recite the particular structure, materials or steps that accomplish the function of “reducing virus transmission”.
Thus, one skilled in the art would not necessarily have the ability to ascertain the metes and bounds of the particular claim limitation.
Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 7, 8, 10, 11, 18, 19 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Onghanseng et al. (US2023/0243797) in view of Brahme et al. (US2019/0301762) and DeGennaro et al. (US2022/0296758).
Regarding Claim 1, Onghanseng teaches a method for reducing virus transmission in a space [claim 4], comprising:
providing a minimum humidity ratio threshold at which transmission of a particular virus is decreased [0045; where Onghanseng teaches a relative humidity set point and a temperature set point];
determining a humidity ratio of an enclosed space suitable for receiving a living being [0042-0045; claim 7; where a user comfort zone is disclosed and where Onghanseng teaches a relative humidity set point and a temperature set point]; and
in response to determining that the humidity ratio is less than the minimum humidity ratio threshold, increasing the humidity ratio until the humidity ratio in the enclosed space is at least equal to the minimum humidity ratio threshold [0042-0045; 0063; 0064; claim 7; where Onghanseng teaches a relative humidity set point and a temperature set point].
Whereas Onghanseng teaches a relative humidity set point and a temperature set point, Onghanseng does not explicitly teach a humidity ratio;
Onghanseng does not explicitly teach wherein after the humidity ratio is at least equal to the minimum humidity ratio threshold, maintaining the humidity ratio of the enclosed space at or above the minimum humidity ratio threshold for a predetermined amount of time based on the half-life of a virus.
However, Brahme teaches an HVAC system [0001] having where a controller [200] may calculate a humidity ratio set point based on the temperature set point and the relative humidity set point [0045] and also teaches that the humidity ratio can be sensed using humidity sensor [203; 0026] where one of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the method as disclosed by known techniques and that in combination, each method step would provide the same function as it did separately and one of ordinary skills would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable i.e. provides a more simplified control structure and parameter.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the method of Onghanseng to have wherein a humidity ratio set point can be determined by the temperature set point and the relative humidity set point in view of the teachings of Brahme where the method could have been combined by known techniques with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results i.e. provide a more simplified control structure and parameter.
Also, DeGennaro teaches a decontamination unit that eliminates or remove viruses, bacteria or the like [0003] wherein after the humidity ratio is at least equal to the minimum humidity ratio threshold, maintaining the humidity ratio of the enclosed space at or above the minimum humidity ratio threshold for a predetermined amount of time based on the half-life of a virus [Abstract; 0010-0012; 0053; 0054; 0059-0063] where one of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the method as disclosed by known techniques and that in combination, each method step would provide the same function as it did separately and one of ordinary skills would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable i.e. provides a more cost efficient method and/or structure for the removal of viruses [0003; 0004].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the method of Onghanseng to have wherein after the humidity ratio is at least equal to the minimum humidity ratio threshold, maintaining the humidity ratio of the enclosed space at or above the minimum humidity ratio threshold for a predetermined amount of time based on the half-life of a virus in view of the teachings of DeGennaro where the method could have been combined by known techniques with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results i.e. provides a more cost efficient method and/or structure for the removal of viruses.
Regarding Claim 2, Onghanseng, as modified, teaches the invention of claim 1 above and Onghanseng teaches wherein the minimum humidity ratio threshold comprises a minimum humidity ratio at which a half-life of a virus is decreased 0045].
Regarding Claim 3, Onghanseng, as modified, teaches the invention of claim 1 above and Onghanseng teaches wherein the minimum humidity ratio threshold is within a comfort zone [0044; 0045].
Regarding Claim 5, Onghanseng, as modified, teaches the invention of claim 1 above and Onghanseng teaches wherein the virus is influenza A and/or SARS-CoV-2 [0043].
Regarding Claim 7, Onghanseng, as modified, teaches the invention of claim 1 above and Brahme teaches wherein determining the humidity ratio comprises detecting the humidity ratio with a sensor [203; 0026; 0045].
Regarding Claim 8, Onghanseng, as modified, teaches the invention of claim 1 above and Brahme teaches wherein determining the humidity ratio comprises: detecting at least two of the following metrics: a dry-bulb temperature of the space, a wet-bulb temperature of the space, an absolute humidity of the space, a relative humidity of the space, an air pressure of the space, a vapor pressure of the space, a volume of air in the space, and an enthalpy of the air in the space; and calculating the humidity ratio based on the at least two detected metrics [0026; 0045].
