Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55..
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 3 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 recites, “The storage battery connection module according to claim 1, wherein the base plate is constituted by a plurality of insulating plates which are integrated,
each of the plates of the base plate is provided with a respective one of the first connection terminals,
the storage battery connection module includes a plurality of connection units, each of the connection units includes a respective one of the plates of the base plate and a respective one of the first connection terminals such that each of “
It is unclear if the base plate is constituted of integrated insulating plates how each plate can possess a first connection terminal, and it is unclear what structure the connection unit includes between the base plate and the first connection terminal. Therefore the claim is indefinite.
Claims 4, 5, and 8 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 4 recites, “ The storage battery connection module according to claim 1, further comprising: a plurality of bypass lines, each of the bypass lines is provided on the base plate for a respective one of the storage batteries, and each of the bypass lines bypassing the first connection terminal connected to the positive electrode terminal and the first connection terminal connected to the negative electrode terminal of the respective storage battery; a plurality of first switches, each provided on the bypass line for each of the storage batteries and configured to block or conduct the bypass line; a plurality of second switches each provided on the second power line, each of the second switches being bypassed by the bypass line together with the respective one of the storage batteries and configured to block or conduct the second power line; and a first signal line configured to transmit a control signal for controlling a respective one of the first switches and a respective one of the second switches and wired on the base plate.” It is unclear how the first connection terminal can be both connected to the positive and negative electrode terminals without creating a short circuit, and for this reason is indefinite. The purpose of examination it will be read as “bypass lines bypassing the first connection terminal connected to the positive electrode terminal OR the first connection terminal connected to the negative electrode terminal of the respective storage battery”
Claims 9, and 11 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 9 recites the limitation " each of the third connection units " in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purpose of examination it will be read, " each of the third connection terminals "
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Ichikawa et al. (US2020/0020918A1).
As to claim 1, Ichikawa discloses a storage battery connection module (Bus bar module of battery assembly, [0008]-[1]) in which a plurality of storage batteries (battery assembly (1) fig. 2) are connected in series [0050], the storage battery connection module comprising:
a base plate (Main line (21) of circuit body (20)) constituted by a plurality of insulating plates which are integrated (Resin layer (201) made of polyimide [0073] fig. 11B);
a plurality of first connection terminals provided on the base plate (Electrodes 4 and 5 connected by electrode holes (253) of bus bar (25) [0064] fig. 3);
a plurality of first power lines, each of the first power lines connects a respective one of the first connection terminals to a positive electrode terminal or a negative electrode terminal of a respective one of the storage batteries (Busbar (25) [0064] fig. 3);
and a second power line provided on the base plate and connecting the plurality of first connection terminals in series (Branch portion (23) [0067] fig. 5a).
As to claim 13, Ichikawa discloses a power storage system (Battery assembly [0007]) comprising:
a plurality of storage batteries (single cells(2) [0049] fig.2); and
a storage battery connection module (Bus bar module of battery assembly, [0008]-[1]) in which a plurality of storage batteries (battery assembly (1) fig. 2) are connected in series [0050], the storage battery connection module comprising:
a base plate (Main line (21) of circuit body (20)) constituted by a plurality of insulating plates which are integrated (Resin layer (201) made of polyimide [0073] fig. 11B);
a plurality of first connection terminals provided on the base plate (Electrodes 4 and 5 connected by electrode holes (253) of bus bar (25) [0064] fig. 3);
a plurality of first power lines, each of the first power lines connects a respective one of the first connection terminals to a positive electrode terminal or a negative electrode terminal of a respective one of the storage batteries (Busbar (25) [0064] fig. 3);
and a second power line provided on the base plate and connecting the plurality of first connection terminals in series (Branch portion (23) [0067] fig. 5a).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ichikawa et al. (US2020/0020918A1) in view of Komori et al. (US2003/0008201A1).
As to claim 2, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated, Ichikawa does not explicitly disclose the storage battery is recycled, however in the same field of endeavor Komori discloses a battery pack [Abstract] and teaches a cell of a battery pack may be renewed after being degraded by adding electrolyte and replacing the cell back into the battery pack renewing the cell at low cost [Abstract].
Therefore, it would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was effectively filed to modify Ichikawa with the recycled cells as taught by Komori to achieve lost cost in renewing the battery pack performance.
