DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the applicant’s filing dated March 31st, 2026.
Priority
This application claims benefit of foreign priority of TW111149353 filed on December 22nd, 2022. Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Status of Claims
Claims 1-5 and 7-8 are pending in the instant application. Acknowledgement is made of Applicant’s remarks and amendments filed on March 31st, 2026. Acknowledgement is made of Applicant’s amendment of claims 1-5 and 7; and the cancelation of claim 6.
Claims 4-5 remain withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention and species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on January 13th, 2026.
Objections and/or Rejections and Response to Arguments
Rejections and/or objections not reiterated from previous office actions are hereby withdrawn. The following rejections and/or objections are either reiterated (Maintained Objections and/or Rejections) or newly applied (New Objections and/or Rejections, Necessitated by Amendment or New Objections and/or Rejections, NOT Necessitated by Amendment). They constitute the complete set presently being applied to the instant application.
New Objections and/or Rejections
Necessitated by Claim Amendment
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, the claim recites the limitation “wherein the drug combination is obtained through in vitro drug screening using an Artificial Intelligence-Phenotypic Response Surface (AI-PRS) platform and confirmation of efficacy against human colorectal cancer using a Patient-Derived tumor Xenograft (PDX) model and circulating tumor cells”. It is unclear as to whether the applicant is intending the use of AI-PRS screening and PRX confirmation to be a part of the method of preparing a drug combination for treating human colorectal carcinoma or simply a disclosure of how the drug combination selections were obtained.
For the purpose of compact prosecution, the Examiner will examine the instant claim as a method of preparing a drug combination for treating a human colorectal carcinoma selected from the recited drugs at the recited concentration.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Haque et al (Frontiers in Oncology, (2022),12(992455), 1-8), cited in a previous Office action; in view of Merl et al (Expert Opinion on Investigational Drugs, (2009), 18(9), 1257–1264), cited in a previous Office action.
Regarding claim 1, Haque teaches the administration of regorafenib in combination with 5-fluorouracil (herein referred to as 5-FU) in human patients with refractory metastatic colorectal cancer. Haque reports that patients treated with the regorafenib and 5-FU combination after failure of multiple prior lines of therapy achieved disease control without new adverse events (page 1, Results; page 3, left column, second and last paragraphs). This demonstrates that the regorafenib and 5-FU combination is known, well tolerated and effective in patients with colorectal cancer.
Haque does not teach a combination that further comprises gemcitabine.
Merl teaches that several clinical trials have evaluated the drug combination of 5-FU and gemcitabine in human patients with colorectal cancer (pages 1259-1261, Table 1). Merl further teaches that 5-FU serves as the backbone of colorectal cancer treatment, and that gemcitabine “acts synergistically with 5-FU” to enhance binding of thymidylate synthase and increases the inhibition of DNA synthesis (page 1258, left column, second paragraph; page 1262, left column, third paragraph).
It would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to combine regorafenib, gemcitabine and 5-FU to treat colorectal cancer, thus preparing a drug combination. Haque establishes the clinical feasibility and tolerability of reforafenib combined with 5-FU for the treatment of colorectal cancer in human patients; while Merl teaches that gemcitabine and 5-FU metabolic pathways are complimentary, resulting in increased inhibition of DNA synthesis in human patients with colorectal cancer. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that incorporating gemcitabine into the known regorafenib and 5-FU regimen represents a predictable use of prior art elements according to their established functions, with a reasonable expectation of success in at least maintaining baseline therapeutic effectiveness.
“[T]he rationale to support a conclusion that the claim would have been obvious is that all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yielded nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. KSR, 550 U.S. at 416, 82 USPQ2d at 1395.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize the amounts of regorafenib and 5-FU taught by Haque, and gemcitabine taught by Merl, as a starting point for optimizing the amounts of regorafenib, gemcitabine and 5-FU utilized to treat colorectal cancer; since Haque teaches that regorafenib and 5-FU, and Merl teaches that gemcitabine, are useful for treating colorectal cancer and because dosage and treatment regimen are result-effective variables, i.e. a variable that achieves a recognized result. Therefore, the determination of the optimum or workable dosages would have been well within the practice of routine experimentation by the skilled artisan. Furthermore, absent any evidence demonstrating a patentable difference between the compositions and the criticality of the claimed dosage range, the determination of the optimum or workable dosing regimen given the guidance of the prior art would have been generally prima facie obvious to the skilled artisan. Please see MPEP 2144.05 [R-2](II)(A) and In re Aller, 220 F. 2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). ("[W]here the general conditions of claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.").