Regarding Claim 10, Onghanseng, as modified, teaches the invention of claim 1 above and Onghanseng teaches wherein the enclosed space comprises a room [0016].
Regarding Claim 11, Onghanseng, as modified, teaches the invention of claim 1 above and Onghanseng teaches wherein increasing the humidity ratio comprises at least one of: operating a humidifier; disabling a dehumidifier; introducing air outside the space into the space; maintaining a temperature of a coil above a dew point of the space; and disabling a compressor [0063; 0064; disabling dehumidifier].
Regarding Claim 18, Onghanseng, as modified, teaches the invention of claim 1 above and Onghanseng teaches decreasing, after determining the humidity ratio is greater than a maximum humidity ratio threshold, the humidity ratio [0063; 0064].
Regarding Claim 19, as best understood, Onghanseng teaches a system for reducing virus transmission in a space [fug 2], comprising:
one or more sensors [40; 0039; 0040];
a controller [65] electrically coupled to the one or more sensors [40], wherein the controller is configured to: provide a minimum humidity ratio threshold at which transmission of a particular virus is decreased [0042-0045; claim 7];
determine a humidity ratio of an enclosed space suitable for receiving a living being [0042-0045; claim 7]; and
in response to determining that the humidity ratio is less than the minimum humidity ratio threshold, increase the humidity ratio until the humidity ratio in the enclosed space is at least equal to the minimum humidity ratio threshold [0042-0045; 0063; 0064; claim 7].
Whereas Onghanseng teaches a relative humidity set point and a temperature set point, Onghanseng does not explicitly teach a humidity ratio. However, Brahme teaches an HVAC system [0001] having where a controller [200] may calculate a humidity ratio set point based on the temperature set point and the relative humidity set point [0045] and also teaches that the humidity ratio can be sensed using humidity sensor [203; 0026] where one of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the method as disclosed by known techniques and that in combination, each method step would provide the same function as it did separately and one of ordinary skills would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable i.e. provides a more simplified control structure and parameter.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the method of Onghanseng to have wherein a humidity ratio set point can be determined by the temperature set point and the relative humidity set point in view of the teachings of Brahme where the method could have been combined by known techniques with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results i.e. provide a more simplified control structure and parameter.
Also, DeGennaro teaches a decontamination unit that eliminates or remove viruses, bacteria or the like [0003] wherein after the humidity ratio is at least equal to the minimum humidity ratio threshold, maintaining the humidity ratio of the enclosed space at or above the minimum humidity ratio threshold for a predetermined amount of time based on the half-life of a virus [Abstract; 0010-0012; 0053; 0054; 0059-0063] where one of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the method as disclosed by known techniques and that in combination, each method step would provide the same function as it did separately and one of ordinary skills would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable i.e. provides a more cost efficient method and/or structure for the removal of viruses [0003; 0004].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the method of Onghanseng to have wherein after the humidity ratio is at least equal to the minimum humidity ratio threshold, maintaining the humidity ratio of the enclosed space at or above the minimum humidity ratio threshold for a predetermined amount of time based on the half-life of a virus in view of the teachings of DeGennaro where the method could have been combined by known techniques with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results i.e. provides a more cost efficient method and/or structure for the removal of viruses.
Regarding Claim 20, as best understood, Onghanseng teaches a non-transitory, computer-readable medium comprising instructions that, when executed by one or more processors of a system for reducing virus transmission in a space [implicitly at control system 65; see also the function at 0056; fig 3],
cause the one or more processors to: provide a minimum humidity ratio threshold at which transmission of a particular virus is decreased [0042-0045; claim 7];
determine a humidity ratio of an enclosed space suitable for receiving a living being [0042-0045; claim 7]; and
in response to determining that the humidity ratio is less than the minimum humidity ratio threshold, increase the humidity ratio until the humidity ratio in the enclosed space is at least equal to the minimum humidity ratio threshold [0042-0045; 0063; 0064; claim 7].
Whereas Onghanseng teaches a relative humidity set point and a temperature set point, Onghanseng does not explicitly teach a humidity ratio. However, Brahme teaches an HVAC system [0001] having where a controller [200] may calculate a humidity ratio set point based on the temperature set point and the relative humidity set point [0045] and also teaches that the humidity ratio can be sensed using humidity sensor [203; 0026] where one of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the method as disclosed by known techniques and that in combination, each method step would provide the same function as it did separately and one of ordinary skills would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable i.e. provides a more simplified control structure and parameter.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the method of Onghanseng to have wherein a humidity ratio set point can be determined by the temperature set point and the relative humidity set point in view of the teachings of Brahme where the method could have been combined by known techniques with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results i.e. provide a more simplified control structure and parameter.