Claim(s) 4, 5, 8, 9, 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ichikawa et al. (US2020/0020918A1) in view of Vance et al. (US2012/0091964A1).
As to claim 4, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated, Ichikawa does not explicitly disclose a storage battery connection module comprising: a plurality of bypass lines, each of the bypass lines is provided on the base plate for a respective one of the storage batteries, and each of the bypass lines bypassing the first connection terminal connected to the positive electrode terminal and the first connection terminal connected to the negative electrode terminal of the respective storage battery;
a plurality of first switches, each provided on the bypass line for each of the storage batteries and configured to block or conduct the bypass line;
a plurality of second switches each provided on the second power line, each of the second switches being bypassed by the bypass line together with the respective one of the storage batteries and configured to block or conduct the second power line; and
a first signal line configured to transmit a control signal for controlling a respective one of the first switches and a respective one of the second switches and wired on the base plate.
However in the same field of endeavor Vance discloses high voltage battery (12) [0015] and teaches a storage battery connection module (The high voltage battery 12 includes a plurality of battery modules 14, each including a plurality of battery cells electrically coupled in series [0015]) comprising: a plurality of bypass lines (By-pass lines (40) of by-pass circuit (32) of battery circuit (30) of module (14) [0016]) ,
and each of the bypass lines (by-pass line (40)) bypassing the first connection terminal connected to the positive electrode terminal OR the first connection terminal connected to the negative electrode terminal of the respective storage battery (Battery (34) [0016] fig. 2 as exemplified by fig. 3 of the instant specification);
a plurality of first switches, each provided on the bypass line for each of the storage batteries and configured to block or conduct the bypass line (Second switch (38) [0016] fig. 2);
a plurality of second switches each provided on the second power line, each of the second switches being bypassed by the bypass line together with the respective one of the storage batteries and configured to block or conduct the second power line (First switch (36) [0016] fig. 2); and
a first signal line configured to transmit a control signal for controlling a respective one of the first switches and a respective one of the second switches and wired on the base plate (A controller 42 controls the position of the switches 36 and 38 in each by-pass circuit 32 [0016] annotated fig. 2.)
(Vance, annotated fig. 2)
Vance teaches a battery with multiple cells in series may suffer catastrophic failure if one of the cells in series fails but a battery equipped with a circuit to switch out that cell (or bypass) may avoid a catastrophic failure [0005-0006].
Therefore, it would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was effectively filed to modify Ichikawa with the bypass circuit as taught by Vance to avoid catastrophic failure of the battery.
Vance further teaches parasitic loss considerations are part of the switch design [0016] and it would be obvious to locate the circuit (30) which is within module (14) [0016] containing bypass circuit (32) for each cell on the board (base plate) of Ichikawa to reduce parasitic losses, and circuit (30) including the first signal line as shown in annotated fig. 2.
As to claim 5, the rejection of claim 4 is incorporated, modified Ichikawa discloses a plurality of switch units ((36), (38)), each mounted on the base plate, and each of the switch units (by-pass circuit (32)) including a respective one of the first switches (38), a respective one of the second switches (36), a respective one of the bypass lines (40) (In the combination of Ichikawa and Vance, battery circuit (30) including switch units (36) and (38) would be mounted on Line (21) of circuit body (20) or base plate of Ichikawa),
and a respective one of the first connection terminals, the first connection terminal being provided on the base plate by being included in the switch unit mounted on the base plate. (Vance annotated fig. 2, (below) provide on the base plate of Ichikawa).
(Vance, annotated fig. 2)
As to claim 8, the rejection of claim 5 is incorporated, modified Ichikawa discloses a respective one of the switch units includes a second connection terminal to which the first signal line is connected. (Vance discloses switches (36) and (38) are controlled by controller (42) with a signal line as shown in annotated fig. 2 above and it would be obvious the signal line would require an end connection or connection terminal corresponding to switch (38) as shown in annotated fig. 2 above.
As to claim 9, the rejection of claim 5 is incorporated, modified Ichikawa discloses a plurality of third connection terminals (Sensors (44) [Vance, 0016] fig.2) , each of the third connection units (44) provided on a respective one of the switch units ((32) Vance, fig. 2); and a plurality of second signal lines each of the second signal lines connecting a respective one of the third connection terminals (Annotated fig. 2) and a connection terminal for communication provided in a respective one of the storage batteries (Sensors 44 can be used to measure the temperature of each cell 34 [0018]).