Regarding claims 2-3, The prior art is silent regarding "a cytostatic effect of inhibiting survival of 55% (and 70%) of cancer cells". However, "a cytostatic effect of inhibiting survival of 55% (and 70%) of cancer cells" will naturally flow from the teachings of the prior art (see above rejection), since the same combination (regorafenib, gemcitabine and 5-FU) is being administered to the same subjects (human patients with colorectal cancer). In other words, products of identical or similar composition cannot exert mutually exclusive properties when administered under the same or similar circumstances.
In other words, even though the prior art is silent regarding "a cytostatic effect of inhibiting survival of 55% (and 70%) of cancer cells", by practicing the methods made obvious by the prior art (treating colorectal cancer in human patients with a drug combination comprising regorafenib, gemcitabine and 5-FU), one will also have "a cytostatic effect of inhibiting survival of 55% (and 70%) of cancer cells", even though the prior art was not aware of it.
Apparently, the Applicant has discovered a new property or advantage ("a cytostatic effect of inhibiting survival of 55% (and 70%) of cancer cells") of the method made obvious by the prior art.
MPEP 2145 II states: "The fact that Applicant has recognized another advantage which would flow naturally from following the suggestion of the prior art, cannot be the basis for patentability when the differences would otherwise be obvious". Ex parte Obiaya, 227 USPQ 58, 60. (FP 7.37.07, MPEP 707.07(f)).
Regarding claims 7-8, Haque and Merl render obvious the method of preparation of the drug combination, and thus the drug combination, in the recited concentration as described in the above rejection.
The product-by-process limitation requiring the limitation that the claimed drug combination be obtained through screening using an AI-PRS platform does not patentably distinguish the claimed combination from the prior art. Patentability of a product-by-process claim is based on the product itself, not on the process by with it is made or identified. See MPEP § 2113; In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 ("[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process."). Applicant has not demonstrated that the recited AI-PRS screening process imparts any structural or functional difference to the claimed drug combination relative to the prior art. Accordingly, the process by which the combination is obtained does not confer patentability upon the claimed product.
Taken together, all of this all of this would result in the combination of instant claims 1-3 and 7-8 with a reasonable expectation of success.
Applicant argues:
Applicant contends regarding the method of preparation of instant claim 1, that neither Haque or Merl disclose the drugs in the concentration of less than or equal to IC30; or that the drug is obtained through in vitro drug screening using AI-PRS and efficacy confirmed via PRX.
Examiner's response:
The above argument has been carefully considered and has not been found persuasive.
Dosage and treatment regimen are result-effective variables, i.e. a variable that achieves a recognized result. Therefore, the determination of the optimum or workable dosages would have been well within the practice of routine experimentation by the skilled artisan. The claim limitations regarding AI-PRS and PRX are not currently under examination, please see the 35 USC § 112(b) rejection above.
Applicant argues:
Applicant contends regarding the drug combination of instant claim 7, that neither Haque or Merl disclose the drugs in the concentration of less than or equal to IC30; or that the drug is obtained through in vitro drug screening using AI-PRS and efficacy confirmed via PRX.
Examiner's response:
The above argument has been carefully considered and has not been found persuasive.
Dosage and treatment regimen are result-effective variables, i.e. a variable that achieves a recognized result. Therefore, the determination of the optimum or workable dosages would have been well within the practice of routine experimentation by the skilled artisan. Moreover, Patentability of a product-by-process claim is based on the product itself, not on the process by with it is made or identified. See MPEP § 2113.
Conclusion
Claims 1-3 and 7-8 are rejected.
No claim is allowed.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/C.L.J./Examiner, Art Unit 1691
/RENEE CLAYTOR/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1691