Also, DeGennaro teaches a decontamination unit that eliminates or remove viruses, bacteria or the like [0003] wherein after the humidity ratio is at least equal to the minimum humidity ratio threshold, maintaining the humidity ratio of the enclosed space at or above the minimum humidity ratio threshold for a predetermined amount of time based on the half-life of a virus [Abstract; 0010-0012; 0053; 0054; 0059-0063] where one of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the method as disclosed by known techniques and that in combination, each method step would provide the same function as it did separately and one of ordinary skills would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable i.e. provides a more cost efficient method and/or structure for the removal of viruses [0003; 0004].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the method of Onghanseng to have wherein after the humidity ratio is at least equal to the minimum humidity ratio threshold, maintaining the humidity ratio of the enclosed space at or above the minimum humidity ratio threshold for a predetermined amount of time based on the half-life of a virus in view of the teachings of DeGennaro where the method could have been combined by known techniques with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results i.e. provides a more cost efficient method and/or structure for the removal of viruses.
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Onghanseng et al. (US2023/0243797), Brahme et al. (US2019/0301762) and DeGennaro et al. (US2022/0296758) as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of Holger (US2012/0089257).
Regarding Claim 4, Onghanseng, as modified, teaches the invention of claim 3 above but does not teach wherein the comfort zone comprises one of: an ASHRAE Standard 55 comfort zone; an EN 15251 comfort zone; or a Givoni-Milne Bioclimatic Chart comfort zone.
However, Holger teaches a cooling/heating system [0002] having wherein the comfort zone comprises one of: an ASHRAE Standard 55 comfort zone; an EN 15251 comfort zone; or a Givoni-Milne Bioclimatic Chart comfort zone [0015] where one of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the method as disclosed by known techniques and that in combination, each method step would provide the same function as it did separately and one of ordinary skills would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable i.e. provides a standard for determining user comfort and thereby make the system more flexible.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the method of Onghanseng to have wherein the comfort zone comprises one of: an ASHRAE Standard 55 comfort zone; an EN 15251 comfort zone; or a Givoni-Milne Bioclimatic Chart comfort zone in view of the teachings of Holger where the method could have been combined by known techniques with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results i.e. provides a standard for determining user comfort and thereby make the system more flexible.
Claim(s) 6, 9 and 13-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Onghanseng et al. (US2023/0243797), Brahme et al. (US2019/0301762) and DeGennaro et al. (US2022/0296758) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Nakaguro (US2010/0230503).
Regarding Claim 6, Onghanseng, as modified, teaches the invention of claim 1 above but does not teach wherein the minimum humidity ratio threshold is 0.01 lb/lb.
However, Nakaguro teaches a method of preventing dispersal of viruses in a vehicle interior [0018] where a humidity threshold is set to .009 lb/lb in order to set the humidity threshold to an optimal value [0047]. Thus, the minimum humidity ratio threshold is 0.01 lb/lb is recognized as a result-effective variable, i.e. a variable which achieves a recognized result. In this case, the recognized result is obtaining an optimal humidity ratio.
Therefore, since the general condition of the claim is disclosed by the prior art reference, it is not inventive to discover the optimum workable range by routine experimentation, and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide wherein the minimum humidity ratio threshold is 0.01 lb/lb.
Regarding Claim 9, Onghanseng, as modified, teaches the invention of claim 1 above but does not teach wherein the enclosed space comprises an interior of a vehicle.
However, Nakaguro teaches a method of preventing dispersal of viruses [0018] where the enclosed space comprises an interior of a vehicle [0018; 0047] where one of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the method as disclosed by known techniques and that in combination, each method step would provide the same function as it did separately and one of ordinary skills would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable i.e. provides a more flexible system.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the method of Onghanseng to have wherein the enclosed space comprises an interior of a vehicle in view of the teachings of Nakaguro where the method could have been combined by known techniques with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results i.e. provides a more flexible system.
Regarding Claim 13, Onghanseng, as modified, teaches the invention of claim 1 above but does not teach maintaining, after determining that the humidity ratio is at least equal to the minimum humidity ratio threshold, the humidity ratio.
