DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 10 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Remillard et al. US 4,322,993 (hereafter—Remillard--).
In regards to claim 1, Remillard discloses a coolant discharger (Figures 3-4) comprising: a rotator (13) that is capable of being rotatable about a rotation axis together with a workpiece (14) and that has a through hole extending along the rotation axis; a fluid passage (within 41) provided in the through hole to supply a coolant toward the workpiece (as indicated by fluid directional arrows in Figure 3); and a nozzle (44) connected to the rotator (13) to be connected to the fluid passage to discharge the coolant from the nozzle toward the workpiece in a discharging direction away from the rotation axis, at least a part (44) of the nozzle being movable along the rotation axis (column 3, lines 50-53, since nozzle 44 in its entirety is displaceable along the axis, then it meets the “at least a part” limitaiton) the at least a part (44) of the nozzle having an interior fluid passage (within 44) to supply the coolant from the fluid passage (within 41) toward the workpiece.
In regards to claim 2, Remillard discloses the coolant discharger according to claim 1, Remillard also discloses that the nozzle (44) is capable of discharging coolant toward an inner surface of the workpiece having a cylindrical structure (see Figure 3).
In regards to claim 10, Remillard discloses a workpiece holder (100) comprising: the coolant discharger of claim 1, wherein the rotator (13) comprises a shaft (15) having the through hole, and a workpiece holding member (jaws of 13) configured to hold the workpiece.
In regards to claim 11, Remillard discloses workpiece holder according to claim 10, WO’879 also discloses that the at least a part of the nozzle is movable along the rotation axis relative to the shaft and the workpiece holding member (column 3, lines 50-53, since nozzle 44 is displaceable along the axis).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-4, 6-9, 16-17 and 18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The Examiner reasons for indicating allowable subject matter will be given once the Application is in condition to be allowed.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 06/15/2026 with respect to claims 1-3, 10 and 11 have been carefully and fully considered, and in light of Applicant’s amendments, a new ground(s) of rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Remillard et al. US 4,322,993 (hereafter—Remillard--) for claims 1-2, 10 and 11 has been incorporated as aforementioned.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NICOLE N RAMOS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3722