(Vance annotated fig. 2)
As to claim 11, the rejection of claim 9 is incorporated, modified Ichikawa discloses a control device (Controller (42)) configured to output the control signal transmitted through the first signal line (A controller 42 controls the position of the switches 36 and 38 in each by-pass circuit 32 [0016] and as shown in annotated fig. 2 above would occur on the first signal line.); a plurality of third power lines, each of the third power lines connecting a respective one of the third connection terminals (Vance annotated fig. 2 below) and a connection terminal for power supply provided in a respective one of the storage batteries (The battery 12 and the power source 20 provide power to the bus lines 16 and 18 in any suitable controlled configuration for a particular application [0015], which would require a connection terminal for power supplies (12) and (20)); and a fourth power line (The battery 12 is electrically coupled to a high voltage bus represented by lines 16 and 18 [0015]) connecting the plurality of third connection terminals and the control device (Battery module (12) includes module (14) would includes battery circuit (30) including bypass circuit (32) with each cell (34) and controller (42) [0016] figs. 1 and 2, as shown in fig. 2 where battery (12) is electrically coupled to bus lines 16 and 18 and includes module (14) comprising the third connection terminals and controller would meet the limitation of connecting third connection terminals and the control device. )
(Vance, annotated fig. 2)
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Yanagihara et al. (US20200119326A1), in view of Komori et al. (US2003/0008201A1).
As to claim 12, Yanagihara discloses a wire harness (Harness circuit body (70) [0040]) used in a storage battery connection module (Battery assembly 1 [0040])) in connected in series [0040], wherein the storage battery connection module includes a base plate constituted by a plurality of insulating plates which are integrated (Circuit board 60 is a printed wiring board [0036]), a plurality of connection terminals provided on the base plate (The board-in connectors 73 are assembled to the connector connection portions 63 of the circuit board 60 [0039]),
and a power line provided on the base plate (conductor pattern of the circuit board (60) [0039]) and
connecting the plurality of connection terminals in series (electrodes (5) [0040]) ,
the wire harness comprising:
a positive electrode side wiring that connects a respective one of the connection terminals to the positive electrode terminal of the respective one of the storage batteries; and
a negative electrode side wiring that connects a respective one of the connection terminals to the negative electrode terminal of the respective one of the storage batteries.
The harness circuit body 70 including the bus bars 71, the electric wires 72, and the board-in connectors 73 [0039], and bus bar 71 is connected to the electrodes by a bolt [0040], and the pair of electrodes 5 is a positive electrode and the other is a negative electrode [0027], and one end of the electric wire 72 is connected to the bus bar 71 [0038] Therefore bus bar (71) is connected to both the negative and positive terminals of the respective storage battery by electric wires (72) of the harness body (70) meeting the limitation.
One of the pair of electrodes 5 is a positive electrode and the other is a negative electrode. [0027]… The bus bars 71 of the harness circuit body 70 is fastened to the electrodes 5 by bolts. [0040] …The harness circuit body 70 including the bus bars 71, the electric wires 72, and the board-in connectors 73 [0039]
Yanagihara does not explicitly disclose the storage battery is recycled, however in the same field of endeavor Komori discloses a battery pack [Abstract] and teaches a cell of a battery pack may be renewed after being degraded by adding electrolyte and replacing the cell back into the battery pack renewing the cell at low cost [Abstract].
Therefore, it would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was effectively filed to modify Yanagihara with the recycled cells as taught by Komori to achieve lost cost in renewing the battery pack performance.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 14-17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
The 35 U.S.C. §112(b) rejections of claims 2, 10, 12 with respect to the claim language of “dedicated” and “exclusively manufactured” are withdrawn in view of the amendments to the claims.
The 35 U.S.C. §112(b) rejections of claim 3 with respect to the claim language of “common products” and “common structures” are withdrawn in view of the amendments to the claims.
The 35 U.S.C. §112(b) rejections of claim 5 is withdrawn in view of the amendments to the claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's
disclosure.
Ono et al. (US2020/0321788A1) Bypass switched battery module.
Osada et al. (US20070275297A1) Battery module with recycled batteries.
Annacchino et al. (WO2011-008736A2) Bus bar interconnect printed circuit board.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
BART HORNSBY
Examiner
Art Unit 1728
/MATTHEW T MARTIN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1728