However, Nakaguro teaches a method of preventing dispersal of viruses [0018] that maintains, after determining that the humidity ratio is at least equal to the minimum humidity ratio threshold, the humidity ratio [0046-0048; 0063; where a dehumidification pattern Pb is utilized to maintain humidity within an optimal zone] where one of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the method as disclosed by known techniques and that in combination, each method step would provide the same function as it did separately and one of ordinary skills would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable i.e. provides a system that increases user comfort [0022].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the method of Onghanseng to maintain, after determining that the humidity ratio is at least equal to the minimum humidity ratio threshold, the humidity ratio in view of the teachings of Nakaguro where the method could have been combined by known techniques with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results i.e. provides a system that increases user comfort.
Regarding Claim 14, Onghanseng, as modified, teaches the invention of claim 1 above but does not teach maintaining, after determining the humidity ratio is at least equal to a maximum humidity ratio threshold, the humidity ratio between the minimum humidity ratio threshold and the maximum humidity ratio threshold.
However, Nakaguro teaches a method of preventing dispersal of viruses [0018] that maintains, after determining the humidity ratio is at least equal to a maximum humidity ratio threshold, the humidity ratio between the minimum humidity ratio threshold and the maximum humidity ratio threshold [0046-0048; 0063; where a dehumidification pattern Pb is utilized to maintain humidity within an optimal zone] where one of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the method as disclosed by known techniques and that in combination, each method step would provide the same function as it did separately and one of ordinary skills would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable i.e. provides a system that increases user comfort [0022].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the method of Onghanseng to maintain, after determining the humidity ratio is at least equal to a maximum humidity ratio threshold, the humidity ratio between the minimum humidity ratio threshold and the maximum humidity ratio threshold in view of the teachings of Nakaguro where the method could have been combined by known techniques with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results i.e. provides a system that increases user comfort.
Regarding Claim 15, Onghanseng, as modified, teaches the invention of claim 14 above and Nakaguro teaches wherein the maximum humidity ratio threshold is within a comfort zone [0046-0048; 0063; where a dehumidification pattern Pb is utilized to maintain humidity within an optimal zone].
Regarding Claim 16, Onghanseng, as modified, teaches the invention of claim 14 above and Nakaguro teaches wherein maintaining the humidity ratio comprises maintaining the humidity ratio for a predetermined amount of time [0083; 0084].
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Onghanseng et al. (US2023/0243797), Brahme et al. (US2019/0301762) and DeGennaro et al. (US2022/0296758) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Matsumoto et al. (US2021/0072713).
Regarding Claim 12, Onghanseng, as modified, teaches the invention of claim 1 above but does not teach before increasing the humidity ratio, detecting a living being entering the space.
However, Matsumoto teaches a droplet range control system [0001; 0002] that before increasing the humidity ratio, detecting a living being entering the space [0036; 0037; 0054; 0172; fig 17] where one of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the method as disclosed by known techniques and that in combination, each method step would provide the same function as it did separately and one of ordinary skills would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable i.e. provides a system whereby virus infection can be efficiently suppressed [0055].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the method of Onghanseng to have before increasing the humidity ratio, detecting a living being entering the space in view of the teachings of Matsumoto where the method could have been combined by known techniques with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results i.e. provides a system whereby virus infection can be efficiently suppressed.
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Onghanseng et al. (US2023/0243797), Brahme et al. (US2019/0301762), DeGennaro et al. (US2022/0296758) and Nakaguro (US2010/0230503) as applied to claim 16 above, and further in view of Georges et al. (WO2022078745A1).
Regarding Claim 17, Onghanseng, as modified, teaches the invention of claim 16 above but does not teach wherein the predetermined amount of time is based on a half-life of a virus at the minimum humidity ratio threshold.
However, Georges teaches a vehicle decontamination system [0001] wherein the predetermined amount of time is based on a half-life of a virus at the minimum humidity ratio threshold [0004; 0016; 0025] where one of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the method as disclosed by known techniques and that in combination, each method step would provide the same function as it did separately and one of ordinary skills would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable i.e. provides a system that decontaminate the passenger compartment of the vehicle [0011].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the method of Onghanseng to have wherein the predetermined amount of time is based on a half-life of a virus at the minimum humidity ratio threshold in view of the teachings of Georges where the method could have been combined by known techniques with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results i.e. provides a system that decontaminate the passenger compartment of the vehicle.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments or assertions with respect to claim(s) 1, 19 and 20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LARRY L FURDGE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763