Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4, 6, 12, 14 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mulholland (‘355) in view of the teaching Masse (10/993,765) and further in view of Altshuler et al (2009/0248004).
Regarding claim 1, Mulholland discloses a method for thermal destruction of fat tissue and skin tightening as addressed with respect to claim 5 above. Mulholland discloses the steps of inserting a distal portion of a cannula having multiple electrodes into adipose tissue and moving the cannula parallel to the skin surface while applying pulses of RF energy to tissue. See column 5, lines 44-46 for the discussion of multiple electrodes, column 4, lines 44-55 for discussion of parallel movement of the cannula, and columns 6 and 8 for discussion of the use of pulsed energy. Mulholland also provides a motion sensor to monitor probe movement, but fails to expressly disclose synchronizing probe movement with the pulsing of energy to avoid overlapping coagulation zones, and the use of a dielectric ring between the electrodes to insulate them from each other.
Regarding the dielectric ring, the examiner maintains that it is generally known to provide cannulas with multiple electrodes with a dielectric ring between the electrodes in order to insulate the electrodes from each other. To this point, Masse specifically disclose a cannula (106) having multiple electrodes (204, 208 – Figure 2B) on the cannula, and a dielectric spacer (206) located between the electrodes to insulate the electrodes from each other (as is generally known in the art). It is again noted that Mulholland teaches the use of multiple electrodes of opposing polarity on the cannula (col. 5, lines 44-46).
Since Mulholland discloses the use of multiple electrodes on the cannula body, it would have been an obvious design consideration for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have provided the electrodes with a ring made from a dielectric material between the electrodes to insulate the electrodes during use of the device.
Regarding the synchronized movement of the probe, Altshuler et al provide another method for skin treatments including destruction of adipose tissue to cause skin tightening (para. [0071], for example). Altshuler et al provide pulses of electromagnetic energy to thermally treat tissue, and specifically teach of synchronizing the pulse delivery with the movement of the probe to avoid overlapping of treatment areas (para. [0239], for example). To have provided the Mulholland device, which employs a motion sensor, with a means to synchronize pulse delivery with the sensed movement of the probe to avoid overlapping treatment areas would have been an obvious consideration for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention since Altshuler et al fairly teach such a method step in a similar procedure.
Regarding claim 4, Mulholland discloses the use of a temperature sensor (see claim 11 above). Regarding claim 6, the examiner maintains that any practical speed for movement of the probe would be within the purview of the skilled artisan and would be an obvious consideration for a given procedure. It is noted that applicant fails to disclose any specific means for determining such a speed, and the speed is only mentioned in the claims and not in the description of the application. Regarding claim 12, Mulholland discloses a tip/treatment size that would inherently be capable of creating a coagulation zone of the claimed size (col. 7, lines 64-67, for example). Regarding claim 14, Mulholland disclose the step of skin tightening (Abstract, for example) as well as other procedures.
Regarding claim 16, see discussion of claim 1.
Claims 5, 7, 10, 11, 13 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mulholland (8,103,355) in view of the teaching of Masse (10,993,765).
Regarding claim 5, Mulholland provides a method for thermal fat destruction and tissue tightening (Abstract, for example) comprising the steps of inserting a distal portion of a cannula with one or more electrodes into adipose tissue (Figure 3 and col. 5, lines 44-46, for example) and moving the cannula parallel to the skin to treat tissue (col. 4, lines 44-55, for example). RF pulses are delivered to tissue (col. 6, lines 27-38) which may be in the millisecond range (col. 8, line 2, for example) which would necessarily be of a duration shorter than a time required for full displacement of the cannula tip, and the pulses are intended to coagulate tissue (col. 3, lines 27-33, for example). Mulholland expressly discloses the use of multiple electrodes on the probe, the electrodes having opposing polarities (col. 5, lines 44-46), but fail to expressly disclose a dielectric ring separating the electrodes.
The examiner maintains that it is generally known to provide cannulas with multiple electrodes with a dielectric ring between the electrodes in order to insulate the electrodes from each other. To this point, Masse specifically disclose a cannula (106) having multiple electrodes (204, 208 – Figure 2B) on the cannula, and a dielectric spacer (206) located between the electrodes to insulate the electrodes from each other (as is generally known in the art).
Since Mulholland discloses the use of multiple electrodes on the cannula body, it would have been an obvious design consideration for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have provided the electrodes with a ring made from a dielectric material to insulate the electrodes during use of the device.
Regarding claim 7, see column 8, line 2 as addressed above. Regarding claim 10, Mulholland teach the use of a movement sensor to monitor probe movement (col. 6, lines 22-26, for example). Regarding claim 11, Mulholland also disclose the use of temperature sensors (col. 8, lines 23-24). Regarding claim 13, Mulholland discloses a tip/treatment size that would inherently be capable of creating a coagulation zone of the claimed size (col. 7, lines 64-67, for example). Regarding claim 15, Mulholland disclose the step of skin tightening (Abstract, for example) as well as other procedures.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the pending claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on the same combination of references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MICHAEL PEFFLEY/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3794
/M.F.P/May 28, 2026